View Full Version : New to area... from coochie to short Is.   &n

michael_Brewer
28-05-2003, 07:05 PM
Hey Guys,
I have Just moved to the Redland bay area. I have a 3.7 vagabond edgetracker and can get to coochie no worries and probably as far down as about Short Island. I don't know that much about camping myself but my mum's boyfriend has all the gear and he knows what he's doin.
Just wondering if anyone is familiar with the area and is able to give me an idea of where to go. I was told about a spot on short Island which sounds ok. We mainly would like a spot just for the camping side of things when the weathers good..... and so that I can supply dinner....obviously fish.
The other thing is that I am not sure about is licences. Do you need any camping Licences at places like this and are there many areas that you can't camp.
I would appreciate any help.
thanks heaps.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
29-05-2003, 10:19 AM
... another innocent sacrificied to the merciless Mosquito God of Short Is ...

Camp on South Straddie near the start of the tree line or around the Bedrooms. You do need a permit - its Gold Coast City Council I think.

skippa
29-05-2003, 04:10 PM
G'Day Mick,

Another good spot is on North Straddie, just north of Slipping Sands, nice sandy little beach with easy access for a small tinnie. Close enough to the Pin and Canaipa Passage.

Don't forget the Aeroguard and Haveagoodweekend!! ;D

Cheers Skippa 8)

squire
31-05-2003, 04:53 AM
mick another good spot is on crusoe island which is the next one up from short island. but definately bring insect repellant. regards martyn. No camping permits are required except for south stradbroke island.

michael_Brewer
07-06-2003, 07:27 PM
Thanks for the help boys, much appreciated. I'll definitely organise something for the upcoming weeks and I hope to meet some of you down there....One day. Thanks again
tight lines