View Full Version : NOT HAPPY JAN ! ! ! !
Derek Bullock
10-06-2003, 05:30 AM
Hello
Decided to go for a drive up past Somerset and Wivenhoe Dams yesterday. As it was such a nice day I decided to take the dog with me for company.
Now this is no ordinary dog, shes a Jack Russell cross Foxy and doesn't know the meaning of the outdoors as she lives in the house and only goes outside to do the necessities.
I loaded up the car with an esky of fresh seafood (fresh king prawns - yum), some crusty bread and a few cold drinks intending to stop along the way for a picnic lunch and let the dog have a bit of a stretch.
Well, shock horror, every picnic spot around both dams had these hideous signs up saying domestic pets were prohibited. Now was I p----d off. What harm could a well mannered dog on a lead do ? ? ? ? ? ?
So now I am in two minds as to where to go, do I get rid of the dog or do I start campaigning for doggie rights.
What are your thoughts? ? ? ? ?
Derek
freefish
10-06-2003, 06:11 AM
Hi Derek, Know what you mean. Up until his death recently my best mate (pure Staffy) went everywhere with me. When necessary on a lead. The only bonus about the large number of places he couldn't go was the better out of the way places we found both for scenery & fishing. There are caravan parks & such that do cater for pets but not the government. Should be a bit of leeway. Regards Bill
xxxxhornet
10-06-2003, 12:56 PM
I know there is a website for the Great southeast tv show that lists places you can camp with a dog.
I got a blue heeler I often think about taking fishing with me but I'm scared he'll crap in the boat!!
In the 80's we always took the dogs to Moreton. Our dogs were always controlled on the beach and tied to a lead at night.
Some (not Many) other people's were not.
I guess we are paying for the minority who let their dogs run wild and create all sorts of havoc.
Maybe the way of the world is that the minority rules !!
Brettrick
10-06-2003, 05:04 PM
Derek,
Unfortunately, the problem isn't the dogs. It's the dog owners.
Dogs will only do as they're told, or as they're allowed to do. Misbehaviour is a reflection on the owner, not the animal.
I'm a dog owner myself, have been for many years, but you've only got to go for a walk on any public walking track to see the crap lying all over the place and you'll know why people get upset. I always carry a couple of plastic bags, just in case, but I've seen some people let their dogs crap in the middle of a footpath. Even moving on to the grass would be better than that but, no, they wouldn't want to disturb their pooch.
Fact is, some people don't deserve dogs. They ruin it for everyone.
BRETTRICK
05-07-2003, 12:12 AM
I always leave the burglar deterrents (dogs) at home...to be honest I could not tolerate the idea of taking them camping or fishing..and..I prefer public areas such as Moreton Island etc to be dog free.
SteveCan
05-07-2003, 09:41 AM
I am not a dog owner - but I like dogs.
As much as I like them though, I do not think it is appropriate to allow any domestic animals into national parks and other environments such as Moreton Island etc..
I am fully prepared to accept that there would be absolutely no harm in what you were doing Derek, but the problem is the minority of slack owners who let their huge dogs run free wherever they happen to lob, pooping and scratching around the place and generally making a nuisance of themselves.
I saw an incident where a kid went up to a blue cattle dog in a park and got bitten. The dog was not on a leash. The kid wasn't badly hurt but the mother went ape. It is preventable incidents like this that give dogs very bad PR... There are lots of breeds that are too small to cause much grief (eg. Jack Russel / Foxy crosses) but if you ban one dog - you have to ban them all...
I have seen the argument rolled out about the damage that dog poo does to the environment. I saw a study just recently completed by one of the Universities (QLD?) that said that there was no measurable impact - negative or positive - in the presence of dog poo. It gets broken down just like all other faeces. So that argument holds no water.
Steve.
Jack_Lives_Here
05-07-2003, 12:44 PM
It's becoming so bloody restrictive now as to where you can and can't take your dog. She's my best mate and good to have around the camp in those isolated areas. Stops your gear getting pinched by the light fingered brigade. She lets me know when something's not right.
It's always the same though - a few F#*k it up for the many. >:(
Derek Bullock
05-07-2003, 05:58 PM
Struth, didnt realise this was such an emotional issue. All I want to do is take a little dog for a walk on a lead, have a picnic and enjoy the countryside. Is the really a free country.
Derek
08-07-2003, 04:17 PM
I amnot a dog owner, however I like dogs, but here is my view.
ALL DOGS BITE. yeah yeah yeah I know, my dog has never bitten anyone.
Well, I've heard that so many times ( after being bitten ) I runs a little thin. I was a milkman for a few years you see. I am now a painter, and it still holds true today.
Brettrick and the boys are right though, Derek, it's the owners that are at fault.
Mate, if I had my way, most of the yappers around my neighbourhood would be banned.
I have no dramas with people walking their dog on a leash, pickin up the poop etc. National parks are a no no, but, the areas you talk about seem a little harsh.
It probably rings true that a few spoil it for the majority, something like Jet Ski Riders...DOH !
Derek Bullock
08-07-2003, 05:08 PM
Hey Phil
I agree wholeheartedly with you there about dog owners. It's always a few that destroy it for many. I also agree about dogs in National Parks, definately a no-no.
As far as jet skis go, when I was in Kosovo they had a good answer to jet skis. It was also good at stopping Russian made tanks as well [smiley=oops.gif] Hahahahahahahahaha.
Derek
09-07-2003, 04:02 PM
"ALL DOGS BITE. yeah yeah yeah I know, my dog has never bitten anyone."
Not true..not all dogs bite at all..having been involved in obedience training etc for over 20 years..not all dogs bite.
Now Derek...you need a bigger dog..I never had anyone tell me I could not take my dogs (Rottweilers then) anywhere. Matter of fact..not many people even came up to me when I was walking them.
Derek Bullock
09-07-2003, 05:04 PM
Hahahahahahahaha. Good one PinHead