View Full Version : Advise on which 4WD
skippa
27-04-2003, 11:38 AM
Hi Guys,
I'm looking for some advice on 4WD's. Which one to get, or not to get?? ??? We'd be looking in the secondhand market.
It will be mainly driven by my missus, for general running around, but we would also like to use it on holidays over at Straddie or Moreton.
We are only looking for a small/medium wagon (4cyl) as we would probably only be using it on the beach a couple of times a year. Might even be cheaper to hire a 4WD for a couple of times a year, verses running a 4WD all year?? ???
she currently drives a Toyota Corolla, and won't come at driving anything big like a Landcruiser.
Thanks,
Skip 8)
Daintreeboy
03-05-2003, 04:58 PM
Today's big wagons drive remarkably well and have a lot of comfort. Don't be too shy to cross them off you're list especially if you're going secondhand as they should have better reliability etc. And ya just can't go past a Nissan. They should put a calender in the dial of the Landcruisers instead of the odometer as it's only a matter of time before they break down ;D ;D ;)
Derek Bullock
03-05-2003, 10:13 PM
Hey Guys
I guess we all have our own opinions on what is the best 4X4. I have a 97 GLS Automatic Pajero and wouldn't at the moment trade it on anything.
Derek
Daintreeboy
06-05-2003, 12:58 PM
I was only having a go, didn't meen to offend anyone. I reckon you can't go wrong with any of the top brands of car these days and of course you get what you pay for. I think you should decide on what's best for yourself and the uses you have for it. To be honest, the main decision for me to get a Patrol was the fact that I liked the new design, nothing more.
landy1
06-05-2003, 01:40 PM
anybody want to buy an old landrover ;D ;D ;D
goes well if you like the sound of an extremely loud deisel engine 6 inches in front of you with no soundproofing. Definately a case of go hard or go home (but not faster than 80kph) ::)
Michael
it depends on what ur price range is and how old you want to go.
i got a 84 toyota 4 runner 2.0 petrol. shes a beauty and would suit a lady as it is not a big car. they go well and pretty comfy as well. i use that on the beach and bush and have been in a few tornaments with her. all original and nothing done to her. you can take the roof off but its a pain in the bum geting it back on until you get used to doing it.
but like i said, it depends on the age of car ur looking for and the price. 84 4 runner is about 3-4 grand these days i think.
good luck and remember when she hops in one she will never buy another car, just 4x4 now.
chad
Big_Kev
13-05-2003, 09:50 AM
There all Jeeps.
Kev
skippa
16-05-2003, 05:23 PM
G'day chad,
Thanks for your reply, well we fianally decided on which 4X4 to get........ and the winner is........
Suzy Grand Vitara V6 wagon. (pick 'er up Friday) ;D ;D
At least she's a proper 4x4 with L&H range, instead of those 'all wheel drives'.
Not quite what I thought we would end up with, but there you go. After driving quite a number of 4b's she drives pretty damn good, for a small 4x4. Was a close call with a Pajero, but the missus didn't want to go that big. Although I felt very comfortable driving it, it's a big jump from the Corolla for her. It would have been the choice, if this was going to be the main family car. I must say I was disapointed with the Rav 4's, they certainly look better than they drive;
(just my opinion though) ;D
skippa 8)
17-05-2003, 04:37 AM
Skippa,
You've probably purchased one of the best value 4x4 on the market. A mate of mine as the 4c version and they go bloody anywhere. Awesome on the sand.
Still can't match my landrover defender extreme though ;D ;D ;D
skippa
17-05-2003, 04:59 AM
G'day Bugman,
Yep, I hope we've made the right choice, time will tell. Mate had the Defender too, and your right , it was just about unstopable, right through the Gulf and NT.
I reckon the Suzy was best value for money, for our needs. Glad to hear they good in the sand, will be heading to Straddie soon with some experienced 'beach driver buddies' to show me the ropes, so to speak. ;D ;D
Skip 8)
Big_Kev
17-05-2003, 03:46 PM
Skippa you picked a great little jeep mate .
I bought my wife one a few years back and I have to say I was more than impressed with the performance.
We got wheels that were just a little bigger than the standards around 235mm . And that little beast was unstoppable in the sand . It was great to drive past the big broke cocky wagons coming off the beach bogged to the axel and keep going.
Have fun Kev
skippa
17-05-2003, 06:35 PM
G'day kev,
The missus has only been in it 5 minutes and reckons she doesn't ever want to go back to the Corolla again. It might not sound like much, but she's had 3 of 'em and before now wouldn't even look at anything unless it was a Corolla.
I've heard some impressive reports of these Suzy's in the sand, so WE are looking foreward to having some fun. :D :D
Skip 8)