View Full Version : Lake Awonga new campground
Eagle
09-07-2005, 06:14 PM
Gudday all,
This is my first time here. The Australian Fishing Chat looks great, very impressive. I heard that a new campground has been opened at Lake Awonga (near Gladstone / Benaraby) located on the western side of the lake. Can someone please confirm this new caravan park and where exactly is it? How do I get there? Is it hilly in the park or is it flat? Thank you for you replies and help.
The Eagle
Needmorerum
17-07-2005, 10:00 AM
Welcome to the site Eagle, I'm from Gladdy, but I haven't heard of a new camp site at the dam. Mind you, that doesn't mean that there isn't one. Probably pay to give them a call and see what the go is.
Corry
Derek Bullock
17-07-2005, 10:33 AM
Mark Griggs did a good write-up on this in the June edition of Bush 'N Beach.
Construction is currently underway for a bush camping ground on the western side of the lake with road access via the Mount Calliope Road. The site will include a toilet block but I am not sure what other facilities. It is due for completion by December 2005.
Derek
ratsack
28-07-2005, 08:56 AM
The area in question is on the western side where Futter creek joins the lake. The road used to be the Taragoola road until the lake all but filled, now it is a boat ramp. My understanding is when the lake fills to maximum alll of this ground will go under so I cannot imagine the water board sinking too much money into the area. Over the June LWE and Easter the area was packed with campers. Ski group has moved in there as well. Heard a story that some of the campers left their garbage there and the Water board was considering closing access again. Mus go have another look and see what is happening
Needmorerum
28-07-2005, 05:14 PM
I'm heading up to Kroombit Tops camping for the weekend on Saturday, if I have time on the way up or down, I will drop in for a look.
Corry
Corry if you go there get us some pics and GPS marks. I think it will be a bit out of your way as it is further along the Many Peaks road unless you decide to come back via the old goldfields.
Ratsak the water board would love to close it in fact they did when the dam was raised but they promised the locals access to the top of the lake and they didn't deliver so the locals took the law into their own hand and armed with bolt cutters opened the gate and the water board couldn't do anything about it so they decided to build some facilities.
My concern with it is that they will ban camping like they did to Callide dam due to the influx of long term squatters.
I intend going out there when the weather warms up and camping for a few days.
Needmorerum
29-07-2005, 05:13 PM
Yeah Bros, not sure what the itinery is but the father in law has a farm on Monto Rd, so we venture down that way a fair bit. I've been keen as mustard to get the tinny up to that end of the dam and launch it up there. It's surprising how much the dam can chop up when the wind is up. I'm just about to check Google Earth and see what it is showing.
If going in, I'll get both the photo's and the GPS marks and pass them on. I have some already of the old Santa Glenn, thought of maybe throwing the boat in up there and following it back down one day.
Corry
Needmorerum
29-07-2005, 05:18 PM
Just had a look, Google Earth shows the old Santa Glenn and that area of the dam very well. If someone knows where the new campground is, have a look and post up the waypoints for it.
Corry
Needmorerum
29-07-2005, 06:05 PM
Looking at Google Earth, it looks like the waypoint for the Taragoola Crossing is 2007'04.66" 15112'54.21".
Corry
Do you want my glasses? check the latitude it should be 24.
The campsite should be pretty close to that.
How is the mayor of Armstrong's beach going?
Needmorerum
30-07-2005, 05:20 PM
I thought I had my glasses on too, oh that's right, I don't wear them, maybe I should. Yeah it is 24.
Hmmm, the Mayor, he'll love that one, he near bloody well is too.
Corry
Awoonga
31-07-2005, 04:16 AM
Guys, There seems to be a few misconceptions about where it is...The bush camping area is about 32 kms from Calliope down the Monto road it was opened on the 1st of July ... There are toilets and fireplaces You can put your tinnie in but you need a Fwd The water level is so low there that l would be very careful lots of stumps logs ect ect....Ratsack the area that you are talking about is Futter creek the Waterboard has no intention of letting us use this area long term... in fact they want us out ....asap l have talked to our local member and she has suggested that if we wish to use it we need to put pressure on the Water board through a petition Its a fantastic area to launch you tinnie ... Sheltered from the wind and not bad fishing as well ! If you use the main boat ramp at Awoonga and only have a small tinnie you will be pushing into the wind either coming or going and it does get a bit hairy at times
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:02 PM
Went down there today after spending a night camping up at Kroombit Tops. The 'new' camp ground is no where near new. For those that know it, it is the old Santa Glenn crossing.
All they have done, is used the road that went in to where all the machinery was stored while the road was being constructed. The camp ground is up on the hill behind the crossing where a homestead used to be.
We also went down Taragoola Road from the Monto Rd side, and the homestead that was a couple of kays in from the road has been torn down, and the road goes up to the railway crossing, only a couple of kay more, and has been fenced off. There are three fences in a matter of 20m.
Launching a boat from the old Santa Glenn crossing is possible, but as Awoonga said, you would need a 4WD to do it. There was a tinny that had been launched straight down from the camp ground into an inlet which could be done with a normal car, but you would want to use caution. I don't think that I would reccomend this.
There are a couple of other places that would be spot on for launching tinny's that we seen, but you have to go down there and have a look around to find them.
We found another 'camping ground' while we were there which is 200% better then the 'Bush Camp' site, and wouldn't get so popular on weekends, and the water is a bit more accessible.
I've got to download Irfanview again, then I'll put some pics up.
Corry
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:13 PM
The Camping Ground
24 13.02s 151 14.66e
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:15 PM
The Camp Ground Dunny
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:16 PM
'Old Santa Glenn'. This looks better in the photo than it actually is. The edge is alot of lillys and weed, and muddy. Tracks there show that a few boats have been launched here.
24 13.60s 151 15.39e
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:17 PM
Oh yeah, and having a play while we were there.
Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:18 PM
A fenced off Taragoola Road.
Thanks Corry good photo's. I am still a bit confused as the site you gave would not be the site the local wanted to get access to the dam. I think the fence the locals cut might have been the Futter creek access.
At least I know where to go now.
Awoonga
02-08-2005, 01:06 PM
Tarragoola rd from the Monto rd side shouldnt be closed off...but l do know who did it.. "Just put a couple of strands to keep my cattle in "was his reply Just lift the wire and go through... yea right...About the house that used to be there.. it was removed to the top of the hill to the left overlooking the dam ....nice view......
bay_firey
02-08-2005, 05:08 PM
So Awoonga
Is either of those spots, Tarragoola Rd or Santa Glenn the area where you directed me when we came down in April. Sheesh that was a long time ago when you stop and think about it
Needmorerum
02-08-2005, 07:06 PM
Bros, the site the locals were cutting the chain on, I think would have been the northern gate on the old road where the new road starts to make it's way inland. I would want to have access to this area also. The Bush Camp is located between the northern and southern access along the old road. If this makes sense.
Awoonga, when he said 'just put a couple of strands to keep my cattle in' he did this 3 times. Do you know if Taragoola Road is still open from the Calliope side. I am hoping to get out there this weekend to have a look.
Am looking forward to getting the tinny down there soon to have a poke around, beats running all the way up from the main ramp.
Corry
Awoonga
03-08-2005, 05:11 AM
Guys, First off we need a meeting of all that are interested in using the Futter Creek side of the Dam... We are going to lose it if we do nothing....Mark where you went was back about 4 ks from the new camp site... Not much chance getting your boat in at the new site..you can still put your boat in that same spot but you have to be careful...You know what happened last time pm me if you need info on the futter creek ramp! Cory yes its open but the water level is going down quick... the only safe place is were the road goes into the river
bay_firey
04-08-2005, 02:12 PM
I remeber only too well :o :o >:(
Awoonga
04-08-2005, 03:02 PM
Just returned from fishing Wiroma dam ... l think that is how you spell it ... Called in at the new camp ground 8 campers there They think its the best thing since sliced bread....
Needmorerum
05-08-2005, 05:10 PM
Went for a run into the Calliope side of Taragoola. What a paradise. This is one that is worth keeping a secret. Although by the looks of the amount of camp grounds that people have made there, it's far from secret.
Reckon it could be worth a sleep over some time.
Corry
Needmorerum
05-08-2005, 05:13 PM
One of the many Camping Areas
Needmorerum
05-08-2005, 05:16 PM
The Road Crossing, and not visible in the photo, but one of the best boat ramps I've seen for a while.
dugong
28-08-2005, 08:32 PM
september B&B mag has a write up on lake awoonga's new boynedale bush camping ground
Needmorerum
29-08-2005, 10:21 PM
Yep, so hopefully everyone will go there and leave the good spots to us.
Corry
dazza
30-08-2005, 11:14 AM
Hi Corry,
how's things. some little voice in the back of my head is saying awoonga in november or december, what are you up to, would be good to catch up for a couple of days "fishing" ;) ;)
dazza
CQ_Fisher
30-08-2005, 02:06 PM
Hey Dazza,
I just found this post today. Looks like Corry's been holding out on me, I didnt even know these places existed and ive been in Gladdy for best part of 7 years now. Listen to that voice in your head, it knows what its talking about. A trip out that way later in the year sounds like a top idea. I'll catch up with Corry and see what he reckons. Keep in touch.
JD
Needmorerum
30-08-2005, 08:22 PM
Dazza, JD, anyone else who is interested. I'm all for a run out around the back end of Awoonga.
Weekend of the 12th and 19th November is out for me, as is the weekend of the 3rd of December. Any other time is perfect.
Doesn't leave much I know, still leaves the weekends of the 29th Oct, 5th, 26th November, 10th, 17th December.
Leave it up for conversation.
Corry
Hi fellas, If you wouldn't mind a tag-along from Rocky, I've liked the idea of fishing Awoonga for a while now, just never had the opportunity to spend any time there.
Can't say I'm a definite but I wouldn't mind tagging along with a mate.
Got my own 4WD and boat, self sufficient camping. Looks like a great place
CQ_Fisher
09-09-2005, 01:58 PM
Hey Paul,
Ive lived in Gladstone for about 7 years now and really have never given Awoonga much of a try. I'm gonna start checking it out and later in the year see if anyone is interested in a mini CQ Meet & Greet. Keep your eyes out for a post.
JD
Here's a little map that some people might find useful I've been trying to find out how to get there and where the roads are and this is the best I've found so far without going to a Topo map of the area.
Needmorerum
16-09-2005, 08:26 PM
Google Maps show the area quite well. If you punch in
24 03'57.28s 151 17'30.42e
it will show you the boat ramp.
From here you can scroll around and have a look.
Corry
manangatang
08-12-2005, 10:17 AM
hi ,i hope to get up there soon ,maybe next week ,can someone please give imfo on these camping spot photo,s looks magic ,like what rd to take, how far to travel down it ,can these spots be seen from rd or do you have to find em,I only have punt with 5 hp looks calm area ,can i put in from camp,also this looks like a good area to fish poppers at night from banks has anyone been up to that ,one more question is this public land or private ,is it ok to camp there WITHOUT ANY HASSTLES ?i would be greatful for any help ,cheers mick.
Needmorerum
08-12-2005, 10:20 PM
The Taragoola area of the Dam has now been closed off. Too much of a good thing. I contacted the Gladstone Area Water Board and the reason behind it is 'liability'. They would like to leave it open, but the access road crosses the Quarry Haul Road and this is to dangerous for tourists.
They did say that people are welcome to camp at the Boynedale Bush Camping area, which to get to it is quite simple.
Go straight through Calliope, and head out towards Biloela. Turn left at the Monto Rd intersection and travel down around 12k. There is a sign on the left at the turn off to the camping area. A small tinny can be launched here is you wish.
When travelling out, as you cross the railway line, start looking for the turnoff about another kilometre up the road. I had some piccies somewhere but can't find them. The area isn't as nice as the Taragoola area, but you can still access the water and camp there without getting stung.
Corry
manangatang
09-12-2005, 07:53 PM
thanks corry for your imfo,shame about that taragoola area,cheers mick.