View Full Version : Rockhampton and Cap Coast Ausfishers!
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
24-02-2006, 07:48 PM
Had an enjoyable hour or so talking with Bay Firery (Mark) last night and we were wondering how many Ausfishers there are in this area. We thought it might be good to meet up occasionally for a few beers or a fish together or both!!! Anybody who is interested please send me a pm and we'll see what we can organise.
fish-n-dive
25-02-2006, 11:23 AM
I live in Emerald but get across to Rocky from time to time. If it was a Fri or weekend thing, I'd be in it!!! ;)
DNO40
26-02-2006, 07:13 AM
Depending on times, I would be interested. By that I mean you must allow me travelling time if it's going to be in Rocky.
Need to do some sleepover / Camp M&G thing somewhere.
There is lot of Ausfishers in the area, lets do something. I know they have the Meet and Greets @ 1770 but I feel more out of Towners come to those to relish in our beautiful area.
Lets keep it local for locals.
DNO
bay_firey
26-02-2006, 08:06 PM
A sleep over - That sounds like a good Idea Dno
Where / when - Not Easter, am going to Woodgate for easter, have planned about 10 dyas of fishing but I will only have 4 days to get it all done nad knowing my luck it will be blowing like mad
DNO40
27-02-2006, 06:14 AM
Mark,
Not sure when, this is Dave and Sue's child and I'll leave all the plans and communications up to him. Just let me know where and when.
DNO
stork71
27-02-2006, 08:07 AM
A couple more of AusFisher's down here in Gladstone are keen..
harry_h01
27-02-2006, 09:06 AM
I'm interested also.
Now I just need to get the wife and family on board.
Don't forget also that Gladstone is holding the Qld Eisteddfod around Easter, so some of us may be tied up with that.
Harry
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
27-02-2006, 11:23 AM
Great to see these responses!
Anyone who wants to post or contact Mark or myself please feel encouraged to do so. He and I will meet again soon to discuss the responses and form a game plan and put it to everyone for consideration.
CQ_Fisher
27-02-2006, 01:56 PM
Count me in too
fish-n-dive
27-02-2006, 04:17 PM
PM me if you get it going and I'll be their!!! ;)
brett_rokesky
27-02-2006, 07:18 PM
i'm a yeppoon ausfisher so count me in ;)
DNO40
27-02-2006, 08:30 PM
All sounds promising Dave say what.
DNO
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
27-02-2006, 09:06 PM
Looking good Dean!!
Wild_cat
27-02-2006, 09:20 PM
I'm interested but if someone can pm once the dates are set as
i may miss this thread.
bay_firey
27-02-2006, 09:23 PM
We'll look after you john ;)
bay_firey
28-02-2006, 06:59 PM
Come on Dave, you got this ball rolling, hows about some ideas and times etc
fish-n-dive
01-03-2006, 05:12 PM
Yeah, come on Dave, I'm hanging out to wet a line in saltwater.
Cheers ;)
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
01-03-2006, 07:38 PM
I am looking at moon phases/tides etc to give us all the best possible shot on a weekend. The weather also is some concern in the near short term.
I had in mind probably in about 3 weeks time a Saturday mid morning bar-be-que somewhere on the Yeppon coast followed by the rest of the day on the water, either around the close islands eg: Ironpot etc or further afield, depending on your craft of course. Then perhaps a countery and a few beers/rumbo's at the Strand Hotel. Sunday morning could see more of the same but some will probably have to head home.
I think the coast would be more productive than the Fitzroy and provides greater options. The landbased could fish anywhere around Rosslyn Bay Marina or off the rocks on the Eastern side. If the weather is respectable, even small boats like my 4.4 Jabiru can easily and safely head to Nth or Great Keppel Island.
How does that sound??? Any thoughts on this at all???
Cheers to you all
DNO40
01-03-2006, 09:05 PM
Dave,
Sounds good to me. I am fairly well booked up in Mar with the 10th, 11th, 17th. and 18th booked, and easter is out as is for many others.
Throw some dates around and we'll negotiate as required with HQ Home and others as need be.
The weather in the short term is not conducive to a coastal fish from Yeppoon.
Keep the thoughts coming guys as these things are always easier to organise if everybody is straight up and has thier say.
Soon.
DNO
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
02-03-2006, 12:53 PM
I have a couple of suggestions for your due consideration me hearties! ;)
The weekend of Saturday 1st April holds good tides, and hopefully may suit everyone. Although the moon position is not the best, beggars can't be choosers. It would seem that the weather is not going to lend itself to any form of reliability for the next month or so and therefore I have taken this into account and bypassed the Yeppoon idea and come up with the following suggestions. ;)
Suggestion 1.:
Meet at Gladstone Marina bar-be-que area, Saturday 1st April, at 0730hrs for breaky (which Sue and I will put on) and meetings and greetings. Then engines fired and fishing. :) There are many options here which would be up to individual choices. There is the Marina, Calliope River, The Narrows, the Harbour or whatever takes your fancy.
Meet back at main boat ramp at 1500hrs for comparisons and weigh in. Each boat throws in $10.00 (only if you want to) and biggest fish takes all. Biggest meaning heaviest.
1630hrs drinks in the main bar at Phil Daly's Queens Hotel. :P
1830hrs dinner at the Gladstone Sailing Club - on the verandah.
People requiring a place to shower and change may be able to do so at my parents home or I'm sure we can arrange something!
Pros: Plenty of options for fishing, crabbing.
Cons: Maybe too expensive for some. Not conducive to socialising with the group exclusively.
Suggestion 2.:
Saturday 1st April shows tides which really lend themselves to wandering down Wild Cattle Creek on route to Hummock Hill Island. High water is 3.72m @ 11.06hrs. Low water is .76m @ 0503hrs. We could meet at the ramp (details of which ramp and how to access will be shown if this suggestion is selected by the majority) at say......0830hrs and toddle off to Hummock Hill, throw a fly up and some overnight accommodation, and kick back until mid morning Sunday. The tides would allow us all an easy exit Sunday morn.
Pros: Socialising with the group exclusively. Cheap -(it is free to camp on the island). A beautiful place in paradise. Heaps of fun with a sleepover!
Cons: If windy, crossing Colleseum Inlet could be hairy.
It's your call! What do you all think?? :-?
harry_h01
02-03-2006, 02:33 PM
Suggestion 1 for me
But the 1st of April is the local dance festival so the date is no good.
Harry
DNO40
03-03-2006, 05:55 AM
Options Options Options, G'Day Dave and Sue,
Option two is obviously more me, no fancy crap and close to home crunch to boot.
Option one is also OK for me, close to home and involves alcohol.
Option three would also suit...........what no option three yet !
If people wish to take up option 2, secure car parking will be available, shower facilities if required and post trip drinks at DNO's.
Suggest you start a matrix listing all the options and mark the choices by the people.
DNO
stork71
03-03-2006, 02:28 PM
Option Three: overnight up at Station Point (top end of curtis island).. A bit of a drive to get there from both directions but a great spot mid way from Rocky and Gladstone... Free to camp, plenty of fishing, heaps of drinkin'..
stork71
03-03-2006, 02:28 PM
Option Three: overnight up at Station Point (top end of curtis island).. A bit of a drive to get there from both directions but a great spot mid way from Rocky and Gladstone... Free to camp, plenty of fishing, heaps of drinkin'..
stork71
03-03-2006, 02:33 PM
other than that, option's one or two sound good
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
03-03-2006, 06:06 PM
I don't know much about Station Pt Storky but it sounds good. Have you got any more details? Where do we launch from? Camping conditions? Is there some sort of beach where we can moor? Etc etc?
Thanks mate. Very interested!
bay_firey
03-03-2006, 09:09 PM
Option 2 sounds ok after a chat with dave the other night.
Option 3 also sounds quite good, would need to know water depth etc as the Seafarer needs a bit more water than the polycraft did ??
DNO40
04-03-2006, 07:13 AM
Dave,
As far as I recall, station point is fairly open to the weather and would be hairy in a smaller boat (like ours). I may be wrong though, we'll wait and see what Stork71 comes back with.
Had a look at the area in Noel Patricks Curtis Coast, and it is open. For those that have the Curtis Coast - Section D #= D8 page 127.
For those that don't, I will scan and post shortly.
DNO
DNO40
04-03-2006, 08:11 AM
Station point
stork71
06-03-2006, 09:13 AM
Done!! See you there
harry_h01
07-03-2006, 02:57 PM
I will come down to the ramp on Saturday morning to catch up with everyone.
I am unable to come out to the island as the house of hormones rules for that weekend, and the Gladstone Dance Festival is on the agenda.
But it will be good to catch up and put some faces to the names.
Harry
stork71
07-03-2006, 08:20 PM
Station Point is relitively 'open' to the north so watching the weather prior is especially handy in getting a good weekend .. I've been up there just twice and had a ball both times, but know a few guys who regularly go up from Gladstone and generally brag about all the filleting that they do.. ;D Getting there from Rocky direction would be via Port Alma and then heading NE accross to Sea Hill and onto Stn Pnt..From Gladstone we generally drive up to Ramsey's Crossing (at the higher end of the tide)and head nth through the Narrows to Sea Hill..Roughly about 27klms..Once arrived, there is plenty of beach to pull up on. When the boat is high and dry, the rocky outcrops can produce some good flathead to name a few. Plenty of whiting have also been caught recently.. Camping is very basic with just the beach and what ever you bring (and take back) as there are no facilities what so ever.. This may not be to everyones tastes but for the adventurous ones it is certainly one to remember for a future trip. We're going up this weekend (weather dependant) so i'll take some pic's and post them later.. As far as boat size, in good weather a mate comfortably takes his 4mtr tinney with no problems at all. Other that, I've been wanting to get down to Hummock Hill for a while so that'll get my vote..
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
07-03-2006, 08:25 PM
I posted this up on Sunday night but it seems for whatever reason it didn't make it or collapsed during the maintenance last night. :-/
It seems that there are not many of us who are keeping this alive by posting regularly, and as time is ticking away I think we all need to know something definite. :) So...........as most seem in favour of option 2 - Saturday 1st April - drive to Tannum Sands - secret boat ramp - followed by 15 minutes pleasurable cruising to Hummock Hill Island.......that's what we will do! 8-)
Details explaining access to the ramp, vehicle security at Dean's (thanks mate) etc, will be posted in the coming weeks. ;)
Watch this thread!!!
Harry, is there any chance of you being able to join us for a while at some stage over the weekend??? :-?
Anybody out there who would like to join us we would all love to have you and share some stories over a few coldies and a raging fire!! All are most welcome. :D :)
P.s. Work necessitates my presence in Brisbane until Friday evening so I won't be back to this until Saturday.
CQ_Fisher
08-03-2006, 03:19 PM
DAve, I replied back to your original post but it too seems to have disappeared. The weekend of April 1st unfortunately will exclude me from being able to attend due to a work function that i must attend in Mackay on the Saturday night. Its a damn shame as i have been keen as mustard to get down to Collosseum for quite a while now. DNO, i will have to get you to lead me down there one weekend soon that we both have free.
JD
Geez, I really should look in the "goin' fishin'" section more often.
Been such crappy weather I didn't think anyone would be ;D
Sounds like a good day out.
I'll be in it!
Owen
DNO40
09-03-2006, 05:21 AM
Sounds like its a goer. Should be a good day, that is of course as long as the weather plays the game.
JD....... Give us a call to arrange something
Owen...... yes....you should
Dehydrated, Paul_G where are you ????
DNO
bay_firey
09-03-2006, 08:16 AM
I'm in
stork71
10-03-2006, 08:09 AM
Unfortunatley the planned trip to Station Point this weekend has been canned due to the crappy weather that is forcast..So no photos this time..I'll start another threadin the coming weeks for those interested in seeing what its like..
Pash67
11-03-2006, 07:39 AM
Myself and son Jack are planning to be there. Looking forward to it.
Also keen to get up to Sea Hill/Station point one day. Haven't been there for over 20 years. Keep me posted Stork71.
Hope you have the boat packed the same as last trip Dave. I will have the camera ready this time ;D ;D ;D
Adrian
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
12-03-2006, 02:33 PM
I was hoping you'd be in Adrian!
Sounds like it will be a great weekend, weather permitting of course.
I will keep in touch with everyone through this thread and throw up some times and ramp details over the next week or so.
Needmorerum
12-03-2006, 08:09 PM
I'm off to Milbrodale in NSW on that weekend for the Tuff Truck Comp, so this puts me out. But keen to do a trip up to Station Point or even Sea Hill in the near future. Looking at selling the big boat soon so will have to do a decent trip before that happens.
Corry
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
12-03-2006, 09:00 PM
Get the camping gear ready!!! .............and the esky! :P
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
16-03-2006, 09:06 PM
Just a little over two weeks to go now! How many others are interested?
Where are you Bernie (Bladerunner)??
There is enough of us in the area to make this a huge weekend!!
Anyone else interested in joining us??
DNO40
17-03-2006, 06:34 AM
Thats it Dave,
Boost the numbers.......everybody is welcome.
DNO
bay_firey
18-03-2006, 07:11 PM
Bought my new tent today
It's a 2 room dome type tent - 10 mins for the wife to get it set up
The weather had better play the game though, I am copping plenty at work about having the nerve to take my first Saturday off since christmas. I don't want to miss out
harry_h01
20-03-2006, 10:44 AM
What time is everyone meeting at the Ramp?
And what ramp are you leaving from?
I can't come out, but I am coming down to the ramp to see you all off and to say gidday.
Harry
Pash67
22-03-2006, 06:08 AM
I won't be able to camp out this time :'( I forgot that I have a mototrials comp on at Rocky on Sunday :D I am intending to come down to the ramp on Saturday though. :)
Adrian
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
22-03-2006, 09:17 PM
The boat ramp we will launch from is not far from Dean's home. So Dean, if you don't mind, could you post up how to get to your place. If all agree, I suggest we meet there at 0730 on Saturday 1st April. :)
Sorry you won't be able to come and stay Adrian. :(
And for all who may be wondering, NO, this is not an April Fools Day Joke! :D :D
Just curious, how many are overnighting?
Also how many of the wives are coming?
Owen
bay_firey
24-03-2006, 08:48 PM
Will be doing overnight - weather permitting and will have the whole family in tow
Me
Number 1 Decky - Mitch92 :)
Oh yeah and the wife ::)
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
24-03-2006, 11:21 PM
I will be overnighting with my wife, Sue, and maybe our 8 yo daughter.
Guardian
25-03-2006, 03:38 PM
Hi, I live in Gracemere. Think this is a great idea. Count me in.
bay_firey
25-03-2006, 06:33 PM
So are all us rocky starters going to head down in convoy on Saturday Morning ??
goddy84
27-03-2006, 03:54 PM
hey guys ill be moveing back to rocky soon so when i do ill be in on the fishing days
cheers mick
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
27-03-2006, 08:53 PM
I'll be heading to Gladstone on Friday evening to spend the night with Mum and Dad.
Sue and I will meet the Rocky/Yeppoon convoy at the Benaraby Caltex Servo at 700hrs on Saturday for coffee, and from there we can head off to Dean's place, which is only about 10 mins away. ;)
Dean, will you be ready for us at about 0730hrs and can you please post up details on how to get to your place for those who don't know where you live. I guess we will need to run some sort of shuttle from the ramp to your place to park the vehicles and trailers safely for the night. I'm happy to do that when the boat is in the drink. :)
Cheers all
5 more sleeps :P :P :P
DNO40
28-03-2006, 05:32 AM
Dave,
I will struggle to be ready by 0730, however, if you are meeting for coffee at Stupid Darryls you will not be here by 0730. I shall expect you all around 0800.
For those not meeting up at the caltex for coffee, you can find my place off old Tannum road. If you are entering from Benaraby...take the old Tannum Turnoff and take the first right (about 6 k's). it is not well signposted and sort of sneeks up on you as it is just over the second and biggest rise.
Coming along old tannum road from Tannum, take the first left after Aplin place. Once you are into roadacres drive, you will come to a newer section where there is a divider in the road. If you count house from the one that is adjacent to the divider...we are the third house on the left. An old Qldr style (but new). The one with the "BUZZ" Realestate FOR SALE sign out the front. Look here : http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&s=qld&cc=&c=28247346&tm=1143489350&id=103085563
Camping over will be myself and 8 year old son. Wife will be in tow for the day but has other committments Saturday night. I will drop her back at the ramp when tides allow.
See you all soon,
DNO
harry_h01
28-03-2006, 08:03 AM
I'm happy to meet everyone at 7.00 at the Caltex and lead them up to DNOs
I am not coming out, to many dancing commitments for the girls, but would like to come and say hello.
DNO I know where you place is, I actually drove past to let the missus see what it was like to buy.
Harry
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
28-03-2006, 09:06 AM
It will be good to meet you at the servo Harry, and all of the others. I've been to Dean's before so I know where to go as well. Some blokes may be heading down from Gladstone so perhaps they would like to call at the servo as well.
If anyone is later than 0700hrs, don't stress, it was only posted as a starting point. It doesn't really matter what time we arrive, the tide is
coming in and probably the more water the better for bigger craft like Bay Firey's. Having said that, the ramp can be a bit of a pain right on high tide.
As Dean said, by the time we all arrive at the Caltex servo, have a coffee and a chat and get underway, it will probably be closer to 0800hrs before we arrive at Dean's.
We will have plenty of time though, it is not high water until much later in the morning.
Looking forward to meeting you all there.
4 more sleeps!
cdmonkey
28-03-2006, 10:50 AM
I'm new to Rocky, Love to catch up with a few local fishers, count me in! ;D
kai
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
28-03-2006, 12:26 PM
You'll be most welcome Kai and Guardian. And Mick, when you arrive in Rocky be sure to let us all know. There are a few of us who will gladly help you around. I understand you have special needs and that is not a problem either.........it's what I do for a living.
Cheers to all
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
28-03-2006, 12:32 PM
Just an add on, here is my mobile number. If anyone get's lost or is not going to make it within a reasonable time, give us a call.
Dave - 0427 934 655
See you all soon!
cdmonkey
28-03-2006, 02:37 PM
thanks dave,
just wondering what sort of stuff should i pack? don't think i will pack my mrs this time ;)
see you guys there
kai
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
28-03-2006, 03:40 PM
You'll need to bring everything with you. There are no facilities whatsoever, but just for a night I'm only taking the small tent and fly, portable gas stove, a bit of tucker, and of course the esky!!!!
I'm taking my darling wife..............lovely and warm on these cool nights!
Everyone is encouraged to bring their better halves. This is not a boys only weekend. All the ladies will be treated with respect.
bay_firey
28-03-2006, 06:00 PM
This is not a boys only weekend. All the ladies will be treated with respect.
;D ;D ;D ;D
Yeah untill all the boys get full of piss and bad manners
bay_firey
28-03-2006, 06:03 PM
I will be headfing down Saturday Morning so for all the others heading down from Rocky lets get a time and place sorted to meet and head down together ( there's safety in numbers so they say)
I vote for area where the pie van sits just before the roundabout - opposite the independant service station ?? and I would think for 7.00 am at Benaraby we would need to be there and ready to go by about 5.00am :o :-? :-X
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
28-03-2006, 09:36 PM
Bad manners in the company of the ladies will result in the tribal council extinguishing your flame. Goodnight nurse!
DNO40
29-03-2006, 05:51 AM
Dave,
As the organiser, would you be able to PM those that requested a PM reminder and thiose that have had no input for a while eg. Brettrock, Wild_cat, Fish-n-Dive, Guardian, Owen, Stork71.
DNO
stork71
29-03-2006, 10:04 AM
Sorry guys, have to count me out this time due to work committments and stuff...Next time
CQ_Fisher
29-03-2006, 01:38 PM
I just looked at the forecast for Saturday and its presently saying Saturday is 5-10 knot variable winds in the morning :o.......all i can say is, you pack of bastards!! Thats the best weekend forecast ive seen in a long while and in typical fashion i cant get on the water due to other commitments. With a forecast like that your options for Colleseum are endless, those with boats of 4+ metres will be laughing cause you'll have the best of both worlds, you'll be able to head out the front to Seal Rocks or Jenny Lind Banks in the morning and then head back into Colleseum for the afternoon in the estuaries. I'll be thinking of you all while I'm in Mackay at a work function. It might be free piss at the work function but I'd still rather be sitting around a camp fire telling tall tales of the one that got away. Good luck to you all and I'll see you at the next M&G. I look forward to reading the report with pics next week.
JD
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
29-03-2006, 08:23 PM
Pm's all sent!
3 more sleeps and perfect weather predicted! :) :) :)
fish-n-dive
30-03-2006, 06:48 AM
Still keen to come but won't have a functioning boat for about another 3 weeks....................anyone got a spot for a deckie???? ::)
Cheers 8-)
Wild_cat
30-03-2006, 03:00 PM
Sorry fellas
Can't make it just spent the last week and a half up north for work and need to do some catch up on study and family time (can't believe I have prioretised study above fishing jeez in need a life). anyway hope all goes well enough to have a few more of these trips. I heard there were a few mackrel in the bay a week or so ago are they still around and are they in numbers?
Cheers John
I'll be there.
Doesn't look like I'll be overnighting though. Sandra looks like working Saturday, so I'll probably come on my own Saturday and then we'll both come for a run on Sunday.
Owen
Daan1
30-03-2006, 05:18 PM
i'm at yeppoon. sounds like a great idea. can't wait to get my new boat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! six weeks can be a long time to wait
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
30-03-2006, 08:23 PM
FnD
I have a pretty full crew I think. My brother-in-law and nephew might be coming as well and they would be in my boat.
I hope someone else can help you out! It would be good to meet you.
bay_firey
30-03-2006, 09:56 PM
FnD
I will have space on the seafarer if you are game
If you still have my number then give me a ring
cdmonkey
31-03-2006, 08:32 AM
Sorry guys, got called to work sat. :'( someone got the flu. Well, that's life in the retail world...
have a great day guys, i will catch up with the group next time.
Kai
harry_h01
31-03-2006, 03:13 PM
Gents
I'll meet you at the Caltex at 7am Saturday morning
Harry
bay_firey
31-03-2006, 09:54 PM
Well
I am not quite packed yet, but I will be at Benaraby at 7.00am or very close to it
Looks like I will be the only 1 going from here so I will just travel in my own little convoy
MILTON
04-04-2006, 06:39 PM
re the fishing trip at the colessum
Thanks Dave and sue
What a great weekend we all had, a pity a few more didn't turn up but what the hell we all had a great time.
Nice to meet you both and see you soon.
MILTON