View Full Version : tropical ice boxes

rowdycowdy
13-12-2006, 07:38 PM
howdy

I have been checking out ice boxes and for value for money the tropical ice box is the go

any thoughts.

I am located in Vic and there is only one place I know of which is a major car parts retailer for $199 52ltr

rowdy

13-12-2006, 08:12 PM
tropical are trick, but i'd like to see it a little cheaper than that, i think i paid 130, for my 52lt. transport to vic, is probably the killer, if they are a major chain try and price beat them, most big companys offer 100% under advertised. try and get an add from up here, and hit em with that. ya never know, ya might be lucky, and score it a lot cheaper.

13-12-2006, 08:13 PM
oops,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

10%

beaross
14-12-2006, 08:51 PM
Rowdy, couldn't be happier with mine, been on plenty of camping trips and seems to hold ice a fair bit longer than several other more expensive brands ownd by my mates.

gunnabuild1
14-12-2006, 10:20 PM
Seen some similiar styles on e-bay,good price.
Has anyone on here bought one?
Let us know how you found it.
Just a thought.

marlinqld
15-12-2006, 05:08 AM
I just bought one on ebay from Big Chilli Coolers

110 litres for $163.50. Good quality, picked it up from nerang on the Gold Coast.

Appears just as good as other brands, and a helluva lot cheaper.

Check him out on ebay.

cuzzamundi
15-12-2006, 05:16 PM
mate you should be able to get a decent 52l for less than that! we paid 320 bucks for our 200litre, so talk em down or keep looking, especially after chrissy.

cuzza

griz066
16-12-2006, 10:50 AM
I agree I paid just under $300 for the 200l number last xmas talked him down quite a bit. Repc@ usually stock them also. They are great boxes mine keeps block ice for 4 days no problem at all.
Good luck

BGG
17-12-2006, 07:45 AM
My Tropical would have to be the toughest and best ice box I have ever owned. Absolutely bullet proof and it keeps ice for days and days.

bootyinblue
17-12-2006, 11:14 AM
Just looked at latest prices for Tropical Boxes in Amart ######### catalog. 52L $177 up to 105L for $290. So the original post is not too far off the mark.

LIPPA - Where did you get yours from?

MARLIN MIKE - Have you used your Big Chilli yet, whats it perform like?

rowdycowdy
17-12-2006, 08:07 PM
now the proud owner of one 52ltr tropical ice box

rowdy

bootyinblue
17-12-2006, 09:10 PM
And the final price Rowdy?

rayken1938
18-12-2006, 03:06 PM
I have 82 litre tropical purchased from northside marine on special for just over $200 and a techni ice 80 l purchased on ebay for $83 delivered to brisbane.
The techni ice also included 8 sheets of techni ice.
The techni ice keeps ice about half a day longer than the tropical. I put this down to the colour of the techni ice which is white and the tropical is red.
The tropical is easier to lift because it has handles whilst the techni ice has a lip under the lid. The techni ice is easier to move as it has inbuilt sliding surface on the bottom whilst the tropical has rubber pads.
They both seal well and are antproof and easy to clean and drain.
The techni ice shows the dirt and scratches as its white.
:-/
Ray
:exclamation

budge
18-12-2006, 08:09 PM
Im in the same boat at the moment im heading towards tropical but thinking i might just buy the techni ice and buy the same handles off the evacool/tropical style to attach on to it.

sooty
18-12-2006, 08:36 PM
Have had a 52 litreTropical for about 5 yrs and can not fault it. It gets thrown in the back of the ute, used for a seat, table, ladder,step or whatever when camping . Keeps ice pretty well we get 4 days camping out of it along with a Chescold 3 way on gas for food and is made to take the knocks and everyday abuse. Not like the Glass Ones which may hold a bit longer but cant stand any rough treatment. Had a problem when first purchased, two of the rubber feet came off as they had been overtightened but all 4 feet were replaced no problem by supplier Kev

rayken1938
19-12-2006, 06:26 AM
:-/
I took the rubber feet off my tropical as they always used to catch when sliding full ice box over gunnel of my boat. Now much easier to load and move around. Dont have problem with it moving around as carpet seems to grip it ok.
Ray

bootyinblue
20-12-2006, 12:55 PM
Got yourself a bargain there Rayken with the Techni Ice. I have been bidding on 80ltr ones from Big Chilli and Unbelievablycool and they have been going around the $135 -$145 mark.

rayken1938
20-12-2006, 07:45 PM
Got it in june when the demand was low. Its just a matter of waiting and bidding. It took me about 3 weeks to score. There was a guy at Scarborough flogging them in the weekend shopper a while back.
Ray