View Full Version : Camp Cooking With Derek - Soon On TV
Derek_Bullock
17-11-2006, 07:35 PM
Have just finished filming 13 episodes of camp cooking for the second series of The 4X4 Show. It will soon be shown on Briz31 on Friday nights and repeated Sunday afternoons.
Will post up details on the commencing dates when they are confirmed.
Check out the show at http://www.the4x4show.net
Derek
el_carpo
18-11-2006, 04:47 AM
[smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]
Hey-hey!!! Congratulations Derek! That's great! You've helped a lot of people learn about camping and camp cooking on Ausfish and your site already. Now, you'll reach even more people and they might try getting out in the outdoors for some camping.
Congrats! [smiley=thumbup.gif]
luckyone
18-11-2006, 06:18 AM
mmmm if only they had smell avision ;) ;)
bungie
18-11-2006, 07:49 AM
Good on ya mate :)
Now if I could just get Briz31 then I would be laughing :'(
Derek_Bullock
18-11-2006, 07:55 AM
Good on ya mate :)
Now if I could just get Briz31 then I would be laughing :'(
After they screen on Briz31 they will be available live streaming from The 4X4 Show website at http://www.the4x4show.com.au/
Derek
18-11-2006, 08:34 PM
Excellent
Same probs with me...can not get briz 31 ....
How do you bloody tune the thing in to fins it through those new HD recievers
It has so many channel crystal clear yet no Bris 31
bungie
19-11-2006, 08:55 AM
You can burn the files from the 4x4 web site to DVD then watch them on TV, did it last night with the first two episodes, a bit pixley but better than a 2" x 1" image on the computer screen
19-11-2006, 04:47 PM
Congrats Derek. I'll attempt to tune in or do the streaming thing, should I fail to tune the tele to 31.
Smell-a-vision would be good, hey ?
19-11-2006, 05:08 PM
How easy was that to tune in. Googled Briz 31, when to tune in and recieved very good instructions. Basically tune the tele to 548.224 MHZ and a very clear picture I have.
See ya on the big screen Derek. ;)
CHRIS_aka_GWH
19-11-2006, 07:57 PM
when derek and why only 13 old son .... run out of ideas huh ;);) ;D.
congrats - i'll be hanging to find out when its on.
Derek_Bullock
19-11-2006, 08:14 PM
Nah, got heaps of ideas and recipes. There are only 13 episodes in the second series.
By the way, you will all get to see my famous "Pumpkin Fruit Muffins" ;D ;D ;D ;D
Derek
20-11-2006, 05:48 AM
See them ??????? what about a taste test ;D ::) ::)
CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-11-2006, 05:23 PM
See them ??????? what about a taste test ;D ::) ::)
too troo !
perhaps in the next series Ausfish could supply you with a cast of hungry hecklers ..eeer onlookers as extras :D
and remember - a full mouth makes no noise ::)
26-11-2006, 08:53 PM
Derek, Anything would be an improvement from that dick Thommo ;D
SeekingBarradise
28-11-2006, 10:27 PM
Nice work Derek - long live the Aussie Campfire.
We cook all our food on the campfire when chasing Barra. We hope the Aussie tradition never dies off - but in some caravan & camping parks you don't see a single fire burning at night.
Hard to get wood even for $24.50 night=for a piece of dirt!
On the flipside=Cressbrook dam has bricked barbies and full facilities - showers-water- cleaning station and well grassed camp areas for $6.00 with tons of firewood provided for free. It's a great dam and the difference between it and some barra dams is staggering!
We try to order wood ahead of time now and have had some success but have even had a note on our file for them to have a go at us for asking for wood LOL!
It's a great way to teach the kids fire safety and cooking never tastes better - especially steak-stews-dampa and billy tea etc.
Keep up the great work we look forward to the show and get everyone to ask for firewood at camp sites as it's our right to have it - that's why it's called camping not motelling LOL maybe mention this on the next show?
Cheers SeekingBarradise
30-11-2006, 01:03 PM
bad enough just looking at good food being cooked without having to smell it too, I would really be a fat little porker then
;D ;D
CHRIS_aka_GWH
01-12-2006, 06:23 AM
bad enough just looking at good food being cooked without having to smell it too, I would really be a fat little porker then
;D ;D
how 'bout a scratch and smell cookbook.
shouldn't be that hard to do - i used to have a fishing shirt that utilised similar technology :o
01-12-2006, 09:39 AM
Gee that's grand! best of luck with the venture Derek, unfortunatly don't think I will get to see it, being on dialup and out in the boonies (compared to SEQ).
gunnabuild1
15-12-2006, 11:11 PM
Hi Derek, checked it out tonight Mango chicken is on the menu in my house very shortly.Ta looking forward to more. [smiley=chef.gif]
Bill_Klein
17-12-2006, 02:10 PM
Congrats Derek just saw your segment on the 4x4 show on austars ###### channel digital 183
got to say Derek you look younger than your pics on ausfish LOL
bungie
17-12-2006, 07:21 PM
The 4x4 Show is on foxtel digital 183 ######. <--- = A.urora
Friday nights at 8pm
Saturdays 2am. 11am. 5pm
;D ;D
Derek_Bullock
21-12-2006, 07:08 PM
Episode 2 is on tomorrow (Friday) night. Watch me cooking a Christmas dinner in the camp oven.
Derek
Derek_Bullock
28-12-2006, 11:17 AM
*****UPDATE*****
The 4X4 Show can also be seen on the A U R O R A Community Channel on pay TV Australia-wide with Optus, Foxtel and Austar. Found this out after receiving a number of phone calls following the Christmas Special when I cooked a Christmas turkey dinner and a fruit cake.
Check it out I am sure you wont be disapointed.
Derek
Derek_Bullock
30-12-2006, 08:48 AM
Did you check out this weeks episode ................. baked lamb shanks, potato bake and steamed zucchini.
I did this recipe because I recently went to a function and paid $45.00 for the exact same thing and thought to myself ............... I could do better in a camp oven ............... I reckon I did to.
Derek
bootyinblue
30-12-2006, 03:15 PM
Derek,
Loved the lamb shanks episode, has to be one of my favourite meals as you can cook them for 1 or 3 hours (depending on the drinking fishing action) and they are superb still.
Have you thought about doing a quick dessert at the same time during the show? I have a terrible sweet tooth when camping and normally have 3 camp ovens on the go with garlic prawns for entree, a roast for mains and bread and butter pudding or sour cream and apple cake or something similiar ready to put on when you serve up mains.
grenadier
31-12-2006, 03:16 PM
derek when are your shows on ###### tv for us people who cant get bris 31
sorry didnt see the previous post 8pm i see thanx
shane_wright
09-01-2007, 02:17 PM
derek seen your show on pay tv on the community channel great ideas for camping keep it up
ronnieandbill
13-01-2007, 09:59 AM
Hi Derek
Watch the segments all the time. Great stuff. Need any recipes????????????
Envy you as I love to cook. Grew up in the bush and my Nanna taught me to cook the old fashined way.
Keep up the cooking and look forward to seeing more
Ronnie
Derek_Bullock
14-01-2007, 09:14 AM
Hi Derek
Watch the segments all the time. Great stuff. Need any recipes????????????
Envy you as I love to cook. Grew up in the bush and my Nanna taught me to cook the old fashined way.
Keep up the cooking and look forward to seeing more
Ronnie
Have plenty of them Ronnie unless you have something unique I can try.
Derek
ronnieandbill
16-01-2007, 01:10 PM
Would you like my chicken curry.
Ronnie
Rabbit stew and dumplings. ( perhaps Beef these days.
Ronnie