View Full Version : Tassie Bluefin

Pages : 1 [2]

jaybee
13-11-2002, 07:18 PM
hi brian i vaguely recall something about dolphins being injured, the pig being injured by whales, the water was cold and heaps of cray..and more bloody wind..or something like that
cheers.

brian66
14-11-2002, 05:11 PM
gday joe...mate i think that you may be right...anyway mate now that we have covered that one,hows the study going... ???...and have you been fishing yet....mate i havent actually fished for weeks either,so hopefully i will go this weekend,depending on the wind...mate i think that we should rename tasmania... and call it cyclone alley cause i cant remember the last time it wasent windy....anyway mate hope all is well...must go.......brian

jaybee
15-11-2002, 03:11 AM
Hi Brian
Well study isnt going to well :'( ..too long a story for here, but am waiting for my tutor to ring.Didnt go last week the wind come in around 18 knots at 1pm that was the end of that..my mate went sunday morning with his wife, 2 hrs, 19 whiting 27-30 cms..not bad for daylight fishing. Had storms up here last night with some heavy rain, but it wasnt enought rain, still need heaps more to flush the system out. my brother finished his seasonal job yesterday so he is hoping to come up and use my boat over the next couple of weeks, so if i get time will go out with him. he hasnt fished the bay in 20 yrs, so we are looking at hitting a few spots we havent been to in quite a long while. we both have a few spot x that we have done well on. time will tell. anyway should get my head down. until next time. cheers
joe.

ozdevil
15-11-2002, 06:17 AM
Gday Brian

Mate i cant remember either what the hell we have been talking about..

Anyway mate yes it was a tragedy over what happened with the dolphin in Port River i tell ya what theres a few rec anglers very upset and wanting to get there hands on these cowards.with cowards like this Brian no wonder we fishos are losing our spots to marine parks and what ever.....

Anyway mate a full on fishing weekend this weekend mate going fishing for squid tommy's gar and mackeral on Saturday to start stocking up for the snapper season mate....

and on Sunday i am taking a young bloke who loves his fishing but has no one to take him fishing as his parents are not interested in fishing

So i am hoping that the wind gods stay away and its not to hot... but it dont look to good as it is spose to be up in the high 30's.....

anyway i hope you have a great weekend out fishing or diving brian and hope ya get a few mate

18-11-2002, 01:47 AM
Hi Brian, mick , joe
well the sh... hit the fan before i left for melbourne and i am now back on after a week. picked up a 4.8m trihull
while i was there, old but solid, needs a bit of work inside, so now the fun starts. the hull is a pride, so any info would be appriated
cheers to every one
tightlines
joe hope the study gets easier mate
HATE melbourne traffic

jaybee
18-11-2002, 02:19 AM
hey guys
Blaze i vaguely remember a pride tri hull they use to handle the moreton bay chop fairly well and from what i remember a good stable boat at rest. Bloody wind is howling up here, overcast, had some rain but not enough, wind has cooled things off a bit, must be coming from tassie ;D study has eased, in fact finished, talking to my tutor she convinced me apply for a withdrawal without failure, guess she wanted to finish for the year.
cheers.
joe.

brian66
18-11-2002, 05:33 PM
gday.... mick...joe...blaze...sorry i havent been about lately,i have had a bit going on around here of late....anyway i havent got to much to report as far as fishing goes...i still havent been as yet...i did manage a a dive on sat and and got a nice few crays....mick....mate glad to here the snapper season is near as i know you would be looking forward to going....joe..mate sorry to here the study is not going so well,maybe you need a days fishing to recharge the mind...works for me when things are not going so well....blaze..mate welcome home to tassie...i must say mate melbourne is a great place to visit but its always nice to be home..mate i heard that the king fish classic was a bit of a disaster because of the wind and a no show from the kingies...bit hard to have a king fish comp with no kings aye......anyway all i have finally got some photos to show you;s and i will try and get them up tommorow night..i have asked the wife to show me how to do it my self but she wont show me now,so looks like i will have to wait >:(...anyway hopefully i will chat to you;s again tommorow night...cheers for now.....brian

jaybee
18-11-2002, 05:57 PM
Hi brian not to worry about the study there is always next year, just like fishing eh. well all going well and this bloody wind drops off, my brother will be coming up from brunswick heads and we plan to spend at least 3 days on the bay, set a tent up on an island the size of a house yard an go for it, we both have spot x's in our head from pre gps days, so going for it so to speak, both inside the bay and outside can you believe it, its been 20 years we have both fished the bay like this, bloody marriage and moving away does that though i guess. cant wait to see the pics. i have been toying with the idea of learning to dive for a few years now, but i am a sook, dont think i can handle the toothy critters so to speak, but you never know i'm told its the ones you cant see you worry about eh..
cheers.
joe

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:31 PM
Heres some more from the brag book.

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:35 PM
and more...

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:37 PM
and more...

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:38 PM
and more...

jaybee
19-11-2002, 04:40 PM
hey brian
Brag rock eh and brag with the photos, damn we catch little things up here like that(250grams) wonder if they are the same fish, if so the colder weather must do em good, crays look good too ya bugger. enjoy. ;D
joe.

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:41 PM
and more..

brian66
19-11-2002, 04:44 PM
..lucky last.

brian66
19-11-2002, 05:21 PM
gday joe...mate the wife put the photos up for me and then she stole the computer on me....anyway mate its great that you will be fishing with your brother again soon...20 years is far to long.....joe im not really sure if our stripies are the same fish as you have up your way...mate they can grow to about a meter long and 25 kg down here in tas,but i am yet to get on that big yet,but im working on it....mate if you are considering getting into diving you should go for it...it is as addictive as fishing and i for one am truly hooked...forget the sharks mate the risk is more than worth it.........cheers mate..........brian

19-11-2002, 06:41 PM
the weather is good for fishin but, been working flatout since coming back from melbourne (finally trying to earn some money instead of spending, much to the wifes pleasure)
Pulled all the electrics, outboard etc off the 4.1 ready for the transfer to the 4.8 trihull, still plenty of work to do before hand though to get it ready.
So finally good weather and no bloody boat and working any way, makes ya wonder why I do it sometimes, so one day all will come to gether weather, boat and no work
nice few reds there brian
as joe said there is always next year

jaybee
20-11-2002, 03:03 AM
Hi brian, will try n find a photo of the stripies from up here n post it. When i said i hadnt fished with my brother for 20 yrs, i meant in moreton bay, i have fished with him down brunswick hds and up mooloolaba. before he moved south we were on the water every weekend was good stuff.

hey blaze just a reminder next year is about 7 weeks off or 42 days, boy you will be busy eh.

joe

brian66
20-11-2002, 05:01 PM
gday rob...mate i used to think that work was only for those who dont fish...but it has become apparant to me lately that if you dont work you cant afford to fish.... so i guess its off to work again tommorow for me...mate you will have to get a photo up on the board of the new boat so i can see what you got there mate as i dont know to much about tri hulls...

gday joe...mate i had a bit of a look in a book i have here at home and it says that the striped trumpeter is found only in tas...victoria....n.s.w....s/a...and new zealand...so maybe it is another sort of fish you have up there...anyway mate the scientific name for them is (latris lineata) if that is any help.....

anyway rob and joe better go for now cheers..........brian
ps...... what have you's done with mick he seem to be a.w.o.l... ???

jaybee
20-11-2002, 05:22 PM
hi brian i have gone through all my books stuffed if i can find anything like we catch up here that looks similar to down there. can tell you though they have yellow tails, fins, brownish colour, who knows, i give in, so what are they like to eat?
joe

ozdevil
20-11-2002, 05:58 PM
gday brian joe and rob

i am still about just havent been on the net much in the past few days... i had a big day on saturday went fish got a heap of snapper bait ready for the snapper season didnt get home till late like 11pm started fishing at 7am and on sunday i just cleaned the boat fell a sleep till monday morning...

anyway brian some nice stripies mate and those crays mate are making my mouth water but that last pick you put up which was underwater looks like a rather strange fish....

anyway i better go as i am stuffed as all hell

until next time guys

brian66
22-11-2002, 04:58 PM
gday joe...mate i give up also,but i can tell you that it is the most prized catch here in tasmanian waters,and fetches around $40 a kilo in the shops...they acording to my book grow to 1.2m long and 25 kg,in weight,and are caught by line and in cray pots in depths between 50 and 300 meters.....anyway mate i going after some finally on sunday so hopefully i will get one of those big ones i have been after all year.....
cheers mate.....brian

22-11-2002, 05:02 PM
Hi Mick, Joe, Brian
Been loging on a bit but just browsin, Just finished reglassing the floor of the trihull and the plan is to apply the flowcoat friday. The weather is still good up here and i should be fishing, so i may have a rest on the boat over the weekend and do some beach fishing (getting lazy i spose because between boats i have always fished from the shore). I have heard no regular reports on snapper up here, so if someone is catchin them they are keeping quite.
anyway, bed soon, buggered

brian66
22-11-2002, 05:21 PM
gday mick...no worries mate i know what you mean....some nights i am that stuffed i fall a sleep in the chair after tea cause i am so tired...this job of mine is really shiting me lately,but im still hanging in there....anyway mate i am going for a quick dive sat and then going to tasman on sunday if the weather holds out like it supposed to....so mate i will let you,s know how things went prolly on sunday night....so mate till then look after ya self.......

cheers........brian

brian66
22-11-2002, 05:30 PM
gday rob...sounds like a big job you have taken on there..but it will be satisfing when you are done i recon...mate i think that like down here people are only just starting to venture out after the wind we have had...so hopefully there will be a few more reports in the near future...better go also mate,cheers for now.............brian

jaybee
22-11-2002, 06:14 PM
Hi guys
well weather is spot on up here tonight, and here i am sitting home ..waaaaa..brother couldnt make it up at the last minute so am on hold over the next few weeks..go figure..oh well always another time..hey brian those stripies sound like a fun fish, for the price they must be top eating eh..i dont know looking at the photos of yours, they look like what we call up here footballers, because of the colours, but you are lucky to get them over 250 gram..like i said stuff knows.. :) best of luck on the weekend, hey blaze while you are down beach fishing, pick up a bucket of sand for your new floor, just a thought, last time i put a new floor in a boat was back in the 70s what a job, i dont envy you on that one, specially trying to roll a smoke with resin on ya fingers LOL, anyway i must go
see you all later.
joe.

23-11-2002, 04:59 PM
I smoke tailor made these days and i am like a doctor and fit the surgical gloves on first, keeps the hands clean but i cant work out how to keep the sh.... out of my hair. Looks like full steam on the boat tomorrow instead of fishing, cant have the best of both worlds i suppose

jaybee
23-11-2002, 05:13 PM
hi blaze
welcome to the smoking club, tailor and sea mullet smoked you cant beat eh. found out in the last twelve months tho, snapper, bream you name it all comes up great smoked, even done my own ham and bacon, fanbloodytastic, good luck with the boat, can remember rolling a smoke lit it and my moe caught fire, it was full of resin, needless to say i have not grown it back, wonder why, cheers
joe.

ozdevil
25-11-2002, 07:08 AM
gday guys

Well all quite here in South Australia but a few things that have been annoyingthe shit out of me is the fact that people want to kill of great whites becuase the pose a threat to humans....

anyway i have posted the article about that in general chat...

anyway have done any fishing of late buti attended a flare show last night hosted by the royal vol coast guard... i was bit dissapointed in the nubers becuase i actually thought there would have been more people....

the public were able to let of flares as long as you where 18 years or over....they showed you how to use and fire flares safely and what uses they were for....

Anyway i am looking forward to next sunday as i will be going out on a charter chasing some snapper as snapper season opens up this week on tuesday night woohooo hopefully the snapper are still out in the gulf....

anyway other then this there is to much else to report on guys...

Anyway brian and all how did you guys go?

jaybee
25-11-2002, 01:57 PM
Hi Guys
Well my bro went fishing yesterday and again today. Bagged out on snapper yesterday and 26 today, 17 snapper, a couple of oversized parrot, the largest moses perch he has ever caught and an xos trag. go figure eh, however where he fishes he may be lucky to get 6 trips in a year due to current and large seas, my turn will come. Hows the work on the rig coming along blaze, if you had weather down there like up here you must have got the floor all finished. Hope all is going well
joe

ozdevil
25-11-2002, 02:49 PM
gday Joe

these snapper mate how big where they mate

where the pinkies ruggars squire or old man snappers mate

but great stuff joe any pics

mick

jaybee
25-11-2002, 03:16 PM
Hi Oz
no pics at this stage in fact he didnt say if he did take any to forward on. we dont get snapper up here like you down there, a snapper up here is 3kg plus, he has caught them to 25lb out where he goes tho. some photos here
http://members.optushome.com.au/burnettj/images/photo1.html

brian66
26-11-2002, 05:02 PM
gday mick...joe...blaze....well guys i had a big weekend of diving and fishing this weekend...had a great time..the wifes still got here sence of humour,and the weather was pretty good except for sunday afternoon when we had a some white water coming back from tasman island....i think that i must be getting old cause i woke up this morning aching all over from the pounding we got...any way we finally got some fish for the fridge...caught 4 nice trumpeter,the.biggest was the same size as the one im holding in the last photos i posted...we also caught the usuall perch and gurnard as well so we ended up with a nice esky of fish...went to taroona sat and caught a bag of crays also....so all in all a great weekend....anyway all im still trying to catch up on my sleep so i better get going and hopefully chat to you;s tommorow night........cheers......brian

ps.....mick..great whites...mate fear is a powerfull thing and there will always be ignorant people out there calling for the killing of the great animals...unfortunatly some people have the attitude if you cant control it or tame it then kill it...unfortunately all we can hope for is that the shark destroys the boat and eats the occupants that are trying to kill it at the time......cheers mate....brian

26-11-2002, 06:29 PM
The bloody weary factor must be in all states, i have been burning the candle both ends though.
The old trihull
Outside of hull completed ( exept for a coat of 2 pack come winter)
1 more coat of flowcoat to be appllied to floor, all electricals finished apart from speakers for radio/tapedeck, outboard and foward controls fitted, steering all fitted but waiting for cable. Still seams like a heap to do but the plan is to be in the water by sunday and working is cutting into valuable time to spend on the boat, so i am off to bed

jaybee
27-11-2002, 04:44 AM
Hi Brian
Damn with all this fish and crays you must live like a bloody millionaire eh, i can just picture you sitting at a table piled high with cold crays n beer :'( i'm jealous but its still good to see you are able to get out again. lets hope the wind stays away for a while longer.

hi blaze
geez you must work like a bloody trooper, the repairs to the rig seem to coming along really fast, when can we expect to see some photos? and whats this about a radio/tapedeck, you going fishing or out on the water partying LOL
joe.

ozdevil
27-11-2002, 06:52 AM
gday brian

great to see ya getting amongst them mate but i havent seen crays rock up at my door yet lmao

i am looking forward to this weekend heading out on a charter once again...hoping to catch a snapper but the way the weather is in south oz it could be cancelled again

anyway rob sounds like ya got ya work cut out over the next week to get the boat finished... be great to see a pic of it once finished rob

anyway guys i have run out things to say so i will catchya's later

mick

brian66
27-11-2002, 05:35 PM
gday rob...mate i dont envy you i havent had much to do with fibre glass,except when i split the floor in a 16ft pride i used to have..i ended up fixing it my self but it wasent pretty...what a mess.....

gday joe...million aire...i wish...i suppose i am pretty lucky though..although i do live down here in tas and we are lucky enough to have such a great coast line and variety of good fish...

gday mick....mate whats wrong with ya,,the weather couldent be better down here in tas...and hopefully it will only get better...i dont know whats happening over there but as long as it stays over there i cant see the problem. ;D seriosly mate hope your charter gets of the ground....mate i paid my club membership the other day..so hopefully i will get a bit of a tip off when the tuna are on the way and get you organised to come over here and have a go at them...

well all..... time for bed...cheers for now.......brian

27-11-2002, 06:38 PM
Hi Mick, brian, joe
to weary to do much to the tri tonight, worked 10 hours, good money but not where i should be, I prefer to work only about 30 hours week.
About those reds mick, i am closer and have'nt got one either, suppose i will have to put my own pot in (soooon).
I think the weather is about to cut loose again as the boats nearly ready.
still no reports of snapper up this way brian, mick is it possible that they do migrate and they really decided not to come, or possible maybe later due to water temp or somethink. All seems a little strange to me as there were definately some caught earier(nice size to)
Just a dumb thougtht, has any heard of dolphins or seals being accidently caught while trolling live baits, just had this discussion with a mate and wonder
anyway still weary, computer to fix and then bed

jaybee
28-11-2002, 05:01 AM
G'day guys blaze
I think the weather is about to cut loose again as the boats nearly ready dont you just hate that, everytime the boat is off the water for maintenance the weather fines up and vice versa.

hey brian think about it, not everyone can sit down and be over fed on cray, lol. Was actually talking to a person last night, and she said at one stage last year they actually got sick of eating mud crab, as they were catching their limit every day just about, can you imagine it.

Good luck on the charter mick, at times i think it would be cheaper to charter then actually own a boat, i'm up for a new ignition switch $57 plus my flares are out of date $55 and rego due on the boat $50 my brother was right, a boat is a hole you put into the water and pour money into eh
joe

ozdevil
28-11-2002, 06:35 PM
gday brian joe and rob

Anyway things are looking good for sundays charter the snapper are bitig but they are 50ks offshore so a fair old hike actually its across the gulf...

joe actually mate i know what ya mean mate i also own a boat... this charter i am going on is a group of us going from the internet....so should be a good day a few pics wil be taken and a few luaghs will be had....

but you are right mate boats do cost money

brian mate the weather has been good the last time i was out was last saturday week had things planned last weekend but thats life but was good becuase the weather caved in but went to a flare show where they let the public fire flares which was quite good... anyway brian the waether is ok at the moment rather cool but i will take the cool weather why i can...

Anyway rob snapper i do believe that they do work on water temp i am firm believer of water temp and this will be a determing factor wether fish will be there.... the thing is mate i cant acurately tell you what the ideal water temp would be for snapper which i will find out for you if i possibly can...

also rob another thing really tasmania is not much different to the climate south oz has in far as water temp goes..

also rob i have been nasty to you taswegions this year mate i have put a net acroos the gulfs so that i can catch the snapper.....Seriosly thou rob i think there has to bethe factor of the right tide the right bait and winds and the right temp to get the snapper....

over the next twelve months i am hoping to upgrade my sounder to colour and so it wil be able to give me water depth as well...

anyway i betta go guys until next time take care

mick

jaybee
28-11-2002, 06:53 PM
Hi Mick
best of luck on the charter. sounds great. we had friends that use to run trawlers out of mooloolaba, when the prawns were off we could go out with them for $10 a head an anchor on barwon banks. for the $10 we kept a feed they kept the rest for markets, now thats going back a few years. around 20 + actually. But around 10 of us use to go, not allowed to do it these days. All hand lines 80Lb. Up there now it costs around $80 for a half day and if its blowing more then 15knots the charters arent allowed to work, due to safety reasons. Looking forward to the photos.
Oh BTW, dont string a net between oz n taz, just cut the rope thats holding them there, then they will float away and the snapper will stay here eh, what you reckon ;D
joe.

ozdevil
28-11-2002, 07:56 PM
gday jabee

mate i will take the camera out with me so i can finish a film of and that so i can post some picks of some early snapper and of this trip hopefully

anyway joe its a good thing thou that the operaters are restricted with safety really becuase who wants to be out in 20 knots+ i know i wouldnt....but 80 bucks for half day isnt all that bad mate depending on what they class as half day 4 hours i spose

anyway cheers mate
mick

brian66
29-11-2002, 05:20 PM
gday mick..rob...joe...not to much to report down south at the moment....anyway the outboard went in for its last service before it runs out of warranty...thank christ... they sure do know how to hold there hand out....while im on the subject iv;e got a question for you;s...since new the 30 yam that im talking about has always had a problem with oiling up when it is idling for to long...5 min is what im calling a long time....anyway eastern shore marine have had 3-4 goes at trying to fix it...it wouldent bother me except it takes prolly 100 meters to clear its self..and iv;e never known this from any other outboard iv;e ever had anything to do with...other than that it goes perfect and starts every time and goes like the clappers...last time it was in they even replaced the carb...which inproved it prolly 50%...anyway it is now worse than ever...my question is am i being to fussy or should i demand they fix it once and for all.. and what if they cant...what to do.... :-/ anyway like i say it is otherwise perfect im just not 100% happy.......any advice appriciated.....well i better go now... friday tommorow ;D.... more diving sat hopefully....cheers.....brian

jaybee
29-11-2002, 09:15 PM
Hi Brian just crusing thru, i would ask to fix it completly, i can idle my 70 evinrude all day without it oiling up. its a 89 model. Although could be something simple as the sparkies, wrong heat range, or you could be running the wrong mix. my engine is one of the first vro s , was told to take the tank off and mix the fuel 50:1. I would contact another dealer and say you are thinking of buying the same model motor 2nd hand and ask about fuel mix, spark plugs etc, hope this helps
joe.

brian66
30-11-2002, 06:11 PM
gday joe...thanks mate...the wife picked it up today and they claim to have found the problem...so i will try it out tommorow and see...as far as fuel mixs goes i have been running it at 100:1 since the thing was run in which is what the manafactures recomend...( yamaha oil)....the only thing that they havent tryed at this stage is hotter plugs...my argument is it shouldent have too....anyway mate i will give them the benifit of doubt till tommorow...and if it is still doing it i will have to go over and rought them up a bit before the 2 year warranty runs out which is in another 2 months....cheers mate will let you know how things went tommorow night........brian.

jaybee
01-12-2002, 04:23 AM
Hi Brian
Knew someone with a chrysler it was always oiling up until his son a mechanic found he was using 100:1 instead of 50:1, I would contact valvoline and see what they recomend with their products. Hope it all works out well for you.
cheers.
joe.

01-12-2002, 05:51 PM
Well after about 90 odd man hours and total cost including trip to melbourne of $1700 (excluding outboards), I finally shot the rig in the water.Water mirror flat to .75m chop where i could find it and the performance was about what was expected. Spent some time altering the trim of the 70 evinrude to raise the bow and that improved the time to get on the plane and the ride. I will also be trying my 17" prop. Picks up onto the plane, fully loaded very quick. No fishing really( tossed a plastic around for about 10 minutes). So I spent about 2 hours ripping around, destressing in the boat (also having a bloody nice drop of wisky at the moment, thats also helping). The enough on boats. You know how they say if you want somethink done, find someone that is busy, Well today at the state AGM for ANSA, I was elected state tagging officer, could be handy when i have some colated figures i can pass onto the boards here.
anyway
ps- this is a lovely drop of wisky

jaybee
02-12-2002, 02:31 AM
Hi Blaze
rig is looking good, how much whiskey did you say you had, :o Sounds like you are happy with both, you have done a lot of work in the past week. anyway I have to get ready to head of to work. cheers
joe.

02-12-2002, 03:57 AM
Hi joe
yes, had to log on this mornin to make sure i had'nt had that much wisky that i wrote something silly, but i had been working up to 20 hrs a day (work and boat) to bring in money as quick as i was parting with it. so i think i needed a night of unwinding somehow and wisky was cheap, probely enough for the next 12 months

ozdevil
02-12-2002, 05:36 PM
gday brian joe and rob

Well today was the day of the charter and what a ball we had unfortunately the knuckles never played the game with us so no snapper to write home about....but we got a heap leatherjacket whiting sweep and mackeral and a red mullet anda few flathead....One catch which was an interesting fish wasa blue devil interesting looking fish dont ask me to explain what one looks like thou...

anyway guys i am thinikng of doing an over nighter next weekend at a ground called the goannas which can often fire up with some big snapper.....

anyway rob ya boat is coming along well doesnt look like ya have much free board to playwith but still looks the goods mate....

congrats on the tagging officer role in state ansa over there mate.....Is Nick crawford and beres taylor still on the commitee of Ansa in tassie?

how did you go brian get many crays this weekend ?

anyway cheers
ozdevil

02-12-2002, 07:20 PM
Hi mick
I hope them snapper have swum over here mate, bad luck, hope you have better luck next time. the leather jacket seem to be in plague proportions over there mick, appartently a nuisance, they don't eat to bad either and easy to clean. dont catch many over here.If it was'nt for nick and beres, the state branch would have folded i think

ozdevil
03-12-2002, 06:49 AM
gday Rob

well yes i prolly would agree with you the tasmanian state ansa would have most likely to have folded We alsoo have similar prob here in South Oz state Ansa mate....I actually wasa member of the bottemend sportsfishing club which was the first Ansa club in tassie i believe (not certain).....

rob leather jackets they are well known is some tassie waters mate and are not hard to come by over there in Tas mate....but here in South oz we get them quite regular and many dont like them even thou i think they good eating...

rob well i will be heading out eaither early saturday morning like 2am or 3am or saturday evening and heading to the goannas which is situated about 25k run from St kilda (south Oz) or north haven

which i believe they are there at the moment with about 5 white pointers hanging around so i have heard

anyway take care rob and talk soon

mick

jaybee
03-12-2002, 06:40 PM
Hi Guys
Been a bit busy with work :( but you get that

Brian so what was the outcome with the motor oiling up, have they fixed the problem ???

Blaze how is the head, still sore? self inflicted no sympathy from this end ;D cept you have done well in the past week. ;D

Oz, sounds like you had a good charter, so try explaining the blue devil you have aroused interest dont leave it at that :o Hope all goes well at the goannas for you.

work has stuffed my pay up again this past fortnight so wont be putting the boat on the water again this fortnight, not happy jan, specially with only 2 pays to Christmas...arrrggghhhh why me ??? oh well, that, which doesnt kill me will make me stronger, or so i am told.
cheers.
joe.

ozdevil
04-12-2002, 05:42 AM
gday Jaybee

the Blue devil fish is a southern dwelling fish that commonly hangs around the ledges..

http://www.theartgallery.com.au/DavidGlennie/newimages/blue_devil_vic.jpg

i dont know alot about this species only from what i am told.....

Anyway there is a nother similar species that is found in qld and new south wales which is also called the eastern blue devil (Paraplesiops bleekeri )

http://www.amonline.net.au/fishes/fishfacts/images/pbleekeri.jpg

the eastern blue devils habitat is commonly around coast waters and rocky reefs which i would imagine that the blue devils habitat will be similar....

Also the eastern blue devil is commonly seen by divers around caves and under rock ledges also the eastern blue devil is protectedspecies in NSW and Queensland and if you wish to have this fish in possesion i believe you must have a permit....The eastern blue devil only grows to about 40cm in length....

Also the blue devil is also spose to be quite good eating so i believe....

Anyway joe this about as much information i can tell you about the blue devil fish but i am doing my research on the fish as i think its a great looking species.....

jaybee
04-12-2002, 06:25 AM
Hi Mick
Geez the top photo he looks like one mean mother eh, has that tuff mean look, a very pretty fish though. Would be a shame to eat him, in a way the head looks like a cross between a coral trout and a cod and the rest of the body is similar to an angel fish. Pretty mixed up fish all up. Thanks for that it was much appreciated.
joe.

04-12-2002, 12:39 PM
That blue devil fish would look a lot better if it smiled. Nice colors though

Joe
no sore head

brian66
04-12-2002, 05:11 PM
gday mick..rob...joe...well what a weekend, sorry its taken a while to get back to you;s....anyway still problems with the @#* yamaha.....went diving at taroona on saturday and spent 5-10 min runing out the hoses and finding a good spot to anchor...when it was time to move spots i went to give the throttle a big hand full and guess what ? yep @#* thing was shuddering and chokeing to death...i am woundering how the hell can something that is running on the recomended oil...(yamaha) at a 100:1 and you dont get it much leaner than that can possibily do this...so not to be out done i lifted the lid of it and thought i would check where the idle mixture screw was set and found that they have got it screwed so far in its almost seated...now you may say so what but i happen to know that the factory setting for this particular motor is 1 and a half turn from seated...because i asked the mechanic last time it was in there for the same trouble...so i am thinking that when i go back to tell them what i think about all this i am going to start the coversation with;..can i borrow your phone i think that i had better ring mr yamaha >:(.......anyway i will let you;s know abut it when i get a chance to get in there.....anyway to answer your question mick we ended up with 5 crays each on the sat...... then we went to primrose sands on sunday to a mates shack and took joanne and the kids and i accidently forgot to take the boat of the car ;D...so i thought that see and so i was down there and i just happened to have all the gear i went and grabbed another 4 across at lime bay ;D....well guys enought from me better go to the bed now.....cheers alll.............brian

jaybee
05-12-2002, 06:26 PM
hey brian
well first of all i would be ringing mr yamaha, you cant keep putting up with that, did you get the links i sent you. If it was me i would really frustrated now. On a lighter note how did you train your wife not to see a boat hooked up to the back a car, and yes you have me jealous yet again because of your catch of crays, maybe i should talk to steve ausfish about deleting your posts so you don't make me jealous , what do you reckon, anyway if you get away with it why not..still bloody jealous tho. :-[

brian66
06-12-2002, 04:41 PM
gday joe...mate sorry i have only just noticed the instant message at the top of screen..i will be sure to take a look after this post thanks...anyway mate you wont have to hear to much more about the crays, cause the tuna club which i joined this year are about to start the season soon...next month there will be a bottom bouncing day to start the year off.. and latter in the month,the shark fishing comp is on and hopefully there will be a few albacore starting to run along the shelf, which is were we will be berleying for mako;s....so mate with all these comps coming up i will be back into the fishing in a big way....anyway mate i am more than pissed off about my yamaha and i will be ringing yamaha as soon as i can get home from work in time to phone them........hope you have a good weekend joe..cheers for now mate...........brian

jaybee
06-12-2002, 06:06 PM
Hi Brian
Sounds like you are going to be a busy boy, your wife must really love you cause it appears you are never home, you are one lucky bugger eh. So i suppose over the next few months we will be hearing stories of arms stretched out of their shoulder sockets on the big tuna and sharks not to mention the photos. Damn wish i had a life like yours. one day, Anyway hope all goes well with the phone call, and you have a good weekend to brian. cheers
joe.

brian66
09-12-2002, 03:42 PM
gday joe...mate i sure am lucky i have been with my long suffering wife for 10 years now....and im not sure but i think that she recons that she;s the lucky one,cause im never home. ;D..anyway mate i actually stayed home all weekend this weekend just for a special treat for her... i bet she is begging me to go somewhere next week ;D......and yes mate i sure am looking forward to getting a bit of a stretching soon and hope fully there will be lots of photos,and if i can sneak the video camera out of the house on the shark comp day i might be able to get some great video shots also....hope your weekend was a good one joe....cheers for now mate........brian

jaybee
09-12-2002, 03:56 PM
Weekend was a bummer, nothing i can discuss in here tho. Sounds like you and your wife have a really good thing going brian good on yas. Should be more of it. Looking forward to the pics and vids. Hey where are the other guys, and don't tell me they have been out fishing, or i will get the sh**s, well an truly ;D
joe.

Jason_L
09-12-2002, 09:29 PM
i've just got to add to this novel...

is this topic never going to end... this is the biggest post i've ever seen. i was here when it fisrt started and i can't remember when that was.

there's no way i'm going through and reading what was said, it's just too big now. maybe the moderators one day will print this out and sell it off. haha.

keep the good topic rolling ;D

ozdevil
10-12-2002, 08:35 AM
Gday Jason

mate not for a long shot we aint going to end the convo now things have slowed up little in the past few weeks on here but never the less we will keep battling on unless we get told to stop communicating....

Anyway feel free to join in jason more the merrier

anyway cheers

ozdevil
10-12-2002, 08:40 AM
gday brian joe and rob

Well things are getting hetic over here cant seem to find time to get out and catch a snapper bloody christmas breakups and bbqs.i am starting to think when am i getting the boat on the water

Anyway i did mangage to go fishing saturday afternoon for a couple of hours with a mate and his family we had a ball even thou we didnt catch much we got a couple od squid and heap of leather jacket but all in al was a great day....

What about you guys do any fishing over the weekend and rob hows the new craft going

jaybee
10-12-2002, 01:13 PM
Hey mick
Well we got wind up here, my flares are now out of date and need to fix a few financial things up, such is life eh.Anyway congrats on the catch, my mate said he caught some nice whiting down the sand pumping jetty all in excess of 32 cms, only around 8 plus a heap of dart.
joe.

10-12-2002, 05:43 PM
Hi Mick, Joe ,Brain
joe I think maybe you may have sent the lousy weather down under, still only had the tri out the once. Pretty keen to go out for a fish , maybe this week as work is quiet again (seem to be flat out or stopped, maybe a job rather than contract might be better, but the time off is a prob then). Still have'nt heard of any more snapper being caught, maybe they made an early run this year. The kingies will be appearring about march.
Brain Keep us informed of that charter if it comes off mate, Believe i am going on a interclub trip in march down the east coast. Just spent 18 bloody hours building a boat trailer to put the old boat on to sell (nearly finished) try to recoup some dollars.
Your thoughts on this sinario
Buying the Boss (Wife) another car after christmas, does that allow me to buy a new outboard( which would be cheaper than the car) Gota be worrth a try LOL

jaybee
11-12-2002, 06:15 AM
Hi Blaze
Lost power last night through a storm somewhere to the west. you get that. So how is the new rig performing are you happy with it. I too am keen to get out for a fish, not into wasting time, energy and money the way the weather is though. Pity you have to wait till after Christmas to buy the car. If you can afford it buy both, and slip the outboard under the chrissy tree, and say there is a Santa Clauss after all. Maybe you can leave a note on the tree for the wife to check the driveway, and have a car with a ribbon tied in a bow. just a thought, being Christmas day you would more then likely get away with it eh. ;D

11-12-2002, 11:42 AM
Hi Joe
Happen to mention my idea's to the boss and she said the outboard will have to wait a bit longer( or i have to work more), so for the time being i will have to look at the car in the driveway and keep checking outboard prices( just looking dear) that will be my story any way.
Plan to head out today for a fish but as you said Joe not much point in putting the boat in the water to run the motors

jaybee
11-12-2002, 07:43 PM
Hi Blaze
no power again when i arrived home, a burglar alarm woke me signifying it was back on. oh well at least you tried give you full marks for that, maybe after the car the boss may make it easier for you eh. best of luck.
joe

brian66
12-12-2002, 06:22 PM
gday everyone... rob not to much to report from the south either mate except the water is warming up ...aparrantly the current inshore temp on the peninsular is about 14,and possibly warmer offshore so i am really starting to think tuna now...mate you mention an interclub trip in march i wonder if it is anythink to do with the tuna club i have joined down here ???.......

joe.... thanks for the reminder must replace my flares also..... i have a few that are also out of date...more bloody money is there any end to it.....

gday mick...hows things mate i hope all is well....mate i know what you mean about things being a bit hectic..im having the same trouble,not enough hours in the day it seems...mate i got all my membership things from the tuna club today... and i have been looking at all the comp dates for the year..i am thinking that this is going to be on hell of a year for fishing as this year i will be able to fish offshore more in the bigger boat...last year they fished mainly the shelf area,so i am looking forward to maybe spotting the odd marlin,as last year the boat i am fishing on was buzzed by one,it checked out every lure in the spread and apparantly didnt see a flavor it liked and dissapeared.....anyway mate thats enough of me for now............cheers mate.....brian

jaybee
12-12-2002, 07:01 PM
No Brian there is no bloody end to it once you have a boat, my brother once said to me, a definition of a boat is : A HOLE YOU PUT IN THE WATER AND POUR MONEY INTO IT: what do reckon is he right or not. Have a good one guys.
joe

13-12-2002, 06:19 PM
Yep going fishin
got up at 4.30 am hook on the boat, got the bait, rods etc, pulled out the driveway, wound down the window in the van (and cleaned the sh.... out of the eyes) and put the boat away and unloaded. All I now asks is how can we control the weather (all i want is a couple of hours) is that to much to ask. the bloody weather has if nothing else improved my typing skills (four fingers now), and lots of backspacing
checked my flares o/k till 2004
Brian- do you also carry 2 rocket flares
Joe- your right, a great hole in the ocean.
Hi mick
ps- i wana catch a fish, not learn how to type

jaybee
14-12-2002, 04:19 AM
Hi Blaze
methinks you a couple of hundred thousand more are in the same boat at present. Wanna catch a fish. some of the guys are getting out early up here, just local, a k offshore, in the bay, for just a feed. but its out and a feed. but by 8 am its time to pack it in. My bro down brunswick heads hasnt been able to get out again, but he is making it up with oysters, flathead, bream, mullet, whiting, the odd jack and mud crabs in the river. He rings up to rub it in. He walks 30 feet from his back door and he is on the river.
cheers.
joe.

15-12-2002, 05:06 PM
Hi mick, joe, brian
Out of bed 4.30 and went to work, home at 10.30, weather good, no wind , no rain, take a chance and hook up the boat, weather still o/k
This is finally the day. Headed out to my gps mark for a gummy and flathead. Fishing slow 6 keepers (flathead about 450mm). headed up to an oyster lease about 10km away, 1 flattie about 500mm on a pink franger, still slow, headed across to Robins island and trawled for 4 small blackback about 400mm and 2 snook at 600mm. Drifted about 2 km for 2 parrot fish and 1 lost franger to a school of bloody hungry couta at about 900mm (non boat, I hate them).
Headed back into the estuary near home, drop the pick at 1 nav boye, no bites, moved further up the river and scored a good feed of silver trevally and a heap of small salmon ( released)
Finally a day on the water, fairly quite, but still a wonderful day of trouble free boating and fishin.
I think all my stress just drifted out to sea, what a wonderful part of the world this is
happy happy happy
I also read a report the snapper are on the move

ozdevil
16-12-2002, 05:55 AM
gday brian rob and joe

Well some intersting things happening here in the wondful world of south oz latey

Went out fishing yesterday with a mate cuaght a few tommies and a gar bit of dodge tide so not much around but it was just good getting out on the water in 30 something degree day...

Anyway while we where sitting of outer harbour a call came over the 27 meg a 18 foot great white circling and 18foot tinny of hallet cove which is in the metro waters...

Anyway sea rescue replies to the guy do you require any assistance the guy reurns and say nah thanks we aint spooked/shocked enuff yet......

anyway the white would have been hanging around for 1 reason Snapper...as snapper is part of the great white sharks diet.....

anyway there is some great reports of late that snapper are showing up in the metro waters so i will be heading out soon to get me a snapper

anyway guys gotta go take care and i will talk soon

jaybee
16-12-2002, 12:32 PM
Hi Blaze,Oz n brian, glad to hear you guys got out on the water, my turn will come one bloody day.

So whats the score with the white pointer now oz, shark heaps, fishermen nil LOL. ;D anyway just got home from work need a shower n a sleep catch up with you all later
joe.

jaybee
16-12-2002, 07:00 PM
hi guys, was just doing some research when I came across this, reminded me of a chat from a while back about dead and injured porpise.There is some interesting stuff covering SA and tassie
here is the link to the site

http://www.users.bigpond.com/wildlifebb/action/media/fallacy.html

Sunday, 27 October 2002

The claims of the Sea Cage industry protecting native fish stock is highly questionable, disease and nutrients aside, the science and results show the Sea Cage industry require native fish stock to produce adequate quality and quantities of pellets to feed to sea cage fish; they appear to take native fish stock from countries and eco systems that can ill afford to lose them. The problem of collapsing native fisheries is the consequence of the current and past governments failure to ensure our native fish stocks are managed sustainably. Further, poor management has allowed our catchments to be degraded and denuded of bushland, which ultimately impacts upon our coastal resources. A genuine focus on sustainable development and in particular achieving a sustainable human population is needed, not a lack of recognition that there are limits to growth. The Sea Cage industry isn't the solution to our failing native fisheries.

As for the nutrient load, in South East Queensland we have spent 300 million dollars of our taxes and council rates to remove 1000 tonnes of nutrients from Moreton Bay; will the Sea Cage proponents pay their fair share? Even based upon their questionable nutrient figures they will owe Queenslanders 7.5 million dollars for each site, and there are four sites. The so called improvements in technology and management practices such as fallowing - the technique of moving cages from one site to another, still results in the sea floor not returning to original state until between 11 - 14 months. All this will occur in the most pristine part of the Marine Park.

Does the Sea Cage industry help the environment? In Tasmania, the Sea Cage industry's alleged home of best practice, the industry has been given approval to cull protected seals because they scare sea cage fish and damage the cages. Illegal killing of seals has already been happening. The CSIRO shows one disease alone is costing the Tasmanian sea cage salmon industry over 15 million dollars a year. In South Australia 32 dolphins between 1993 and 1996 were killed by sea cage infrastructure and in August this year a whale was trapped. Large numbers of Yellowtail Kingfish, a large predatory fish, have escaped from South Australian sea cages and are identified as a possible cause of the reduction of local native fish stocks.

The question is, do you really want this industry in a Marine Park or are our parks too precious to risk.

Simon Baltais Secretary WPSQ Bayside Branch

brian66
17-12-2002, 05:59 PM
gday joe...mate yep sure sounds right to me... i have been having a real prick of a run lately..everything i touch turns to s--t...as you know the yamaha is still carrying on like you woudent beleive...
(might swap it for a chrysler >:()and not to be outdone my dive compressor has just had a big guts ache and pumped oil all throught my filters..so that in the process of a rebuild >:(..and if thats not enought i lost a $100 dollar mask on satarday...other than all that mate life is great ;D....so i think that i would say that anything to do with boats is a hole to pour money into...but having just said that i am thinking that these thing are sent to test us and thats fishing........cheers mate.......brian

gday rob....frangers ??? mate you must be fishing to close to the sewage works ;D....anyway mate i also heard about the snapper, there was a report in the sunday paper down here saying that there was a 6kg snapper caught in the tamar last weekend...so mate things might be looking up....good to see you have been out on the water... anyway mate hows the boat preforming does it handle the water allright ???...mate as far as the rocket flares go i have 2 but like the rest they are also out of date so i will have to get a plan on them also.... i think the price of them was pretty scarey last time i brought them so i bet they havent got any cheaper...oh well its only more money.....cheers mate..............brian

gday mick...mate all these bloody sharks,...hell mate if i ever make it over there i think that i will be leaving the wetsuit at home here in tas...talking about sharks mate there was a bloke telling the wife at her work,that a diver was bumped at tinderbox last week by a small 10 ft shark...but it sounds like bull s--t to me........mate like i was telling joe i have had a hell of a time with gear lately, so i am hopefully finishing work for christmas on wensday...then there will be a lot of work going on fixing gear so that i can go to nubeena for a week over the christmas...mate speaking of christmas will you be coming down under for christmas ???..anyway mate keep your arms and legs inside the boat ;D, and good luck with the snapper....better go mate, hope all is well over there.....cheers mate...................brian

brian66
17-12-2002, 06:04 PM
p.s...... mick just checked the email...thanks mate i will get you back some how ;D...............brian

ozdevil
18-12-2002, 04:55 AM
Gday Brian,joe,and Rob

Well before i start i would like to wish you 3 a merry christmas and safe new year dont drink lots of fizzy water and drive.....Merry christmas guys...

Joe just read the piece on the sea cages have had a chance thou to gather my thoughts on the subject but was an interesting read...

Brian

Well with al these sharks here at the moment in S.A we just have to be on our guard a little bit more.....The reason why these sharkis are in the metro area as present it is to be believed that some drop kick thought he would get rid of a horse....thats why the white is around aperently by what pirsa has had to say that they have been monitering the Sharks as there appears to be 2 whites and 4-5 bronzies in the metro regions...

Also 6kg midget ey brian getting out of the tamer that is only just a get out of bed fish mate...Seriously not a bad fish 12-13 pound.....

it seems ya having bit of a bad run thou brian with everything go wrong with ya....Arrrrgh well mate as ya said its times like that it really tests ya.... but the things we do to go fishing....

Rob whats happening up on the nw coast mate have i sent some snapper down yet or ya still trying to get the boat all rigged out...

anyway guys catcyas later

brian66
20-12-2002, 05:43 PM
merry xmas mick...rob....joe and hope you all have a safe holiday and hopefully some good fishing.....mick i started holidays today and hopefully i will be heading of to nubeena tommorow for a few days with my dad and a couple of mates....the weather has been real good for the last week... so hopefully it will be a good trip...hopefully my compressor will be ready to pick up tommorow so we can have a dive on sat cause its supposed to be around 30 deg...other than that mate it will be a bread and butter type fishing trip might just target a feed of king flathead and throw a couple of pots in....anyway mate hopefully i will have a bit to report when i get back...not sure when that will be depends on the weather....have a great xmas mate and talk to ya when i get back......cheers joe and rob...........brian

ozdevil
20-12-2002, 09:53 PM
Gday Brian

Mate its good to hear that ya on holidays mate i am not getting any holidays over the break except the public ones....but anyway thats life....but i do hope ya enjoy ya time of mate and get a few over the break

gee buddy 30 degrees on Saturday your going to melt brian.... its been 40 degrees mainly here in Adelaide for the last week and spose to be 45 degrees tommorow whens the heat going to end i can handle 30 degrees but the weather South oz has been having its a bug as i type this its still 30 degrees and its 1:15 in the morning..... arrrgh well i wish i didnt have to go to work tommorow as i would have loved to been out on the water tonight...

Anyway take it easy brian have a great day on wednesday and merry christmas to you and ya wife and kids mate

21-12-2002, 01:49 AM
Hi Mick, Joe and Brian
Just like to wish all a merry christmas
keep safe and tight lines

jaybee
21-12-2002, 03:56 AM
Hi Guys
Just like to wish everyone a merry and safe christmas, and many tight lines over the break.

20 knot winds up here again this week, they say it is going too turn around n/e -n/w 10 to 15 which isnt much good for fishing in most spots anyway.
cheers.

ozdevil
28-12-2002, 07:32 PM
Gday Guys

Hows it going i hope ya guys had a great chrissy now that its over....

Anyway cant wait till a couple of weeks time as i am heading up to the Murray to try a get a goodoo

Anyway guys i hope yas have a happy new year now and all the best for 2003.....

hope to get out fishing next week for a few snapper....

jaybee
29-12-2002, 02:42 PM
Hi Mick
Hope you have a happy new year as well, ( u too brian, n blaze) hope to get out after some decent fish myself after the new year. see what happens. spending a week in Sydney first to try out Brisbane waters.
joe.

29-12-2002, 04:45 PM
Hi Mick, Joe, Brian
Fisrt of all
HAPPY NEW YEAR
Now with that said
The weather hasnt been kind for fishinout wide, but been plenty of 1kg silver and small salmon to be had for a bit of fun on light line, hooked a bloody swell shark of about a meter on 6 pound line the other day, got the bloody thing to the boat to get the hook out and the knot on the 20 pound leader give up (saved dehookin) took a while to get up in 10 meters of water.
Lets all hope for some settled weather in 2003
Joe
few sharks up your way chsing bait fish at the moment, seen it on skynews
What is a GOODOO (dog food )
Brian
any tuna showin up yet

ozdevil
30-12-2002, 03:52 PM
Gday Rob

A goodoo is a Murray Cod mate

just the other weekend there was at least 10 sharks spotted of the metro beaches here in South oz ranging from 5ft to 10 ft bronzies and also a few whites hanging around....

the Government here in South Australia are that dam Stupid they put on helicopters t scare the sharks out of deeper water in which it was working and now they have decided they will stop the service of this.....

As it is known that south Australia gets the pearly whites showing up on our beaches every year Specially this time of year.....

Joe i also seen that there was a gal taken by a shark today but she was very lucky to survive....dont they have shark nets up there in Queensland?

anyway cheers

jaybee
31-12-2002, 02:13 PM
Hi Mick
Only saw the report this morning, we have shark nets on the popular beaches, but this happened 40 k out from cairns on a coral cay. couldnt have been too big a shark it said it latched onto her arm and took chunks out ?? was suposed to be a hammerhead, no size was mentioned.
cheers.
joe.

ozdevil
31-12-2002, 03:52 PM
Gday Joe

Mate i only caught the tale end myself mate of the shark so i didnt really know exactly where just heard it happened up there in Qld

But i think they should put Shark nets around the metro regions of adelaide as we commonly get Whites showing up... but the only problem i see is that its going to kill alot of fish in the process

31-12-2002, 05:40 PM
never seen a shark net protecting a beach, but they would have very large mesh that smaller fish could get through, any way ban all nets and if you get in their (sharks) envoiroment you need to be careful
less people get killed by sharks than cars

jaybee
31-12-2002, 06:34 PM
Hi Guys
The nets seem to be affective, there is at times though the odd dolphin, small whale or turtle is meshed up though. They are checked everyday and usually if something other then a shark is meshed we soon hear about it, but don't quote me on this, you never know what goes on behind the scenes. I have heard of boats up to 16 foot being dragged down by them though when the mesh has entangled the props. They are well marked so don't know why boats would be so close to them. Will see if I can find more out for you.
cheers.
joe.

squire
03-01-2003, 04:14 PM
Guys I can seriously not believe this post is still going its amazing. Jaybee hope all is well with you and you've recovered well regards squire.

jaybee
04-01-2003, 05:07 AM
Hi Squire, all is well, still a little tender, but they say 12 to 18 months, they say i acutally give it away twice on the day http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm35.gifoh well such is life, so what have you been up to then.

squire
04-01-2003, 04:16 PM
Jaybee glad youre recovering well. I have been busy shifting house and all that stuff that goes with work. Haven't done a lot of fishing of late due to the amount of work but I hope to get out soon. Regards Squire

jaybee
05-01-2003, 03:16 PM
Hi squire i havent done too much fishing myself lately, with the weather the way it is, plus a few financial thingies, beside not much use going out while the weather is off hey. Have been learning a lot from these guys though, and would love a trip to SA or tassie, go back through the posts and have a look at the photos.
joe.

squire
05-01-2003, 05:01 PM
Jaybee only have two words to say.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm32.gifABSOLUTELY AMAZING http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm1.gif

12-01-2003, 08:43 AM
Hi Brian, Mick, Joe
Been to busy to fish or post, been a bit windy anyway,
hope all is well with all,
so i am now off to catck some bait for a early start tomorrow
Brain how did you get on with outboard
Mick any snapper
Joe have you had a fish lately or is the weather still sh...t

ozdevil
14-01-2003, 04:06 PM
gday Rob

Mate i cant report on snapper mate as i havent been out in the salt for about 4 weeks now just got back from a trip on the murray river mate trying to catch me my first goodoo and in disgust i actually lost a good one and that was the only strike i got in 3 days....Arrrgh well it was a good weekend all up thou

Anyway now things are starting to go back to normal here in South oz abd now back at work i will be doing some serious snapper fishing

anyway catch ya later rob

Hey Brian you still with us mate???

brian66
14-01-2003, 05:01 PM
Hi all, still here but it's been hectic. Spent some time at Bruny Island while on holidays and have had 4am starts since back at work. Combine that with a stack of fishing and diving and i haven't had a chance to even look at the computer. (except when I had to move it to make room for the #!*!# xmas tree) Anyway I will make time tomorrow night to go back through the posts and will give you all a more detailed reply.

Cheers Brian.

brian66
15-01-2003, 05:28 PM
gday mick...rob...joe......i hope you all had a good xmas and new year....like i said i have been a busy boy lately...ive done heaps of fishing and diving over the break and have been puting in 12-13 hour days at work so its been a case of eat the dinner and off to bed.....although i did a lot of fishing i havent caught a lot of fish lately; until sat just gone when we fished the first tuna club comp for the year..we trolled the tuna lures from eaglehawk neck to the shelf and was just about to wind them in to start berlying for shark when out of the blue a school of small albacore pounced..so we tagged a few and i keeped one as it was my first albacore....then we started on the berley and it wasent long before we spoted one crusing up the berly trail..then for some reason it just disappered and we never saw it again,so i dont know what happened there but we kept on berlying for 2 more hours for no results...anyway we give up on the shark and went and did some bottom bouncing for the rest of the day and i caught 3 nice striped trumpeter...so all in all i had a good day..... so rob in answer to your question mate there is heaps of albies out on the shelf so hopefully they will come in for a look soon, the average temp out there on sat was 18 deg with one patch were we were sharking was a contant 19 so hopefully it should be a good year....anyway all, i think that work will be getting back to normal hours soon so i will be able to stay up a bit later and chatt....so hopefully i will hear from you;s soon..........brian

jaybee
16-01-2003, 04:38 AM
Hi guys just breezing through, nothing to report except wind, wind, and more wind. Well with the monsoonal trough up north and another cyclone in the pacific its expected. Tradionaly up here the long weekend (aussie day) has always be wet and windy but not for quite a few years. At this stage we have overcast skys and wind, so we will see what develops. Might be going to chase some muddies friday night, still up in the air. If i do go, where i am going is a short run out to an island in the bay, the wind seems to be dropping off at night, so if it does, and the bay is okay, i will be preapared keep your fingers crossed. Hope you all had a good Christmas, and now i guess its time to get out and wear of the waistline collected over the break.
joe

brian66
16-01-2003, 05:02 PM
gday joe...mate good to hear from you...mate sounds like the weather is not so great up your way...the weather hear in tas has been great....we have had no real rain for weeks, with some real warm days and mostly moderate north east winds.......hope you had a good xmas mate i sure did...i got a 4x4 triton ute and a new dunbier boat trailer...so mate, father xmas was real good to me....anyway joe better go mate.... look after ya self..

brian

16-01-2003, 05:40 PM
old santa did look after you brian
looked after my wife well to mazda 626
dont no where you found the good weather brian bloody nor easters
going in the morning, first trip for ages ( last little trip i had planed, couldnt catch the bait) so hope to score some flatties and gummy and if time permits, might see if there is a snapper about.
on a charter set for 5 april out of st helens, should be rearly boiling by then
thats all for now

jaybee
16-01-2003, 06:11 PM
damn no father christmas i know can afford a new car or trailor, what am i doing wrong here, good news the forecast is for the wind to drop 15 to 20 tomorrow, now if it can drop again friday, but then with the full moon coming up saturday, bet ya boots she will hit the 30s again, this is just not fair eh.
joe.

ozdevil
17-01-2003, 06:49 AM
Gday Brian joe and rob

guys havent been upto much as i didnt get anywork over chrissy so my cash supply had to go to bills but hey i am goig to try and get out on saturday for a bit of a run....

Santa well he didnt come to me becuase i think it was becuase i sued santa for calling me wife a ho 3 times would you guys to believe ;D

Anyway Brian i can definately tell you i will be in tasmania for christmas this year for a few weeks as i will be driving over.....I might even get the chance to pop up and see blaze if time prevails....

anyway brian sounds like youy had a great chrissy mate with a new vechile and boat trailer... and sounds as if you had some good days fishing as well....

anyway better go and get ready for work

catchya's all soon

brian66
20-01-2003, 05:18 PM
gday rob...mate i read a report in the paper today that there was a double hookup of marlin of st helens last week... both were lost....also they report yellow fin up to 35kg and large albacore....the game fishing season in tas should be a good one the way things are shapeing up....we are going out on satarday to the shelf again to hopefully find some big albies or yellow fin....better go now mate as this computer logs me out if i type to long ???....anyway i will type each reply out seperate till i work out what is going on.......

cheers mate............ brian

brian66
20-01-2003, 05:31 PM
gday joe...mate got your instant message thanks....didn;t have any trouble logging in last night...it took me about 45 min to type in the replys last night and when i went to send them the cannot find server page came up and then i lost everything >:...mate weather in the 30s is what were getting here in tas also tommorow...with an extreme fire weather warning....the good side of that is it will be a 10 oclock shut down at work tommorow....it will be to windy for fishing so i think that i will head under water instead of on it.....

cheers mate......brian

brian66
20-01-2003, 05:46 PM
gday mick....mate cant beleive that bloody santa of yours' what a complete barstard i think you should take him for every think he;s got... ;D...mate sounds great that you are coming over it wil be great to catch up with you for a good chat without wearing out the finger...mate dont forget if you come into any money over the next few months there will be a charter waiting for you...like i told rob mate the yellow fin and albacore are set to really fire over here... hopefully the blues will still run latter in the season when the water cools.....anyway mate hope all is well with you and your other half...better go now mate as i want to watch the costya fight on tv about to start....

cheers mate .....brian

jaybee
21-01-2003, 02:58 PM
hi brian glad to see you have sorted it out, the weather has turned for the better but then i have been working on those days, am taking this sunday off work so will see what eventuates then.
cheers.
joe

ozdevil
21-01-2003, 06:30 PM
Gday Brian

it is definately on the cards mate that we will catch up and have a few sherbets mate.....well we will make that lemonade.......

I dont think i will be able to make it over early this year unfortunately as there is few things that have come up now brian as i am heading over to pt lincoln and then to whyalla and then to melb then hobart for christmas plus my car broke down which is going to cost a few bucks to fix....

Anyway brian i heard a rumour on the grapevine someone got into some albacore and stripey tuna of the penisula mate but they had to go out wide to get them.....as i wouldnt have thought by memory it would be late feb they turn up so looks as if you guys are going to get a good season in....

I went out saturday for a bit of a run in the boat with the lady did a bit of fishing but we didnt catch anything

came close to having my boat sunk from some goon in speedboat missed my boat from about metre...scared the crap out of myself plus my missus and if he wasnt happy the first time he did it again the 2nd time....mind you i was at anchor when this happened... i was fuming..... i thought shit he goes my life and my ladies life and if we survived the pain ya gotta go buying a new boat....

arrrgh well we are all safe and sound now but if i catch these idiots doing again they will have a few sore heads

anyway i better go as it is getting late

mick

brian66
22-01-2003, 05:08 PM
gday mick...joe...rob.......mick mate the rumour you heard about the stiped tuna is true...the other sat when we caught the albacore another boat radioed in that they had caught some somewhere...things are really starting to happen down here as far as the game fishing goes....anyway mate i will keep you posted after our trip on sat,as we are fishing in the shark comp...there are reports of mako to 140 kg cruising the shelf...so we will troll out and try for some tuna on the way and hopefully get a biter to the boat this time....mate i dont know if you have heard or not but we have got some bad fires going down south at the moment...we had to leave work today as the wind was gusting to 100km were i was working and a fire broke out at uxbridge not far from us and got into the pine plantation and with the winds like they were the was not a thing could be done...another one of concern is at dromadary burning out of cotrol toward brighton and tea tree...there are also fires at ouse, port arthur,down the channel...mate with the wind forcast turning northerly on friday with a predicted temp of 36 on sat there could be some trouble around the corner....anyway mate i will keep you informed.....better go now.......cheers mate.......

brian

ozdevil
23-01-2003, 10:00 AM
Gday Brian

Mate it does look like a nother bumper of a year down there mate... i just wish i could get over there sooner then christmas but thats life but we will have a fish over chrissy for shore and hopefully we can a few fish for the bbq..

Mate i didnt even hear that tassie had bushfires mate until i read ya post at 1am this morning....

I hope they get the fires under contol and i hope they get the bugger who set fire to the broadmarsh fire...

anyway mate havent got much to say so i will talk to ya soon

jaybee
23-01-2003, 06:13 PM
Hi guys
well looks like the trip my bro and i arranged before chrissy is going to happen this weekend, weather looks good, but its only wednesday, hit the suds friday nite home sunday, if we cant get outside to some old haunts will hit some old spots in the bay. Damn been a long time since the two of us fished together up here, in brissie, looking forward to chewing the fat, hitting some old spots and perhaps catching some fish :) will be like old times, and hope there is more to come. Hope all goes well for your planned trips this weekend, tight lines and be safe.
joe.

jaybee
25-01-2003, 10:48 AM
trip was called off yesterday due to my bro working and now the wind is howling, i just cant win lately, oh well one day
joe

25-01-2003, 06:11 PM
Hi Joe,Mick, Brian
hang in there Joe, maybe the wait will be worth it at the end of the day,
We are hosting the NIP fishing club from hobart this weekend for a 3 day fishafest (depends on the weather), already had 2 from hobart pull out due to the fires.
Thought of the day: I think johny boy is a ars...hole for sending our forces away to a non un sanctoined war to please old gorgey boy (nothing to do with fishin and i will say no more

jaybee
25-01-2003, 06:27 PM
i agree blaze, i did six yrs in the service and we are geared to be anywhere within 24 hrs, whats this Acclimatising C*** we have deserts here for that, the boys put on a brave front for media and kin, but it boils down they are well trained, what i dont like if you are in the service you are there for country regardless of government, and at times Animosity runs rife in the service against the government. i've had my say :) but best of luck to our guys and a safe return.
joe.

brian66
28-01-2003, 05:13 PM
gday mick...rob...joe...i went fishing on sat..headed out to the shelf around 7 am and trolled to about 3 oclock for 2 striped tuna...i think that we should have stayed in shore though cause when we got back to the ramp there was another boat there with a nice yellow fin which went 35kg on the scales..he also had a couple of nice albacore around the 14 kg mark...which were all caught 100 meters offshore not far out of eagle hawk neck where we left from...oh well thats fishing i supose...anyway hope you all had a good weekend....better get ready for work now.....

cheers ......brian

28-01-2003, 05:48 PM
Hi Brian, Mick, Joe
We hosted the NIP fishing club from hobart for the long weekend
Sat morning we headed to Mt cameron only to be told to piss off by the local aborginals (land rights stuff)
so headed to the arther river and caught salmon by lure, bait and fly (biggest about 250mm and smallest by fly about 75mm) then onto the Marrawah pub for tea. Weather played havic with sundays plans, so most went fishing off the rocks at stanley, squid on silver slice, sweep, wrasse and leather jacket on fly. I took a couple of the boys sight seein and trolled up a snook and couple of small couta in some half calm water.
Barbie that night and a few quite ales
Out in the boats on Monday Morning in the Duck bay eastuary for a couple of snook and silver trevally. so long story short lota fun, not many fish, lots of bulsh...t

jaybee
28-01-2003, 05:49 PM
hey brian least you are getting out, good onya.

ozdevil
29-01-2003, 06:13 AM
Gday brian rob and joe

Brian looks like ya gotta a reasonable start with 2 stripey tunas mate ... its sounds like those boats in close where lucky i reckon brian as it would be hit and miss at this stage for the bigguns.....

rob nip from hobart is that a new club in hobart mate i used to be a part of the bottem end sportsfishing club with the likes of john taylor and all that???

anyway guys over the longweekend i was busy fixing the car the harmonic balancer ended up crapping itself so spent most of my time fixing it....but yesterday i ended up going out crabbing for blue swimmers ended up getting a good bag of the the blue swimmers so overall i had a good day out on the water.....

Anyway guys catch up withya's soon

brian66
01-02-2003, 06:34 PM
gday mick rob joe....rob good to see that you were able to get a trip out with your visiters...we have finally got the fires under control down south..its good to be able to see the sky again instead of smoke....anyway guys no fishing for me this weekend...i am saving some money for the 2 day comp down at eagle hawk neck next weekend..i am looking forward to getting back out there after some tuna...we will be sleeping on the boat sat night so as we can get a early start on the sunday....anyway hope you;s have a good weekend...and i will check you;s out in a couple of days......

cheers....... brian

ozdevil
06-02-2003, 07:01 PM
gday brian rob and joe

well not a real lots happening here in S.A the last couple of weeks havent been fishing but getting out and catching a few blue swimmers.....

The snapper are starting to run again by the reports i have been getting and hopefully next month i will be out again after them....

anyway brian whats hapening on the tuna front

rob whats happening up your end of the world

joe your been rather quite of late ya must have been able to get out......

jaybee
07-02-2003, 04:41 AM
Hi Guys
I wish mick. :( was all lined up last friday wind was fluctuating between 15 n 19 kts, barometer dropping night before the new moon. was going to hide behind an island and see if the wind dropped as the sun went down. in the end didnt go, wind dropped to a comfortable 8 kts all night then the next day the wind and rain arrived and its still here. :) least we are at last getting some rain.
cheers.

jaybee
09-02-2003, 05:35 AM
Happy birthday brian hope your day is a good one ;D
Joe

09-02-2003, 04:33 PM
Hi All
Happy birthday Brian

Bit of luck i will get out for a fish tomorrow
Hi mick
you gettin any snapper mate, some bastard (pro fisher) dropped a long line out at our known snapper spot the other day (don't no if he cleaned em out or not,
Hi Joe
You guys are copping a bit of rain up that way ( no complaints now joe, ya need it)

jaybee
10-02-2003, 12:33 AM
Hi blaze
yep rain was a welcome releif, good to see the grass greening, went crabbing tonight, 3 undersize sandies was hoping for a feed of muddies, oh well next time. Took fisherman02 with us, he caught a small squire in the brissie river, can you beleive it. anyway time for bed.
cheers.

10-02-2003, 05:53 PM
Went for a run out to the Petrels today chasing snapper, not even a bite, trawled across the front of Robins on the way home for 3 pike (snook) lota K's (about 70) for very little, but thats fishin and not hookin.
Talkin to a mate later and they stay in the river for 8 flatties up to 850mm and silver trevally around the kilo

ozdevil
17-02-2003, 05:51 PM
Gday Brian rob and joe

Well guys we have been rather quite of late....anyway went fishing last night down at waitapinga for sambo's gets down there with a group of friends and i tell ya i can understand why i have a boat now as i trampled i reckon for a 1km down the beach and nearly died cos of it (me being unfit and all)...

anyway sets up a rod places a pillie on casts out into the surf and next minute a tap tap tap whack a nice little blackback of a 1.5kg (brian and rob these are still cocky salmon where as in tas they prolly still known as black backs) anyway we had a great session with around 20 odd fish ranging from 1.5kg throu to 2.5kg of salmon......unfortunately no pics guys becuase no camera at the beach plus it was to dark.....

anyway guys hows the fishing been in your neck of the woods

jaybee
18-02-2003, 02:25 AM
I went out last friday against my better judgement, on the net it said the wind was 8 kts by the time i got to the ramp it was blowin i esitmated at 20, well lost 1 dilly, was bitten of numerous times, caught 1 small cod (throw back) lost my reef pick, the rope tangle around the motor and we took waves over the stern, knife job, and 1 legal sand crab. early mornings seem to be the go at present.
cheers.
joe.

18-02-2003, 08:12 AM
Went for a run on sunday, 4 silver trevally, 2 gummy (1 tagged and returned), 1 swell shark, 1 skate.
Not a bad day, sea only had about 1 metre chop with a 10 to 15 knot wind off the land. Was out by myself and i forgot how peaceful it is by onself (must do it more often), even took the Sunday papers, had a read and coffee and also a snooze. Anyway got go and see if i can find some work for the week or it will be no fishin for a while and cant have that now can i
Joe
nice to see ya got out for a change

jaybee
19-02-2003, 04:20 AM
no score two weekends running tho blaze, might look at some whiting for a change, although my bro is heading up to mooloolaba in another week or two.

brian66
24-02-2003, 05:06 PM
gday mick..rob...joe...hope you;s are all well...sorry that i havent been online lately..i have had more problems than you can poke a stick at recently that i wont go into here..anyway all is fine now so i finally went and got some more internet...i havent done a lot of fishing lately..but i managed to get out on sat and fished in the tuna club rally..and i am glad i did cos we had a great day on the albacore,we kept 6 and tagged 7 the bigest for the day being 14kg on 6kg...there were striped tuna also and we caught a few of those for berley....there was only one yellow fin caught 40kg..the same boat that caught that fish was hooked up to a large marlin and i havent heard if they caught it or not as we had to leave....thank you all for my birthday wishes i had a good day....anyway hope to stay in touch with you;s all from now on......cheers all...

brian

jaybee
25-02-2003, 02:58 AM
hi brian welcome back, glad to hear both your b'day n fishing trip went well, managed a feed off mooloolaba on saturday cant wait to get back up there, really heavy rain today so that might stir the shallow reefs up a bit.
joe.

brian66
03-03-2003, 04:14 PM
gday joe...mate i have just got back from a weeks fishing with my dad and i had hoped to have news of great fishing...but unfortunately the fishing was very slow....we managed to get a few couta and a few crays...but anyway it was good to spend some time with him and just kick back....anyway joe hope you are well.... maybe i will have some more to report next week as we have a nother tuna rally this sat coming,and hopefully there will be a few blue fin around to test the muscles out...cheers mate....

brian

jaybee
04-03-2003, 03:03 AM
Hi Brian
Good to see you spent some time with your dad, times like that are precious in ones life, even if you dont catch a fish. Well plenty of wind and rain up here this past week, nice sunny morning today, havent checked the weather today. My brother has been landlocked in his tent this past week and is getting bored so he says, he hasnt been able to get out since last Sunday. Well i have to leave for work
joe.

07-03-2003, 02:31 PM
Hi Brian, Joe & where are ya Mick
Just had a reminder at what started this post, lota water under and over some boats since then
tight lines

jaybee
07-03-2003, 02:44 PM
Hi blaze lotta water up here at present and wind, my bro hasnt been able to fish since i was up there a fortnite ago, a cyclone of ne qld and now off wa is not looking good for the next few weeks again
cheers.
joe.

ozdevil
31-03-2003, 04:41 PM
gday Guys

long time no see fellas...

Well i have been off line for a few months now.... done bugger all fishing did a couple of snapper trip-s to port pirie and both trips lost some good snapper didnt even get them to the surface...but thats life...

anyway guys i havent been doing to much planning a trip to whyalla in May for the big reds....

anyway Brian i will be in Hobart on the 18th of dec-throu to 10th of janurary flights have been booked so i will definately see ya chrissy time buddy

Rob hows the fishing up smithton buddy????

Joe hows the fishing been your way buddy??

anyway guys catchyas later

31-03-2003, 06:17 PM
Hi Mick
Nice to see ya back on line. The post have been a bit slow of late (like the fishin). Booked on a charter 29th of April out of st helens, so I hope they are on the bite. Been a bit quite on the local scene though. Caught a couple of nice flatties though. Had a couple of trips out to the petrels after snapper but no luck, bit late now I think Mick.

jaybee
01-04-2003, 02:31 AM
Hi Mick n Blaze
Fishing hasnt been too bad in between wind and rain, have a thunderstorm at this very momement. 6.30am. Well uni has started again so between study and work time is tight specially on my days off :'(
joe

ozdevil
13-04-2003, 06:50 PM
Gday joe rob and Brian

well last weekend happened to get out for a bit of a fish off a place called balgowan and mind you it wasnt a very pleasant trip as it is costing me 100 bucks in gelcoat repairs cos the guys i had i got 1 back the boat down the ramp and the other to get the boat unhooked and ready to luanch well the guy who backed the boat in didnt put in far enuff and then the guy before i could say to the driver back in more the boat was sailing into the water hitting the concrete ramp and placed a nice chunk of gelcoat off the back of my rig....

Anyway after all this comotion we set out to our fishing spot well we had some great luck some monster kidney slapers (king george whiting) ranging from 38-55cm and about a dozen leather jacket and couple of good size sweep

anyway whats the fishing like for you guys??

Whats happened to brian i havent seen him post for awhile

anyway cheers

14-04-2003, 09:12 AM
Hi Mick
Things have been a bit quite, went out sat with a little spin stick off the beach chasing what ever (with a variey of lures) and could not even catch a what ever, went across to the stanley wharf and the water looked dead. ganna have to put the boat in soon to get a feed. Only 14 more sleeps to the st helens charter, from latest reports things are still fishin well down there.

jaybee
14-04-2003, 12:22 PM
Hi guys
I havent been out in a while, uni has started plus work commitments, my bro has been doing okay up mooloolaba, photos in the next week or two.
joe.

jaybee
26-04-2003, 08:58 AM
Hi guys, the latest photos from mooloolaba are up a couple of small tuna for those that are interested, more to come when they are developed
joe

http://members.optushome.com.au/burnettj/images/photo5.html

reidy
26-03-2008, 02:21 PM
Hi Brain & Mick
I have a 4.1 pride runabout with a 25 merc (about to get a 40 yamaha)
and I dont go far from land here but do a lot of island hopping perkins, robins, hunters, three hummocks ect and you can aways be within a couple a k of shore.You will have to bring the tinny up brain Feb to march and see if we can get a snapper.they also catch a few around the batman bridge in launceston real bloody early in the morning. if you see any thing written by damen sherriff read that, he is supossed to be the snapper guru in tassie.About 15 years ago I went fishing with a mate from dunally, left through the narrows up toward maria island chasing tuna trolled all day (no Tuna) slowed down and caught a heap off great bloody couta
The real snapper guru is a guy named Tom Wickers.Taught Damon Sherriff where when and how with Tamar snapper.