View Full Version : Camping Spots

freefish
19-05-2003, 05:46 PM
Hi All, I'm planning a slow trip (up to 3 weeks) from Rockhampton to Rainbow Beach. Would like to know camping & fishing spots along the way i.e. 1770, Turkey Beach, etc. I travel self contained, only need to touch civilisation once a week or when the fuel runs out. Unfortunately no 4wd so have to stay on reasonable roads. ANy & all help will be much appreciated. Regards Bill

Brettrick
08-06-2003, 04:16 PM
Mate,

It's only close to home for you, but don't miss the camping spot underneath the highway bridge over the Calliope River, just near Gladstone. Heading South from Rocky, you turn right before the bridge. It takes you down to a camping ground right on the water's edge. I've caught prawns (cast net), barra and mud crabs there. Be careful of the big mud lizard. I haven't seen him, but he's a confirmed resident.

BRETTRICK

freefish
09-06-2003, 05:54 AM
Hey Brettrick, I know the place you mean. Used to be the old highway crossing. Swam there as a kid. Didn't worry about the mud geckos then. Suppose they had all been shot or were too well fed. Will definitely stop & wet a line. Regards Bill

freefish
10-06-2003, 06:15 AM
Hi All, Anymore camp spots? I like to know what's coming up when I'm travelling. A real pain to spot a likely camp/fishing spot then have to travel another 20 km to find a spot to turn around with the boat. Regards Bill

Brettrick
10-06-2003, 05:18 PM
Bill,

Try Lenthals Dam, just North of Maryborough. Freshwater, obviously, and some nice bass in it (plus yellowbelly and catfish). Dirt track to get to the dam, but a couple of pretty spots right down on the waters edge. If you've got a boat, you mihgt prefer to chuck the tent in it and shoot around the corner.

BRETTRICK

freefish
10-06-2003, 07:50 PM
Hi, Thanks for that. Have the back of the truck set up as a sleeper so can stop almost anywhere. Definitely will try the dam as bass & yellowbelly are on my hit list Regards Bill

mick
17-07-2003, 08:25 AM
regarding the calliope causeway. try to avoid being there at the weekend as there is anywhere up to 50 caravans. and if you see an ugly looking bloke flicking flies around come and say gday.

peterbo3
17-07-2003, 06:12 PM
Freefish,
A great place to camp S of Maryborough is Poona. Enter via Tin Can Bay Rd from MB - do not go via Gympie. Great caravan park right on the Sandy Straits. You may not even want to go to Rainbow Beach.

Derek Bullock
18-07-2003, 06:14 PM

I reckon you can't come past it without calling into Hervey Bay. Heaps of good Caravan Parks and heaps of good fishing. Like Peter above says, take the road from Maryborough down along the Great Sandy Straits on your way to Rainbow. Apart from Poona, there is also Boonaroo and Maroom. All good spots.

Heaps of places above Hervey Bay as well you might look at. Burrum Heads, Woodgate, Toogoom, Elliot Heads, Bagara, Burnett Heads, Mon Repos and Bundaberg itself. North of there are Moore Park, Miara, Baffle Creek, Agnes Water, 1770 and Turkey Beach.

Cripes I could go on forever. Go to the RACQ and grab some detailed maps as well as their Queensland Accommodation Guide for the Caravan Parks.

Derek

freefish
20-07-2003, 12:01 AM
Thanks All, Have postponed the trip for a couple of months as have been made an offer too good to refuse & am back working but all suggestions have been noted & will be acted upon in the near warmer future regards Bill

harrya64
20-07-2003, 04:56 AM
So once youe past Gympie call in to Borumb Dam The turn off is about 25 -30 klm past Gympie turn right to Imbul
loveyl small town last befor the 12 klm to the dam where you will find a great camping sight with good amenaites
no 240 power except for your electric Razor .
but at presant the water is high even up to the concret ramp.plenty of fish sighted on sounder But.
$7.50 per camp sight or tent van ect
stacks of fire wood .
But dont come there Easter or public holidays as the place is very crouded
we were there Thursday and friday 17- 18 july 2003. cheers

Derek Bullock
20-07-2003, 05:28 AM
Hey all.

If anyone is heading that way towards Borumba Dam, and I would recommend this as one of the better places to stay in South East Queensland, drop in and see Gibbo at the Borumba Deer Park. Fantastic place right on Yabba Creek. Has been set up as a camping/caravan park and he even has some on-site vans.

He is just a couple of K's before you get to the dam.

Derek