View Full Version : Awoonga Caravan Park

Cruize
03-10-2006, 03:45 PM
I'm going to Awoonga and staying at the caravan park in a cabin and need some advise.

Is there any food around or should I take my own supplies?
Is there any petrol supply?
Is there any beer supply?

CQ_Fisher
03-10-2006, 03:54 PM
there is a cafe at the dam (not sure of operating hours)
there is a servo back out on the highway a few km's south of Awoonga turnoff, they have a good feed too (hours of operation 5am-10am)
closest hotel/bottleshop would be Tannum Sands I guess

JD

Cruize
04-10-2006, 04:23 PM
Mate did you stay there?
If so did you take your own grub or just ate Barra, red claw and hambergers?

CQ_Fisher
04-10-2006, 05:07 PM
no mate, havnt stayed there, I'm a local. Depending on who you talk to you get varried comments on eating the barra, some say its sh#thouse on the plate and others say its OK. I personally have not eaten a freshwater barra, so cant really comment. Whenever i go camping i simply live on beer, steak, snags, bread & sauce. Enjoy Awoonga

JD

Cruize
05-10-2006, 07:19 AM
Ha - menu sounds good to.

Local at Awoonga - Have you got Ausfish stickers on your boat?

CQ_Fisher
05-10-2006, 11:48 AM
Yea mate, I got ausfish stickers on the boat. Havnt fished awoonga for about 12 months, but now its starting to warm up I'll be heading there a bit more regularly

Cruize
05-10-2006, 11:51 AM
Cool - I'll be there in Nov - so if your on the lake and see me - I'd be stoked if you potted over and said good'a

Bronson
08-10-2006, 10:09 PM
hey all

Last summer we booked a lake awoonga caravn park for november this year and we just recintly got a call saying that they are still going to be building the new cabins there. so where still going up there but not staying on the lake.

there is a petrol station about a 10 minute drive from the lake if you'r heading up from the south you should see the petrol station it is right next to willowgrove on the river caravan park you really cant miss it.

im going up for 5 nights on the 1st 2nd 3rd 4th and the 5th of november fishing at night on the full moon. should be good. hopeing to goin the meter+ club........?

bronson

barradise
12-10-2006, 09:12 PM
Hey Cruize,

Are you sure that you have a booking at the Caravan Park, for that is what many others on this site also thought, to find out differently when they arrived.
Checkout the many comments made about the Awoonga caravan park, have a back up plan is my suggestion, as a local.

John.