View Full Version : Safe Camping Tips
Derek Bullock
05-12-2003, 03:29 AM
Hello everyone
Well we are within a very short time from when literally thousands of people head off for their annual camping trip. Over the years I have found that it pays to be careful when camping particularly if you are well and truly off the beaten track.
What is your safe camping tip for the unwary.
I'll kick it off with, [smiley=stop.gif] "Make sure you check that your first aid kit is well stocked up and make sure you take it with you"
What's yours?
Derek
Gorilla_in_Manila
05-12-2003, 05:51 AM
Derek, great topic ... but, where to start and finish?
Ok, I'll just pick three.
1. Along with the first aid kit, I think first thing in the car should be heaps of water.
We are talking 20L or more, and it should be replaced at the first opportunity after even partial use - its no good to you if you have drunk it in the first few days when there wasn't a problem and haven't replaced it. This is for radiators that boil and emergency drinking water.
2. Communications. Tell someone where you are going and all that. Don't assume your mobile phone is going to work where you are going. If you are trying to get away from it all for for a couple of week, then by definition you are getting away from mobile coverage as well. If you can't afford a sat phone or HF radio then travel with someone who can, or a personnal epirb would be a cheaper (but less reliable) alternative.
3. Check your gear before you head off. Just because your gas bottle was working when you put it away last year, doesn't mean it hasn't developed cracks in the hoses etc. Service your vehicle before leaving. Replace old or perished water pipes, make sure your battery isn't about to die, etc Same goes for the trailer you haven't used for a year - grease bearings, check electrics, tyres etc.
For anyone wondering why I bothered to write what should be common sense, ask youself how many people you have seen that think preparation for a camping trip involves esky, ice, beer, packet of snags, pokey dome tent, sleeping bag (optional), full tank of petrol, and a footy to kick around and annoy other campers with. ::)
Good luck and make sure you get there and back again.
Jeff
neptune
05-12-2003, 10:01 AM
My tip, if your taking the misses, make sure she is relaxed and in a good mood before you go. Things will only deteriorate once you start setting up camp.
Slates
09-12-2003, 08:17 AM
Haven't been for ages!
Here's mine: "there's always room for beer."
Cheers, Slates
bigbrian47
09-12-2003, 05:49 PM
go in the off season brian
Gorilla_in_Manila
14-12-2003, 12:23 PM
An unfortunate example of why camping safety should be taken seriously.
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2003/12/13/1071125690226.html
15-12-2003, 01:10 PM
To be honest..I gave up camping years ago..could not stand the setting up..the firelighting etc..I prefer modern conveniences...but..the most important thing I always took was the fishing gear.
xxxxhornet
30-12-2003, 10:09 AM
Hope these help,
1.Make sure the missus knows what to do/where to go in case YOU get sick/bitten by snake/ heart attack or something, especially in non mobile phone areas. Make sure SHE knows how to drive the forbie and change a flat tyre etc.
2. Have a set of tweezers in the first aid kit for ticks, and know how to pull 'em out - especially when young kids involved.
3. Been mentioned but have plenty of water.
4. Have a plan in case of emergencys - bushfires, someone gets lost, things like that.
5. and above all - keep the missus HAPPY.....interprete that how you wish!
Derek Bullock
31-05-2004, 09:29 AM
Any more ................. [smiley=huh2.gif] [smiley=huh2.gif] [smiley=huh2.gif]
MY-TopEnder
07-06-2004, 04:04 PM
A few tips more so for than the car than anything.
1 - Chewing gum for small non pressurised hose
2 - Duct tape will work for a little while for a pressurised hose
3 - Know your engine... know its sounds, know its normal readings on gauges, and monitor them.
Other general things... you can NEVER have enough rope.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
10-06-2004, 09:30 AM
& never eat yellow snow :P :P :P
gunna
11-06-2004, 08:05 AM
Make up a few heavy duty tent storm ropes & add around the sides of the tent as re-inforcement before the BIG blow hits.
Julie_J
14-06-2004, 05:26 AM
GIVE THE LITTLE LADY (MISSES) A BLOODY ROD AND SHOW HER HOW TO CATCH FISH!!!! YOU NEVER KNOW< SHE MOGHT GET HOOKED. :)
Maria
14-06-2004, 06:08 AM
Don't burn yourself - burns ruin camping trips. you'll be in a shitty mood for the rest of your trip.
Fire hurts people - don't be fooled into the all too common misconception that you can firewalk because you've had half a carton. It never works and your thongs won't protect your soft little footsies.
Bringing exploding things on camping trips is fun, but not always wise. Rangers tend to take a very dim view of these, as do the emergency ward staff in the hospital.
Don't try and immitate the firemen 2003 calender by going overboard cutting up firewood - axes are sharp.
Extention to previous - make sure your axe is sharp. If you do hit yourself with it, it will be a clean wound.
Swimming while you're half tanked isn't cool - you have considerably less strength and will probably get own3d by a rip/current etc.
Don't sleep on a beach - people may not see you in the sand because of the often churned up nature of beach sand from 4WD's. Diff's and axles hurt as they slam into you at 60km/h.
Don't be the fool who tries to catch the snake - your mates probably don't know how to treat snake bites either, especially when they're tanked.
If you ever have the inclination to try scurfing with your feet in the sand, holding onto the tailgate of a 4WD - Don't. It hurts when your feet dig in, you let go of the tailgate and consequently the tow bar becomes your new facial feature.
Pissing on fires smells bad - your mates will think you suck. Don't do it.
Don't sleep in late in a tent - you wake up with a headache.
Most of all - have fun eh. That's what you've gone camping for. Just think before you do stuff, otherwise it can illustrate a very painful lesson for you to ponder when you're sober.
Make sure you keep the mrs happy too - they can ruin camping trips through their ability to whinge and whine incessantly at you over trivial little things like the accumulation of dirt under their nails, not having a hot shower, wanting an inner-spring matress, bad feng shui in the tent etc etc.
Derek Bullock
15-06-2004, 06:30 AM
Hey people
Getting some great stuff here. Keep it coming as I would like to amalgamate it into a "what not to do when you are camping" ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Derek
banshee
15-06-2004, 10:39 AM
Never camp under a River Red Gum or any other large Eucalypt for that matter,unfortunatly the next person to be killed by one of these sheding a bough out of the blue probably won't be the last.