View Full Version : Camping at Elanda point

xxxxhornet
31-12-2003, 05:47 PM
G'day all,

If your looking for a good family camping spot try Elanda Point at Noosa. Theres roos for the kids to watch, a safe beach, and an excellent kiosk/general store set up. Theres heaps of room - I reckon there would have been around 100+ camps when we were there on boxing day and it was only half full. Its all grassed and heaps of shade.
The only down side was the rain and we pulled quite a few ticks off the kids plus heaps crawling up our legs, but I think it was the spot we were camped in a low lying spot near some paperbark scrub.
You can also head up to the Noosa everglades in a jiffy.
attached a few pics.

xxxxhornet
31-12-2003, 05:49 PM
a photo of the beach

xxxxhornet
31-12-2003, 05:51 PM
and a pic of the everglades

Derek Bullock
01-01-2004, 05:31 AM
Hey Hornet

Good to see you eventually ended up at Elanda Point. I stayed there for two weeks once and wrote quite an article for Bush 'N Beach about the place. Great pics to mate.

For everyones information it can be quite simple to stop getting ticks I have found. All you need to do is spray your shoes and lower legs with a good repellant such as Bushmans or Aeroguard. Also works well for leeches in the wet forests.

Derek

adrian
03-01-2004, 03:34 PM
where abouts is this place as i've never heard of it ? looks great is there a ramp nearby

xxxxhornet
07-01-2004, 10:44 AM
G'day mate,

The easiest way to get to it - I'm assuming you live in brissy - is to head nth on the bruce highway and turn off at the Pomona exit. Then just follow the signs towards Boreen Point but turn off to Elanda point on the left just on the outskirts of Boreen Point.

If you want you can also go via Tewantin for a change of scenery. Boreen Point has the boat ramp unless you have a 4wd and can put it in at the beach.

bungie
07-01-2004, 01:56 PM
Heres a couple of places to look at

http://www.elanda.com.au/
http://www.aroundoz.com/a_campsite_archive/therese_elanda.htm

The area is more suited to canoes and small sailing craft than power boats as the lake can be very shallow.