View Full Version : What would you like to see
westie
15-12-2005, 05:39 PM
What would you like to see/improvements on this site.
This maybe moved, but I hope not as I feel it would benifit AUSFISH with making this site even better than it is, as we are the people that make this site what it is because without members there would not be and a TOP rating fishing site.
1) I would like to suggest a spell checker
2) A card system for miss behavior BLUE warning ORANGE Caution
RED Banned
propdinger
15-12-2005, 05:52 PM
card system is already in place or it was i seen it
as for spell checker yes it could be handy ::) ::) ::)
15-12-2005, 05:54 PM
What would you like to see/improvements on this site.
This maybe moved, but I hope not as I feel it would benifit AUSFISH with making this site even better than it is, as we are the people that make this site what it is because without members there would not be and a TOP rating fishing site.
1) I would like to suggest a spell checker
2) A card system for miss behavior BLUE warning ORANGE Caution
RED Banned
Here ya are..........a spellchecker ;D http://www.iespell.com/
What would *I* like to see? MMMMmmmmmmmmmm??? Can only thin of Shakira's arse at the moment ;) ;D
juicyfruit
15-12-2005, 06:22 PM
Card idea.
That idea could work
But it will need to be implemented, across the board, punishment for all.......not just a selected few
Measured on what is said, not on how many posts you have made, or the status you may hold
And what one moderator or member may see as breaking the rules, another may not agree
Though it may seem like a sound idea, it would be open for a lot of discrimination (and possibly a lot more of 'he said, she said')
And perhaps less members which equal less sponsors
This site is only operative due to sponsor and members.......which all work on mostly 'word of mouth'
To use someone else’s words to me today.....people are too 'thin skinned' another said to me 'pack of whingers'
We need to learn to look past someone’s post if it offends and not make a big song and dance about it.
The best moderators are ourselves.
"We need to LOOK READ and DIGEST before we open our mouth and put our foot in It." has been the best thing I have read today. Though I would like to add ‘Don’t assume’ in there somewhere.
A missing point of a chat board is, to have a chat, but someone’s opinion shouldn’t come under attack viciously just because you disagree with it….eg. Name calling. Or because they can’t spell. No spelling is that bad that you cant make out what they are saying anyway….really, in the ‘real world away from the pc screen’ would you really pick on someone that has a speech impediment or call someone a name to their face because they have a differing opinion?
So the best moderators ourselves.
Please don't take this as being disrespectful, but I too will post an ending tag to cover my bum and quote you
This Post is NOT targeting anyone so please if you think that.... Don't
15-12-2005, 06:37 PM
Nice post juicyfruit. The best sort of discipline is self discipline. If one is self-disciplined then there is less need for discipline to be imposed. I agree........self moderate.
Needmorerum
15-12-2005, 06:45 PM
Thinking long and hard, there's not much I would like changed on this site. It has offered me more information than I could have hoped for, and the 'friendly banter' that I have been involved in has been great. Might have turned me to drink, but it was great. Ooops, maybe I was there already. Oh well.
The statement of 'the best moderators are ourselves' is so true.
Love the site,
Keep up the good work,
Corry.
jeffo
15-12-2005, 06:57 PM
shakiras arse..... hahahahahahaha... ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh ahahahahahaha
classic
cuzzamundi
15-12-2005, 07:02 PM
darn right corry. i've learnt more on here than i think actually out there! in some facets anyway. and yeah, we can all choose to be our own moderators. here's cheers to all the great members on our great site!
cuzza
me too kev!!! except i'll take her legs!
15-12-2005, 07:10 PM
<snip>
me too kev!!! except i'll take her legs!
If you took her legs, would that make her a low down bum? ;D
familyman
15-12-2005, 07:12 PM
Butt i spel jusd fin wit'out a cheker ;) ;D
cheeeeeeers jon
Rainbowrunner
15-12-2005, 07:21 PM
If anyone steps out of line they seem to cop it anyway,
posts get deleted,
it wont stop ppl signing in under another name
juicyfruit
15-12-2005, 07:25 PM
Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a toatl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.
15-12-2005, 07:29 PM
Ill go with Kev, your taste is improving Kev just imagine the taste of that one :-*
Measured on what is said, not on how many posts you have made, or the status you may hold
I wouldnt measure on what is said I think thats not an allround approach id consider cup size closely as well.
juicyfruit
15-12-2005, 07:32 PM
Rainbow
only if u change your ip address along with it.......if on broadband ya cant, but if on dail-up u can as ya ip address changes each time u log in......you can get around broadband ip address by asking them to change it for you, but isnt worth the hassle......there are many programs out there to hide you ip address also.....but isnt worth that much effort, just to post something else under another name......also, if you network your computer, and have the same broadband server, all pc's on that network share the same ip address.............so everyone on here is tracked by their ip address, so moderators know that its u even under a different name
Sportfish_5
15-12-2005, 07:55 PM
Section for naked chick pics :P :P :P :P :P :P :P
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
15-12-2005, 10:12 PM
All things considered, and the fact that we all learn and receive so much enjoyment from this site, and the fact that we are not charged one single cent to participate, I think the mechanisms of the site should be left to the owner - Steve Brown. Having said that, I guess most things in life could be improved upon. I think that it is pretty bloody good the way it is anyway!
imported_admin
15-12-2005, 11:42 PM
This site is only operative due to sponsor and members.......which all work on mostly 'word of mouth'
Actually the site is here due to the fact that I have funded it for the last 12+ years out of my own pocket and from sales from the site. Only over the past couple of months have I decided to get some income from banner/sponsor advertising on the site.
Thanks to all those Members and Guests that have bought from the site.
imported_admin
15-12-2005, 11:53 PM
A spell checker is in the works, I need it. It just depends on the server resources required to run it.
If you have a large post then you can type it in word first and let it spell check it and then copy and paste it here.
At the end of the day does anyone really care if you have a few words spelt incorrectly or if your grammar is incorrect? Probably not, they just want to talk about fishing.
Billo
16-12-2005, 08:09 AM
:o :o
oooohhhhhh...what did you do with Shakira Steve ? ;D ;D ;D
She was clothed ::)
imported_admin
16-12-2005, 08:33 AM
Billo
Yes your posts with pics of Shakira were deleted. Nothing to do with fishing and the images are subject to copyright, so don't want them on the site.
westie
16-12-2005, 09:22 AM
To Steve i am glad you have seen this post as a step in making this a better site, as that what it was intended to do and get some feed back on what the members would like to see.
To those members regarding "Shakira" buy the book and keep it with you as I know you are just mucking around you don't want to see that sort of crap here this is a fishing site and if you had have moderated your own post you would have not posted it in the first place,
1 other thing that may be good for the site is a 'Funny Fishing Stories" Thread where Jokes of the Day can go this way they could be found without being lost it the system.
and I did say FISHING STORIES that young ones could read as we do have YOUNG members that would like to read them instead of reading how Shakira should be ?????????????
We all need a laugh but some thing just ain't FISHING.... we need to stop this F//ck S?it you may as well just write what you mean it is time to clean up our act a bit.
Once again to Kev and other this is not having a go at you personally, just that you were there and I now you will understand where i am coming from.
Westie :)
16-12-2005, 12:35 PM
No worries Westie. I just kicked the ball and someone ran with it. Perhaps I should be a bit more careful in future which way I kick it, for fear of scoring an own goal ;D
westie
16-12-2005, 12:46 PM
We all like to have a bit of fun but in transit it looses the plot somwhere somtimes All the best of the seasons Kev
MIKOS
16-12-2005, 04:08 PM
Westie,
gday mate.
As mentioned before I agree with you that Steve the owner of ausfish does a teriffic job.
Round of applause to you steve and commendations on a great website that we ALL can share.The fact that you can do this out of you own pocket is quiet incredible.I dont see why not though that something like a $30 annual fee as dan mentioned and throw in a couple of ausfish stickers with it wouldnt hurt.
Westie,
damn it i missed those piccies ;D
Kev why are you looking?
I thought that youd forgotten how to use tour wedding tackle ;D
Mike ;)
juicyfruit
16-12-2005, 04:31 PM
Actually the site is here due to the fact that I have funded it for the last 12+ years out of my own pocket and from sales from the site. Only over the past couple of months have I decided to get some income from banner/sponsor advertising on the site.
Thanks to all those Members and Guests that have bought from the site.
I stand corrected..........
Up until recently, this site was funded by Steve Brown for the past 12+ from his own pocket and from sales from members and visitors alike. Over the past couple of months, income is now coming in from banner/sponsor advertising on the site. Which in turns means this site is operative due to sponsor and members.......which all work on mostly 'word of mouth'
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
16-12-2005, 08:27 PM
You say you stand corrected Juicyfruit and then still insist on your opinion???? Strange indeed. ::)
westie
16-12-2005, 09:24 PM
MIKOS....... I had NOTHING to do with those pictures. just like to clear that up.
Guys we seem to be taken a diversion from the Thread intentions.
What would you like to see AUSFISH to change or add to make this a better site.
PLEASE keep your comments constructive and realistic, this is to help Steve attempt to provide a service or services better in to the future.
We all aggree this is a top place to spend time and the moderation is great, but Naked women ........... >:(Come on :-X
Constructive thinkers only need apply for the task :-? :-? :-? :-? :-?
Dignity
02-01-2006, 09:51 AM
Maybe it is already available but I can't find it, on some chatboards you can identify who is currently online. I find this useful.
Sam
[smiley=wut.gif] - silly me found it, should have gone to the Main Chat page - doh
imported_admin
02-01-2006, 09:56 AM
On the main page at the bottom of the page.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi
caloundra
08-01-2006, 02:44 PM
westie
this site is great as it is
no need to fix what isn't broken
Daniel
oscar22
09-01-2006, 09:53 AM
I reckon it would be great if it had a games arcade. You know those fish catching ones and such?
oscar22
12-01-2006, 10:53 PM
Or even a section on items for sale. I have a boat that I want to get rid of cheap.