View Full Version : Citronella Oil

2iar
04-08-2005, 07:42 AM
Hi All,

Just back from another great week at Moreton.

There were a few sandflies around Yellow Patch, but they were definitely put off by the Dettol/Metho/Baby Oil/Citronella mix. However, for a longer trip or more people, I would be better to have brewed a bigger batch.

The Dettol/Metho/Baby Oil are easy enough to come by in larger quantities, but does anyone know anywhere I could get a bigger supply of (pure) citronella oil at a decent price. All I've ever used is the 25ml bottles at a normal pharmacy for about 6 bucks. I had a look at that torch oil stuff, but it's only got 2% citronella - I'd like to put the critters off, not burst into flames [smiley=fireman.gif]

On a related note, has anyone ever tried spraying their tents/traps with a similar mix? I'd be keen to give it a burl, but would worry about making it too flammable...

saphire
04-08-2005, 01:33 PM
Hi 2iar,
Back from another week at Moreton....Am I jelous or what. How terriffic for you.
I have a wick torch that is fulled with citronella oil. That seems to help.
I dont know if it would work but how about putting a few drops of the citronella oil onto the tent at key points.
Worth a try :-/

2iar
04-08-2005, 04:30 PM
Hi Saphire,

I was exaggerating, it was only 5 days ;D

Moreton is my favorite place on the planet, and I've travelled a bit overseas. I really should spend more time elsewhere in Oz, but whenever I get time off, it's hard for me to look past the place. I just love it!

Like I said, I had a look at the fuel that runs the torches, but it only had 2% citronella content. I took this to mean that most, if not all, of the remaining 98% was flammable material, and as such, not a great idea to be dousing the tent or tarp in.

What I'd really like is to buy a big batch of pure citronella oil and mix up both the insect-repellant mix, and concoct another brew with a much smaller ratio of metho (hopefully less combusitble) to douse the tent and tarp in. I reckon the baby oil just helps in the application, so really it would just be Dettol and CO and maybe some other oils like teatree. If this works half as well as the repellant mix worked, I reckon it'll be worth the investment and an easy way to make a week (or indeed 5 days) on Moreton even more enjoyable.

I just can't think of anywhere obvious to buy a decent quantity without spending a heap on small bottles. I've got a reasonable sized tent and quite a big tarp.

Derek Bullock
04-08-2005, 04:50 PM

Have a look at this site. They are advertising 1 litre of citronella oil for $50.10. Would be worth checking the purity of it though.

http://santostrading.com.au/bulkfood/liquid.html

Derek

2iar
04-08-2005, 05:14 PM
Cheers Derek,

That's more like the thing. If it's 100% or close it would be ideal - at least now I know it can be done, 'cos if they're doing it someone hopefully closer to home should be too...you can't get a freight cost quote online from them.

Thanks for your help mate. I'll keep looking, and let youse know how I go.

What do you think of the tent/tarp brew idea - ever heard of anyone doing similar, amd more importantly, do you think it'll do the job?

NeilD
05-08-2005, 04:02 AM
I would be pretty wary about putting anything like that on my tent. A lot of these products high in citronella are used to dissolve all sorts of stuff.
We have a few metal mossie coil holders and these burn most of the time around camp and keep insects at bay to some extent.
I have tried the oil & detol a few times but it does not seem work anywhere as good as Bushmans IMHO.

2iar
05-08-2005, 05:01 AM
Hi Horse (sounds funny that ;D),

Yeah mate that did occur to me - I've got plenty of old tarps and even a small 1 man dome tent that have nearly had it. I was going to test the mix on them before trying it on the good gear.

You're right about the Bushman's, but it would cost a fortune to get the quantity I'm talking about, and to be honest I'm not that keen on the smell or sure that it's that good for you - at least with Dettol/CO you know what you're getting and it's even good for the cuts/scrapes/bites you invariably get on a trip. It's also easier to apply as you just mix up a 500ml batch in those spray bottles used for gardening etc, and you can adjust the spray nozzle. Wouldn't imagine it (the home brew) would be that effective up North or anywhere really bad, but it helped heaps on Moreton - we had 8 of us and everyone swore it was working.

Now anyone know where I can get 100 litres of deet at the right price ? ;D ;D

NeilD
05-08-2005, 08:35 AM
Yea the Bushmans adds up over a weeks camping. The trick is to spray your clothes as well then don't shower or change for a few days ;D ;D ;D.
Don't know if its the DEET or BO working but you get hit hard when you shower or swim. [smiley=furious2.gif]

whichway
12-08-2005, 12:52 PM
We use it in kero lamps rather than kero. Keeps the bugs away, and doesn't matter so much if it leaks a bit.

Whichway

2iar
12-08-2005, 06:18 PM
So where do you get it Whichway? Or are you talking about the 2% Citronella Torch Oil?

Thanks,

whichway
16-08-2005, 09:33 AM
Just the stuff from the camping shops. I can't find the bottle.

Whichway

2iar
19-08-2005, 02:49 PM
Whichway,

Yeah I reckon that's the 2% citronella stuff. I wouldn't want to make insect repellant out of it, cover myself in it and sit too close to the campfire [smiley=fireman.gif]