View Full Version : Charter to the Swaines Reef
bronco023
18-03-2006, 09:59 PM
Hi, I have booked the Norval for a 7 day charter to the Swaines Reef for the week 8-15 April 2006. Unfortunately 4 of the blokes who were coming can no longer make it (can't get their priorities right). There is now an opportunity for 4 others to join us and have a week of fabulous fishing and fun. Cost is $1365 (charter) + $13 (environment levy) + bait (about $100). The Norval can be checked out at www.norvalcharters.com.au
There is a maximum of 10 fishermen looked after by 2 crew. This is one way to get spoilt while you fish. Been on it twice before and had fantastic times (that's why we're lining up again).
For more info or answers to questions join in the chat or phone Bob on 0409875620.
Hope there are some keen fishermen available to join us. :)
mariner_22
19-03-2006, 09:14 PM
Mate you may just be in luck i have a crew of Four lookin for a charter to go on to swains where does Norval launch from.
From Mariner 22
mariner_22
19-03-2006, 09:18 PM
>:( >:(sory man just checked the date and I can't make it that week damn!!!!!!!!!!!
bronco023
20-03-2006, 07:10 PM
Hi mariner_22,
Really sorry that you can't make the dates, we would have a great time.
Fyi the Norval sails from Gladstone. She is a great fishing boat with 3 dories and I highly recommend the experience. The fishing is great and the service fantastic. I just love the experience of sitting back with a cold beer at the end of the day watching someone else clean all the fish and then enjoy a great meal before a bit of night fishing and squid catching.
Anyway if it is at all possible to swing the trip let me know.
Regards Bob
angler
21-03-2006, 06:33 PM
hi bronco sounds good what the total price for the 7 days.
john
bronco023
21-03-2006, 07:58 PM
Hi John,
The cost of the charter is $1365 per person. Then there is a $13 environment levy (collected for the Qld Gvt) and cost of bait (which last year was about $80). These costs are per person. All meals are supplied as is linen, towells etc. Accommodation is in cabins (2 or 4 berth). We have to supply our own drinks. The Norval has a big freezer on board and all fish are snap frozen as fillets or whole fish (your choice). This year we are taking bigger eskies as we ran out of room last year.
Hope this info helps. Regards Bob
bronco023
26-03-2006, 07:59 PM
Hey c'mon guys,
There must be someone out there who would like to take advantage of this opportunity. You don't need four as a couple of two's would make up the numbers. I would really hate to miss out on this trip as I reckon the fish are really going to be on the bite after this bit of lousy weather.
If you may be a possibility give me a call on the number provided or join the the chat.
Cheers Bob ;)
robersl
26-03-2006, 08:38 PM
would of gone only im off to darwin that week barra fishing
redspeckle
27-03-2006, 07:33 PM
I would love to go but have other comments I will be to force to take some annual leave shorty it a shame not another week for it
last time I when to go the swains didn't get ther condition way to rough stay in port clinton instead chase esturay cod and crabs and had a great time instead
Mitch
bronco023
27-03-2006, 08:15 PM
Hi robersl, thanks for your reply. Hope you get into some good barra up there. I was there in 2004, fished the Daly River. Goin back next year about this time straight after the wet. Looking forward to seeing the pictures of the big ones.
Thanks for your reply Mitch. Mate you have to make sure you get out there it is awesome. I love crabs but they're no match for some big coral trout.
Bob
robersl
27-03-2006, 09:12 PM
no worries they willbe posted 5 days 4 nights at kakadu fishing the run off got the digital ready to go
rod_m27
27-03-2006, 09:54 PM
u checked ya pm's?
bronco023
28-03-2006, 06:41 PM
Hi Rodney, tried checking my pm's but came up with a problem. Apparently I'm too new to Ausfish as it says that I have to have 10 posts or else I just don't know how look in the right spot. Would appreciate any help in this area.
Thanks Bob :-[
rod_m27
28-03-2006, 07:01 PM
I'm new too and had the same prob little while back.
(sorry I didnt notice ya post count).
PM sent was -
Subject: 7 day charter
« Date: 24. Mar 2006 at 20:14 »
Hi Bob, u said 4 ppl werent going, did u have 10 lined up? (6 still going so far?)..
What sorta time does she leave on the 8th?
I'm in Brissy, where are the majority of ya crew stationed? eg, you guys fly up there or drive... If u drive is there car storage available? at what cost.
I'm keen Grin , got the time and the cash, just goto check out best way to get there..
Cheers RODNEY.
PS, if say you only get 7/8 blokes total, does the cost/person go up?
bronco023
28-03-2006, 07:47 PM
Hi Rodney, thanks for getting back so quickly. Had 6 lined up til last night now only 5. One guy needed to know to line up a replacement for work. Anyway we have limited the cost to $1500 per person if we do not get the 10. If we get 7 or more I think we are a goer. I have discussed this with the owner of the boat.
We are travelling by car up from the Gold Coast. I am taking my landcruiser which can seat 8 (6 comfortably) with a trailer for eskies and gear. Roofracks on top for rods. At the moment 5 seats are taken so there is room if you would like. The boat leaves Gladstone Harbour Saturday arvo anywhere from 2.00pm on depending on tide and when everybody is there. We get back early the following Sat morn to get home in the arvo.
There is vehicle lockup adjacent to the wharf, $65 last year for undercover parking for the week.
Hope this helps and look forward to hearing from you, Bob :)
bronco023
28-03-2006, 07:52 PM
Hi fish-n-dive, don't think it could be the same boat but would be interested if you have more info.
Bob
rod_m27
28-03-2006, 09:09 PM
:)
Bob email me a contact number...
rod_m27@yahoo.com.
bronco023
29-03-2006, 06:25 AM
Rodney 0409875620 anytime or 55028098 tonight after 6 Bob
fish-n-dive
29-03-2006, 07:10 AM
Hi fish-n-dive, don't think it could be the same boat but would be interested if you have more info.
Bob
Speak to Lloyd @ Barra Jacks Tackleworld in Rockhampton Ph:49224833
Cheers 8-)
bronco023
29-03-2006, 08:23 PM
Thanks fish-n-dive. I'll give them a call. Bob
31-03-2006, 09:56 AM
ARRGGHHHHHHHHHH !!!!!!!!! still 21 weeks till my trip to Swains again >:(
Have a good one, AND expect a full report here when you get back ! ;)
rod_m27
31-03-2006, 02:47 PM
:(
Trip cancelled, not enough people. :'(
(well thats what they told me) ;D
Rodney.
shadow
02-04-2006, 06:59 PM
fished swains when i was 18 on the austrailiana(not shore of the spelling) if i wasnt committed to a boat wood love to come
bronco023
03-04-2006, 09:50 PM
Hi guys, been away for the weekend. As Rodney said trip has been cancelled due to lack of numbers. It's a real bugger as I have been looking forward to this since Xmas. Anyway there's always later in the year. :'(
If by some miracle there's another 3 fishermen out there who could commit in the next two days we could still be a goer. ;)
Bob