View Full Version : Dry ice for eskys

woodchopper
16-11-2006, 07:34 PM
Does anyone know how long dry ice will last in a good esky? I've got a mate who reckons it can last up to 5 days if the esky is buried when not in use. I'm not sure if he was bs-ing but if he wasn't where can i get some?

Beno

a_big_red_1
16-11-2006, 07:56 PM
hi Beno, we have been useing dried ice mixed with home made ice for a number of years now
the esky we have is a 120l evacool and also have a wet towel on the ice. has lasted up to 8 days

just remember with ice ( home made ) the older it is the tighter the crystals form which makes a harder ice

2DKnBJ
16-11-2006, 10:16 PM
Dry ice works well if you look after it properly.
Keep it away from the air.Wrap in a towel and keepthe items you need frozen packed tightly around the ice.
Ask the supplier how to care for it and you shouldn't have a prob

Cheers Dazza

mako_5.2
17-11-2006, 03:12 AM
You need to buy the right size block for the length of stay . #You cannot make a 3 day block last much longer than intended. #Ring the iceworks and they will set you straight

bungie
17-11-2006, 06:34 AM
Place your dry ice in the centre 1/3 of your esky wrapped in the paper they sell it in, place "wet" ice in the 1/3 left either side of the dry ice, place a thin lay of cardboard (cereal box) over that. Place all items to keep or become frozen on that level. Place a thicker layer of cardboard over that and fill with the rest of your goodies, no beer or drinks. When you have everything in it you want, get a load of tea towels and fill all the gaps between the food, and between the food and the lid, Leave no "empty" spaces. Then only open the esky when it is needed, and replace the towels to take up the space again. Cold drinks/beer in an esky of its own so you don't open this one every ten minuets. A half size block (5kg ?) will last me 5 days, and the "wet" ice around it is still frozen, no sloppy mush of veggies and meat in the bottom of the esky :)

griz066
17-11-2006, 07:41 AM
I have never used dry ice but wet ice in blocks last 4 days in my tropical box. they were still intact when we got home probably would last longer but 4 days is the longest period we have gone away without the caravan. So 5 days seems possible for the right sized block of dry ice, the jury is still out on burying it though.

17-11-2006, 09:12 AM
Bury the esky???? Waaaaaaaaaaaaay to much effort to get beers then. ;D ;D ;D Try the home made ice option though it lasts heaps longer than the servo stuff.

Cheers and beers

timor_2
17-11-2006, 02:08 PM
Yeah mate woodchopper dry ice fantastic for camping it will last up to 8 days pending how much you open and close the esky. it normally comes in a 5kg block which last 2-3 days or a 10kg up to 5 days or i think a 20kg block last 8 days once you start taking things out of the esky fill the gaps up with like old towels so it takes up the space in the esky. and make sure you keep stuff like (eggs, cheese and Tomatoes) away as it absorbs the c02 gas off the ice. Pending where you are you can get it from Rocklea at Boc gases or some selected tackle shops can get i know 1 at Redbank you can order it from but you must give them some notice. I hope this helps

marlinqld
17-11-2006, 02:26 PM
Arctic Ice redland bay Rd capalaba if youre bayside. Stock it, but sometimes ring first to check stock levels

5kg block $22.50..Is that right price or dear?

bungie
17-11-2006, 03:05 PM
BOC at Rocklea charge just over $30 5kg.
I buy from Deshon st at the gabba $25ish
So $22.50 is good price

woodchopper
18-11-2006, 06:34 PM
Cheers guys that info has been a great help. :)

Beno

19-11-2006, 09:31 AM
I use it at Flinders in a Alloy custom built esky (mini cold room - 3 inch sides). I use a 5 day block which is about 20kg or so. Wrap it and stick it on the end that you want food frozen cause it will freeze whats very near it. I put the home frozen stuff near it and it keeps frozen. Just make sure that you vent the car when travelling and try to keep your fruit out of the esky cause even with a 'seal' most containers let the gas in and it makes the fruit taste like a sherbert.

If you put in a block of normal ice and some pieces (party) the whole thing will last a good 5 days even in hot conditions and regular access.

Good luck

PS. Artic in Capalaba seems the cheapest in the area from my experience nad allows me to pick one up on the way through to the barge.

Brett1907
20-11-2006, 11:48 AM
I use 3ltr juice bottles as they are stronger than milk bottles for home made ice.

Poor some alt in the bottle then fill to near the top (remember water swells as it freezes). Since salt water freezes at a lower temperature than fresh it will also take longer. Prepare the ice about a week before you go if you can. A couple of these at the bottom of the esky will last about 4 days if you only open when needed.

Seahorse
20-11-2006, 06:50 PM
i got 120 lit evakool. spread 3 bags party ice on bottom. put 7 day block dry ice on top wrappen up how u get it. important thing is to keep esky full. dont have vacant space. i had other esky with milk bottles in it and just kept swapping over for the drinks esky. i can guarentee that after 7 days the party ice on the bottom will still be frozen.

bootyinblue
17-12-2006, 09:31 PM
Nice method I use is to buy the blocks of wet ice from servo or bait shop, take them home and put them in your freezer for a week or so. The freezers they keep the ice in run just under 0c (economical) but your domestic freezer is -18c. I have found that this keeps the average block usable for twice as long.