View Full Version : Cape Cleveland Rocks

nonibbles
05-03-2005, 06:34 AM
Going about 4pm-ish Wed arvo with 3 on board, from Coast Guard Ramp. Back late that night after tide peaks sometime. Target fingermark at night, and whatever as sun drops. Will be finding a spot and sticking in area so not a lot of fuel will be spent. 2.5m run, dark night, hopefully still winds but I won't hold my breath, being TSV and all - sounds good to me.
Any other boats gunna join us (this is an open invite, I don't mean to appear specific)?
Nathan?
Jason?
Robbo?
Kelvin?
Leo?

cooky
05-03-2005, 06:37 AM
I might, but I have a feeling the wife has something on at around 6pm - which leaves me with the kids.

Are the Cape Cleveland rocks - 20 ft, 4ft, etc?

nonibbles
05-03-2005, 06:46 AM
Yeah, just around corner. Hence would like another's presence.

Nathanrb4
05-03-2005, 06:51 AM
Mate if its not blowing to hard i`ll head out.

Nathanrb4
05-03-2005, 06:58 AM
Nonibbles you ever fished the 2 pinicles in between the cape and 20ft? last time i was out there i came across them but my GPS hasn`t been working so couldn`t mark them.

nonibbles
05-03-2005, 07:01 AM
No, I've only ever fished around the corner once and not very well. I only have marks for where the main rocks are but no specific fishing spots. Part of reason heading out in daylight. Anyone have spots marked?

cooky
05-03-2005, 10:21 AM
i marked a couple from memory. Around christmas time was going to salamander regularly.

Recent trip (over a month ago) checked out those rocks and bit of bottom structure around the place, but didn't get a thing - don't know how successful they are - I never really saw many boats around them. More boats hang around inside of the lighthouse point.

I might head over the island this Sunday morning - haven't had the boat out for a few weeks.

Nathanrb4
05-03-2005, 10:46 AM
ok nonibble just been out and got a new handline (wishful thinking :) ) and have organised the anchor boy so i`m in. might head over alittle earlier i think as i wanna see if theres any crays hanging around that lighthouse point.

nonibbles
05-03-2005, 11:14 AM
I've got a feeling dicko, lures and Al_NFI have some spots but not having ever met them I'd expect they'd stay pretty secretive. Of course, they may want to venture out with us ;)

Nathanrb4
08-03-2005, 07:27 AM
Was that you at 7 To 7 saturday night nonibbles?
Its not looking to flash for wednesday hey, Wednesday: SE/E winds 20/25 knots.

Dr_Dan
08-03-2005, 08:35 AM
Looked at bom nathan, looks like 25-30. Was planning to go with paul, but can't now. Lucky the weather is turning out crappy again hey paul? I must be bad luck for you! ;)

nonibbles
08-03-2005, 09:06 AM
Anyone nedd a bit of wind or rain thier way, just get me to arrange to go fishing ;D
At least I'v got thursday off too so I have time to make a back up plan. ? creeks anyone.

Nathanrb4
08-03-2005, 09:25 AM
BIG run thursday. i`m hopeless at creek fishing but practice make perfect. i`ll see how i go with uni this week if i can get on top of everything i might be keen.

nonibbles
08-03-2005, 09:33 AM
...i might be keen.

oxymoron?

O.K. then does anyone have any tips for these conditions?

Nathanrb4
08-03-2005, 09:59 AM
ok if i can get through my lecture notes and the prac report i`ve got due thursday night i`m keen.
which creek you thinking about?

Wild_Side
08-03-2005, 11:25 AM
I'm head'n back up to hinchinbrook for another go.
Me and them there barra's have a score to settle....... >:(

nonibbles
08-03-2005, 02:18 PM
Actually now that a catagory 4 cyclone is pretty likely I think I may just stick to the bathtub. Very worried, more-so for my wife. She is on a cruise at present (2nd day) between Brissy and Port Douglas. I'm assured that if the weather turns foul they pull into port but not knowing their exact location at present is worrying me a fair bit. I tried ringing the ship but keep getting the message that I "cannot connect from this service."

nonibbles
09-03-2005, 05:17 AM
Ok make that a catagory 5.
Yeah, that makes me feel a WHOLE lot better now :-/

Jason if you're still going chasing barra good luck! I'd love to join ya but the thought of being cut off at Francis Ck (which always goes under) means I won't make it back in time for work... On second thoughts, what a great idea! ;D

Mad_Barry
09-03-2005, 05:46 AM
I've got no secrets over there :-X

Have put in a fair bit of time over that area & sally. very hit & miss. doesn't seem to be much of a population of resident bottom fish, you just hope to cross paths with some pelagics wandering through.

we may well be rained out later in the week anyway ;)

must be frustrating with the mrs out on a boat up there at the moment.

nonibbles
09-03-2005, 05:51 AM
Very frustrating. But all better now that she's rung in. They're not stopping in Port Douglas or Cairns now. They've turned south, next stop whitsunday's. That's pretty wise of them I guess. Could've been very difficult for all if they weren't allowed back out to sea.

Nathanrb4
09-03-2005, 06:46 AM
Wheres Francis creek?

nonibbles
09-03-2005, 07:06 AM
south of cattle creek on the way back to townsville from ingham. I think there is a roadside rest stop next to the north bound lane just before the bridge (small) and causeway (heading north)

Here's a useful link:
http://www.racq.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/SID-342D8FD3-40054D5E/racq_cms_production/hs.xsl/2655_ENA_HTML.htm/papp/01_Road_Reporting/[139163]

No. 70 is the trouble spot

Wild_Side
09-03-2005, 02:16 PM
No. 70 trouble spot? I call it a fishing spot ;D ::)

Nathanrb4
17-03-2005, 02:38 PM
Weather seems to be calming off alittle for this weekend. Anyone thinking about venturing out?

nonibbles
17-03-2005, 04:33 PM
Yeah, I'm going to Tassie ;D