View Full Version : Dutch Oven
stilltryin
25-09-2003, 04:00 PM
Derek,
On our last fishing trip we got the pleasure of having gas to cook on. In the cupboard we found what we thought was a camp oven but when it was checked out it was found to be a Breville 'Dutch Oven'. Made of cast aluninium, very heavy, teflon coating, very versatile as we cooked every meal from steak to deep fried fish, stir fried rice and vegetables, eggs etc without the need for any other pot or frying pan.
Have been looking for one ever since but no luck to date.
Any hints where to look
Gary (stilltryin)
Derek Bullock
25-09-2003, 04:08 PM
Sorry mate, never heard of it. I even did a pretty good search on the web and couldnt get a match.
Derek
25-09-2003, 04:12 PM
Have a look down around nimbin or mullimbimby, I know what you mean about being great to cook with, the faster that munchy food comes off the pan the better at those times hey ;D
Derek Bullock
25-09-2003, 04:19 PM
There was a guy down that way used to forge aluminium camp ovens but he went out of business because no-one was buying them. Aluminium isnt that good for you and I know I wouldn't have one myself.
Derek
xxxxhornet
26-09-2003, 01:23 PM
G'day Derek, I saw some Furphy Camp ovens for sale at the local great outdoors centre the other day. My uncle says he has seen them around ipswich for sale, but I tell you what they are bloody solid.
wouldnt mind buying one to put on the patio next to the bar (when its built) and 'look at it'!!
Derek Bullock
26-09-2003, 01:41 PM
Hornet
Furphy have been making cast iron camp ovens for a long time now and at one stage you could get one cast with your name on the lid. Certainly would look nice on the patio but a bit expensive though.
This is their website address http://www.furphyfoundry.com.au/7_camping/default.htm
Derek
hussy
07-10-2003, 04:46 PM
stilltryin? well stop trying I remembered the name it was a Bessemer 6 litre dutch oven we were using. priced one from the bessemer warehouse. and they were$327.00 each. for that money we'll buy takeaway every night and still be ahead,what you reckon? see you on the weekend Gak. hussy bribie is