View Full Version : MOZZIES!!
Slates
09-10-2001, 11:04 AM
Being a succulant white Victorian, the QLD mozzies find me irresistable - more so for my dear wife while my old man (a seasoned QLD-er) remains itch-less!
Last time I was in the NT (shady camp), the mozzies were that keen tog et me they were biting me through a canvass chair (the chair had no 'off' on it)!!
What are everyone's secret remdies, preventions and best 'bug-off' remedies?
Cheers, Slates
Slates,
I don't get them as bad as my wife either but do get smashed by sandflies or midgies. Flat out-RID sprayon and cover yourself head to toe,just keep your eyes and mouth shut. Works for me.
Luke
Derek Bullock
09-10-2001, 03:35 PM
There are a terrific amount of different brands of insect repellent on the market these days but for mine you can't go past Bushmans. It works a treat for both mozzies and sandflies.
Then again, I remember meeting an old bloke years ago who swore by diesel mixed with mangrove mud.
Derek
Slates
16-10-2001, 08:01 AM
yeah, I reckon the bushmans and rid work a treat, but it does say "not for prolonged use" which makes you wonder if you'll produce 3-headed offspring. ??? :-X
Love the diesel + mud! ;D
hehe
I've seen one bloke get absolutely hammered at shady camp one year after making bets with us (that he wouldn't get bitten) using baby oil and detol. :D
Cheers, Slates
imported_admin
16-10-2001, 08:28 AM
Bushmans and Rid certainly work but the thing that worries me is the fact they contain DEET. The warning of "Not for prolonged use" and "Do not use on children", etc. is enough warning to me not to use it.
More info can be obtained from
http://www.epa.gov/opp00001/citizens/deet.htm
For a safe, natural product have a look at the Aussie made Walkabout Insect Repellent from http://www.thursdayplantation.com.au
Katrina
16-10-2001, 05:23 PM
;) Unfortunately, I am one of those people that the mossies and midgies just love to have a chomp at. Then I am itchy for nearly the next week. Tried the deet free "autan" or something like that. Pretty gutless. There is a herbal one that seems to be ok, but nothing works like rid and the like. I just try to avoid being in places at times when they are feeling a bit nippy. Unfortunately, this is a bit restrictive in QLD, there's so many places I want to go but think, na, too painful!!! I'll check out those websites, and see if there are any fantastic alternatives.
Muzzy
24-10-2001, 05:41 AM
Slates do a 50/50 miz of detol and baby oil, you can add a little metho to reduce to lubed up feel.
This stuff works when others fail. All the store stuff works but for about 15 mins or so.
I reckon mortien mozzie coils are the ducks nuts when it comes to coils but.
You can have your mix in one of those spray bottle things its cheap and it works mate.
Shady camp is just physco with mozzies, I have seen people pull up camp and go home cause of them. Some blokes have a hose in their tents so they can go to the tiolet with out opening the tent. They drink the fly spray and eat you through your shirt. I had this one tin of army issue stuff that you had to spray on your shirt 10 mins before you could wear it, that stuff worked but I cant get it again.
What a joke hey shady camp, the bloke who discovered the place must have had a sick sence of humor there is one bloody tree, ya cant camp near it for the mozzies bats and cocky's, but hey the fishing is how you say hot!
Slates
24-10-2001, 08:03 AM
mate, spot on about that 'shady camp' - at least they have a decent pub at wilderness lodge (geez we funneled some cash through there via bundy cans!).
The mozzies there were beserk! I had them slamming me through a canvas chair - I was marinated in "OFF', but the chair had nothin on it -so they pigged out!
Also, a few leeches found their way into me mates swag and he looked like he'd tried to take out a machine-gun nest with a fly swat!
One thing tho, the bites didn't seem to niggle you the next day - they took their blood and were on their way - not like those damned Clarence river sandlfies!!! They keep itching for days!
Cheers, Slates
PS: thanks for the no-moz recipe ;)
Jim_Linden
28-10-2001, 03:14 PM
Slates,
Rumour has it that those little buggers don't like the smell (or taste) of Vitamin B. Apparently if you take vitamin B capsules, something comes out in your sweat which the critters find distasteful.
I occasionally scoff a Cenovis Mega-B tablet (keep up the youthful looks and vigour, you know ;D ;D) and I find that when I do, I tend to have a mozzy-free day. Mind you, my missus reckons that no self-respecting insect would bite me anyway, Vitamin B or no.
Think if I had to resort to diesel and mangrove mud though, I'd probably find something else to do for the day ;D
Jim Linden
Derek Bullock
28-10-2001, 04:03 PM
Tried that one Jin. I take two Mega B's every day. Was up at Kaurie Creek last weekend and the sandflies and mozzies nearly lifted me off the ground. Forget about the youthful looks and vigour mate. I know it don't work.
Derek ;D ;D ;D ;D
adrian
29-10-2001, 03:24 PM
I use bushman's or aeroguard with no problems but I think it's the smell of aeroguard that keeps them away :) . my mates use the vit b but they get eaten while I don't . also cover up as much as possible and you might be ok
Jim_Linden
30-10-2001, 03:15 AM
Derek,
How did you go down at Kaurie Ck.?
The wife and I are new to the area and went for a drive the other day and checked out Boonooroo, Poona, Tinnanbar, etc. We're pretty keen on taking the 'van down for a few days at Tinnanbar in the near future and giving Kaurie a nudge. Looked like nice water.
One of the locals warned us that the local fauna down there can be pretty friendly on a warm, humid day.
Hmmmmmmm - wonder what would happen if I substituted Viagra for the Mega-B's? ;D
Jim Linden
Derek Bullock
30-10-2001, 03:16 PM
If you turn right at the boat ramp run up about 150 metres there will be a creek to your right. It's called Mosquito Creek. At the mouth of it there is a rocky hole on the left. Good place for jacks and barra on live bait also school jew. As a matter of fact Kauri turns up a number of barra every year but most keep quiet about it. I have also heard of threadfin salmon being caught.
Apart from that you can pull jacks from most of the small creeks that run into Kauri. Heaps of big whiting on the drop offs from the sand banks together with flathead. Good bream in winter and tops for muddies in season although it may be a bit early yet.
Run down to the mouth and just out the front on the southern bank is reef area where you may pick up cod, parrot and blackall.
There are heaps of yabby banks around and you can get heaps of livies with a cast net.
Did you see the fish cleaning tables complete with fish holders. Fantastic. Will try and get i pic in Bush "n Beach next month.
Be careful with the viagra mate. If you leave it lying around and the mozzies get hold of it there'll be no hope for any of us. The snorkels on the buggers feel huge now, just think what it will be like if they are on viagra. Suck all your blood out of you in seconds.
Derek ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Jim_Linden
30-10-2001, 04:28 PM
Geez, Derek,
I had to wipe my keyboard down before I could reply - I was drooling that much reading your post ;D
The old-timer we talked to at the 'van park said there was a "Barra" hole just up from the Kauri ramp in the vicinity of a white sign on the bank. We saw the sign upstream from the ramp (something to do with the Army, I believe), and it would have been roughly in the area you have described.
Didn't notice the tables you mentioned - guess that would be at the ramp that faces Fraser at Tinnanbar, not the one on Kauri. The mangrove-covered point (Cowra point) between Tinnanbar and Kauri looks pretty interesting too.
All in all, a very fishy looking bit of water - can't wait to get down and give it a nudge.
Yeah. think I'll give the Viagra idea a miss - if I took 'em it would probably only end up interfering with the fishing ;D
Jim Linden
Derek Bullock
31-10-2001, 04:10 PM
Those fish cleaning tables are at the Kaurie Creek ramp. They looked brand new to me.
That sign you mentioned is right on the corner of Mosquito Creek.
Let me know how you go.
Derek
Katrina
01-11-2001, 04:50 PM
;) Derek,just wondering if the track from Tinnanbar to Kauri Creek is passable with a conventional vehicle? Sounds like a top spot. What's the van park at Tinnanbar like? Could be a good base for some productive boat fishing. What sort of fish happen around easter in this area? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks.
Derek Bullock
01-11-2001, 06:21 PM
Hi Katrina
At the moment the road in is quite corrugated but still in good condition. Have never stayed at the van park but have noticed in the last couple of years it is looking better all the time.
Forestry have got a camping area at Kaurie Creek. Will be doing a story on it in next months BNB if i can get the photos back in time for the deadline. Never been there at Easter.
Derek
If you are bush camping, an effective method to protect the campsite from mozzies, is to shovel a few shovel loads of dried cow or horse manure into an old 5 gal. drum & place a few hot coals onto it - it will smoke the place out effectively - be careful not to put too many coals in though. It's not too smelly either. Also, when in the boat, we'd have a mosquito coil inside its special tin (like the mortein ones) each end of the boat & you'd know it when a coil went out!
Peter_Braid
01-02-2002, 05:21 PM
Hi Guys, just posted this in another section but you might find it of use. I was told this today by one of the guys I work with that does a lot of Barra fishing. Don't have a problem myself so don't no if this works but worth a try.
Little tip for people that come up in sores from sandfly bites. Start taking Vitamin C tablets a couple of days before your trip and it should make them a little more bearable. Doesn't stop them from biting but it also takes a little of the itch away.
:D
Katrina
02-02-2002, 05:57 PM
::) Well I wish that one did work for me, I am a Vitamin C addict. Are you sure it wasn't Vitamin B? I'm still itching from last weekend and there was bugg@ all biting things around.
Fitzy
03-02-2002, 09:18 AM
HI Guys,
Was up a local creek the other night when the mossies decided to come out & play. Forgot the repellant & was just about to plaster sunscreen on in some idiotic attempt to keep them at bay when I found a can of tackle guard (aerosol)
I sprayed it on the feet & bingo, not a mossie to be seen & it stopped the itching from the previous bites. Worked like a charm.
Fitzy..
Brian
25-03-2002, 06:01 PM
Well hell ...there is no mystery to it drown in RUM ummm thats internal of course ;D don't feel a thing all night and next day ........... mates that don't suffer big time :-/
Failing a big night ........ i've always uesd det . baby oil , camphorloral ( :-[ the spelling) anyway its never failed so forget the % of each .......... :( will have to remember soon need to make some more :o
I was also asked to trial this other stuff, in spray, liquid, and rub on ........ i did and it seemed ok i never got attacked while everyone else did ..think i still have some of it hereabouts ..........but never really managed a good test like Donnybrook at dust hitting the mangroves, now this is a place that can give you nightmeres. them buggers are like kamakize pilots with serious B52 bombers (scotch greys) right up thier ass not to mention the millions of black blood sucking vampires to finish you off, scary place.
Brian
Randall
26-03-2002, 04:07 AM
Yep, WD-40 seems to keep em away for a time!!
Great for those arthridic joints as well!!!
RG
me and the missus had a comp to see who could mix up the best batch of sandfly repellent. she used baby oil + detol
and ended up looking like she rolled in a green ants nest. i mixed a bit of this and that and came home bite free.
the concoction goes.
:1 tube of zinc cream
:10 to 15 drops of bleach
:5 to 10 drops of citronella oil
mix all ingredients in the zinc tube. shake well before use, as the ingredients separate quickly.
failing this bushmans @ $10 a tube is your next best bet.
did you know that sandflies dont bite you . its their piss that irritates your skin.
another good tip is to take a antihistamine before you get there. this will stop the bites from swelling into welts. be carefull not to take anything that will make you drowsy or affect your judgement. most anti histamines react badly with grog. the mangroves is the last place you want to be off your face.
if i type anymore my fingers will fall off.
have fun and fish consevatley
Fisherman02
28-03-2002, 04:54 PM
yeah the mozzies dont affect me at all
dont know if it coz i ahev traveled and schoole in 5 countries or not ??? Maybe coz i spen 4 years in malaysia and the mozzies there got allt eh good stuff??
o well
cheers jack
Brian
29-03-2002, 04:11 PM
I must admit i am concerned at what people are spraying on themselves wd 40, Deet amoung other things.
Deet as the site says is not real flash ........ as for some of the other stuff i will look at and more than likely are no problems at all.
I will get some of the stuff and check it out :)
Skipper
30-03-2002, 03:43 AM
It seems there are a million and one mixtures out there, some
work and some dont, being a ex nth qldern, where mossies
and midges come across in clouds each nite, this is my
concoction. there a tree that grows in the bush they call
the soap tree, dont know the rite names for it, the original
aussies used it for washing them selves with it, it lathers up
when u wet it. well anyway get yourself a handful of these
leaves and grind them up with some cod-liver oil and rub on
not only cleans ya but them but them blood sucker can stand