View Full Version : State Election
Good luck to our Fishing Party candidates protecting our fishing rights. However, being in the Springwood electorate does not help these candidates,so ,with out putting in a donkey vote, which party do I vote for to protect my fishing rights in Springwood
gropeher
25-08-2006, 07:59 PM
Anything but green or red,
Lib's or Nat's I imagine, walk freely into that office to cast your vote and loudly announce you are there to sack Beattie and his mates, SAY LOUDLY Beattie YOUR'E FIRED.
My cousin did that with Helen Clarke at the last NZ election, she stilll won, he got told off by the staff at the hall, however he felt better and I thought good on him for voicing his opinion, wether warranted or not, this is another case where I reackon it could be warranted.
Ryan..
stevedemon
25-08-2006, 08:15 PM
Hi dop
Peter Collins is the liberal candidate for springwood mate and yes i know Peter Well the other candidates are Labour, Greens, Independant/Greenie have been speaking to peter Collins on these issue and they do not beleive closures or lock-outs are the answer so anyone else you know that way let them know i will be also on the gate from 1pm Sat 09/09/06 if not just tick Liberals or Nationals i live in Logan Central
hope this helps
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
Hornblower
25-08-2006, 08:35 PM
Good advice Steve, I'm in John Mickel's seat over to your west and I will be doing what you are doing. Don't know whether I have the guts to walk in and yell out, "Beattie your sacked!" But I might go up and put a placard on the school fence at 4.00am. announicing the fact.
Cheers and down with Labor Liars ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
seatime
25-08-2006, 08:38 PM
Labor is no longer the party for the workers, it's now just another party, and not one worth going to.
With the loses of their traditional support base, they are now shoring up support from the Greens.
Nowadays it comes down to single issues that can determine winning or losing for a political party.
The Labor Party has made their bed, now they can lie in it, with those smelly Greens. :) :)
stevedemon
25-08-2006, 08:53 PM
Hi hornblower
Don't know whether I have the guts to walk in and yell out, "Beattie your sacked!
May i have that previlge PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!
gelsec that is the truth now plus more
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
Hornblower
25-08-2006, 08:58 PM
Ah what the hell, you only live once, I'll do it and let you know - maybe after I have sat in the emergency ward of the Logan Hospital for 14 hours, at least a wired up jaw won't stop me typing ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
stevedemon
25-08-2006, 09:21 PM
Hi hornblower
no point in Logan hospital mate remember we where promised more beds still waiting then Beattie makes the statement that we are full of drug'os and drunks along with the negelct of public housing in the areas this was in the papers as facts
Fairy tales
A little girl asked her father,
daddy? DO all fairy tales
begin with,
Once upon a time?
No there is a series of
fairy tales,
that begin with
If Elected I Promise
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
flatty68
25-08-2006, 09:24 PM
All good advice to date!! Your Donkey Vote may as well be wasted upon the Libs and Nats if that's what you feel.
Another vote for Lawrence / Bruce, or is it today Bruce / Lawrence won't make too much difference to the outcome. So if you want a vote that means nothing you have been given the correct advice.
Protest votes are wasted unless there is a viable alternative who are willing and able to manage the affairs of the state.
Sorry for interupting the party meeting boys.
Hornblower
25-08-2006, 10:13 PM
Flatty68,
I thought the whole idea of a democracy was to vote for who you want and have your say. It is funny that you consider a vote for the opposition a donkey vote, they are valid candidates, same as the fishing party. But the idea of a democracy is that everyone is entitled to an opinion, and I respect yours, even though I don't agree with it.
Cheers ;) ;) ;)
jim_farrell
26-08-2006, 08:30 AM
Maybe we should have three seperate threads regarding the election. A Labor one, a Coalition one and an undecided one. And people can post under the party they are pushing. ;D ;D ;D
stevedemon
26-08-2006, 09:33 AM
Hi flick if the 3 threads are place then it is no longer a democracy i enjoy a good argument especially with the wife for other reasons ;D ::) :P 8-) but as for Flatty68 the question was ask for the fishing side of life i will stand by my decision for the Liberals or Nationals but i will also stand by this decision for them to govern Qld for reasons that have already been stated in other post i am not looking at just one issue but a range of issues mate!! ;D ::) 8-) ;D
] 1 my wife works within the QLd Health so know what is wrong and we are expected to turn a blind eye :-/ :o :(
2 don't like the fact that a Goverment placing themselves above the rest and in legislation making it not responsible for the lies to public on public interest; :-/ ::) :o
3 the fact that we are in a drought in which Beattie Government was warned about 5yrs ago; :-[ :-[
4 do not like the man i think he is Arrogant and ignorant, nor the party, no longer for the working man :'( :-/ :-[ >:(
5 ask your self this question why is it all of a sudden there is 7 billion dollars for the Qld health now this has gone from 6.4 Billion to 7 billion but before this there was nothing and this was stated by Peter Beattie the blame game on the Federal Goverment yet go into the Federal budget over the last 5yrs Qld has been given it's share of money plus more :'( :-[
6 as for the above statement well that stands for its own grounds and just what we have been telling people is going on but the Government is denial lets get it right if my children lie or denial there wrongs they no that there are consequence's by the government tellling lies what is this teaching our children and youth >:( >:(
Democracy is great but lets keep it in realisation not a dream world because our children see, hear and monkey see monkey do they will turn around and say if it is all write for the people leading us to lie then it is all write for us My saying is always lead by example 8-) ;D
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
26-08-2006, 09:53 AM
Even if you do believe Labour are better managers than the coalition, best outcome would be a greatly reduced majority to keep them on their toes. I have always voted labour in the past, but I am sick of the broken promises and lies. A vote for labour tells them we don't care if they keep going the same way.
flatty68
26-08-2006, 11:31 AM
I agree with you Jeremy, we all would be far better off with a strong opposition party. Peter has indeed gotten away with a lot however it has been the ineffectual opposition that allowed him to do so. I don't believe that these same individuals can be entrusted to run the state.
So with all the anger being directed to the current leadership please allow a little to be directed to those that sat back and let the ship sail the way it has.
Hopefully we will all be better off in the future, a government that has lost some seats and had a scare, an opposition that gets behind a leader and keeps the heat on policy and decisions.
As far as the millions of $$ being thrown around by both sides, it's been this way since the dawn of time.
stevedemon
26-08-2006, 11:47 AM
Hi Flatty68
we all agree that their needs to be a balance in parliament
Peter has indeed gotten away with a lot however it has been the ineffectual opposition that allowed him to do so. I don't believe that these same individuals can be entrusted to run the state.
problem is out of the last 18 yrs the Labour governemnt has been in power for 16 of those yrs while the Coaliation has only had 2- 3yrs it also makes it very hard to to keep Governments in line when they rule the seating and also have the House rep/ judge one of there own
opposition stand to be counted and are told they are out of place and thrown to the sin bin(ask to leave) this is how this government works my way or the highway
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
flatty68
26-08-2006, 01:54 PM
Steve, I can't argue with anything that you have said, the Labor Party has certainly controlled the Parliament with their large number of seats. But, I think we can all agree that the people did in fact elect these representatives into their respective seats. So, can we then agree that the coalitions poor representation over the period could be attributed to their lack of influence over the voting public.
For sure it will eventually change, the Coalition will find a credible leader and win over the voting public. It won't happen overnight but it will happen.
Perhaps booting out Bob Quinn as Liberal Leader just prior to the election was not such a choice move?
I have enjoyed this debate and hope that we all will be far better off in 12 months as a result, whatever the outcome may be.
Question ,
Will the Coalition be any better on this issue.
Not being biased as i hate all of them.
Troy
stevedemon
26-08-2006, 07:51 PM
Hi Flatty68
finally we can agree on some thing
So, can we then agree that the coalitions poor representation over the period could be attributed to their lack of influence over the voting public.
For sure it will eventually change, the Coalition will find a credible leader and win over the voting public. It won't happen overnight but it will happen.
Perhaps booting out Bob Quinn as Liberal Leader just prior to the election was not such a choice move?
here it come though
although the best thing the liberal party did was to drop Bob Quinn they just have not had the time now to bring the party together from what i see and here although i do beleive that given the chance that Lawrence Springborg will make a better Premier and yes the opposition over the last 8 yrs still do not inflick faith in the public but then agian with what the labour party have done to QLd i think it is time for a change
i to have enjoyed the Debait ashame it was not on the water and hopefully we will still be able to go on the water
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
hussy
27-08-2006, 08:03 AM
BEST THING THEY DONE WAS TO GET RID OF QUINN.
HUBBY
Hornblower
27-08-2006, 10:04 PM
G'day all, can't agree more with all the comments so far. This is the wonderful thing about democracy, isn't it, that we can put our points of view across without fear of reprisals. Our nearest neighbour 150miles to our north can't boast the same deal. :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Anyway, back to the election, I shake my head at public relations failures that have occurred with the opposition (just to balance it out a bit and let you know I am not a card holding member of either of the conservative parties ;D ;D ;D).
But this goes to demonstrate to me that if a new party formed and had ground roots policies such as:
lowering bank fees;
realistic immigration policies with respects to queue jumpers - and getting rid of a few of those who like to cause riots and burn our flag;
making oil companies accountable for fuel prices;
a fairer tax system;
a National Health system guaranteeing everyone the same level of urgent medical care;
have real everyday people run for the seats - not professional pollies and celebrities;
AND - OF COURSE - making fishing a compulsory national past time for every aussie ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
THEN
I think it would give Labor and the conservatives a real run for their money, might even win a few seats in state and federal parliament.
If the saying is true: We get the Government that we deserve then what I would like to know is WHAT THE BLOODY HELL DID WE EVER DO TO DESERVE THIS :-? :-? :-? :-? :-? :-? :-?
Over and Out gents ;) ;) ;)