View Full Version : Camping Rage

23-04-2003, 04:27 PM
Well, it had to happen. Road Rage, Ramp Rage, now the dreaded Camp Rage.

Sounds a bit over the top, and it probably was, but this is the story.

I ( and a group of friends with families ) decided that Inskip Point was our destination for Easter. Knowing that it gets quite a crowd up that way, we left Brisvegas on the Thursday prior to Easter. ( I even booked and paid for the site via the net ). Found our site, set up and everything was fine. Plenty of others around. Next day in the arvo, a group of youngish folk were unloading their camp trailer and van at the front of my tent ( I had been away pumping yabbies ). I went to them and asked what they were doing. A long conversation was entered into on the options of sharing ( that meant moving my boat and car to another location ), being considerate, ( moving my car and boat to another location ).

I won't go into the finer details of the conversation, but I think you get the drift now. After 10 minutes, I suggested that if their van, trailer and equipment was not moved that I would throw it onto the road way, call the Ranger etc etc.

Yes, I'll put my hand up to being the "Rager".

BY nature, I'm a fairly passive guy, but as we should all agree, it takes someone ( ****head ) to start off the " rage " in the first place. The audacity of some people, to think they can turn up on Friday arvo of Easter, ploke their gear where they like, and demand that those who " came prepared " should bow to their commands.

NOW, having said all that, Inskip Point was as full as a State School. I think the Rangers may have to look at limiting the number of people there, or make arrangements to have sites numbered etc. If anyone has been there lately, especially over Easter, it is really crowded.

Anyone else had any problems like this whle camping ?

caveman
23-04-2003, 04:51 PM
not quite as bad but had the folks kids next to us playing monkey bars on the mirrors of my ute not impressed, then as they walked pass had the hide to say that there was no way they could camp like that after me lending my light to them to pitch their tent the night before

cheers caveman

SteveCan
25-04-2003, 03:08 AM
That's the problem with public camping - it's too crowded. We go away to 'get away from it all' and end up in a park somewhere, so densely packed you can smell the bloke next doors farts http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm6.gif :-[ http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm23.gif

There are still places you can go away from the maddening crowd - but they are getting harder to get to. Having said all that I find that the common interests that campers share keeps the aggro level well down once the tent pegs are in. :)

Steve.

Jack_Lives_Here
25-04-2003, 04:15 AM
Has alot to do with the chardonay set getting all "trendy" and going bush in their soft roaders alot. Unfortunately alot of people are just plain uneducated / ignorant.

Had a similar episode up in the Mt Mee forest park a while back. We scouted and found the numbered site we liked best. Booked the camp sight 2 weeks in advance. We roll up on the day and there is people in it. Asked what they were doing - same sort of reply "we just thought we pitch anywhere there was space". Got to stage I called the ranger up on the radio and had them removed. Didn't really create a mellow atmosphere for the weekend. Was too worried about leaving my gear unattended.

caveman
25-04-2003, 02:16 PM
i only have one more thing to say thank the lord that there are still property owners out there that allow me to get away from this sort of thing ;) ;) ;) ;)

Derek Bullock
27-04-2003, 11:40 AM
Guys.

You should be living in the part of the world where I am working at the moment. They sort those types of problems out with AK47's, Rocket Launchers and Hand Grenades. http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm12.gif

Seriously though, gosh that isn't serious, there is nothing worse than booking your site anything up to a year in advance to get your favourite spot in a National Park and then turn up on the day and find someone already in it. Not only that you can bet they haven't paid for the site either.

Derek