View Full Version : Teewah Camping

skippa
02-11-2004, 04:51 PM
G'day Guys,

Just back form a great weekend of camping and 4WDing along Teewah beach. Headed up Friday pm just in time to setup and have a few beers with some friends. A first no fishing (what the), just 4WDing, as a mate had just got his 4by and was just ichin' to get it dirty.

We did the drive up the beach checking out the Cherry Venture, or rather what's left of it, took a quick trip over DI and along to Rainbow, being careful not to add ourselves to the 'wall of shame'. Along the beach a wedding party went past, pity the weather on Sat wasn't Sunday's good weather, but how good to be married on your favourite beach.

Sunday was another trip up the beach before high tide and this time we went through Freshwater and onto Rainbow. The track from Cooloola was quite sandy but turned into just a dirt track towards Rainbow end, but still a fun drive in a place we haven't seen before. Tracked back to Tewantin via Cooloola way which was a little disappointing, as we were able to do the return trip in 2WD, but again it was still something new.

All in all a good weekend, can't wait to go to Fraser.

Tony 8)

skippa
02-11-2004, 05:35 PM
Freshwater track, near Rainbow Beach. A good drive through rainforest patches. Bush walking tracks surround too, which include picnic spots along Freshwater Lakes.

Tezza985
02-11-2004, 06:06 PM
Yes, Done that trip before, Its a great spot to camp at Freshwater, and its always best when the little beasties are back in school.

Hope you like the trip over to Fraser. I love it round here.

Tezza.

Derek Bullock
03-11-2004, 12:52 PM
It's a great place down there. I drove a Ford Laser to Freshwater once. ::) ::) ::) ::)

Derek

skippa
03-11-2004, 03:29 PM
Tezza,

Didn't actually camp at Freshwater, more further down the beach towards Teewah, but it looks like a nice place to camp thou. Yeah, looking forward to going to Frazer as we haven't been there for a few years. last time we where there we stayed at Hervey Bay and took a bus trip over; didn't have a 4x4 then so we can't wait to get across in our own car.

Derek,

For us in Brisvegas it's a great place up there. So you drove a Ford Laser to Freshwater ::) did you forget to tell us it was on the back of a 4x4 ;) A Laser to Freshwater, I guess that's why it was only ONCE. ;D

Tony 8)

Derek Bullock
03-11-2004, 03:53 PM
Was a long time ago when a lot of the track was boarded up.

Derek

mini696
05-11-2004, 04:34 AM
What are the specs of your 4wd's?

skippa
06-11-2004, 07:44 PM
Mini,

Ours is the Suzy in the pic, Grand Vitara V6 auto. Yep, auto and piss easy to drive along the beach. Well actually, it's mrs skippa's and she wouldn't have a manual. ::)

Mates is a NEW turbo diesel Patrol (nice to have the money) go anywhere and tow anything (well almost) Second mate has a new Hilux V6. Both nice cars.

Tony 8)

bruce4x4
07-11-2004, 04:00 PM
G'Day Fellows, Just wonding when u catch the barge agross at Teewah can u drive south along the beach and camp at the river (noosa) me thinks :-[
Was up that way a while ago and drove along hasting street till u came to a river and it looked nice on the other side for camping and fishing.
Or am i completly bushed ;D ;D
Was thinking mybe heading that way around crissy 8).
A few beers some fish arrrrrrrrr :)

Derek Bullock
07-11-2004, 04:11 PM
Hey Bruce

No camping over there but there are a couple of caravan parks on the north shore.

This is one http://www.noosaretreat.com.au/#

Can't find a link to the other but its only two star.

Some nice camping up along the beach though towards Double Island Point.

Derek

bruce4x4
07-11-2004, 04:30 PM
Thanks Derek, Was thinking more along the lines of camping on the beach.
Nothing better than waking up to the sound of waves breaking on the beach.

Tezza985
07-11-2004, 05:24 PM
Bruce,

If you get onto the beach at Teewah, and drive north towards Rainbow, there are some spots where you can camp right on the beach south of freshwater, and the camp site at freshwater has access to the beach but a $3 camping fee applies on an honor basis.

Very quiet with a few basics like toilets and even a shower.

Just look for other people camping close to the beach is a good indication of where you can camp along that stretch of beach.

Tezza.

bruce4x4
08-11-2004, 01:33 AM
Thanks Tezza.
Why can't you camp at the south end of the beach?
Can you still drive down that way and fish if you like.

Derek Bullock
08-11-2004, 06:02 AM
Yes Bruce you can drive south but theres no camping down that way.

Derek