View Full Version : NQ M&G
Nathanrb4
01-06-2005, 02:46 PM
With only afew weeks now till we head up to Taylors Beach i thought it was about time to post this in the "going fishing" section.
As Mick said in the "general" section. If theres only going to be 7 or 8 of us theres really no point in having 7 or 8 boats up there aswell. So i guess if everyones ok with it closer to the dates (18th and 19th of june) we should be able to work out which boats are comming ....... ect.
At the moment i think the list is.
Nathan (and mate)
Nonibbles (and family)
Cooky (and mates)
After7
Bosunsmate
Is there anyone else that just wants to come up for a day, is not sure or doesn`t have a boat, but is still interested? i wouldn`t mind taking afew deckies out with me if there is.
As for the guys who are going when are you planning on heading up and coming back? I`ll be heading up on the friday afternoon afterwork and more than likely heading home after a fish on the monday. I`m probly going to have one mate in tow aswell.
I`m sure everyone else has there own stuff to add and work out with everyone so here the place to do it.
Everyones welcome and it should be a good weekend (even if Cooky doesn`t fix the weather). I`m looking forward to catching up with those of you i`ve already met and meeting those i haven`t.
Cheers Nathan
Bad_Bubby
01-06-2005, 03:34 PM
I'm interested but i still don't know for sure if I will be down that way. Theres a chance I will be hitting some freshwater locations from 15th-17th June near Cairns. On the 18th I am planning to be in Townsville so Taylors beach may be just within range. I will be fishing with a good mate of mine Kiel (known as 'roosta' on sportsfish). We could potentially head up to Taylors on the 18th perhaps only for the day. The last time we went to a Townsville M&G we rode our bikes from Hermit Park to Black's Weir and nobody showed up so I'm not sure how easy it will be to convince him to tag along. We are both landbased aswell, but I'd be keen to give it another shot. I'll just have to know exactly where and when in advance so I can plan it.
Mad_Barry
01-06-2005, 03:44 PM
I'll increase my prevous odds from 80% to......... 85 % :)
Robbo_Townsville
01-06-2005, 07:28 PM
I will be in Cairns for my sons (next Wally Lewis) football or I would be there. Have fun guys.
nonibbles
02-06-2005, 06:08 AM
Hi. Found it. ;D
Mods: can this thread be stickied (even if it's just to annoy devocean ;D) until 19th June please.
devocean
02-06-2005, 11:48 AM
Bastard !!!!!!!
Nathanrb4
02-06-2005, 04:17 PM
Whats everyone planning on doing for fuel? should i be bringing a heap of fuel cans? or is there somewhere close enough for a fuel run to be done?
Wild_Side
02-06-2005, 04:48 PM
I'ill be up there for the M&G, it just so happens to be good tides for barra. ::)
As far as fuel goes, the shop sells it and has EFPOS. The only thing that you might need to do a run for is beer :(
Jason
nonibbles
02-06-2005, 06:33 PM
Bastard !!!!!!!
Yep!! [smiley=smug.gif]
Wild_Side
03-06-2005, 02:11 PM
I'll be going up on friday night, so if any body whats to come around and have a beer please feel free.
My oldies have a house at 10 Whiting st. Ture left at the phone box and go to the end of the street, you will see a couple of polycraft on the spear block on the corner and me with an esky full of cold goldies. ;D
Jason
nonibbles
04-06-2005, 05:57 AM
I'm going up Fri arvo so may take you up on that Jason (depends upon family priority at time - I'll call ya)
Nathanrb4
05-06-2005, 06:15 PM
bump
Dave and I should be there around dawn Saturday. No doubt, we'll be itchin to get on the water for an early hit.
Should we throw up a general meeting time to say g'day to everyone or a time to meet somewhere? Say,7am Saturday? Will everyone be there by then?
Nathanrb4
07-06-2005, 11:35 AM
Sounds like a plan to me mick. Where you wanna do it? the boat ramp?
nonibbles
07-06-2005, 06:53 PM
Smile for the group photo boys ;D [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Happy with the boat ramp at 7am. I got no idea where anything is, but I am not too worried. I'll fire off a couple of flares if I can't find ya's. ;D
Hey Nath, have you still got all your GPS spots? The ones you gave me early this year are in Devoceans GPS.
I'll post an early "Mick Special" weather report around this week end. I should have an idea of what the weather wants to dish up for us 7 days out.
Early weather indication.
Lots of Low pressure systems in the south at the moment. These lows pressure systems are good for us northerners as the lows tend to break the seemingly continuous high pressures which pump those sou easterly winds. If one of these lows can hold its form around the sou east corner of Australia and push the current high pressure towards Nu Ziland, we are in for a chance of good weather.
Forecasts have already predicted the wind to start coming down this week end. There is a chance, we could get some good weather in the middle of next week, only to have the wind back in time for the M and G. A bit touch and go at the moment. I will keep an eye on it and keep everyone updated.
Mick (glued to BOM)
Nathanrb4
08-06-2005, 12:57 PM
Yeah mick i`ve still got them and a heap more i`m trying to sort throu. Will bring them with me. I`m with you on the not knowing where anything is aswell mick but i`m sure we`ll be right.
Cooky are you and your mates still coming up? Haven`t heard anything for a while.
Nathan
After7 and I are sitting down with a beer on Thursday arvo to discuss our plan of attack. will post on Friday with final details.
The weather is giving me a head ache at this stage.., pretty difficult to pick and could go either way at the moment. The good news is there looks like there is a break in the high pressure systems but I am not sure when or for how long yet.
Cooky?
cooky
10-06-2005, 08:40 AM
still alive. Been flat out at work and just got back from Hamilton Island (a wedding). Will be working on the trip - looks like (due to work) only 3 days for me. Will see how I go.
let you know in next few days
Eeeeehhhhh Cooky, bout time mate.
Quick weather update : beats the hell out of me. Could be good and it could be bad.
I am just about to head over to dave's (After7) for a beer or 9 and to talk details. I can say at this stage that it looks like we are taking the bigger boat. Woohoo! C'mon weather..... be good! :)
7 days out and the weather is looking promising.
We have a very unstable weather pattern at the moment, but the wind is dropping over the north QLD coast as the ridge weakens. I predict there will be good weather about Tuesday and I am hoping it will last more then a couple of days.
Went over to Dave's last night. We decided to take the 5.35 meter tinny. We have comfortably got 4 people to the reef and back in this boat in average conditions. I'll post a pic so you guys can keep an eye out for us.
Basicaly, we are sleeping in a tent, bringing cooking gear, dive gear and fishing gear. We have 2 cartons ready with some night cap material of Port and Bourbon. We were going to be smart a$$'s and bring a jenny but we thought better of it.
We have decided to leave Bowen on the Friday afternoon, hopefuly no later then 4pm. Coming up in the Nissan Patrol, so it will probably take us 4 hours to get there, stopping for dinner in Townsville. Probably leaving Tailors Beach on the Monday.
As for fishing, we are hoping to get to the reef on one of the days (2 spare spots) and the rest is unplanned. Dave said he is happy to take another 2 to the reef as long as they don't mind Dave and I doing a bit of spearfishing as well (you can still fish while we dive - lines down current and divers up current has worked for us in the past). Oh, this will be ideal for anyone who wants to spearfish and is scared of sharks as Dave has recently purchased a shark shield. She works a treat as I found out personaly, when I surfaced after a dive and ran straight into the shark sheild and got voltage zapped through my body.....yayayayayayay yaaaaaa!
Anyhow, we are looking forward to getting up there, even if the numbers have dropped off a bit. We are still keen to have a good time and land a couple of fish. Hope everyone else is still keen.
Attendance update.
Nathan and Mate (4.3m CC) arriving Friday night, I think.
Nonibbles and Family arriving Friday afternoon. (unsure if bringing boat)
Cooky and Mates unsure when arriving. (I think boat is coming)
Wild Side arriving Friday night - staying with family.
After7 and me arriving Friday night (with 5.35 cc)
Dicko is 85%, bad bubby has also showed interest.
Haven't heard from Bosunsmate for a while but i am pretty sure he was a definate
OK thats 3 posts in a row from me. Can ppl please add to or change details as above so we can organise whats happening, especially arriving times. If weather is good Saturday morning, who would be keen to get out to the reef?
nonibbles
11-06-2005, 10:04 AM
Yep, bringing "Hot Chilli" with me - Quinnie 5m Freedomsport. Radio is 27MHz only. Has two black ausfish stickers on transom, maroon (Qlder! - couldn't help myself ;D) bimini being towed by dirty great maroon (Qlder! - oops ;D again) Pajero.
Would love to go out to reef, however with family aboard (missus, 6 y.o and mother in law) not much chance of me having much say there. My plans are to stay close for creeks and inshore stuff. I'll be showing the littl'n how to catch grunter, bream and whiting, dig yabbies, hopefully cast some slices at queenies and doggies. And don't tell his mum but I'd like to get a photo of his nanna cuddling a crocodile.
I'll be helping Wildside sink a tube or two on Fri arvo too.
Nathanrb4
11-06-2005, 01:11 PM
I`ll be heading up early sat. morning in time to meet at the boat ramp.
Bringing my boat and a mate.
Also bringing my spearing gear so i might follow you guys out mick if thats cool?
Was planning on bringing a small genny and a fluro aswell as tent, cooking stuff and drinks.
I`d be keen as to head out ot the reef saturday mick.
Am heading out this weekend to see if i can get some slab bait for the reef and maybe some wolfies if they are around.
fingers crossed for the weather!
nathan
Bad_Bubby
11-06-2005, 11:21 PM
I am going to reluctantly have to withdraw. Sorry guys. A few things have happened lately that have really ruined my chance of doing a road trip. Firstly my mate Kiel pulled out, secondly I pranged my dad's car, and lastly I apparently have family duties on the 18th/19th. :( >:( >:( :(
No sweat Bad bubby, we'll hook a few on your behalf.
Yep Nathan, totaly cool to convoy to the reef on Saturday morning if the weather permits. Oh, and top stuff you are bringing your spear gear as well.
I have booked for 3 nights at Tailors. Cost $51 for 2 adults for 3 nights at a non powered sight. Happy with that! :)
The weather is coming good pretty quickly which could be a worry since we are still a week off, but I am praying to the almighty Cooky God for the weather to stay good. In fact, it looks like I will be going out to the reef on Monday with Devocean and After7 which will be a good warm up for the M&G.
Nathanrb4
12-06-2005, 08:51 AM
where`d you book mick?
I headed out from Tomulla this morning at about 6 and headed up to the palms. Theres alot of tuna and small macks around up that way but with no run didn`t bother trying the bottom. Things are starting to look good for it guys!
cooky
12-06-2005, 10:23 AM
an update for me probably sees me there for the weekend - not 3 days - work too busy unfortunately.
Not sure when heading up as yet - either Fri night or Sat morn early (more luck with wife heading up sat morning unless tide is right to get over friday night). Will figure it out this weekend.
Will be taking boat - It's been that long since I've taken it out, i hope it still works....
nonibbles
12-06-2005, 03:16 PM
It's been that long since I've taken it out, i hope it still works....
Are you missing Kerry too?
cooky
13-06-2005, 07:22 AM
missing Kerry?? definitely ;D
I've had a bit of an issue - don't know how it will effect my plans next week. I wanted to take the boat for a test run early this morning out to the Cape to discover some low life F**KS have STOLEN >:( >:( >:(my 85L Evakool and TACKLE BOX. I haven't had a chance to check the boat out anymore as I had to come into work.
Now these 2 items are pretty essential to my fishing - I had to cancel today's trip.
I don't know what to do. They were both in the boat out the front of my house. There was more in the boat, but it looks like this is all they could reach without having to actually jump up into the boat.
If you see an 85L evacool with some repairs to the bottom side around - KILL THEM (one repair includes a gold lotto card you can still see through the resin).
I'm not going to be happy if I run across either of them again. My tackle box had engraved initials CC or C Cook on it.
I've now got to figure out the value I guess - knives, lures, leader, spare braid spools (reels), hooks, sinkers, pliers, etc, etc.
The world is really starting to piss me off
Thats r@@ted! I have killed 9 people with eskys so far cooky but none of them had yours, sorry mate. I'll keep killing. [smiley=rifle.gif]
Nathan, booked at Tailors Beach Caravan park.., i think.., i hope.
Weather is still touch and go. There is still a chance of getting some real good weather this week end, but at the moment, forecasts are predicting a moderate SE breeze. The high over QLD will be watched with great enthusiasm over the next few days. I'll try to keep this thread udated.
nonibbles
15-06-2005, 06:40 AM
I'll try to keep this thread udated.
?inundated / updated / outdated ;D
I'm at the caravan park too. Arriving Fri Arvo. Tent site 1 (tropical tent) come over and say Hi! If I'm not there check with Wildside
Wild_Side
15-06-2005, 06:47 AM
Glad this M&G was not no the Queens birthday weekend. I haven't seen that many boats at taylors beach in my life... :P
?inundated / updated / outdated ;D
I'm at the caravan park too. Arriving Fri Arvo. Tent site 1 (tropical tent) come over and say Hi! If I'm not there check with Wildside
Lock in 'B' Eddy.
nonibbles
15-06-2005, 07:30 AM
Glad this M&G was not no the Queens birthday weekend. I haven't seen that many boats at taylors beach in my life... :P
At least Parents still have to go to work. Next week is the start of the school holidays, I imagine there would be a few people then as well.
Wild_Side
15-06-2005, 01:51 PM
I don't think there will be all that many people up there this weekend, as the cane season started in Ingham today. Every body from around the area were just getting their fix to last them the next six months. 8)
devocean
15-06-2005, 04:51 PM
I know I cannot go but I thought I would throw in a report from my cousin who lives nearby who has told me that the spotties are running pretty mad out the front shoal about 1.5km from the mouth on floated pillies. Have fun guys
cooky
15-06-2005, 06:49 PM
i've heard the same - I need my tackle box to magically appear
I know I cannot go but I thought I would throw in a report from my cousin who lives nearby who has told me that the spotties are running pretty mad out the front shoal about 1.5km from the mouth on floated pillies. Have fun guys
Dan, isn't he a cane farmer as well? He'd say anything if he is about to start 6 months of continual hard labour.
mmmm, Saturday looks good for a possible reef trip. 10 knots with a sea breeze in the arvo. I expect the sea breeze to be fairly light as the difference between water temp and land temp are at a minimum this time of year, Yeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyooooooooo!
Nathanrb4
16-06-2005, 01:38 PM
Yeah Mick one of the old guys at work was saying the same today about the light wind.
It still ok if i follow you guys out if you go?
Fingers crossed we get atleast one reef trip in!
Nathanrb4
16-06-2005, 04:48 PM
while i`m on it is 7am early enough to meet up?
Yeah, 7 is probably early enough. This will be my last time on the computer, so this is me signing off.
The latest weather shows that the wind will come up a little today and Friday (don't panic) but nothing drastic, still moderate breezes, and then drop off a bit for the week end. Saturday is ment to be 10 -15 knots and Sunday is 8 - 13 knots. I think we could get to the reef on Saturday without getting too wet, but Sunday is looking the best so far.
Dave and I should be arriving at Tailors Beach between 8pm and 9pm Friday night. Would be good to say hello to anyone who is up there Friday night and have little drinky. Apart from that I 'll see yas at the ramp at 7am on Saturday.
No nibbles (which will not be happening - might have to change that name for the week end to huge bites), I will keep an eye out for you when we get there.
Wild side, will also keep an eye out for you in whiting street. We might do a drive by your place and see if you are still up having a beer on the front veranda. If we arrive too late, and there are no lights on, I won't bother coming over (don't want to annoy your parents with late drop ins) and I'll catch up with you on Saturday morning.
We will be in Nissan Patrol towing a 5.3 meter tinny.
nonibbles
17-06-2005, 05:56 AM
Great, things just keep getting better. Have booked for an extra night so will be there until Monday. Mother in law not well but still coming so we upgraded to a cabin (obviously now dollars will be more scarce but that's life.) Will have to be quite frugal with fuel but if time and money permits may be able to do a reef trip now. Anyone with enough range here's some interesting info: Trunk Reef is holding some big Spaniards at the moment. Now this is a big reef and for those who know the area I'll be more specific when I get there but I'm sure you know the most likely spot. Don't waste time with bait once you get there troll those laser pros. (last weekends biggest was 25kg, plenty of trout but once the macks were on they didn't bother with the bottom anymore)
cooky
17-06-2005, 05:58 AM
7am sounds good saturday. my mobile number is 0417 608090 if anyone needs to find me. I've got to get a mate or two together and borrow some fishing tackle (since mine was stolen).
I'll be in for a reef trip for sure. Looks like I'll head up in the morning at this stage.
I;ve been so busy of late haven't organised sh*t - haven't even told the wife yet - will have to tonight :o
I think the boat still floats at least.
nonibbles
17-06-2005, 06:16 AM
I'm looking for marks specifically for picking up bait. ie squid / prawns in area. The usual fish species for livebaiting (fusiliers etc) don't worry me too much there anywhere there's structure and not too hard to find but I'd like to get hold of some squid and prawn spots so the little fella can help me catch bait.
Cooky, I am sure we can get you through the week end without any tackle shortage worries.
No nibbles, don't worry about the squid mate. I just bought a 10 million power candle torch. I can attract squid from Tahiti. The sun sets when I say it can set.
I have heard about the mackerel reports as well. AND THIS IS A BEAUTY, Devoceans cousin who lives up there caught an 80cm barra off the sand spit at Tailors last week end. Released as well! :D
Looks like we got a few reef takers which is good. Safety in numbers as well. As of now I have about 3 hours of work left to go (no callouts please) and then its time to pack. Love packing for a fishing trip!
cooky
17-06-2005, 12:43 PM
looks like I'll have to fit in a trip to the tackle shop tomorrow. I have the lures I had left on my rods - that's it.
I have no friggin sounder either. So I'll just play guessing games.
Mad_Barry
17-06-2005, 12:48 PM
Bit of a change of plan, have commitments till after lunch on Saturday so will slip up Saturday Arvo. Booked a cabin for Sat night, so will have a couple of beers Sat arvo/evening. Will have the kids with me, weather permitting, will probably rip over to the orpheous/pelorus for a play around & lunch at yanks Jetty on sunday.
fishclaus
17-06-2005, 02:21 PM
Have a great weekend everyone, as usual I will be WORKING!
Nathanrb4
17-06-2005, 02:23 PM
SO 7am saturday morning it is. I`ll be leaving townsville at about 530 so i`ll be there in time. Are there any last minute takers? Even if anyone just feels like dropping in and saying G`day saturday evening feel free. my mobile # is 0424585095 so give us a call or check the pub and caravan park for us.
Should be a really good weekend even if the wind does pick up.
See everyone there!
Nathan
Wild_Side
17-06-2005, 02:29 PM
I'ill be headen up tomorrow lunch time to pick the boat up from J&B marine. But I have to come home at lunch time on saturday because of work promo at ProTackle. 8)
Might even sneek a trip out to find a red fish or two, wheather permitting ;D anyway if the boats on the corner block I'm home.
devocean
17-06-2005, 04:20 PM
Mick remeber cant spear at trunk. If you go to Lucinda you might want to give Petey a yell as hes not driving the haullout this year and you know hes always keen for a spear. Hes still living at the units
cooky
18-06-2005, 04:08 AM
an update for me - one of my deckies can't leave until lunch sat now. So might not be up until early afternoon. Will be keen for a reef trip Sunday though. Could probably take another person too.
cooky
18-06-2005, 04:28 AM
it's been pissing with rain in Tsv - anyone know what the weather is looking like being like on the weekend for this trip???
cooky
18-06-2005, 04:29 AM
the forecast still looks good - particularly for Sunday, but it's windy here now. Just wondering
nonibbles
18-06-2005, 05:48 AM
I'm heading up at about 2pm today with 3 empty gerries. What are fuel prices like in Ingham/Lucinda at present? Can I use a woolies voucher somewhere? Oh Yeah, Wildside I better win that competition at Pro Tackle ;) . It would be great to join you in NT for a few days. (Was that a good plug?)
P.S. Everybody remember to call in and see "Luigi" at Lucinda Lures he is offering Ausfish members a 10% discount he may even show you how they're made.
cooky
18-06-2005, 06:19 AM
fuel - pretty high when last there
Leo_N.
18-06-2005, 06:27 AM
bugger, I thought this thing was last weekend. I have to head up to the reefs off Lucinda for a research trip on Sunday, so might see some of you out there.
And Devocean you can spear at Trunk - yellow zones are open to spearing you just can't have two hooks on your line :-/
cooky
18-06-2005, 09:18 AM
just had a look at the tides and we might have to head up later Sat afternoon - needs to be decent tide to get out of mouth easy - low tide at lunchtime. Tide looks perfect for an early morning trip on sunday to reef or palms
Wild_Side
18-06-2005, 09:38 AM
I'm leaving in 10 mins, fuel is about 1.01 at the shop at taylors and .98 in town.
cooky
09-07-2005, 09:47 AM
for Nathanb4
Daintreeboy
09-07-2005, 04:53 PM
Hey Guys. We have a long weekend up this way on July 23rd. My B'day is the Monday 25th so I may be heading up the Daintree Friday. There's a hut there so accom is free. Anyone in?
PS full moon thurs and tides for thurs/fri are awesome so fishin should be hot.
devocean
16-07-2005, 01:42 PM
Tempting tempting might cost me my marriage but by going from your past posts might be worth it
bazzaman
18-07-2005, 10:44 AM
Mark check your pm..........im gunna see what the weather does and if the wind is down i might head wide for a night on the reef! Any thoughts???? Or it will be up the daintree if theres a spare seat.
Cheers Shane