View Full Version : Agnes water 1770

mermaid
29-02-2004, 10:02 AM
HI everyone i am a newbie from melbourne, unlucky me.Anyway we are headind up to agnes water 1770 in October and not sure wheather we are taking our boatie yet so i was wandering if i can get some local info on the area.i have done lots of searching on net and found heaps but i would like to know from locals.First of all we are thinking of staying at 1770 Getaway retreat villas on Bicentennial drive,
can someone advise is this the right spot to stay as we will be fishing even if we do not bring boatie.I have had my eye on some rental houses,some on 1770 esplanade but it is hard to tell if that is the place to go.It will be me and my husband so we dont really wanna be where there will be a lot of families
as ours are grown up now so anyway maybe someone can help us.I also cannot find streat maps that are good. Thanks
and bye for now

Brissyguy
29-02-2004, 10:54 AM
Hi Mermaid and welcome to Qld and this site.

Talk to Tony from Agnes Jacks bait and tackle, or look him up and send a PM.
He is the gun when talking about this area. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Rich.

agnes_jack
29-02-2004, 12:07 PM
Gday mermaid
Welcome to ausfish!
1770 getaway is a very nice place to stay being close to Agnes Water and walking distance to secluded beaches, shops and restaurants. It is in a beautiful setting with plenty of room for you to park your boat. Straight across the road you have miles of bush tracks and secluded beaches for fishing or quietly relaxing.
One advantage of staying in Agnes as opposed to the 1770 esplanade is no sandflies! The owners Michael and Vera are extremely friendly people and I'm sure would look after you very well. Its about 5kms to the boat ramp at 1770.
Its well worth bringing your boat with you as it gives you acess to much more fishing areas up in the estuary, as well as offshore or even just around the headland, which at that time of year usually fires with the pelagic species. About mid october we tend to get a good run of fish like cobia, longtail tuna, school mackeral, or spanish. Most of your estuary species are also firing at that time with heaps of flathead, a few jacks, pikie bream, etc etc.
If you need to know anything, ask away!

Regards, Tony

P.S. got your email but its easier to answer your questions here! If you have a fax I could send you some maps.

mermaid
02-03-2004, 06:14 AM
Thankyou for your reply tony, the place sounds and looks great.I think we might give the offshore fishing a miss we are not that confident,as we have a 15 ft half cabin and i value my life tooooooo much to hit those waves,so if we bring boatie we will stick to the tame waters.We took the boat out at Pumicestone Caloundra last year and that was about our limit.We have only had our boat a year so we are taking things a bit slow and learning as we go and so far we love it.
Safey is no 1 with us so we never put ourselves in a situation we are not comfortable with.How will we go beach fishing on the beaches near 1770 getaway and i hear it is pretty warm at that time of year.Can you get pippis from the beaches up there for bait,not that we mind buying but at Palm Beach Gold coast you can spend the day in the water and get lots of nice big freash ones.
Thanks again

agnes_jack
04-03-2004, 12:38 PM
Mermaid sorry it took so long to get back to you.
Bring your boat even if you stick to the estuarys, you will be better off. Pippies are a bit hard to find around here, but the frozen ones work. There is some good beach fishing fairly close,
so an early morning walk should produce the goods.

Regards, Tony :D

hairynosedwomb
20-04-2004, 09:08 AM
tony mate is it possible to get any maps of the area below deepwater national park mainly wants the small creeks for canoeing etc any help would be appreciated as i'm heading up in july