View Full Version : Moderaters re: $hitstirrerS
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 12:28 PM
Just like to ask the moderators how much longer we all have to read some of the crap that is being posted in the way of sh!tstirring others on this website.
I enjoy reading posts and believe in every one having there say.
Is ausfish a website were we should all try and get along.
Because I beleive that there are a couple of newcomers here that are just online to make dickheads of themselves by coninuosly slagging off at other and might i add respectable members comments.
I reckon you guys know who im talking about.
A good warning would be well overdue thanks.
If you are deleting this post feel free to PM me
MIKOS ;)
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 12:50 PM
bump
scuttlebutt
15-12-2005, 12:59 PM
seconded
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 01:03 PM
Thanks scuttlebutt,
Comon guys anyone else want to add to this???
juicyfruit
15-12-2005, 01:06 PM
"Let he, who is without sin, cast the first stone."
krazyfisher
15-12-2005, 01:07 PM
it does not seem as friendly a site as it used to be and not as open to ideas
still like it but some times things just dont need to be said
fishman7
15-12-2005, 01:09 PM
hi
i agree but you away have poeple like this on any web site.maybe a 3 strike you out would work.
danny
imported_admin
15-12-2005, 01:24 PM
MIKOS
Thanks for your post but comments like " I reckon you guys know who im talking about." don't help us in knowing who you are talking about. If I knew what you were talking about it would not be an issue, it would have already been fixed.
If you or anyone has a problem with a particular post all you have to do is send me a PM and it will get looked into.
There are over 240000 posts on the chat board and we simply can not read adn moderate every one of them.
So, if you have any posts you want looked at, send me a PM
Zeeke
15-12-2005, 01:31 PM
Mikos, Im sorry I have offended you... but i still wont apologise for commenting on someones spelling...
p.s. Im still in the belief they are/were a troll... and not a real person
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 01:43 PM
Steve,
I have sent you a PM
Mikos
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 01:46 PM
Mikos, Im sorry I have offended you... but i still wont apologise for commenting on someones spelling...
Zeeke Mate,
LOL I saw that post no apologise needed here fella.
I didnt think anything of it.
From what i saw mate you copped a serve.LOL ;D
This post aint about you mate :)
MIKOS ;)
15-12-2005, 02:02 PM
I reckon the d!ckheads come and go. Majority rules on ausfish and once people know you are that sort of person, you are on the way out.
Best solution is to just ignore them....they will go away if they don't get a reaction.
15-12-2005, 02:17 PM
On any internet based chat forum, you are always going to get people who will logon just to stir trouble... It happens on every chat site at some time or another...
I think that we should bring up the idea of becoming Ausfish Members, and paying a small yearly fee! This money would help Steve with keeping the site going/up-to-date. He does it completely free, and without question, so it would only be fair to "give something back" to Steve.
I know this has been brought up before, but it kinda got lost in the woodwork... Surely paying a $30 fee (Just a figure off the top of my head) just to stir trouble would help deter these buggers that do it!
Just my opinion anyway...
(Don't worry Steve - We got ya back! ;) )
fish2eat
15-12-2005, 02:35 PM
Well I know Steve fixed one of the culprits up (BigBazzaBoi) yesterday...all his posts got deleted thank God (& Steve) and there is a really rude reply sitting from a first poster in " Florida Fishing" on the Salwater forum... uncalled for.
I had a few beefs about the moving of posts around, and there was a former moderator who was a bit too "enthusiastic" but hey.....this site is THE best moderated fishing site bar none. Hope it stays that way, I've learnt heaps here and have always got good reliable opinions.
ba229
15-12-2005, 03:38 PM
If you're talking about me I take full responsibility :D
If you're talking about someone else I have no idea what your talking about ;D ;D ;D
now i am really intrigued, the post by mirror has been deleted, there was nothing inflammatory, all it did was point out some of mikos comments, the sort he is probably the sort whingeing about, & list a section from the rules.
imported_admin
15-12-2005, 03:55 PM
It was posted by an existing Member under another Membername, first post and duplicate IP address, and only lead to abusive replies.
Which I assume was the intent of the post.
snappa
15-12-2005, 03:57 PM
:-X
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
15-12-2005, 04:00 PM
I'm with Fishin Dan.
I get a tremendous amount of enjoyment and relaxation, as well as information, from this site. We were all told years ago that there's "no such thing as a free lunch" and therefore someone must be paying for this enjoyment. I presume it is Steve. I would be more than happy to 'subscribe' to Ausfish and incur an annual membership fee. Some folks simply may not be able to afford this, and that's fair enough too, but perhaps those who feel they can and want to contribute financially, could be encouraged to do so.
As for some of the ridiculous threads and posts, as Jeremy says, ignore them. People who are attention seekers soon move on to other places if they are ignored.
Just my thoughts!
Cheers all
fishman7
15-12-2005, 04:08 PM
hi
great to see they banned the first poster for 5 days.i think they just come on here to cause trouble.i know on some of the other site if they get banned they just get a new name and start again.
danny
MIKOS
15-12-2005, 04:10 PM
Id pay to use this great site and keep it secure.
This is a good idea.
Unfortunatly it is the way of the world.
As fishin dan and reelnauty said I agree it should stay as a free website
But i would be very happy also to pay for this service ;)
Food for thought
MIKOS
mike ;)
15-12-2005, 04:16 PM
As fishin dan and reelnauty said I agree it should stay as a free website
I said pay for it ;)
But I'd be happy to pay too mate...
rajawolf
15-12-2005, 04:22 PM
I think this is a S00K thread! learn to ignore and be happy!!! ;D ;D
westie
15-12-2005, 05:30 PM
This site is the best, and that is why we have such a huge turn over of members.
Myself I have learnt so much and met a quite a few members and class them as friends. This site has so much to offer to ALL persons with the interest of fishing, and unfortunately no all agree with each other.
Sure there is some conflict from time to time no different that 100 fisherman in a group on the waters edge discussing how to rig a line up for whiting, there will be some that will say the opposite to everyone else and get set upon by the 99 others.
We need to LOOK READ and DIGEST before we open our mouth and put our foot in it.
i am sure you will find that AUSFISH is a business, hence all the banners and popups, these sponsors pay to have there advertising on this site and you will find there is more sponsors here than elsewhere, because this site has the BIGGEST following and it is a great place to target there intended market.
I feel if Ausfish received moneys from members as a subscriptions they may not have full moderation rights they have now.
I maybe one of those that is being discussed here, if so I am sorry if I have offended anyone.
I feel the moderators should look at a card system, If you post something that is beyond the boundaries would it be possible to have a BLUE flag placed on ALL there post so we all can read it and learn from others and if it gets to heated a ORANGE card is placed against all there post as a second warning and finally RED Banned for a week.
Just a thought it would be a silent WARNING system to all users that what " Members name" has overstepped the mark with there comments
I have been warned and I have moved on, YOU LEARN from your mistakes.
As for Spelling mistakes, if it is that much of a concern to some, maybe a Spell Checker could be added to the site.
This Post is NOT targeting anyone so please if you think that .... Don't
15-12-2005, 05:49 PM
Is that a "belief" or a "think" Tim?
Don't know about you but for me to hold a belief I have to be pretty well convinced that something is true/fact.
There was absolutely no indication that this was a troll other than the peculiarity of the post. That may lead me to *think* that it may be a troll but that is not enough to have me respond as if it *were* a troll.
The guy may have been intellectually impaired or simply had a poor education. It could have been the anniversary of his father's death, he was lonely, and he was just feeling a bit down and looking to have someone to talk to or somewhere to belong. One could argue that this is not our problem and that we shouldn't have to analyse everything that is said here before we give someone the benefit of the doubt but it can also be argued that one should not jump the gun about another person until one allowed ones-self time to get to know that other person.
The guy had said nothing provocative and to insult his and his father's intelligence was uncalled for. It is also damaging to the site as a whole. I have seen it all too often on news groups and other sites, where long standing members have been abusive to newcomers simply because they were different in some way or another. This costs those groups memberships and on a site such as this where the advertising is important for the site, the advertisers want to see membership figures before they part with their cash.
Now we will never know if the guy is a troll or simply someone who posted his feelings in the best way that he knew how and was frightened away by the response.
All I'm saying/asking is that you can continue to judge others as you see fit but just allow yourself a little more time in future before you become judge, jury and executioner. Sometimes we all need somewhere to belong and those that appear different are often those who never get a chance to belong. I for one will not denegrate anyone simply because they appear diffferent....trolllike or not.
rajawolf
15-12-2005, 05:56 PM
Kev,
Good post mate... :)
I dont mind telling people I that am a disabled person, and I am sure there is a lot of other people who are disabled, who use this forum also.
Anyway thats my 2 cents worth for now. :P
fishingnottake
15-12-2005, 05:56 PM
we're all adults here, and there's a big difference between baiting other members and actually have a legitimate opnion that differs from someone else's most members can tell the difference and if they disagree put forward their reasonings etc, others either are too insecure to defend their position, or realise their position in erronous, and they are the ones who revert to juvinile trolling, or pm'ing mods to delete valid posts, that being said, even the difference of opnion only happens in a miniscule amounts of posts, as steve said there are 240224 posts on this site, and i dare say less than a 100 would be inflmattory, this is a fishing site, so 99% of posts are to do with fishing, not politics, not sport, and not raja's wife, all touchy subjects, jsut remember "sticks and stones"
ash
15-12-2005, 09:09 PM
Can we still sh!t stir just a little bit ;D ;D ;D ;D
Eg. every 10 useful bits of wisdom you impart you get 1 little sh!t stir ;)
Ps If this works after 400 odd posts i've almost earn't 1 stir credit ::) ::)
szopen
15-12-2005, 09:30 PM
Kev,
Very good post.
I have no idea which particular discussion you are reffering to but I still agree with what you are saying.
Finding_time,
I'm with you.
I do get my fingers itchy sometimes but try to and usually manage to shut up.
Thanks to some other members of this site that have put me straight.
Propdinger I still owe you that case of beer.
::) ::) ::) ::) ::)
Fishinmishin
15-12-2005, 10:09 PM
Different people, different opinions and different point of views are what make this site interesting. The line should be drawn at posts which include threats, insults, spam and adult only related content (unless it's me making them ;D)...other then that I think some members just gotta grow a sense of humour or just learn to dismiss comments which they do not agree with 100%. Our world is already over governed and over regulated and it would be a shame to see Ausfish adopt a '100% fish and facts related only' approach. I do think that it would not be in the sites best interest nor would it appeal to the majority of members.
The moderators do a fine job here and if you read something that you think does not belong on this site, then a simple PM to Steve with a link to the post gives him the opportunity to review the post and decide wether he wishes to take further action. What has gone too far is all the politics created by the wingers on this site....and I have dealt with my fair share of them :-X. Posts (even such as this one) could have been better directed via PM to a mod. instead of posting it up and encouraging other members to become involved in an issue with is currently being dealt with thus making it a bigger issue then it really is. Mike, your point is very valid and it is a shame that there are idiots out there which purely intend to post garbage. My comments are not directed to you but rather to members who post with negative intent towards other members such as in my '1000 posts' post which has been long deleted. There was no need for the insults which were posted. If you thought the post was a waste of time, then why add to the reply count with your insult or why even bother reading it past the 1st line.
I have not been a good boy at times :-[ and I have copped my warnings and been banned which is fair enough. Some members don't like my style of posts which is also fair enough (even though I couldn’t care less :P). The truth is that this site is gaining new members everyday. Some are more productive then others and some or just fools which need to be removed but all in all I think it is a good thing for both the site and the members. As a high volume user of the site the way I see it is the more posts the merrier. Where other sites lack is that when you log on two days later, there are only a couple new posts to read. When I come across a post which I deem useless I just move on to the next post. Simple....isn't it ;).
My 3 bob.
Cheers, Jay
PS- Your mammas still love me :-X ;D.
szopen
15-12-2005, 11:46 PM
Jay,
Is being a father affecting your thinking?????????
It is OK if that's what is happening.
Very well written post too.
16-12-2005, 03:28 AM
I think that Jay (and others) have raised some pretty good points here. Remember the fiasco when Jay reached his 1001 posts? There is no need for half smart comments like the ones he got.
All in all, I think the site is very good, and apart from a few heated exchanges from time to time (pistols at dawn, all that stuff), there is a good exchange of info.
Billo
16-12-2005, 08:20 AM
LMAO at Jay.
Mate , no ADULT ONLY THEMES ...........you ARE an ADULT ONLY THEME
And loving it !
Big Mumma said to say G'day
Seriously though , a loser stirring trouble ...just takes a quick PM to a mod to clear em out ...god Knows they cleared Shakira out pretty snappy
MIKOS
16-12-2005, 09:56 AM
Guys,
I have learnt a lesson here.
I appreciate all of your feed back and have sat back and taken in what you have all had to say.This is a great site with great people.
Jay say gday to ya mumma for me ;D ;D ;)
Raja,
I Believe you are right and stay happy is the most important. ;)
Westie,
We all enjoy your comments,well i cant speak for everyone but i know i do ;)
My apologise to all and a merry xmas.
Buy the way i should be getting a digi camera very shortly and hopefully be able to catch up in the way of photos.
Thanks guys
Mike ;)
rajawolf
16-12-2005, 01:18 PM
Mike,
Merry xmas mate :)
al_neibling
16-12-2005, 08:10 PM
Well I thought about putting my 2 cents worth and thuought maybe I shouldn't as I am a fairly new member. But I thought no I will.
I Love coming to this site and I love being a member
I don't know a thing about fishing really other then there is nothing else in world that I love more than fishing with my family. So as a member I really don't have that much to offer others by way helpful info.
But you know what, I have never been slagged off at or harrassed, I have never been laughed at for I know would be a silly question (well not that I have heard ;D)
I think its a great site and when I have seen the post you guys are talking about I usually read them all and have a giggle to myself.
Thanks for welcoming me and great job on an excellent site
al
16-12-2005, 08:44 PM
al, I'm glad that you are enjoying yourself and whether you believe you are contibuting or not is irrelevant. We give when we can and we take when we cannot give but have a need to take. Such is life. BTW you have just given :)
gawby
16-12-2005, 08:53 PM
Maybe this was a bogus thread
Maybe others were in on it to see what reactions would be made.
Perhaps the comments made might be referred to as s h i t sturrring.
What i was saying, bogus thread or not, dont becruel to others that might not be as smart as you.
All you do gooders be careful when juding others on further threads as you might then be judged as a s h i t sturrer.
I dont find it necesary to check my gramma either.
Graeme
nonibbles
03-01-2006, 11:36 PM
I thought being a shitstirrer was a badge of honour in aussie male culture. Being a rude uncouth prick... well that's something different. ;)