View Full Version : Newbie in need of help
Brissyguy
23-01-2004, 12:28 PM
Considering having a go at camping at some of the inland impoundments west of Brisvegas and could use some guidance in where to start looking for tent and general necessities etc.
Naturally we will be fishing.
Would appreciate some feedback.
Rich.
MarcusD
23-01-2004, 04:17 PM
Hey Rich, I buy most of my camping gear from Camp Mart on Moss Street. I've found they have stock to cater for all budgets and experience levels. What's even better is that the staff there are all friendly and helpful.
If you don't want to buy brand new, I'd also look in the trading post. I've seen some absolute bargin "only used once" gear there.
Do you know which impoundment you're going to yet?
Gorilla_in_Manila
23-01-2004, 07:45 PM
Rich,
Firstly ask yourself a few questions, and it will virtually tell you what sort of setup you want.
1. Are you going to use it much?
2. Do you want something as a temporary fix whilst you are deciding whether you will keep doing it, or are you sure you are going to get a lot of use out of it and want something that will last you years?
3. Are you happy with roughing it, or do you need your creature comforts?
4. Are you going to camp for a night or two at a time, or are you wanting something that you could live in for a week or two?
5. What sort of money are you looking at putting into it?
6. How much time are you willing to spend or how much help will you have when setting up or striking camp?
7. Are you camping with kids now or in the future?
Here is a shot of a camp my brother and I set up at Pindari dam for a couple of nights early in 2003. I'm of the opinion that setting up camp is perfectly good fishing time down the drain. After pulling up, we had that set up and was on the water fishing within 20mins. 5 mins looking around for ant nests etc, and checking where the water would run if it suddenly pissed down. 10 minutes to actually set the camp. Another 5 minutes wasted coz we had a cup of coffee before heading out in the boat.
1. 1 Pole tent, heavy canvas, 12ft by 8ft, southern cross canvas approx $1700. Last a lifetime. You could swap it for a small dome if you wanted, but you have to take care of them and of course they wont last as well. Dry out a lot quicker though.
2. 3m x 3m quikshade. That one was borrowed, but my bro has since got a 6m x 3m. up in about 1 minute and enormous covered area. Think they would set you back around $1500 for the 6x3. (there is a website, I'll try and get the link for you) You can get these with as many walls as you want. Tent would go under or half under the quikshade depending on weather and can hang a tarp off one side to cover the tent. 6x3 folds up to about the size of a golf bag and weights about 50lb I think. Bloody brilliant.
3. 2 burner coleman stove
4. gas bottle for cooking (lights are 12volt versa light from extra deep cycle battery in car.)
5. Camp Kitchen. Ply contraption that folds out with bench space and holds stove at comfortable height. Holds all cutlery, crockery, washing up stuff etc.
6. Couple of comfy camp chairs
7. Fold up table or two.
Pretty damn comfy camp for something that gets tossed up in 10mins. Cheap if you are going to get plenty of use out of it.
Feel free to pm or ask more if you have any further questions.
Jeff
Gorilla_in_Manila
23-01-2004, 09:03 PM
Here's the link for the quikshade. Sorry $2500 for the 6x3. :o
Still bloody brilliant in my book. :D
http://www.quikshade.com.au/Index.cfm
Brissyguy
24-01-2004, 04:50 AM
Cheers Jeff and Marcus,
You are right about that shade Jeff !!!
Many thanks for the info, I guess we need to ask ourselves those questions Jeff and make sure we are fair dinkum and not just looking for something to do whilst we are between boats :-/
Guess I should get a copy of the trading post and have a look at the bargains.
Rich.
sharkbait
30-01-2004, 06:01 AM
and heres the cheapskate version ;D
Brissyguy
30-01-2004, 06:29 AM
Hi Sharkbait,
Might be termed "cheapskate " version by some but it's more than I have now and certainly effective.
At this stage we will be buying 2nd hand gear and so far the weekend shopper looks the goods.
Rich.
MarcusD
30-01-2004, 06:38 AM
Rich,
Let me know if you ever want to go on a tag-along trip. We usually camp about 2 hours North of Brisbane (just near Noosa) and go at least once a month. Great camping/fishing spot with toilets & hot showers at the site. I've found that it always helps to have people around for the first trip because there's always something you forget or don't have.
Brissyguy
30-01-2004, 06:48 AM
Many thanks for the offer Marcus, might just take you up on that offer soon. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Rich.
Gorilla_in_Manila
30-01-2004, 07:40 AM
Rich,
I don't think you will go too far wrong if you follow Kris's (sharkbait's) setup for a starter. It is essentially the same as what ours was anyway. If there is the chance of rain, an extra tarp over the dome tent and a ground sheet under it with an area (with door mat) you can step onto to brush your feet off before getting into the tent, and you will be pretty weatherproof and comfortable.
Jeff
Brissyguy
30-01-2004, 12:07 PM
Cheers Jeff,
Have started scouring the 2nd hand pages.
Mrs Brissy is as keen as I am :D
And thats gotta be a good thing.
Rich.
Gorilla_in_Manila
30-01-2004, 12:34 PM
Rich,
Do you know what you are looking for yet in ways of a tent - dome, 1 pole, .... ?
Great to hear you are both keen as mustard. Just remember it only takes one lousy, wet, mosquito infested camp to knock that out of you, but if you prepare a bit first and think about where and when you go, you will survive it pretty well.
Remember there is no such thing as too many tarps. ;D ;D ;D
Jeff
MarcusD
30-01-2004, 01:36 PM
Indeed that's one thing we learnt through experience. Several tarps, spare pegs, ropes and extra mozzie coils and Rid. I know it seems like a bit of an overkill sometimes but you can never really be too prepared. We also carry a shovel and a pick with us in case of rain (handy to dig run off trenches). Oh and the pick is also the best tool I've found to remove tarp / tent pegs (just use the pointy end).
Misty
31-01-2004, 06:38 AM
Mrs Brissy is very keen and is well known for being prepared.
So mozzie coils, lots of rid and not to mention the Aerogaurd, extra tarps, tent pegs, shovels, picks, ropes, waterproof gear, beanies, woolly socks, nice shoes, old shoes, shoes for the water, comfy shoes, (highheels ;)) sunsreen, sunburn cream, hats, swimming gear, beach towels, bath towels, hand towels, deck chairs, banana lounges, food for all occasions, beer esky, Jim Beam esky, food esky, BBQ, camp oven will all be packed neat & tidy.
And if there is enough room maybe even the kitchen sink ???
Oooops forgot the fishing gear :P
Brissyguy
31-01-2004, 06:53 AM
[smiley=behead.gif] <<~~~~ for forgetting the fishing gear.
Trust me it will be the first thing packed ;D
:-/ Looks like we are gonna need to buy a truck...
MarcusD
31-01-2004, 09:42 AM
Also don't forget the water! A lot of places have running water but I'm not sure if you'd want to drink it. I carry around a 20 litre drum, plus 2 x 10litre bottles in the esky (frozen to provide both ice and drinking water). Also clothes pegs and an old door mat are handy. Door mat helps us keep dirt and sand out of the tent.
Hahaha fishing gear is the first thing I pack! It's the main reason we go camping anyway.
As for the truck, my other half hits me every time I mention buying a Ford F250 to fit all our camping gear!
Brissyguy
31-01-2004, 10:38 AM
LMFAO @ my other half hits me every time I mention buying a Ford F250 to fit all our camping gear!
I reckon I'm in for some of the same when I get home mate...
Rich.
Misty
31-01-2004, 11:56 AM
If we had one you wouldn't let me drive it......[smiley=disappointed.gif]
TimNQ
31-01-2004, 07:19 PM
Ah nice truck the F250's
Robbo_Townsville
02-02-2004, 04:50 PM
F250 with a canopy and a big muttha of an esky is all you need.
MarcusD
02-02-2004, 05:33 PM
Robbo, shouldn't that be "a muttha of an esky full of beer"??
Brissyguy
03-02-2004, 04:46 AM
I need two eskies...
One for her Jim Beam and One for my Beer lmfao. ;D
Hutcho
04-02-2004, 12:45 PM
Rich,
Maybe you need to look at one of those boats on the Fourex Gold tv ad where the boys are supposed to be going fishing....plenty of "esky space" on there for your beer and the bourbon... [smiley=drunk.gif] And if you get a Ford F250, you may even be able to tow the beast around!?! Don't forget your aeroguard but.
Brissyguy
05-02-2004, 04:39 AM
LMAO Hutcho...
Good as Gold mate, Good as Gold...
Rich.
buggerit
05-02-2004, 01:12 PM
Well .... you haven't prepared well enough for me to come along . Mrs Brissy mentioned a lot of essentials but .... what about the LOO paper .
MarcusD
05-02-2004, 01:17 PM
I did mention that there is always one thing that you forget!
;D
Sharkbait's on a winner there, very much the same as my set up and it works great !
We've got adjustable poles and a spreader bar. The poles allow us to raise and lower sides or corners and the rain runs off instead of bellying out the middle. The spreader bar fits on top of the poles and keeps the guts of the tarp up high for headroom and rain runoff.
Cooking gear can be minimized if you buy one of those portable gasmate cookers from KMart. two cans will do a weekend of cooking and billy boiling easily. fits into a case the size of a cordless drill box.
I try to travel light cos a lot of my camping requires travel to there by boat.
Derek Bullock
31-05-2004, 09:09 AM
Rich
Unfortunately I havent been into Ausfish much in recent times. How are you getting along with the camping and camping gear. Lets us know.
One thing I have realised over the years is that you don't need all of the fancy gear that is available. If there is one thing though that I would suggest every camper look at and thats to throw out that old esky and buy a camping fridge. Best thing you could ever do.
Derek