View Full Version : cleaning a new hotplate

fatman
29-10-2001, 05:47 PM
Just bought a new BBQ, has anyone any ideas on how to remove the black coating from the hotplates and grill plates ? ???
Surely there is something other than a sandblaster
thanks
FATMAN 8)

Luke
01-11-2001, 09:46 AM
Fatman,
I gotta know why you want to remove it. We just keep ours oiled. Has someone not told me something?
Cheers Luke

fatman
11-11-2001, 05:36 PM
Hi Luke,
Just want to remove the black coating that the manufacturers apply to the new product
FATMAN

Fitzy
13-11-2001, 07:23 AM
I've normally just given new plates a good burning, then scraped them down & then used them. Hasn't killed me yet.

fitzy..

Derek Bullock
13-11-2001, 04:49 PM
I think you are right there Fitzy. All hot plates should be given a good wash in hot soapy water, rinse and dry, put a light coat of oil on and GENTLY heat until it reaches real hot then let cool down. When it is cool rub more oil into it.

Derek

adrian
07-12-2001, 11:11 AM
hi guys
I agree with the others mine has seen a few barbies and is still a little black. I oil mine after every use

Slates
20-12-2001, 09:02 AM
G'day all.
I reckon if you own a decent mongrel dog it goes a long way to having the perfect hot plate. ;D

Best bet for brand newies is to belt a few cheap snags on there and let their fat burn in real good.
After the plate has cooled a bit, call over the hound and have it lick it clean - you'd be surprised how they can polish these things if there's a hint f fat in it for them!

Simply re-oil with some canola or similar and pack away ready for the next fat-fest! ;D ;D

Cheers, Slates

Fisherman02
14-03-2002, 03:24 PM
letting nature do it's work eh slate?
he he he
cheers jack

Volvo
29-03-2002, 11:28 AM
G'day fatman, that so called black stuff will mostly come off all in its own good time and then ya propably wish it didnt cause if you forget ta oil the plate, surprise surprise surface rust every time you go use the barbi on the plate.
What i do is get the plate nice n hot and then give it some shock treatment with wet(cold water) cloth or old mop and this lifts off any unpleasant freeloaders like leftovers from last Barbie :).
After plate is all nice and appears clean, i reduce the heat ta medium and rub the fat off chops or steak into plate and wipe off with clean cloth, keep doing this till cloth comes away oily but clean. This will in turn make your chops,Steak , or fish come up nice and clean or should i say lookin barbacued rather than burnt after addin a light oil to plate and on with whatever your gunna cook [img].
Works for me , give it a go and see whatcha reckon. Know it sounds bein a little fussy but like ta taste what im presently eating not what ive eaten in the past [img].