View Full Version : Invite tag along Green Is Wreck

NQCairns
04-01-2004, 10:57 AM
Hi, If you have not got out there because of "single small boat syndrome" we are extending an invite to anyone with their own boat to tag along tomorrow morning to fish the green is wreck. Anyone with a little tinny, safety equip and 50ish metres of anchor rope especially invited, all are welcome, so far 2 small tinnys (14footers) are going weather permiting. Leave the Cairns trawler ramp at approx 5.30 back by 12. Damn late notice i know ::) Cheers Nq
Send PM or email. cheers again.

Daintreeboy
04-01-2004, 04:06 PM
Mate I"d love to go but I'm too crook :-[ (is that possible for a fishing trip?). Anyway you can't fit more than two boats on the wreck. Good luck and let us know how you go!!

Dr_Dan
04-01-2004, 05:57 PM
I'll be heading out around Fitzroy, hitting Kings etc from about midday tomorrow, till some time monday. How good the weather looking at the moment? The reports look awsome. Hopefully will hold out for a bit! Best of luck guys, let us know how it all goes.

Dr_Dan
08-01-2004, 07:28 AM
How'd it go out at the wreck? Any luck?

NQCairns
08-01-2004, 02:40 PM
Hi Dan, it might be more interesting to hear about your trip. Mine got called off at the last moment :'( and the weather was so fine :o. So how did you go? All the fishy details?. Dont make me feel too bad ,please be kind :).nq

TimNQ
08-01-2004, 07:14 PM
Hey NQ sounds interesting(except the part where you didnt go out fishing in great whether), will you be planning another trip any time soon? If you are id be keen to tag along in my tinny and give it a go sometime. Just let me know with as much notice as possible, i need some time to smooth over the misses to let me spend some money.

Fitzroy eh dr dan, ive seen some damn big GT's floating round the jetty there(one around a metre which visits the jetty frequently). I had alot of luck while fishing a morning session with a hand line a few years back. Would go back any day, just hope i dont throw up a banana paddle pop on the way like last time ::)

Dr_Dan
09-01-2004, 08:39 AM
My trip was one of those days where the weather was awsome, fishing a bit slow. But i spose you can't always have it both ways. Went out to kings point bout 2pm sunday, heaps of fish on the bottom in bout 140ft, some good size arches too. Buggers just weren't interested in baits. Got a massive run just on dark on a live stripey bout 20cm long. Line snapped as something jumped in the distance. Nice size fish, but just on dark, so couldn't see whta it was.

got bricked a couple of times on the bottm, not fun trying to snap 100lb handline in 140ft of water in a little tinny!!!

Lost two fish on whole wolfies, had half a dozen gangs in the bait. One was a mackie about 120cm, snipped the wolfie, took all the bait on the hooks, left only the tail where there weren't any hooks. Stuffed if I know how the hell it didn't hook up.

Lots of fish around, some real nice size tuna around little fitzroy, but were feeding on tiny little fish out of the floating weed, less than an inch long, so had no lures smal enough to tempt them.

Headed back to Cairns bout 1pm monday. Highlight of the trip, me catching a big green turtle on handline off the bottom, and also a moray eel at night. Felt sorry for the poor turtle, never had one take a bait out there before.

All in all, an Awsome day on the water, just a pitty bout the fishing. Heading out on Aqua-Cat on Sunday. Hopefully a bit of a more succesful trip than last weekend.

Pitty bout your trip. Get out again soon, the weather looks awsome for a while

Later [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

NQCairns
09-01-2004, 10:39 AM
Hi Tim sounds like a plan! I am itching to get out there soon. The last and first trip I did out to the wreck I buddyed boats with FNQTinny and we had an interesting day to say the least, FNQtinny took water over the back, some minor motor trouble, we couldn't find the wreck for quite a while, we each left an anchor behind and my dog wiped my feet out from under me in the rough stuff, we were like a couple of southern tourists which we both sort of are with 1 years FNQ experience each. Not trying to scare you off ;D
I will keep you informed, the 3 day forecast is about the best i can do for notice though, is that enough?

Hi Dan sounds like someone had fun :), whats the go did you sleep on the tinny? The first sea creature i caught in FNQ was from a beach a small GS Turtle he happily swam away then hung around so we had to stop fishing in that spot. Possibly we should hold future turtle encounters as secret mans business in the current exclusionary climate :-X
I have yet to encounter a Mackeral anywhere near that big!! or did you mean Mack tuna :o. Your experience really gives me the 'gee-up' to just get out there. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Let us know how your weekend trip goes.
Cheers nq

Ps anyone know the correct term for a bunch of little tinneys all heading heading out together? (No not stupid). A gaggle?? or a hunt? :D

TimNQ
09-01-2004, 11:05 AM
Hi Tim sounds like a plan! I am itching to get out there soon. The last and first trip I did out to the wreck I buddyed boats with FNQTinny and we had an interesting day to say the least, we were like a couple of southern tourists which we both sort of are with 1 years FNQ experience each.
I will keep you informed, the 3 day forecast is about the best i can do for notice though, is that enough?

Yea 3 days is good, i am heading to innisfail on the 17th and 18th weekend for some fishing with ausfish member vertico so maybe if we made it that weekend if it suits everyone else and the whether is good. Is it fairly protected out there eh? What sort of fish are being caught out there? Also what sort of motors people running? i may get left behind with a 30hp.

[/quote]
Ps anyone know the correct term for a bunch of little tinneys all heading heading out together? (No not stupid). What about a gaggle?? or a hunt?
[/quote]

Haha not sure bout that one.

TimNQ
09-01-2004, 11:09 AM
approximatly how far is it from the boat ramp also?

NQCairns
09-01-2004, 11:32 AM
Hi again Tim, it's 27km from the ramp, we both run 30 2st, i used 28litres round trip and Ron used about 30l, I did 78km in total. Good conditions it is a 40-50min trip and when bumpy near 1.5+ hours we got both last trip. Not really protected at all esp with our sized boats 10kn is fine 15kn is still safe but a bit uncomfortable, last trip it was gusting to 23kn on the way back into Cairns, we stayed dry but it was slowwwww. Will keep an eye on the 17th and 18th with view to a trip out, feel free to email me anytime. I dont know what is being caught around here at the moment, I caught a couple of GTs last trip.cheers Nq

Dr_Dan
09-01-2004, 11:45 AM
Yeah NQ, I meant a Mackeral. Damn thing followed the chewed up wolfie right to the back of the boat. wouldn't take it again tho, they were only hitting them whole. Yeah, me an my brother in law slept in the tinny. Not too bad hey. Pretty comfortable. I couldn't get over how clear the water was. Could clearly see the bottom in around 30ft! AWSOME!!

Let us know about the trip to Green. May be able to join you. My tinny is a 4.1 savage runabout with an OLD 25 evinrude on the back, reliable motor, just a bit on the slow side. O well, as long as it gets you out there and back hey.

How does the trip out to Green go? All the weather reports from the beauro have green being windier than the reef. Often by bout 10knts???

cheers [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

TimNQ
09-01-2004, 11:45 AM
Sounds good. Is there much live bait out there?

NQCairns
09-01-2004, 12:12 PM
Ha Ha Dan sounds like you know and get on well with your BIL better than most, 4.1 is pretty small for a campover of two :-X
The slowspeed just gives a person less chance to miss interesting stuff on the way out, no problem.

I know what you mean about the difference in wind speed green is to cairns makes it hard to judge. Last trip it was still 5kn at green and 20+ at the cairns airport ??? ??? ???.

The more the merrier we fished 30m of the wreck and still caught a couple, we will all just be close enough that we dont have to shout ;D

Tim I dont know about livies at the wreck, last trip there was none anywhere we went? there is a creek at the mouth of the inlet where there are a few to cast up. Only 2 mins out of our way.

FNQTinny, Ron are you up for a trip??

Daintreeboy, you feel ing any better? up for a fish yet??.

Nq

Daintreeboy
09-01-2004, 02:08 PM
NQ you just want to catch one of those big GT's I posted here a while back. I went in to Erskines tackle shop the other day and they have a cast of a big GT in there on the wall. The bloke reckoned it was 36 kg. I'm happy to say mines was bigger... only just though, maybe 40 kg. Good luck guys if you get out, I can't make it, all my boats are up at Wonga Beach so unless I locate a mate to go with in Cairns, I'm out of action, unless you guys have a spot? ::)

NQCairns
09-01-2004, 04:15 PM
G'Day Daintree, yeah too right it would take a week to wipe the smile of my face if I caught one like that ;D, mine were not that giant GT's. I know Ron needs some weight up the front real bad in his rig, when you see mine you will understand why it is 1 up offshore, 2 up anywhere else, otherwise you would have a spot for sure. Whats this all my boats stuff? how many you got? glad you are feeling better. nq

Daintreeboy
09-01-2004, 04:58 PM
Actually mate I'm still crook but I'm sure I'll be fine by then. Yeah I do have a few boats but you get that when your hooked on fishin. If I do get the chance to come what do you blokes say about going a bit wider. The truth is, the re is really only enough room for one boat on the wreck, two at a pinch. Check your charts and you'll see a 'mound' west of Thetford reef. A mate and I caught 8 Mangrove Jack there one arvo after work, the biggest around 4 kilo. We've caught some nice trout and estuary cod too on the few other occasions I've been. Also, another mate and I caught 20 Coral Trout (we bagged out by midday) at Thetford reef just a bit further out the first and only time we ever fished it. I don't fish out of Cairns much. Anyway food for thought. Let us know what you reckon.
Cheers, Mark. 8)

Dr_Dan
09-01-2004, 05:47 PM
isn't thetford a long way out ??? ??? ??? Not bad bagging out by midday tho. Good effort. As for a 40kg GT, WOW!!!! Woulda taken a fair bit of effort trying to get that thing in.

TimNQ
09-01-2004, 06:56 PM
How far from the ramp is thetford? how far offshore also? I'll be keen if everyone else is.

NQCairns
10-01-2004, 05:27 AM
Just checked it out on some software. Ramp to Green = 27km, green to thetford=25km, ramp to thetford shortest route=44.5km.
There is a shoal inline half way between green and thetford also rises from 36m to 18m ;D. I guess Iam keen to go anywhere with company, but wouldn't it have to be a full day trip? I estimate in good conditions it would be near 3 hours travel return, 6 hours if it turns to crap :-X
Hey Daintree that mound if I got it right is 3km west of thetford and rises from 40m to 20m? looks good. nq

We are going to need the full compliment of safety gear also on each boat out there.

TimNQ
10-01-2004, 06:03 AM
Also maybe any bigger boats which could handle it could take some extra fuel out, i think my 46 litres will be enough but it will be sniffing fumes by the end id say. But yea with company im keen to go anywhere.

NQCairns
10-01-2004, 09:27 AM
Hi Tim, yeah 46l will be close, not sure if there really will be any bigger boats? Might be best if we make sure we can cover ourselves except for unseen events, carry an extra 10 or so litres you will be covered in all weather conditions, we might even have to share a tow :'(.
FNQT gave me the idea of carrying a spare bulb and hose to pump from one container into main tank, saves all that stress trying to transfer when it is lumpy. My main takes around 45L and I will be toping up at the first opportunity after the run out. The more I think about it the more I want to go ;D nq
Anyone with VHF?

TimNQ
10-01-2004, 09:38 AM
I will put the idea to sean AKA vertico aswell, hes in innisfail and may enjoy a trip out. I think we are going to chase some cobia the same weekend in his boat.
Cant wait for the trip, just hope the whether is good for that weekend. Even if it isnt good whether, i go up towards cairns atleast once a month so i will get up there when the whether is good.

Daintreeboy
10-01-2004, 12:25 PM
Yeah that's about right NQ. It's worth a quick stop on the way to Thetford if you do decide to go. You may pick up a nice fish or two.

TimNQ
12-01-2004, 05:05 AM
Hmm i hope this whether has cleared by next weekend. Is it raining in cairns? its pissing down in townsville. I may go try the wiers this arvo for some barra if they are flowing yet(doubt they will be yet).

Daintreeboy
13-01-2004, 01:34 PM
Guys, I'm out for this weekend. My girlfriends brother and family are having their last weekend in the area before heading back down to sunny brissy. I've been given the task of taking them on a sightseeing trip up the river before they go. I'll jave to try catch up with you another time. I've heard a report of a 52 kg cobia being caught off the wreck last weekend. Anyone else heard this? Maybe it was 52 lb eh?

NQCairns
13-01-2004, 02:41 PM
Thats a shame Daintree, but fair enough blood is thicker than water, I had a chat to FNQTinny on the phone and he said you had a spot on boat to share the driving. If things change yell out. 52kg i think that is even bigger than the cobia on the vid "land based addiction" :o must have been 52lb, woo hoo even that size would have been fun ;D cheers nq

Daintreeboy
13-01-2004, 03:13 PM
Who's FNQtinny. Do I know him?

NQCairns
14-01-2004, 04:26 AM
Yep probably, Ron hits these boards every now and then, (recons he is really busy at the moment - yeah right ;D and has a habit of dropping his moble in the drink) had a chat on the phone earlier and told him about this trip and the M&G idea sure he will be around soon to check it out for himself.
Dr Dan you still intrested in this w'end? nq

TimNQ
14-01-2004, 04:35 AM
Hey NQ whats the whether looking like atm? its just finished 2 days of rain here just hoping its not moving onto you guys.

NQCairns
14-01-2004, 04:46 AM
G'Day Tim it's been raining o/nite mostly got 10mm last night, just odd showers around during the day, it's actually a nice morning for a trip out bugger all wind around. Did you do the weir trip? nq

TimNQ
14-01-2004, 07:02 AM
Yea we tried the weirs this morning, they are all flowing now. forgot the cast net though so we had to use some SP's which we had in the car but the fish would only harrass it.
Good to hjear the whether is looking ok, cant wait for the weekend. Who is coming by the way?

NQCairns
14-01-2004, 07:27 AM
Well at this stage just you, your mate?, me, Ron and Dan if he is still considerering the idea, so 4 boats. A 50% turnout for these things is good in my experience. The only way I wont go at this stage is weather or by myself. nq
Anyone elso out there up for the trip?

TimNQ
14-01-2004, 10:27 AM
Well as long as the whether is good you wont be alone because im damn keen to get out there and will be up on friday night. You still coming dan?

Dr_Dan
14-01-2004, 04:11 PM
Guys, I'd love to come, but unfortunately, have to head out to Georgetown over the weekend, gotta help my sister transport some shit out there. SO NO FISHING!!!!! :'( :'( :'(

let us know how you go. I'd be keen for the weekend after if you reckon that you can drag yourselves out there again ;)

You guys head out to Fitzroy at all? Pleanty of good areas out there. Lot easier to get out to more regularly. Had a guy i know catch a marlin on a handline out there! Just off little fitzy.

TimNQ
14-01-2004, 06:26 PM
Fitzroy would be awsome, thats a fair distance off shore isnt it? Do you go in your tinny?
I dont know if ill be back up the following weekend unless this weekend turns to shit and i dont go. Too bad you cant come, i will catch some fish for you ;D. As long as you can make the M&G ;)

Dr_Dan
15-01-2004, 04:12 AM
Fitzroy isn't that far off the coast. it takes a while to get out there, but it is just a short hop from Kings point (mainland opposite fitzroy) to the island. Yeah, i go out in my tinny. You don'g need anything big. People go out in 12 ft punts on a good day! I think it is a lot safer an option than green, so can head out there wehn the weather isn't that flash.

May yet have the opportunity to come out. Georgetown has been flooded in, so i'll have to head out there when the river goes down, so if i can get some stuff organised, i may be able to come out. You going on Saturday or sunda? Keep me informed, incase i can still come.

Still looking fairly wet in Tville! Weirs should be over by now shouldn't they?

NQCairns
15-01-2004, 05:30 AM
Hi Dan good to hear you might make it, i was quietly wondering where Kings Point was :). I know sunday is the only option for Ron I am cool both ways with a leaning toward sunday myself. Kings point sounds nice what other fish are there to be had? nq

TimNQ
15-01-2004, 05:40 AM
Sunday is good for me.
Boat ramp at what time?

Dr_Dan
15-01-2004, 06:31 AM
Kings has some REALLY REALLY good fishing there. But can be a bit unpredictable. As i said, it's the mainland opposite fitzroy. Within bout 40mtrs from the mainland, the water drops to 140+ft! Reef and rock and patchy sand. You get the currents really roaring through there some times.
Catch all kinds of fish, i've got trout, trevally, mackeral, cobia, sweetlip, cod (big buggers!!!), shark, jewfish, jacks, nanygai, fingermark, umm, basically if you can catch it around cairns, then it's a kings.

We have most success on BIG live baits (live stripies and hussars caught off the bottom, bout 30cm long) floating under some polystyrene, about 30ft under the foam. Also if you can get your hands on wolfherring, GET AS MANY AS YOU CAN!!!! Hook them up whole and drift them or float them out the back. Put a gar or pillie out or smaller livie, for the cobes.
Heaps of bait available at fitzroy, only 5-10mins away (10 in my boat, cos she a bit on the slow side!) Take a cast net for endless supply of sardines and herring.

The bottom around kings is AWSOME. there is a big plateau (bout 30ft deep) the is out the front of a little bay, then drops down to 140 or more ft. you get fish everywhere, but i tend to try the deeper water.

It now looks like i may not be able to come (AGAIN!!!!!) Floodwaters going down.

I'll keep in touch in the off chance that i can come. Let us know how you go. You can fish a heap of boats around kings, so may be a better option than the wreck if there are a few boats.

If you are heading to fitzroy, try around Little Fitzroy. Big dropoffs everywhere. Last time I was out there, just trolling, there were shitloads of fish sounding on the dropoffs. Good mackies around there as well!

Have a ball. No fish in georgetown :'( :'(

TimNQ
15-01-2004, 06:48 AM
;D im getting excited now. Lets go there to kings point ;D
What do you think NQ? Im really not that fussed i just want to go and catch some fish where ever they may be but this kings does sound promising.

NQCairns
15-01-2004, 06:54 AM
Dan you dont happen to work in the tourist industry do you?? That was an awsome plug, i started shaking just reading it, sounds just brilliant :o.
What wind direction is the best and worst for the area? also what size waves turn the place to crap? If you have any GPS coords for basic spots that you dont mind giving away pm them when you have time, i promise to recipricate with some goodies when i get more exp in the area.
Flood waters, how rare that is these days up here, with luck it may keep pissing down, for more reasons than one. Hope to see you at the ramp, if not have a safe trip. nq

Edit: Yeah Tim bloody hell! That place will see the bottom of my hull I an sure. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Edit again : Actually if a person draws a line from the wreck due south-ish then ENE-ish then west-ish it creates a big triangle of fun ;D ;D ;D between the Wreck, kings, telford and back to the wreck :o will get back with some distances so that we have options for the trip.Cheers

Dr_Dan
15-01-2004, 08:01 AM
Nah, don't work in the tourist industry, just love the spot.

As for wind direction etc, it's really hard to say. There have been times when i've nearly not made it out through the leads because too rough, then got to kings, dead flat. Other times, made the trip out, and had to turn around once got there.

As long as you don't mind a bit of bumpy stuff, you should be able to head out fairly often. Anything up to 15knots i head out in. Just make sure got some bailing equipment, had some real rough trips out there, taking water over the bow!

Distances, well, i'm not sure exactly. it takes me just under an hour (40-50mins) to get there, but that's with a 25 with two or three blokes on board with a full chest full of ice and gear etc. More like 50mins to get there for me. Get out ther in bout 25-30 in mates 4.75 cuddy with 75 on the back. So it's not all that long. i run the motor flat out (have to to get anywhere) and i use just over a tank to get there and back with a bit of trolling, and moving around out there. That's a 20ltr tank by the way.

As for spots, I dont' actually own a GPS!!!! Uni student wages don't permit it! I have to rely on the good old triangulation.

I'll PM you with some good areas to try.

Word of advice!
watch out for the mud flats on the eastern side of the inlet! Just watch your sounder if heading over it at low tide. Should get over fine in a tinny, but i normally don't risk it too much.

Also, as you come around the headland at Kings, there are a couple of rocks/bommies that are away from the coast bout 15-20mts. Just keep an eye out for these. take it slow around the headland, drop some lures out the back for a troll. watch your sounder, you'll be amazed at the bottom!

NQCairns
16-01-2004, 06:10 AM
Hi Guys, here is the weekend forecast so far
Saturday: NW/NE winds 10/15 knots.
Sunday: SE/NE winds 10/15 knots.
looks like the dont know what is happening sunday.
It has been raining cats and dogs here all morning, and had been gusting to 27kn, should be some minor flooding around, might help the fishing soon ;D Cheers

TimNQ
16-01-2004, 06:16 AM
Hmm hope its all better, I couldnt wait for the rain to hit but now i want to go away on the weekend i wish it hadnt.

NQCairns
19-01-2004, 01:28 PM
What a beautifull day on the water was today, it didn't get above 6kn virtually all day at Green Is. We would have had a ball, I would have misssed out regardless though been to crook these last couple of days to really bother about anything. Kinda sucks when it happens like this the least it could have done was blow a gale. The next trip will be a goer!!nq

fnq_tinnie
19-01-2004, 06:27 PM
hi scott sorry to hear you were crook i've been meaning to ring but we r flat out the moment working 7 days aweek please keep me infrom on what happing at this meet and greet .

fnq tinnie aka ron

Dr_Dan
21-01-2004, 08:28 AM
So you guys didn't get out!!!! That's gotta suck. makes me feel a bit better considering i was flooded in at Georgetown!!! NO FISH OUT THERE!!!!!

I'm heading back to Tville soon, so don't think will be able to get much more opportunities for a fish. O well, have to start checkin out some of the spots at Tville.

Scotty, i'll PM you with the stuff you need.

NQCairns
28-01-2004, 03:34 PM
Anyone up for the trip to green and about this weekend? if the weather works? nq

TimNQ
28-01-2004, 06:00 PM
I would love to scott but i im afraid the misses may not allow it. Just back from expensive but short trip to brissy so ill have to see just how sweet i can talk. Will keep you informed but i would like to give it a go while this whether is so good.

NQCairns
29-01-2004, 03:57 AM
Cheers Tim I will keep an ear out, gotta get the hours in before the boat goes :o you silly bugger ;D, Boats/Women the way it works is you only get rid of the one you got when new one is sitting in the driveway ::).
O yeah - had a chuckle over the lure in the scone story ;D, hope your not that accident prone all the time :o.
Chees nq

TimNQ
29-01-2004, 04:58 AM
LOL nah not usually accident prone. Almost everyone i know has copped a lure in them somewhere so i knew my turn was innevitable.

Daintreeboy
29-01-2004, 05:08 AM
;D ;D

Daintreeboy
29-01-2004, 05:13 AM
Went down the Barron with Moffy's brother on Monday casting for Prawns. There were a few around but I had to catch them all!!!! How do you throw that net again moffy!? ;D
The tides are pretty ordinary this weekend so I doubt I'll be doing any bait fishing in the rivers. Might be another prawning session or a chance to do some luring. I'll let you know. Sorry NQ about no pm but we shifted house on the weekend.
Cheers, Mark.

Moffy
29-01-2004, 09:49 AM
nothing wrong with my net throwing DB - usually the crook driver that causes the problems. Speaking of crook - i thought you were too crook to go to work today - you don't seem to be having any trouble tapping away on the keyboard at home ;)

Daintreeboy
29-01-2004, 09:53 AM
tap tapppy tap :D. No energy involved here just to clean the screen whenever I sneeze on it :P

TimNQ
29-01-2004, 10:13 AM
Flu in north qld, is there anything worse ???

Daintreeboy
29-01-2004, 10:23 AM
[smiley=sleeping.gif] [smiley=freak.gif] [smiley=end.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=hanged.gif]

NQCairns
30-01-2004, 12:01 PM
No problem Daintree, you must have really good mates to help you move house, true test of friendship that one ;D. Hope you get better and duck that new bird flu hits Cairns, that one is a shocker :o Damn those Tourists :-X