View Full Version : Hi this is my first flathead have a look

djdamo
12-08-2006, 09:46 PM
Hi ppl this is my first flathead
the sand flathead {the lighter one} it is mine and it is about 35cm the other one is my dads and it was 35cm aswell.
plz tell me what u think

jeffrey_h
12-08-2006, 10:14 PM
Great set of flats you got there-------------son.

Plenty more to come

DORO
12-08-2006, 11:31 PM
Nice fish. wouldn't mind getting afew myself.

DORO

djdamo
12-08-2006, 11:44 PM
Thanks m8

el_carpo
13-08-2006, 08:23 AM
Neat picture there djdamo. Cool to see the different colorations side by side like that.

Bundy_Burp
13-08-2006, 09:29 AM
Great pics well done on your first legal flattie

Bundy 8-)

jeffrey_h
13-08-2006, 09:46 AM
:)Thanks for your feedback guys :)

djdamo

BrandonH
14-08-2006, 02:01 PM
You 2 will have to watch out for who is logged in when posting ;)

Always good to get a first!! nice work :)

tight lines
Brandon...

richos
14-08-2006, 02:42 PM
Nice first flatty damo!
well done mate, keep it up:)

AngiG
14-08-2006, 03:14 PM
Great photo.
I really like the colour difference.
Hate to be a nark, but where are you from coz Duskies (i think the one on the right is a Dusky) in QLD have a limit of 40cm.

But for all i know its a Bar tailed or something else.
Or as its in the live well it may have even been released.

Great pic.
Angus

djdamo
14-08-2006, 05:57 PM
HI Brandon sry about that

djdamo
14-08-2006, 05:58 PM
Thanks Richos

Djdamo

djdamo
14-08-2006, 06:00 PM
Angig
Its not a Dusky its a bar tail and the limit for bar and sand are 30cm and the dusky is 40 cm so they are legal

R_K_HILL
14-08-2006, 06:58 PM
Nice Flatties there damo - check these out:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1154424623

AngiG
15-08-2006, 08:42 AM
Yeah mate no worries i thought that may have been the case.
Live well photo's of Duskies and Bar tailed though hard to tell!
Good catch.

Where were you fishing if you dont mind m asking?

Angus

djdamo
15-08-2006, 03:28 PM
Pumilstone pasage sorry about my spelling

RCG008
15-08-2006, 07:16 PM
It dosnt matter how old you are Flathead are still great and a good feed.

In Coffs we have a flathead ground in about 115 foot of water and its on the way home from the reefs and islands. Even on the weekend it turned a poor esky into a respectable one. Had good fun catching too.

8 flathead between 43 and 51 cm makes for a couple of nice feeds.

keep up the flatty fishn damo. :)

djdamo
15-08-2006, 09:09 PM
thx mate

djdamo

djdamo
16-08-2006, 09:29 PM
bump!!

djdamo
01-09-2006, 04:48 PM
bump!!!

ele-phrez
10-09-2006, 07:56 PM
great stuff keep up the good work

kingfisho
15-09-2006, 05:13 PM
Good stuff a nice pair of flatties

gazza013
16-09-2006, 04:19 PM
Great fish enjoy these times they will become great memories

nathan_fishing
16-09-2006, 07:11 PM
nice pic heres a flathead i got on a 2inch power bait>>>>>>>>>>

nathan

djdamo
17-09-2006, 10:51 AM
nice 1 how big?
and where did you catch it

marlinqld
17-09-2006, 05:12 PM
Onya mate.....that first one is always the sweetest........many more to come i am sure

Rogue2
20-09-2006, 06:23 PM
Well done.....Must have been fun on the line.... Taste good as well

:) :)

zach
21-09-2006, 08:55 AM
good work mate wate till u hook a huge one than ull no about ;D
zach

nathan_fishing
21-09-2006, 06:59 PM
nathan.. i got it on the gold coast

nathan

djdamo
22-09-2006, 03:41 PM
thanks guys btw Nathan.
What bait did yo use?

SgBFish
09-10-2006, 04:24 PM
Nathan.

There are some monster flatties in the passage. Look for where the beach fisherman are towards the bottom of the island at low tide. ;)

My father dropped one at the boat a few months back. It took a whole live cod bait (11 inches long). It had a head the size of a "D" shovel. ;) and he is not prone to exaggeration.

We caught one a Mud island a while back and he had swallowed a huge cuttlefish.

Keep up the fishing its great fun and a great family activity.