View Full Version : OLD AUSSIE MADE CAMP OVENS WANTED
Derek Bullock
04-10-2001, 03:09 PM
Help me if you can.
I am looking for some old camp ovens. I have found out that an old foundry at Maryborough here in Queensland used to make cast iron camp ovens many years ago. I don't have a lot of detail but understand that they had quite reasonably long legs on them.
Check your rubbish heap or the back of your shed and if you find any and don't need them anymore let me know. I am prepared to pay cartage from anywhere in Australia.
Also looking for info on aussie made camp ovens. The only ones I am aware of are the Furphy cast ones still made in Victoria and the spun steel Bedourie still made in South Australia.
Does anyone know of any others. I am sure there may be more. I am tired of only seeing Chinese imports in stores.
Derek
imported_admin
04-10-2001, 05:40 PM
Dereck
Saw some in Glen Innes a while back, made by the Glen Innes Foundry. Just did a search on Google and found them at http://www.gleninnes.com/gleninnesfoundry/resources/html/ovens.htm
Katrina
04-10-2001, 06:10 PM
;) Just beaten to the punch! Just saw same camp ovens linked through the fishinternet website. They look pretty good!
Derek Bullock
05-10-2001, 03:46 PM
Thanks for that guys. Have checked them out. They are made from cast alloy. It's good to know though that there are still some good aussie products on the go.
Derek :D
The_Walrus
15-10-2001, 04:02 PM
Hi Derek,
I'm looking to buy a camp oven (never used one before!!).
Are the traditional cast iron the best or are the cast alloy worthwhile.
Most cooking would be for 2 or 3 bodies.
Derek Bullock
15-10-2001, 04:38 PM
That's a hard decision to make. Spun steel, cast alloy or cast iron!!
I have used a spun steel Bedourie Camp Oven for over twenty years and I am hooked on them. Check them out at http://www.southern-metal-spinners.com.au/. The Bedourie needs a bit more care than the cast iron oven in that the material is thin and you have to tend your coals a bit more.
Cast Iron Camp Ovens are recognised as being the easiest to use and most likely account for more sales than any of the others. The problem is that a good cast iron Aussie made camp oven will cost you an arm and a leg. You can look at some quality ones at http://www.furphyfoundry.com.au/. If you are real keen and have a few extra dollars they will cast your logo or name in the lid.
Most of the cast iron camp ovens in stores are imported from China. That's the reason I am looking for one of the original cast iron ones made in Maryborough.
I have never used a cast alloy camp oven. I do have a friend in Texas, America who gives them a good wrap though. You can check out his story at http://www.lsdos.com/. If you check out that site you will find an article I wrote on cooking a Sunday Roast, the yank love us. I am told that alloy ovens do heat up and cool down quicker that a cast iron oven. You can check out good quality cast alloy camp ovens at the site above that Steve posted. They also will cast your name or logo in the lid.
What to buy??????
I have just picked up a spun steel Aussie Camp Oven made by Southern Metal Spinners. It's a variation on the Bedourie but I reckon you can just about cook anything in it. If you keep up with Bush 'N Beach Fishing I will be featuring it in some up coming articles. Next month there should even be a photo of one.
Derek
The_Walrus
16-10-2001, 12:59 PM
Thanks Derek :D
Those sites are a mine of info. I'll spend some time looking through them thouroughly.
Hopefully, I'll be able to make a suitable choice. I've got a couple of weeks holidays in November so I'll be keen to use one then.
Derek Bullock
21-01-2002, 11:17 AM
This has been buried down the pile a bit so thought i would resurrect it.
I am still interested in old camp ovens so if you can help let me know.
Derek
Hi Derek,
can't help you there but if it was my choice I'd go the cast anyday-holds heat,cooks fast simple as that. My choice anyway
Cheers Luke
Derek Bullock
31-05-2004, 10:35 AM
Folks [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif]
I am still on the lookout for "old" Aussie made cast camp ovens. If you have one thats in good condition and are prepared to depart with it let me know.
Derek
jimbamb
06-06-2004, 10:17 AM
Derek,
Ive got a Albion Maryborough no14 camp oven,
the 14 means its 14 inches across the top and 5 inches deep. the legs are 2 inches.
May be interested in selling if the price is right.
PM me ok?
irish
09-06-2004, 05:14 AM
G'day Derik.
The camp oven that I have is 50cm across x 17cm deep.The legs are 9cm in hight.My father in law gave it to me,it was part of the origional kitchen utencials at the Monty Cristo Homestead at Junee NSW.He owns the place and it's set up as a museam.The oven dates from the 1880s.
Regards.
Irish.
Derek Bullock
11-06-2004, 01:14 PM
Hello Irish, are you interested in parting with it?
Hi Jim, got your PM. Will be in touch.
Derek
jimbamb
14-06-2004, 05:17 PM
Ok
Send a pm when u r red e
irish
16-06-2004, 06:55 AM
G'day Derik.
Sorry mate it gets used every Sunday to cook the roast in.Plus taken on fishing trips,to feed all the blokes.If I were to get rid of it this would happen to me [smiley=behead.gif]
Regards.
Irish. [smiley=wut.gif]