View Full Version : Protest Rally Northside and Southside Brisbane

BAIT_MAN
22-08-2006, 06:27 PM
PROTEST RALLY..............(Tow, tow, tow your boat)

Have you got the gumption to stand up for your right to take the kids fishing?.....if you have the ticker then hitch up the boat,
put the kids in the car and lend us an hour of your time on Saturday 2nd. Join the convoy, dress up your boat, car with slogans
or maybe tie an old sheet to your roof, with message on it, so the news choppers will pick it up?
Don't let your mates fight this battle for you - "Moreton Bay has gotta stay"

Date...................................Saturday September 2nd 2006

Assembly Location..............Clontarf Beach Boat Ramp Area (Pelican Park)

Assembly Time....................from 0900 am

Departure Time.....................Convoy will depart Clontarf at 1000 am

Reason................................To protest against the closure of Moreton Bay to family recreational fishing

Route - We head in on Horinbrook Hwy, Deagon Deviation then Gateway Motorway, left down Kingsford Smith Drv, Breakfast Creek Rd,
then up Ann St, veer left down Queen St, left into Eagle St, up Mary St then a quick left into Edward St then swing into
Alice St. (our Southside brothers will join our convoy at Ann St)

PROTEST RALLY SOUTHSIDE

Date...................................Saturday September 2nd 2006

Assembly Location..............William Street Cleveland Boat Ramp Area

Assembly Time....................from 0900 am

Departure Time.....................Convoy will depart Cleveland at 1000 am

Reason................................To protest against the closure of Moreton Bay to family recreational fishing

Route - Head in along Old Cleveland Rd, straight up O'Keefe St, then right onto Ipswich Rd, then keep left and over the Story Bridge,
then left into Ann St, veer left down Queen St, left into Eagle St, up Mary St then a quick left into Edward St then swing into
Alice St. (our Northside brothers will join our convoy at Ann St)

Note - We will have limited space in Alice St to park, if any, if you do not get a park then proceed up Alice St and swing right onto the SE Freeway and head home. The convoy itself is the "statement" and you can be well satisfied you have helped wave the flag for our right to fish.

All fishermen in the State of Queensland thankyou for your vital support on this.............

22-08-2006, 08:44 PM
shane,,,,get steve to make this a sticky mate,,,

you'll get hammered on not making it """an important issue,,,2/9/06""" style thread

just my thoughts

stevedemon
22-08-2006, 09:01 PM
Count on the red maverick and stebercraft to be there ;D 8-) ;D 8-) ;D 8-) ;D 8-)

Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)

Hornblower
22-08-2006, 09:36 PM
I am rostered on that day, is there some other way I can express my support for you all on that day??

BAIT_MAN
22-08-2006, 09:38 PM
I am rostered on that day, is there some other way I can express my support for you all on that day??

Pull a sickie

Derek_Bullock
22-08-2006, 09:52 PM

Pull a sickie

I tell you what Shane, as an employer I find that rather a stupid comment for a responsible future or potential politician to make. In fact I think you should retract it and apologise.

Derek

stevedemon
23-08-2006, 09:54 AM
for all those that are Working on that day as I was once a employer if you not taking a sickie so as to do the right thing by your boss then send and e-mail on this day to the governments office they will know you have had something to say

Derek you need to lighten up shane is standing for what he beleives in remember he to is and employer my thoughts only

Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)

Hornblower
23-08-2006, 10:05 AM
I'm sure Shane meant it tongue in cheek. ;) ;)

As for the sickie, my boss is an Ausfish member and reads the chat boards.

G'day Brian ;) ;) ;) Don't worry, I won't pull the sickie - I love my job ;D ;D ;D

Hornblower
23-08-2006, 10:07 AM
I will be sure to e-mail the pollies on the day, if there is anything else I can do, please let me know.

Power to the people ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

23-08-2006, 11:30 AM
I will be there with the hilux and tinny. I honestly hope that LOTS of other people come along and make this a worthwhile rally and a real show of strength. We will look bad if we only get a few along. Don't leave it to others to be there, do it for yourself and your kids.

Fisher_Boats
23-08-2006, 11:57 AM
Shane,
Have you or can you let others know besides ausfish people???
Have you got any fliers drafted up we can throw around the place ....bait and tackle shops ect ??

Col

PS.... No sickies allowed mate ;)

Fishing_Widow
23-08-2006, 12:02 PM
Shane,

I have put it onto our electronic bulletin board at work. Don't know how much interest it will create but it is out there.

Nomes :)

esselte
23-08-2006, 01:09 PM
What about an add in the paper?

Adamy
23-08-2006, 01:38 PM
None of my business hornblower... but can your wife(if you have one) or significant other tow your boat (or even drive your car) for you? I dunno... just a suggestion mate. If not then Shane also needs people on polling day - can you spare a couple of hours? If so contact Mitch (redspeckle) hes organising that side of things.

Thanks for your support - just showing real support on this thread also helps!! Keep up the good work Champ! ;)

dan88
23-08-2006, 02:37 PM
I work for BCF so I'll do my best to get it advertised at the front of the store.

23-08-2006, 04:49 PM
We'll be there!

iank
23-08-2006, 05:38 PM
Count us in
Cheers Ian/Nomes

BAIT_MAN
23-08-2006, 05:49 PM
I'm sure Shane meant it tongue in cheek. ;) ;)

As for the sickie, my boss is an Ausfish member and reads the chat boards.

G'day Brian ;) ;) ;) Don't worry, I won't pull the sickie - I love my job ;D ;D ;D

Spot on mate and thanks hope i didnt offend and it good to have a laugh about some things.

Regards Shane

BAIT_MAN
23-08-2006, 06:11 PM
Just to clarify, this event is being organised by the Moreton Bay Access Alliance not Ausfish or Shane or The Fishing Party.

Brochures are being printed and will be distributed around tackle stores, etc.

Just confirming that the rally is indeed being organised by the Moreton Bay Access Alliance, and NOT THE FISHING PARTY QUEENSLAND or MYSELF.

So guys, this is your chance to get out there and "Do Something" also.

Lets send a message to Beattie that he cant ignore!!!

Hornblower
23-08-2006, 06:25 PM
Never thought of getting someone else to tow the boat, that's a great idea. As for Polling day, I'll check with the boss tomorrow and let Shane and Mitch know then. Shouldn't be a big drama, and that would be fun. ;D ;D ;D ;D

24-08-2006, 11:15 AM
so far a handful of ausfishoes have put their hands up and said they will be there. I know not everyone is going to post, but c'mon guys. Put you money where your mouth is for one morning. Lets see some support.

shaneoo
24-08-2006, 01:17 PM
already sent it off to 15 poeple so far count me in, im bloody sick of these bastards in goverment telling us what to do, next we will have to book a time to have a shit.

see you all sat morning

madmix
24-08-2006, 02:15 PM
To the organizers

Stil humming and hahhing, have allready got two trips to brisvegas
that fortnight but unfortunately niether coincide with rally.

Have you given consideration to running any support or backup
vehicles for anyone unfortunate enough to have trailer problems.
Tyre dealers or Trailer manufacturers might be willing to lend a hand,
I mean they get the opportunity for some free advertising and after
all we do spend heaps on trailers. Don,t want to see anyone
stranded in the middle of Brisvegas.

TO THOSE ON THE FENCE

I am seriously considering towing my rig 1000 odd kms (round trip)
to fight for the future of your fishing grounds, so get off the fence
and make a stand.

Cheers Mick

puks
24-08-2006, 02:40 PM
since jeremy asked so nicely ;)

in case GOT cant make it and i dont have a licence but would like to tag along could i get a lift? would meet you down at pelican park (just down the road from us)

if you go slowly i could ride my bike ??
but we are willing to attend for sure one way or the other this is important

anya

ziggy.
24-08-2006, 03:32 PM
Hi all, well my hands up so we will be there and we don't care if it's 370 ks one way. We have done it before to go fishing and now we have even more reason to make the journey after all the bay is my homeland and this whole thing is really ticking me off.

See you all on the day and remember " DON'T FIGHT, DON'T FISH"

SeaHunt
24-08-2006, 05:31 PM
So instead of heading off home after you can't find a park maybe we should all keep doing laps of the city (very slow ones) and cause a bit of traffic chaos.
Probably piss a few people off, but get more publicity. ::)

seatime
24-08-2006, 07:00 PM
Sea Hunt, that's a good idea, a convoy could do a lap from Parliament House onto the SE freeway, off at Woolongaba, along Kangaroo Pt, over the Story Bridge and back past the Annex, I'd be in that.

ken4159
24-08-2006, 08:04 PM
i'll be there,carn't let them get away with this.

Ken

David_P
24-08-2006, 09:38 PM
So instead of heading off home after you can't find a park maybe we should all keep doing laps of the city (very slow ones) and cause a bit of traffic chaos.

SeaHunt,

I hope to be there too, but don't think that causing traffic chaos is the right thing to do. IMO our cause is better served by conducting an orderly protest without pi**ing off the public. Hopefully that way we may win a few more vote for TFPQ.

stainless
24-08-2006, 10:02 PM
Hi count me in, ;)

If we don't stand up to the Labor & Greens they will just keep taking
the best fishing spots away from US!!!!!!
If u can't make it on the day maybe think about making some SIGNS
up for the rally an getting them to Cleveland or Clontarf for Sat 2nd sept
to put on someone's boat,car,ute,truck ,lets show them how pissed off we are !!!!!! >:(
see u all on the day ; paul

SeaHunt
25-08-2006, 10:20 AM

SeaHunt,

I hope to be there too, but don't think that causing traffic chaos is the right thing to do. IMO our cause is better served by conducting an orderly protest without pi**ing off the public. Hopefully that way we may win a few more vote for TFPQ.

Inconvenience of a few for the greater good of all. 8-)
Remember when the truckies blocked the highway a few years back.
Everyone trying to get through was pretty pissed off, but it generated enormous publicity.
Those of us sitting in our lounge rooms thought "Gee those truckies must really feel strongly about this to take that sort of action, maybe they have a genuine gripe".
If they just drove around with a couple of signs on their trucks none of us would remember it now.

25-08-2006, 10:54 AM
Seahunt,

best to take advice from the organisers of the rally exactly what they want us to do. They will have permits, and know what they want to achieve and how. I am sure they will tell everyone what they want us to do on Saturday before the convoy starts.

25-08-2006, 10:57 AM
since jeremy asked so nicely ;)

in case GOT cant make it and i dont have a licence but would like to tag along could i get a lift? would meet you down at pelican park (just down the road from us)

if you go slowly i could ride my bike ??
but we are willing to attend for sure one way or the other this is important

anya

Puks and anyone else, I am happy to take people for a ride in my hilux. I live on the inner North and will be going down to Cleveland for the rally. I could pick up people in the city or at Cleveland, but I won't be going back to Cleveland afterwards.

Send me a PM if you are interested.

Juzo
25-08-2006, 03:28 PM
I'm in

will have to give the trailer bearings a good grease to keep out of trouble :).
Anyone want a ride, send me a pm. I'll be Leaving from Canon Hill, down to Cleveland, into town and back to Canon Hill.

to the organizers, thanks for getting this going, glad we can be of service and get involved in a good posative (and noticable way).

see you all there.

Juzo

ROB80
25-08-2006, 03:44 PM
everyone make sure your rego is paid up, trailer roadworthy, boat secured properly, park legally etc as you can bet the establishment will have the police out terrorising the honest man expressing an honest opinion. nothing like a rally to raise money for the police ball!!!!! ;D

gogecko
25-08-2006, 04:04 PM
So who else is involved? Maybe someone has marketing and or PR skills they could donate? This needs a good press agent to ring the TV stations and let them know its on. Maybe people like nugget could give it a plug this Friday on 10? Has he been asked? Also Channel 9/7 do a fishing report, they might plug it, etc? Radio stations do community service announcements. Speak to the Save our Spit group and ask how they got the message across about rallies....this needs funds and newspaper ads.

Sorry if this has been covered, but I see col asked the same question and nobodies answered.....obviously this needs good promotion.

shaneoo
25-08-2006, 04:50 PM
geko,
i rang channel 7 and channel 9 about a month ago plus i sent them emails regarding the issue, but they didnt reply at all, remmeber that in the minds of networks like 7 and 9 this is not a issue. i think we will have to just spread the word as much as we can without there help.

cheers shaneoo

25-08-2006, 09:12 PM
Road trip for "Junior" :D
Got a spare boat if somebody needs one :)
All this very sad I'm afraid. :'(

gropeher
25-08-2006, 09:58 PM
8000+ members and bugger all replies,
come on guys, this is your only opportunity, dont complain when it is too late,
you will find us lot at a fishing ground real close to YOU!

Ryan.

Mr__Bean
26-08-2006, 01:56 PM
Hooked up the boat this morning about 8.15, undone the covers and removed any items that might get nicked if I had to park somewhere.

Head off over to Clontarf and got there about 9am.

Bugger me, no-one to be seen. :( :( :( :( :(

Plenty of boats out having a fish and plenty coming and going from the Clontarf Ramp, but none with any slogans etc.

Got on the mobile and rang the missus at home to get here to check the meeting point on the flyer and she says, it's next week you fool.

Oh well, some mothers do 'ave 'em....... :-[ :-[ :-[

Better luck next week I hope.

- Darren

Adamy
26-08-2006, 02:23 PM
Hey Darren... at least you showed up mate!! even if it was a week early ;) Should have put the boat in the water and had a fish while you were there! :D