View Full Version : Boat Valuation Today?

gazza2006au
19-10-2022, 03:08 AM
Is there any where in western sydney today i can drop my boat into for a insurance valuation?

Is it possibly to just insure my trailer?

Going to get a pink slip for the trailer today so thought while i have her out i should start the insurance process as i am pretty nervous using any boat ramp other than port botany

19-10-2022, 11:04 AM
Not too sure about insurance valuation, but, my boat and trailer are covered by my car insurance, when it's connected to the car (as long as the trailer is registered) but when not connected, it needs it's own insurance, kind of weird hey? So, in a kind of way, if the trailer was stolen at the ramp (very rare down here) then the car insurance should be the one to claim, but at home, boat insurance covers it.

Dignity
19-10-2022, 02:10 PM
Is there any where in western sydney today i can drop my boat into for a insurance valuation?

Is it possibly to just insure my trailer?

Going to get a pink slip for the trailer today so thought while i have her out i should start the insurance process as i am pretty nervous using any boat ramp other than port botany

Check with local boat yards, cost of several hundred $ to a lot more depending on your insurer and their requirements. Some want basic details and that the boat won't sink, others want a lot more including compression tests on the motor.

gazza2006au
20-10-2022, 03:53 AM
Thanks Noel i just cant afford another trailer atm if it gets knocked off i found one company that quoted $655 p/a but said it will need to be inspected before agreeing

gazza2006au
20-10-2022, 03:54 AM
Thanks Digs i never knew they goto that kind of length just to insure a boat

gazza2006au
20-10-2022, 01:39 PM
My cousin works on the harbour and sent me a pic of all the 1 meter king fish busting up so i looked up the closes ramp which was bayview park than looked at pictures and seen this at the boat ramp

Sydney for u, just cant win

20-10-2022, 01:43 PM
My cousin works on the harbour and sent me a pic of all the 1 meter king fish busting up so i looked up the closes ramp which was bayview park than looked at pictures and seen this at the boat ramp

What am I missing..?

20-10-2022, 02:59 PM

I reckon you see a sign like that everywhere you go .......

Mate just get a good locking device for your trailer ...... it's that simple (99.9% safe)- if that 0.1% someone turns up with an angle grinder , then nothing will stop a thief like that.

gazza2006au
20-10-2022, 09:07 PM
I had a quote pending inspection for 17k but i may be under pricing the rig after looking at trailers online it would cost 10k just to replace my trailer like for like

Thought about applying the hand brake and having two ball valve taps each side of the trailer to lock the brakes while the car is parked so it cant be towed away criminals are pretty dumb but if they had a thought they could cut the brake hose going to the calipers

Also planning to use a itag hidden but not sure if they are submersible

21-10-2022, 06:12 AM
I had a quote pending inspection for 17k but i may be under pricing the rig after looking at trailers online it would cost 10k just to replace my trailer like for like

Thought about applying the hand brake and having two ball valve taps each side of the trailer to lock the brakes while the car is parked so it cant be towed away criminals are pretty dumb but if they had a thought they could cut the brake hose going to the calipers

Far out ....... just keep the boat in the back yard & be done with it . You're just as likely to have your car stolen as a home made trailer.

Cobbo1
21-10-2022, 08:57 AM

Is that 10k trailer the one you were going to build for under $3k?

stevej
21-10-2022, 01:33 PM
Lol

More likely to be knocked off from home then a ramp
wheel clamp and shackle clamp and be done with it, then go get all those 1m kingies your mate said are there

there are signs at any metropolitan and many other boat ramps for people with no commonsense making it easy for thieves

Cobbo1
21-10-2022, 02:14 PM
Just pick ramps that have other trailers to choose from in the carpark at the time, no one is taking your trailer then ;D

chris69
21-10-2022, 06:10 PM
Just let one tyre down take a 12v air pump with you no one will wont to steal a trailer with a flat tyre if your worried about the trailer getting stolen or back your trailer in and make it harder. .

21-10-2022, 06:26 PM
or just run a chain and padlock from your leg to the trailer in your backyard and sit in your loungeroom at home and watch people catching 1m Kingies on youtube..;)...I find thats the best way to avoid worrying about trailer theft...:P

Dignity
21-10-2022, 07:02 PM

So what has changed since the last time you went fishing?

gazza2006au
22-10-2022, 09:16 AM
So what has changed since the last time you went fishing?

Was a bit nervous leaving the trailer in the carpark i was able to get a first parking spot that had a fence on one side and another car on the other side

The trailer will be worthless to a thief b7t u can't tell a thief that they just see it as an expensive trailer, anyone knocking it off wont be able to register it but i will be 5k out of pocket and have no way of getting the boat home

Random people at the boat ramp have commented "thats a really nice trailer"

stevej
22-10-2022, 09:46 AM
your all over facebook how many trailer theft reports have you seen on the fishing pages ?

stuff all is the answer and its normally parsley bay at brooklyn or kyeemagh at botany on overnight trips

listen to what people are saying and just get a wheel clamp and decent shackle lock

a thief is not going to take a random home made trailer that stands out like dog testicles over something that looks more common and is easier to sell.
they go shopping for specific models to match the vin plate and model description on the rego papers they have already to replace a rusty shitter.
Its either to rebirth a rusty ebay special to get good money or dishonest fishos who cant afford to replace their own trailers.

and thats not me taking the piss out of your trailer btw

bluefin59
24-10-2022, 12:43 PM
I’d think that insuring a home made trailer that isn’t built by someone with qualifications isn’t going to happen , at least not for 10k if it only cost 5 k to build . Once again your kidding yourself

Dignity
24-10-2022, 02:32 PM
I’d think that insuring a home made trailer that isn’t built by someone with qualifications isn’t going to happen , at least not for 10k if it only cost 5 k to build . Once again your kidding yourself

Wasn't it supposed to be done for under $3k?

bluefin59
24-10-2022, 05:00 PM
Wasn't it supposed to be done for under $3k?

That’s what he quoted initially but a couple of posts up he said it cost him 5k ,problem is you can’t insure for more than what it’s worth it’s fraud which suits this build . Matt

24-10-2022, 06:02 PM
,problem is you can’t insure for more than what it’s worth it’s fraud which suits this build . Matt

Yeah agreed you have to admit its a con job from Gazza to even expect insurance to cover this atrocity..

Seriously if its a project to learn from and enjoy the benefits of having a boat then its fine but from what Gaz has shown throughout is that he tries to turn what most people call junk into something usable..the motor that was junked and came in pieces that he has spent a few hundred on and at least got going for the time being and a hull that he has had a couple of cracks at doing a transom on and used a grinder on the outer gelcoat and the wiring, batteries and fitout will be cheap and disposable ....as an asset its worthless but as a boat to keep him occupied with a trip or 2 each year then its fine...to try and onsell to some poor sucker that beleived Gazza's BS and didnt know any better would be a crime or fraud as Bluefin mentions...

Seriously just compare it to the build that giddyup has been posting....that actually has value and will be genuinely insurable and an actual asset that could be confidently and morally onsold if he wanted to..

Nothing personal but as I have mentioned before..gazza just get it wired and safe enough, join the VMR and just go fishing...

bluefin59
24-10-2022, 06:19 PM
Yeah agreed you have to admit its a con job from Gazza to even expect insurance to cover this atrocity..

Seriously if its a project to learn from and enjoy the benefits of having a boat then its fine but from what Gaz has shown throughout is that he tries to turn what most people call junk into something usable..the motor that was junked and came in pieces that he has spent a few hundred on and at least got going for the time being and a hull that he has had a couple of cracks at doing a transom on and used a grinder on the outer gelcoat and the wiring, batteries and fitout will be cheap and disposable ....as an asset its worthless but as a boat to keep him occupied with a trip or 2 each year then its fine...to try and onsell to some poor sucker that beleived Gazza's BS and didnt know any better would be a crime or fraud as Bluefin mentions...

Seriously just compare it to the build that giddyup has been posting....that actually has value and will be genuinely insurable and an actual asset that could be confidently and morally onsold if he wanted to..

Nothing personal but as I have mentioned before..gazza just get it wired and safe enough, join the VMR and just go fishing...

https://media3.giphy.com/media/3oEhmRNl1aO7UKcVws/giphy.gif