View Full Version : Camping around Noosa

xxxxhornet
28-10-2003, 05:41 PM
G'day all,

Just looking for a good spot to take the two very small kids and missus camping for the first time around Noosa, where she can find something to do while I'm fishing. preferably with water/showers/toilets etc.

Only have a two wheel drive and have the boat,

matty_e
29-10-2003, 03:35 AM
you sure have picked a funny place to camp. i think there is only 1 or 2 caravan parks in noosa. we stayed at the one in noosaville. its right on the river so fishing is easy for the kids. it has good amenities. the only prob is people. [smiley=wut.gif] everywhere.
the river is a very busy one so maybe taking the boat is a good option. get away from the mouth of the river and head upstream.

matty_e
29-10-2003, 03:37 AM
oh, did they end up finding the 'noosa river' croc from a few months ago?

TimNQ
29-10-2003, 07:49 AM
Give national parks a call because they might have a camp ground in the park somewhere, its a damn nice place with lots to do. Cant fish there but its only a few minutes from the river. The misses and kids will prolly enjoy the walking tracks which lead to some remote beaches and snorkeling sites. I recommend going to the fairy pools, a bit hard to find but the last time i was there it was an awsome little rock pool good for swimming and snorkeling.

jimbamb
01-11-2003, 08:19 AM
Gday ,mate,
Theres a camping ground at johns landing. its right on the river about 10 k north west..

ive never stayed there but it is chockers during school holidays.The Phone no is 07 54471806. if ya interested

jimbamb
01-11-2003, 08:29 AM
i.mBack!!!!
Read the posts further down the page headed "Jons Landing" someone has given directions etc.may be handy

xxxxhornet
14-11-2003, 10:59 AM
Thanks all,

I got hold of a great little book called Camping In South East and central Queensland by Martin Bowerman (aka Creek to Coast). There are heaps of spots up there - there are some on Lake Cootharaba - Boreen Point and Elanda Point, There is one in behind the dunes of Teewah beach which is accessible by 2wd (Noosa Nth Shore Wilderness camp), and Jons Landing. We're off to Boreen Point this weekend and I'm going for a putt up the everglades, and wetting a line in the stretch of river between the two lakes to try for a jack.

Derek Bullock
15-11-2003, 02:48 AM
Hornet

Before you set up camp at Boreen Point do yourself a favour and drive the few extra kilometres up to Elanda Point and check it out. Of the two I know where I would rather stay.

Cheers mate.

Derek

Terry
25-11-2003, 11:34 AM
:-XDerek give me a ring at work and I will help you out.

Cheers Terry. :-X

Derek Bullock
02-12-2003, 04:44 PM
Hmmmmmmmmmmm

I only know two Terry's from work. Maybe I should sack the pair of you to find out who is who. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Derek