View Full Version : 620 sounder what ....

snappa
19-07-2006, 08:47 PM
i have fitted the sounder and now the airmir transducer ..it said to fill with mineral oil..?

what did u use .....or what can i use ..

madman1
20-07-2006, 03:59 PM
mmmmmm. Let me know as I am hopefully getting one soon.

Good Luck :o

onerabbit
20-07-2006, 04:13 PM
????? Mineral oil ????
I had a Airmar p66 fitted with my 582, didnt hear or see anything about mineral oil??? I will ask questions & get back to you.

onerabbit
20-07-2006, 04:19 PM
Snappa,

Are you mounting your transducer in a wet box????

I just asked & was told that if the transducer was mounted in a wet box it ( the box ) should be filled with glycerine for best results.

snappa
20-07-2006, 06:48 PM
the transducer is a airmar which has to be filled with oil ..???

not sure what oil they are referrring to......
or can i use some thing else....

:-/

20-07-2006, 07:38 PM
Snappa.

ya shoulda got the cut a big hole in bottom one ;D ;D ;D

dam good I recon, stuff all that friggin around with oil and sh!t

onerabbit
20-07-2006, 08:28 PM
Snappa , is your transducer transom mounted or in a wet box?????

If it is in a wet box , please refer to my previous post, if not , just mount it over the side, in the water.

onerabbit
20-07-2006, 08:32 PM

:-[, oooops, retracted that comment on wet boxes.

Grand_Marlin
21-07-2006, 07:40 PM
G'day Snappa,

I fill mine with distilled water ... havent had any problems at all.

You can buy it for about $2 a litre from any hardware.

Coles / Woolies may even have it.

jimbo59
23-07-2006, 08:07 PM
Dont use fresh water in the box,just a bit of salt water is best.

26-07-2006, 08:53 PM
I have used peanut oil for a Furuno 668 thru hull transducer. Once that mounting let go, I siliconed it to the floor ( YES, there were NO air bubbles in it ) and it worked a treat.

I would contact Furuno and ask them ! ::)

see ya in a couple of months Pete

outsiderskip
26-07-2006, 09:22 PM
pete
just ordered my new 585 and 1kw tranducer

pete

26-07-2006, 09:26 PM
Have you got the 520-5PSD or the 525-5PWD ?

26-07-2006, 09:33 PM
Just thinking about it more.

I used a PVC storm water pipe, cut off at the angle of the floor. Sikaflexed it to the floor. allowed about 2 days to dry. The top of the pipe I had a threaded flange. I then used a threaded cap for the flange. This had a hole cut in it for the transducer shaft, and also a hole cut to accomodate a ' bung ". I then screwed the cap on, with the transducer shaft loose. Once tight, I tightened the transducer shaft locking nut, and filled the " void ' ( through the bung ) with peanut oil. Distilled water as mentioned here could be OK, but definately not plain water as it will build a residue on the transducer surface, creating problems.

I found NO mention of "airmir " on the Furuno website, under transducers or even the Furuno search engine ?????????????????

TheDeepSix
27-07-2006, 06:30 PM
Phil

This may help www.airmar.com

cheers Chris

snappa
28-07-2006, 05:07 PM
here ya go ....

Question
What type of liquid do I use to fill my in-hull base/tank?

Answer
Mineral oil or castor oil should be used to fill an in-hull base/tank. These are thick liquids making them less prone to aeration. They do not evaporate as quickly as water and can also handle high power levels.

We have also recently approved non-toxic antifreeze/coolant (propylene glycol) as an adequate solution to fill an in-hull base/tank. This solution is preferred on installations where the base/tank is installed with silicone.

Note: The base/tank should only be installed with fiberglass resin or silicone sealant (such as GE Silicone I or Silicone II). DO NOT use an epoxy adhesive, polyurethane based sealant, or the previously recommended Boatlife® Life Seal® and 3M™4200.

Thunderbird
28-07-2006, 08:08 PM
Wack in a bit of golden syrup pete..she'll be right. ;D

Grand_Marlin
29-07-2006, 08:28 AM
Why not use a good quality Bourbon ... just make the wet box with a 5 litre capacity and definitely have multiple inspection (straw) holes... :D

Once you have gone through all of that you wont care if the sounder is working or not ... and afterwards you wont remember anyway ;D

Just refill it for the next trip and you will never have sounder problems again ;)

Grand_Marlin
29-07-2006, 08:41 AM
Snappa,

The oil is fine, just messy.

Go with their recommendations and all will be sweet.

As I said, I use distilled water with no problems.

Distilled is used as it has no impurities in it and therefore it wont grow bugs or go slimy etc.

Definitely dont use plain tap water and absolutely definitely dont use salt water.

Phil has described a good way of making a wetbox - I make mine very similar to his description.

The threaded cap Phil speaks of has an o ring seal to prevent leaks. Evaporation is not going to occur through pvc pipe.
Fill it overfull and let the transducer squash any excess water out as you do it up. That way there is no air in the box to aerate the water.

They do raise a good point that I didnt mention ... the majority of silicones will disolve / melt when in contact with fuel / diesel or oil. I havent used the sealants they mention, but I assume they are good for the job.

Each to their own, but go with the manufacturer's recommendations, that way you cant be wrong.

snappa
29-07-2006, 07:26 PM
grand

why not salt water .. i was thinking ....about using....

Grand_Marlin
29-07-2006, 08:38 PM
;D ;D ;D

Riiiight ..... good choice, the saltier the better !!

Maybe you could grow a packet of Sea Monkeys in it too :D

jimbo59
01-08-2006, 09:35 PM
Yeah y not salt water pete? :-[

Smelly
01-08-2006, 09:59 PM
Snappa.

King.

What spec is your ducer photographed in this picture - are u using the 620L with this ducer?

02-08-2006, 04:50 PM
Snappa.

King.

What spec is your ducer photographed in this picture - are u using the 620L with this ducer?

520 PLD or PLD 520 cant remember ::) used on a Furuno FCV-620

Grand_Marlin
02-08-2006, 05:39 PM
G'day Jimbo,

The only reason you dont use salt water ... or fresh tap water, is the impurities and bugs that are in it.

Salt water especially, if you used it would create a slimy growth all over the transducer.

That is the only reason....

It would work ok, but performance would deteriorate with the growth on it.

Hence why I use distilled water, or mineral oil as the manufacturer's recommend.

snappa
16-08-2006, 07:35 PM
help me out

what does ....bottom area .. below and above ...

also

gain off set........... ???

staring to work out sounder ..sure more questions to follow ... :-[

16-08-2006, 08:00 PM
Snappa

Bottom Area above and below refers to the white line for differentuation of fish and bottom. Basically you can make the white line bigger to show bottom hugging fish more easily... I just use bottom lock to show this.

Gain offset can be used to adjust the gain on either 50 or 200 khz so that they both show the same size reading of the same fish when viewing both 50 and 200

snappa
17-08-2006, 11:34 PM
king

what range did u set your sounder on for 1 to 8

when i use the shift it moves the window in 20 mt segments and i lose the bottom..

bottom zoom ... my keeps moving up and down can it be set to remain showing the bottom

how i'm confuse thinking about it .....

bugga

off to the shed aagin ....... >:( >:(

18-08-2006, 07:06 PM
Snap if you want to keep the bottom flat use bottom lock for your zoom.arker zoom can me difficult to use in areas which change in depth regularly..ie bommies etc

snappa
18-08-2006, 11:21 PM
gary

I HAVE BEEN READING THE MAMUAL.....

i seem to know more...
need to practice on demo mode .... sat morn in boat if"the one who must be obeyed" doesnt catch me for some house chores ... like mowing the yard. ::)

snappa
19-08-2006, 03:09 PM
play and read some MORE.... ;D

Burley_Boy
21-08-2006, 08:52 AM
Ok excuse my ignorance here. But this talk about wetboxes etc...
What is the advantage?

I've got a regular transom mounted Tducer and I note that Garry hacks holes in the bottom of the boat. A wetbox would mean I'd have to cut a big hole through the floor to get a PVC pipe fixed to the inside of the hull and then stick the transducer inside that...right.... Now doesn't that cut out more of the power of the unit having to transmit through 10mm of fibreglass hull as opposed to fitting on the transom? Not to mention the hacking in the floor stuff.

snappa
21-08-2006, 04:03 PM
got me ...\ i'm only new at this toooooooooo ...

fixed up my mistakes on weekend between working ..

and
yes
i
did
use
distilled
water ...

and drank the remainer ...

:D

21-08-2006, 05:35 PM
Ok excuse my ignorance here. But this talk about wetboxes etc...
What is the advantage?

I've got a regular transom mounted Tducer and I note that Garry hacks holes in the bottom of the boat. A wetbox would mean I'd have to cut a big hole through the floor to get a PVC pipe fixed to the inside of the hull and then stick the transducer inside that...right.... Now doesn't that cut out more of the power of the unit having to transmit through 10mm of fibreglass hull as opposed to fitting on the transom? Not to mention the hacking in the floor stuff.

Gees BB, you make it sound like I took to me boat with hammer and chisel to cut out the hole for me Transducer ;D ;D

Wet boxes..hmm...your right with the still shooting thru the hull bit but I think it does not loose much on the sensitivity part, what it gains is a lot less turbulace flowing over the transducer due to it having to protrude into the water. The turbulance / bubbles actually cause interference making you sounder use less effective settings in Auto to produce a good picture.

my thoughts

Smelly
28-10-2006, 08:53 AM
here ya go ....

Question
What type of liquid do I use to fill my in-hull base/tank?

Answer
Mineral oil or castor oil should be used to fill an in-hull base/tank. These are thick liquids making them less prone to aeration. They do not evaporate as quickly as water and can also handle high power levels.

We have also recently approved non-toxic antifreeze/coolant (propylene glycol) as an adequate solution to fill an in-hull base/tank. This solution is preferred on installations where the base/tank is installed with silicone.

Note: The base/tank should only be installed with fiberglass resin or silicone sealant (such as GE Silicone I or Silicone II). DO NOT use an epoxy adhesive, polyurethane based sealant, or the previously recommended Boatlife® Life Seal® and 3M™4200.

Snappa, what does GE Silicone I or II look like - is this brand name?

MEGA'bite
29-10-2006, 07:29 PM
outsiderskip if you dont mind me asking what was the price for the 585 and the 1kw transducer

cheers Adrian