View Full Version : Mangrove Jack's

scoocer101
11-10-2006, 07:02 PM
Hi guys

I've been reading a few post on jacks and i thought i might start fishing for them. I intend to plan a trip and fish from the afternoon to 9:00pm at night. I intend to fish in currimundi lake because i've heard there is heaps of jacks there and also currimundi lake is where i get my live bait . I will be fishing in a boat. I will probaly use my drag net through there and get some live bait and if that doesnt work i will use a bait jig. When i normaly get live bait there i get poddy mullet and herring. Is this bait efficent enough or should i just stick to lures???? I'd rather have a live bait in the water while i'm flicking if this is efficent enough. This is unfilmilar territory for me so if any1 has any info on baits for jacks, lures, areas to look for, techniques and etc.. Plz reply back or pm me.

P.s currimundi lake has lots of sand flats dropping into deep holes. Looks like prime flattie habitat.

regards gavin

DazSamFishing
11-10-2006, 08:02 PM
G Day Gavin

There are quite a few threads about this topic/particular species... Just have a scroll through and locate them!

I have fished currimundi lake when I was younger for large whiting, bream and flathead...

Try to find a deep hole with a bit of tidal flow and bait fish or look for some snaggy area!

As far as
I'd rather have a live bait in the water while i'm flicking if this is efficent enough...

I would certainly suggest NOT leaving a rod in a holder or in the boat because you need to fish with a locked drag when fishing for jacks!

Good luck

scoocer101
12-10-2006, 04:25 PM
Thanks Daz

regards gavin

craigathome
12-10-2006, 04:39 PM
hay Gavin had some good success here in hervey bay chasing jacks most of the creeks on Fraser island have jacks in them, slimy macks, squid, lives and patience will get you one.
thay go hard. good luck.
craig.

craigathome
12-10-2006, 04:40 PM

scuttlebutt
12-10-2006, 05:00 PM
Mate I don't reckon there's any problem with leaving a rod in the holder. Just keep the drag nice and tight. I've caught plenty of Jacks that way - yeah they pull but they're only fish

steve

scoocer101
12-10-2006, 05:10 PM
Hey daz they have dredged parts of currimundi lake very deep

Nic pic craig. Good info

Steve so is it ok to fish with live bait and lures?

regards gavin

Creek_Vermin
12-10-2006, 08:22 PM
Caught a few jacks in the lake mate but a majority are really small. I wouldn't use anything above a 3/0 hook and stick to the small mullet. Stay away from the herring as there are too many small bream in there. Try the upper reaches of curr creek and the other creek full of snags. Not much tidal run in both of these creeks. Try dropping 2 livies out while you throw a weighted plasic or deep diving hardbody around but make sure you grab the rod as soon as the bait sarts kicking. Don't use anything under a 30lb leader. Good luck mate. Currumundi lake is a definite catch and release system due to it's size so be responsible. Cheers.

scuttlebutt
12-10-2006, 09:28 PM
yeah livebait's fine but I prefer to anchor upstream of a decent snag with medium tidal flow and use fillets of tuna or mullet. Jacks react really well to berley.

Have caught plenty trolling lures too.

steve

lattic
13-10-2006, 06:25 AM
Yep Berley up, a big slab of flesh, and make sure your holding the rod, as there strike is quick and hard and if you miss it ....well, just dont. Some great pics there lads, that one of your steve looks like a nice healthy specimen.

muz

mangus15
13-10-2006, 10:28 AM
;D ;) live bait and lures are the go mullet is ideal live bait so get into it its great fun dont let them take to much line as they head strait to carnige in the water they are a very stong spieces good luck

smiley_doobinator
12-11-2006, 04:12 PM
Hi Guys,

great info for us beginners and fantastic photos. I'v heard that the Tweed River is good for Jacks this time of year. I plan to have a go between the Cane Rd bridge and Muwillumbah Bridge. Anyone know anything about the area at all or any other area that maybe more productive ? Any info would be greatly appreciated.