View Full Version : Garmin 12 Gps failure

wazza66
19-06-2006, 08:49 PM
I have had a garmin 12 gps for a few years and just last week it suddenly stopped.
I have changed the batteries, but I think the lithium battery inside may have died.Does anybody know if it can be replaced or should I get another gps.Kicking myself as I lost all my marks, so write them down guys!!
Won't be making that mistake again.
Can anybody offer any help with fixing it?.

fingers
19-06-2006, 08:59 PM
try hooking it up to 12 v supply for a couple of days with unit turned off, I recharged my internal battery on my garmin 12 this way. once recharged,I just made sure my aa batteries had some charge in them when I wasn't using it so it wasn't chewing up litium batteries.I use a cig adaptor in the boat.worth a try

wazza66
19-06-2006, 09:17 PM
Thanks Fingers I'm off to the shed to give it a try.
Will let you know if it works!
Cheers :-?

SatNav
20-06-2006, 07:01 AM
1. How long is a few years?
2. What you do with it would depend on how old it is
3. GPS 12 technology is quite outdated and fixing it might not have any merit
4. Being able to download marks to PC is the best policy

20-06-2006, 07:53 AM
I had the same thing happen to me last year with my GPS12. Lost most of my marks also, but thankfully my most important had been written down.

Best shot is to take the unit in to GME Electrophone near Rocklea in Brisbane. They service the units and will tell you if it can be saved.

In my case (apparently) it was a software problem, but I did get a replacement unit supplied for around $150, which is alot cheaper than new.

dynamicspot
20-06-2006, 08:36 AM
12 v will kill the garman 12 they only require 8 volts

fingers
20-06-2006, 10:45 AM
wazza I probably should have said 12v supply through garmin cigarette adaptor which reduces the voltage but I think you would have done so anyway,its abit had to fit any other way with fitting on gps

Burley_Boy
22-06-2006, 10:10 AM
Might be outdated technology?? But hooked up to my Matrix 37 it still gives me the same precision as anyone else and i save all my marks on the PC and the Matrix.
Reckon the unit works well so bummer if yours is stuffed.

davo
29-06-2006, 09:14 PM
The 12's were good in there day but with a very poor zoom range and small display then for an little extra a 72 beats them hands down. I sold mine and went to a larger chart unit and a little Etrex Legend. It made me realise how much better the newer one's are. The good news is that if you have 12v lead then cut the cigarettte end off it and use it with the 72 via a fuse. Also the mounting bracket base hole are the same for the units also. I used the same holes to mount the 172C. It's just like computers in a couple years they are obsolete.

agnes_jack
01-07-2006, 03:08 PM
G'day Wazza
As Jeremy said mate, take it in to GME and they should be able to replace the lithium battery for (if thats the problem) Unfortunately they won't be able to recover the lost marks though :( :( :(
Make sure you weigh the cost of a replacement battery with the difference in buying a new 72 though.

I've been using my 12 for years, still puts me on the spot!!! ;)

Regards, Tony