View Full Version : Fried and died - Computer lightning
mylestom
01-12-2006, 10:58 AM
Well did anyone else get zapped on Tuesday with the lightning strikes around Mid North Coast NSW.
Zapped my computer, replaced power supply, started but died a slow death over the day. Had Norton Premier but didn't help save anything.
Well back on line with a new computer and hopefully the new surge setup will work this time.
Yeah I know should have backed up a bit more often to seperate storage device, but that is not looking to good either as was plugged into computer as well. Bugger.
Trev
themisses
01-12-2006, 12:19 PM
Bugger Trev :(
The storm looked pretty nasty on it's way up but wasn't much by the time it got to us. (Thank goodness)
Cheers Kim.
gogecko
01-12-2006, 01:58 PM
Ive got a $100 surge protector from officeworks at home and at the office. It protects power and phone lines. You just plug the phone line in and it comes out the other side.
Then I run a 6 in 1 powerboard off the 240v outlet.
Dont forget that a lot of fax machines and modems get fried on the phone line.
A surge protector is a MUST. It shouldn't set you back any more than $25-30 and it could save you heaps in computer repairs.
mylestom
01-12-2006, 02:28 PM
Yep had a surge protector, but guess that one didn't do job. New one has six outlets plus phone so fingers crossed.
Looks like back up was only abut fortnight old so will be working on restoring that info to new computer.
Trev
BrandonH
01-12-2006, 02:35 PM
If the computer detects the old HDD at bootup (from the bios) you should be able to get most of the data back (even if windows sh#t itself or the Drive dosn't show on another PC in windows).
If there is something important you need send me a pm and I might be able to help you out ;)
Brandon...
seatime
01-12-2006, 02:55 PM
yep, a good quality surge protector with a warranty is the go, learnt my lesson there, twice.
I've got a Thor, about $100 on the desktop, and a powerguard $150 on the notebook.
They should be electronics applicable protectors, or so I was told by the x-perts.
01-12-2006, 04:02 PM
None of the surge protectors are infallible.
Safest thing to do is unplug the computer from the power and internet even if the storm is miles away.
01-12-2006, 04:36 PM
I agree finga..and I also unplug the internte cable also...no damage can possibly be done then. Unless you spend well over the $1000 mark you will not get good protection from lightning strikes
01-12-2006, 04:46 PM
Trev, power plug out, phone line unplugged asap when a storm approaches. Done a power supply, hdd etc, more than once I will admit, learnt the lesson, I hope!
Static down the phone line after a heavy electrical storm!? :-?
Surge protector did not help at all!
Bit hard if you aren't home however, might have to de-power and unplug phone line when you leave home for total protection.
01-12-2006, 06:25 PM
In Brissie a storm came through on Wednesday night I think it was and when the lights flickered I promptly pulled the power plug on the computer. Note to self: must buy a surge protector ! ::)
Didn't think about the cable connection to the modem though :-/
My sister had her computer hard drive fried about two months ago and lost all her documents and photos because she didn't back them up :(
She was $hiting herself when she dropped the computer off to a bloke to try and restore the hardrive because she had some intimate photos of her and her fiancé on there ;D ;D ;D
JEWIENEWIE
02-12-2006, 01:55 PM
and what great shots they were to ;D ;D
Jewie
JEWIENEWIE
02-12-2006, 01:56 PM
Jokes just jokes boys
Jewie
03-12-2006, 09:18 PM
and what great shots they were to ;D ;D
Jewie
I'm spewing! I still need some dirt on him for his bucks party next year ;D ;D ;D He’s a top bloke worthy of marring my sister, but I need to ruffle his feathers ! it's my god given rite as a brother ;D ;D ;D
Damo
04-12-2006, 04:00 AM
A surge protector will protect against surges but not against spikes such as you will get from lightning.
The Energex supply around my place is very variable as my wife will tell me when she is cooking so I have a surge protector on everything but when lightning comes it all gets switched off.
Over the years I have l lost seven modems to lightning (yes, seven!) and two otherboards on Apple computers, which are very expensive to repair. In reality, once a computer gets hit by lightning, it is worth upgrading anyway as a repaired lightning struck computer is like an old two stroke motor mower - every month will see another something that does not work or works intermittently.
That is why my last computer purchase was alaptop which I use on battery only if the weather is a bit iffy. I am not so concerned if a modem and wireless base station get hit; they are not so expensive to replace.
Back to surge protectors - you get what you pay for. There are $20 - 30 versons but I have a $90 version from Dick Smith with one of their super duper service guarrantees to pay $ in the case of damage. Not sure if that includes lightning though.
mylestom
04-12-2006, 04:42 AM
Well thanks for all the advice. The new setup is working great.
Hopefully we seem to be getting somewhere with all the old info. Still reckon backing up to seperate external hard drive is a good idea.
Anyway wishing all a merry christmas and hope that the santa :) :) that visits your place knows a little bit about selecting fishing gear for xmas presents.
Trev
Canoedle
08-12-2006, 04:21 PM
CD or DVD is the best back up option, not much can go wrong then, just keep a copy at home and one at work, or somewhere else in case of fire. ;)
Wear_the_fox_hat
15-12-2006, 09:53 PM
Sorry to inform you that surge protectors will only clip the tops of transient spikes from power supply ie. 240v Anything you an buy that seems cheap or is something you can plug into a power point is a waste of money.
If you want lightning protection you will have to buy a surge diverter & fit it to your power board (the thing on the outside of your house that holds all the circuit breakers etc.) This should divert any massive over voltage straight to earth. Will cost you about $100 plus installation.
WTFH