View Full Version : About to order Stabicraft 2250 Ultra Centrecab. Talk me out?
Islander77
14-12-2021, 08:48 AM
Love the design (I know I know - we are all different).
Love the proper walk-around practicality this boat offers.
Love what I see in Stabicraft promo videos.
Love the fact that this boat sells around the globe, from Europe to Alaska, and people love it there (judging by multiple overseas fishing forums and Facebook groups)
Don’t love the price, it costs literally fortune and I don’t really understand why. I guess it’s a Covid tax and they charge this much because they can…
But then I look at competition, and the competition costs fortune as well, so I keep coming back to Stabi.
I had my heart on Extreme of similar size, but like this Stabi a fair bit more.
Is there anything else out there? What am I missing? Would you get one if you had the budget, or something else?
I’m kind of made my mind by 95% (subject to on-water test soon) but decided to ask anyway - maybe I will read something here that will change my mind.
Cheers :)
blacklab
14-12-2021, 08:54 AM
pppppppppppppppp
Ducksnutz
14-12-2021, 09:03 AM
Top of my list for a production plate boat. Love em!
14-12-2021, 09:36 AM
Thought your name seemed familiar..
A quick search revealed that I reccomended the Stabi 2250 to you 2.5 yrs back when you were looking at Cruisecrafts and extremes..
you're welcome...;D;D
Seriously though it would be at the top of my list in Tassie waters..
Looking forward to a report when you get her on the water..
14-12-2021, 09:37 AM
double post
Islander77
14-12-2021, 09:56 AM
Thought your name seemed familiar..
A quick search revealed that I reccomended the Stabi 2250 to you 2.5 yrs back when you were looking at Cruisecrafts and extremes..
Yep you planted a seed into my brain back then :)
I actually was about to buy that Extreme but the Covid hit and mixed all my cards. But glad that I waited!
thanks again!!!
14-12-2021, 12:15 PM
Is this the boat and price range we are talking about?
https://www.boatsales.com.au/boats/details/2022-stabicraft-2250-ultra-centrecab/OAG-AD-20172768/?Cr=0
Ducksnutz
14-12-2021, 12:49 PM
https://www.boatsales.com.au/boats/details/2022-stabicraft-2250-ultra-centrecab/OAG-AD-20172768/?Cr=0
Strewth! Never realised that the price of them jumped that much! Nice boat but wow!
Islander77
14-12-2021, 01:32 PM
Yes this is the boat. The price starts from roughly $160k and goes a bit into 200k’ish territory.
Very expensive, agree! BUT, find me a much cheaper alternative of same size/weight/quality category ~7m? I couldn’t. All boats went up in price significantly unfortunately.
The CruiseCraft 635HT I was looking at was $120k 2 years ago, Today it’s $170k, and it’s a much smaller boat. The true 7m CruiseCraft starts at $210k+
And the same story goes for pretty much every brand.
Extremes go for a bit less $$, but we are talking about max 10% difference, lots of money still, but not critical difference, considering that both are well into mid 100k territory.
So yes, even now when I look at the above Stabi ad, I ask myself WTF, how the pile of Aluminium /or Fiberglass can cost as much as half of the house? But then I look around and realise there is nothing much cheaper… this is a new world we are living in…
14-12-2021, 01:33 PM
Strewth! Never realised that the price of them jumped that much! Nice boat but wow!
Try getting a build quote for any decked out 7m platey with aluminium trailer right now....the price seemed to have jumped 50K in the past year..
gazza2006au
14-12-2021, 02:00 PM
Demand demand demand... when theres a demand the price goes up due to people "wanting" if people are willing to pay and wait the manufacturer just sees dollar signs
If the manufacturer seen more sales they will never drop the price as it will put more demand on there business so only way to level out is put the price up
Quiet easy to say why dont they double there manufacturing factory but that only doubles the demand once there less waiting
Ducksnutz
14-12-2021, 02:12 PM
Try getting a build quote for any decked out 7m platey with aluminium trailer right now....the price seemed to have jumped 50K in the past year..
You can tell I’m out of touch with today’s price’s…..$200K plus for a trailer boat? Looks like mine just became my “forever” boat……
14-12-2021, 02:19 PM
I saw a fully optioned new 2400 Kevlacat for that price this week somewhere. I know its not the same category but a hell of a lot more boat for sea conditions for the same money and far better resale value.
gazza2006au
14-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Would rather buy this F233 for 184k
Volvo
14-12-2021, 04:27 PM
Soooo , whats the wait time for a build ??..
14-12-2021, 04:59 PM
You can tell I’m out of touch with today’s price’s…..$200K plus for a trailer boat? Looks like mine just became my “forever” boat……
Lol...same with mine...we are happy with what we got and when we got it..
These days people dont seem to skimp on electronics and fitout anymore either, mate...that all starts adding up big time as well plus the labour to install all the fancy gear..
scottar
14-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Not the only one. Even when I was running the numbers on hardtopping the Victory a couple of years back it made a lot of financial sense rather than trading up. Covid just made it more so. Raw material prices for ally and stainless and even resin have sky rocketed. Bulk freight too. I have heard on the grapevine that importing particular cheap gear is no longer viable as once freight costs get factored in, no one is going to pay the price required to make a dollar.
The Stabi - you will love it. I ran one of their early 7 metre boats for a trip when a mate worked for a dealer. Horrible conditions and it just ate it up.
blacklab
14-12-2021, 05:39 PM
pppppppppppppppppp
Islander77
14-12-2021, 06:14 PM
Would rather buy this F233 for 184k
2x300hp will be very very thirsty. Looking at rising fuel prices I don’t think I can justify budget for that!
My personal problem with all half-cabs is that you only get half of useful boat. The other half is occupied by ‘useless’ cab. I say useless because from personal experience it’s only good for storing safety and fishing gear and inconvenient for anything else :)
I like the idea of wide walk around Centrecab, as I believe it will provide heaps more practicality. Less creature comfort - yes, but I decided for myself that for comfort I will stay at home in a warm and cosy bed, but when I’m fishing, I want 100% dedicated fishability, if that makes sense. This is also a reason why I decided to step back from fiberglass to plate Ali. I’m sick of stressing around rocks, boat ramps, close to beach with rocky bottom etc. just want more practicality in every way I guess :)
Islander77
14-12-2021, 06:18 PM
Soooo , whats the wait time for a build ??..
around 8-9 month from order to delivery, however there is one or two unallocated boats coming in, so if that is right spec/price I might get one much sooner.
The other issue is the outboard however. I’ve heard that it’s a good 6 months wait if you want Yamaha (closest service centre to where I live, so I want to stay with Yammie), so that’s another issue.
blacklab
14-12-2021, 06:26 PM
ppppppppppppppppppppp
gazza2006au
14-12-2021, 07:07 PM
2x300hp will be very very thirsty. Looking at rising fuel prices I don’t think I can justify budget for that!
My personal problem with all half-cabs is that you only get half of useful boat. The other half is occupied by ‘useless’ cab. I say useless because from personal experience it’s only good for storing safety and fishing gear and inconvenient for anything else :)
I like the idea of wide walk around Centrecab, as I believe it will provide heaps more practicality. Less creature comfort - yes, but I decided for myself that for comfort I will stay at home in a warm and cosy bed, but when I’m fishing, I want 100% dedicated fishability, if that makes sense. This is also a reason why I decided to step back from fiberglass to plate Ali. I’m sick of stressing around rocks, boat ramps, close to beach with rocky bottom etc. just want more practicality in every way I guess :)
I hear you i too went for a center console and the ride is unbelievably comfy standing up just a bit eary if your hit side on and go overboard when your cruising along lol
The cabin boats are pretty good don't discount them i have had some early fishing trip where my mates have still fished on while i've slept inside the cabin playing music for 6 hours on multiple fishing trips the cabin can double as protection in big seas as the bow and cabin take the full force of big oceans
14-12-2021, 08:29 PM
I hear you i too went for a center console and the ride is unbelievably comfy standing up just a bit eary if your hit side on and go overboard when your cruising along lol
The cabin boats are pretty good don't discount them i have had some early fishing trip where my mates have still fished on while i've slept inside the cabin playing music for 6 hours on multiple fishing trips the cabin can double as protection in big seas as the bow and cabin take the full force of big oceans
As Dignity just stated sometimes it seems that you only read the first 3 words of a post......
Maybe you should take a look at the boat in question so you know what you are actually talking about....
Its a Centre Cabin NOT a screwed on centre console like yours....it has the same sized bunk space as a half cab would and the walkaround side decks only really impact on some cabin airspace/headroom...
This is the boat just in case you are interested..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhtsWWsg5bI
14-12-2021, 09:08 PM
For price comparison here is a 10 year old Riptide with basic electronics asking 130K...
Because the prices of new boats and motors and electronics are all going through the roof 2nd hand boat prices rise accordingly..
Fancy trying to buy a boat at the moment...:o
Also consider that with a new build if your boat takes a a year or so to get built the price you paid the deposit on will almost certainly rise during that waiting and build period....been hearing some stories of final price going up by almost 10% due to extra costs incurred by rising prices of raw materials, electronics,fitout items and motors..
shakey55
15-12-2021, 05:21 AM
Islander77, not trying to bag Stabicraft,
I know absolutely nothing about Stabicraft, but coincidentally, yesterday I was reading THT (The Hull Truth) about a bloke getting a boat built in china an then Stabicraft got mentioned (see screenshot below) or if you like you can read the entire article and see for yourself
https://www.thehulltruth.com/search.php?searchid=31945443
Shakey - If only I lived near the coast
billfisher
15-12-2021, 05:53 AM
Handy on bars too keeping water out. Most aren't half cabs either but cuddy cabs or runabouts.
billfisher
15-12-2021, 05:57 AM
Half cabs aren't that common - most are cuddys or runabouts. They protect you from the weather and add to safety on bars and in rough seas. The rear section is the business end for offshore fishing anyway. With centre cabs you get a smaller cab and less protection for a walkway you don't really need (a lot of them I would want to go out on in rough seas).
As Dignity just stated sometimes it seems that you only read the first 3 words of a post......
Maybe you should take a look at the boat in question so you know what you are actually talking about....
Its a Centre Cabin NOT a screwed on centre console like yours....it has the same sized bunk space as a half cab would and the walkaround side decks only really impact on some cabin airspace/headroom...
This is the boat just in case you are interested..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhtsWWsg5bI
I was really impressed with the one that I climbed over - very well laid out & some nice touches ...... I'd certainly consider one .
I've never been a fan of cabin boats - but a walk around configuration is something else .
How noisy will those hatches be during a choppy sea? See above video at around 4.0. min.
Islander77
15-12-2021, 08:24 AM
Islander77, not trying to bag Stabicraft,
I know absolutely nothing about Stabicraft, but coincidentally, yesterday I was reading THT (The Hull Truth) about a bloke getting a boat built in china an then Stabicraft got mentioned (see screenshot below) or if you like you can read the entire article and see for yourself
https://www.thehulltruth.com/search.php?searchid=31945443
Thanks, I’ve read through the whole topic. My thoughts:
- yeah, that is true, there are a few reports of cracks in Stabi here and there. Not good, but I believe we only see them because Stabi sells very many boats. They manufacture and sell over 1000 boats per year, few cracks reports here and there, with that many sales, is expectable imo. In a perfect world you don’t want to see ANY cracks in a $200k boat, agree. In a real world, unfortunately, that just happens, with EVERY large manufacturer of everything. Guess I will just have to trust my luck/karma :)
- Comment about sloppy ride. From what I’ve seen and read, from my own research, that is only applicable to their older boats (pre 2014?) and smaller models. Definitely not an issue for 2250. Many claim that once you try it, it’s hard to look back. I’ll try for myself soon, but I doubt I will be disappointed.
https://youtu.be/s4iAx4oruU0
This is my favourite “kind-of-review” for this boat, because I can relate to that couple on so many levels. Notice what the lady says about ride quality around after 2min mark.
- About Chinese built boats. I personally have nothing against. BUT it’s not that cheap. That US$45k Stabi copy from Chinese factory will be at least around AU$80k landed, add trailer, an outboard, and electronics, and you are looking at at least AU$130k starting point. Not that much savings for a Chinese no-name, and you probably will lose all those saving when it’s time to sell.
I owner built my house 2 years ago, right pre-covid, and thought I was smart, when I ordered container full of Kitchen cabinets, WIR and BIR cabinets, vanities, sliding door systems from China. At the end - I kind of regretted it. Yes I saved some money, but not nearly as much as I hoped, and the quality of some items was not near as good as advertised. I believe China can build/manufacture things with amazing quality, but you HAVE to enforce the quality control, you have to be there and inspect every step, otherwise when not being closely watched, they LOVE to cut corners, even if you agreed to pay top dollars.
my few cents :)
catshark
15-12-2021, 09:26 PM
there is a boat on graysonline, looks like a stabi but is branded seaking?, any affiliation i wonder , might be a touch small for your needs but its there and now
shortthenlong
15-12-2021, 09:33 PM
Seaking are the Chinese Stabicraft copy. Sold via Grays to get around statutory warranty things...
https://media.giphy.com/media/3ohzdMvc1w2VlFOpRC/giphy.gif
gazza2006au
15-12-2021, 09:56 PM
For price comparison here is a 10 year old Riptide with basic electronics asking 130K...
Because the prices of new boats and motors and electronics are all going through the roof 2nd hand boat prices rise accordingly..
Fancy trying to buy a boat at the moment...:o
Also consider that with a new build if your boat takes a a year or so to get built the price you paid the deposit on will almost certainly rise during that waiting and build period....been hearing some stories of final price going up by almost 10% due to extra costs incurred by rising prices of raw materials, electronics,fitout items and motors..
Nice one so u post a cuddy cabin which is still a miniture cabin boat
gazza2006au
15-12-2021, 09:59 PM
They are poping up everywhere now seen one the other week on facebook on a trailer for 45k, after disorderlys was shafted by the chinese showing pics of much more structure (another boat) and hes hull bending because lack of structure it should be a set example "how not to shaft another aussie on his design"
catshark
15-12-2021, 10:11 PM
i still remember seein one out on the reef one day pulled up near us and be honest , 5minutes later my jaw was still on the deck of the boat , if you like it and makes you happy then go for it , years back i walked into a dealer and saw a stabi , it was a smaller model and was 87 k then i nearly had a rush of blood and started talking finace and stuff , phew had to get out of there
shakey55
16-12-2021, 05:09 AM
Islander77
They manufacture and sell over 1000 boats per year,
Wow, with those numbers they would want to be well and truely on top of their quality control.
So they manufacture like two and a half boats every single day of the year, 365 days. With those numbers I’m surprised I don’t see more around.
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 07:51 AM
You wont see young ladies in house commission areas with one of those Shakey
stevej
16-12-2021, 08:41 AM
There is a difference between Chinese owned and manufactured and foreign made in china with foreign oversite
Tesla make the model 3 in their own Chinese factories and the build quality is better then the American made units
I’m sure a stabicraft of that size would handle anything
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 11:04 AM
There is a difference between Chinese owned and manufactured and foreign made in china with foreign oversite
Tesla make the model 3 in their own Chinese factories and the build quality is better then the American made units
Tho the Chinese have only had 20 years to perfect lithium batteries i had some very early technology lithium polymer batteries and there C rating was garbage and they were huge and heavy
stevej
16-12-2021, 11:26 AM
Tho the Chinese have only had 20 years to perfect lithium batteries i had some very early technology lithium polymer batteries and there C rating was garbage and they were huge and heavy
Tho what ?
Your comparing Volvo and Tesla versus some crap you bought years ago ?
Considering your history on purchasing the cheapest possible items off eBay to do the job it’s no wonder something you bought was crap
maybe google what your talking about and read up before sprouting nonsense
shortthenlong
16-12-2021, 11:31 AM
It's classic Gaz. He can't maintain his point from thread to thread or even post to post.
Here he says China Bad but buys numerous Chinese made knock offs including a bilge pump and recommended buying cheap Chinese steel.
Also Gaz - I've fingerfùcked the usefulness out of this trailer mover. 4 posts later This trailer mover is the best.
He is surely trolling.
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 11:34 AM
Steve you have owned this tesla for 2 weeks and its the best shit since sliced bread lol...
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 11:35 AM
It's classic Gaz. He can't maintain his point from thread to thread or even post to post.
Here he says China Bad but buys numerous Chinese made knock offs including a bilge pump and recommended buying cheap Chinese steel.
Also Gaz - I've fingerfùcked the usefulness out of this trailer mover. 4 posts later This trailer mover is the best.
He is surely trolling.
Show me a australian made bilge pump.
16-12-2021, 12:06 PM
You have 6 posts already on this page, Dimwit...and not one is about the actual topic...
Have some respect for the bloke who is enquiring about the stabi and go away with your chronic gibberish...
shortthenlong
16-12-2021, 12:11 PM
6 posts after a late night clean up
stevej
16-12-2021, 12:22 PM
1693438 (tel:1693438)[/URL]]Steve you have owned this tesla for 2 weeks and its the best shit since sliced bread lol...
random insult as you have nothing useful to Say ?
i researched the car so know some information on battery tech.
Rhule are Mexican made pumps distributed from the USA
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 01:01 PM
You have 6 posts already on this page, Dimwit...and not one is about the actual topic...
Have some respect for the bloke who is enquiring about the stabi and go away with your chronic gibberish...
That is rich coming from you.
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 01:05 PM
Unfortunatly im unable to quote my post stating the chinese had 20 years to perfect lithium batteries some how you have just fast forwarded to today Steve see you only see what u want hows about reading all my post instead of nit picking every post i make
If u havent noticed you pick at all my post and some how i reply picking at yours do u see the problem here? If i have to spell it out i will
stevej
16-12-2021, 01:12 PM
Unfortunatly im unable to quote my post stating the chinese had 20 years to perfect lithium batteries some how you have just fast forwarded to today Steve see you only see what u want hows about reading all my post instead of nit picking every post i make
If u havent noticed you pick at all my post and some how i reply picking at yours do u see the problem here? If i have to spell it out i will
Your the victim again I assume because this is another post that makes no sense
stevej
16-12-2021, 01:25 PM
Sorry to the post starter
I’ve fished in what I thi I they call the 2050 now with a 115hp Yamaha7-8 times and it was a well fitted out boat and does everything my mate wanted from it fishing wise
I’m sure a bugger version can only be better
TheGurn
16-12-2021, 01:37 PM
For heavens sake will everyone listen to Gazza and stop replying to anything (everything) he posts. ANYWHERE!. IN ANY THREAD.
Might just stay on topic.
Farcebook is the platform for shyte I'm told.
DNFTT & this post intentionally ambiguous.
Happy Gazza? Interpret it however you like.
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 02:41 PM
Its pretty simple pick at what i post and i'll just return the bull shit.
TheGurn
16-12-2021, 02:48 PM
Its pretty simple pick at what i post and i'll just return the bull shit.
Post unrelated bullshit and you'll get a reply. So much better and mature to do neither. Honestly don't know why you bother with this site. Google/youtube answers all your questions. Can't think of a single instance you got amused/entertained/satisfied by anything on this site.
Apologies to the op.
Over & out.
gazza2006au
16-12-2021, 03:52 PM
Post unrelated bullshit and you'll get a reply. So much better and mature to do neither. Honestly don't know why you bother with this site. Google/youtube answers all your questions. Can't think of a single instance you got amused/entertained/satisfied by anything on this site.
Apologies to the op.
Over & out.
Why would i get kicks from being abused?
Islander77
17-12-2021, 06:38 PM
Due to Christmas craze my test-drive gets postponed to early January (I have to travel to another city to do this, so it’s not that simple).
Spoke to the dealer over the phone, and the good news is that theoretically I can get the boat I want much sooner, there is one unallocated available (just arrived), in the spec level I want, but…
I’m seeking for an advice and wisdom of the crowd here :) not sure if I have to start separate thread for this, but on the other hand don’t want to start holy war debate “this brand VS that brand”. But…
Originally I was going to get Yamaha 225/250 for this boat, because I have a nice large service centre nearby, but this Stabi dealer only works with Mercury and Honda. So basically if I want to deal with this dealer (and not bother with interstate dealerships, which is more complicated) I have a choice between Honda BF250 or Mercury 225/250. Honda is arriving much sooner, and with Mercury it’s a couple months wait (not critical to me, everything is better than 9-12months :) ). Both Honda and Mercury service centres are a fair bit drive from where I live, but only once a year, I can live with that if engine is good.
I don’t have much personal experience with outboards at all, but basically my priorities are:
1. Reliability
2. Reliability
3. Reliability
4. Fuel economy
in this particular order, not really interested about torque, top speed, weight etc.
Do I miss much by not going Yamaha? Which is the better option out of the other two?
blacklab
17-12-2021, 06:44 PM
pppppppppppppppppppppp
17-12-2021, 06:58 PM
When I was after a new 200hp 2 years back I looked at those 3 plus suzuki..
In the end I went with the Honda and apart with an initial issue with the telltale tube popping off inside the cowl it been good although I only have about 250 hours up so far..
The Yamaha was the thirstiest motor in that size range by all reports..
The Honda is my first 4 stroke so I have no valid opinion or experience with the other 2 sorry.....Most of my local charter and commercial boats run the Hondas and only have good stuff to say about them..
17-12-2021, 07:17 PM
I have a good friend with a big Stabi cabin type with a Honda, he loves it, towed it all the way up to nth QLD two years ago, been in it lots of times, goes pretty well, but........it's still not my kind of boat, as I have said before.
Ducksnutz
17-12-2021, 07:24 PM
I’ll list the donks I’ve owned that I rate from personal experience for 100HP Four strokes and over. 1 being the top.
1. 135 Honda.
2. 150 Yamaha.
3. 100 Yamaha.
4. 200 Suzuki.
I did have a 2017 60Hp Mercury 4 stroke on my tinnie that I’d rather not talk about……PM if you want details as these threads never go well with brand loyalty.:-X::);D
Due to Christmas craze my test-drive gets postponed to early January (I have to travel to another city to do this, so it’s not that simple).
Spoke to the dealer over the phone, and the good news is that theoretically I can get the boat I want much sooner, there is one unallocated available (just arrived), in the spec level I want, but…
I’m seeking for an advice and wisdom of the crowd here :) not sure if I have to start separate thread for this, but on the other hand don’t want to start holy war debate “this brand VS that brand”. But…
Originally I was going to get Yamaha 225/250 for this boat, because I have a nice large service centre nearby, but this Stabi dealer only works with Mercury and Honda. So basically if I want to deal with this dealer (and not bother with interstate dealerships, which is more complicated) I have a choice between Honda BF250 or Mercury 225/250. Honda is arriving much sooner, and with Mercury it’s a couple months wait (not critical to me, everything is better than 9-12months :) ). Both Honda and Mercury service centres are a fair bit drive from where I live, but only once a year, I can live with that if engine is good.
I don’t have much personal experience with outboards at all, but basically my priorities are:
1. Reliability
2. Reliability
3. Reliability
4. Fuel economy
in this particular order, not really interested about torque, top speed, weight etc.
Do I miss much by not going Yamaha? Which is the better option out of the other two?
If you want reliability & a decent service coverage - the choice is still Yamaha
Yep Suzuki & Honda make good motors but they just don't have the coverage .
Yes Mercury have improved significantly
I posed these questions to an independent service guy - that was his opinion as well .
US motors cost a bomb when things go wrong
Finally - ETECs got what they deserved
Ducksnutz
17-12-2021, 08:10 PM
:-?
If you want reliability & a decent service coverage - the choice is still Yamaha
Yep Suzuki & Honda make good motors but they just don't have the coverage .
Yes Mercury have improved significantly
I posed these questions to an independent service guy - that was his opinion as well .
US motors cost a bomb when things go wrong
Finally - ETECs got what they deserved
You forgot to finish with “in my humble opinion” Chris….. I had a 130 Etec that had 700 hours without missing a beat…..OP was asking about 4 strokes. Let’s not have another Etec bashing thread that has been done to death.::) :-? :P ;D
17-12-2021, 08:27 PM
I’ll list the donks I’ve owned that I rate from personal experience for 100HP Four strokes and over. 1 being the top.
1. 135 Honda.
2. 150 Yamaha.
3. 100 Yamaha.
4. 200 Suzuki.
I did have a 2017 60Hp Mercury 4 stroke on my tinnie that I’d rather not talk about……PM if you want details as these threads never go well with brand loyalty.:-X::);D
Ducks what didnt you like about the Zuke..?..was it a 4 cylinder..?
You forgot to finish with “in my humble opinion” Chris….. I had a 130 Etec that had 700 hours without missing a beat…..OP was asking about 4 strokes. Let’s not have another Etec bashing thread that has been done to death.::) :-? :P ;D
Wasn't just my opinion ;) - Mate .... there is more heart ache out there when it comes to ETECs than good news stories - When it comes to trade ins & dealers wont touch .... it's probably enough said
I mentioned the Ebombs on the back of my mechanics comment last week .
But hey , lets not miss an opportunity to kick a brand when they are down .... & deserve it
Dignity
17-12-2021, 08:33 PM
I also asked an independent service guy who was a master when it came to 2 stroke mercs, knew them inside out. He told me which brands had the most returns for warranty etc. He had a bias towards Yamaha as having the lowest returns. At the end of the day it is still his opinion, the problems and quality constantly change. These days there is very little in them, weight might be the main consideration.
But then again that is my humble opinion.
Ducksnutz
17-12-2021, 08:41 PM
Wasn't just my opinion ;) - Mate .... there is more heart ache out there when it comes to ETECs than good news stories - When it comes to trade ins & dealers wont touch .... it's probably enough said
I mentioned the Ebombs on the back of my mechanics comment last week .
But hey , lets not miss an opportunity to kick a brand when they are down .... & deserve it
Out of curiosity Chris, what Etec did you own? ;) ;D Since OP is asking for “owners experience” ::) ;D
Ducksnutz
17-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Ducks what didnt you like about the Zuke..?..was it a 4 cylinder..?
6 mate. Wasn’t that I didn’t like it all. Personally I think all modern donks are so close that it’s a non issue. With the Zuk I had a couple of issues that were sorted with warranty.
The Honda and Yamaha’s never had any issues whatsoever. The Etec also had zero problems. All in my humble opinion of course.
17-12-2021, 09:58 PM
6 mate. Wasn’t that I didn’t like it all. Personally I think all modern donks are so close that it’s a non issue. With the Zuk I had a couple of issues that were sorted with warranty.
The Honda and Yamaha’s never had any issues whatsoever. The Etec also had zero problems. All in my humble opinion of course.
Yeah no worries..always good to get some feedback from someone thats owned a few 4 stroke brands and isnt too one eyed....
Out of curiosity Chris, what Etec did you own? ;) ;D Since OP is asking for “owners experience” ::) ;D
I didn't have to own one after walking into the workshop at a Sydney dealer & saw a line of them with their powerheads off - A couple of weeks later I bought my F60 Yammi .
Over the following years I had several mates who shared their tale of woes with me ..... with one poor soul having his rebuilt 3 times I know of
3 boat places I know wouldn't trade an ETEC
& recently my new (independent )motor mechanic told me his opinion of them .......... run away.
Yes - & like FICHT owners there are those that didn't go poopies - but that doesn't defer from the large debris field that exists .
Finally - where is the manufacturer today :angel:
gazza2006au
17-12-2021, 10:45 PM
Honda and Suzuki see hundreds of thousands of kilometers in cars, Yamaha are loved as there outboard blocks are shared with their jetskis so shit tons get sold plus they have a huge sales market for bikes and those high powred all terrain vehicles, Mercury just carry there old anchor name as they only do outboards but they have kind of a reputation in the small horse power engines guys with tinny's swear by mercury in australia
I have no independant outboard repairer knowledge but just from general internet rescources so no real bias views to swing my vote
If your going brand new u really cant mess it up they are all top engines and have good warranty
gazza2006au
17-12-2021, 10:50 PM
Something i heard maybe it was here or the Etec forum, if u make a warranty claim its not about the warranty but how much your local guy fights for you and your warranty, i have vaugley read reposts were guys were told to suck it up on warranty claims but most were USA based, i think any aussie dealer would fight for u tho as its money and his reputation
gazza2006au
18-12-2021, 12:30 AM
Wowzers check out the new Yamaha Helm Master EX, Who needs a trolling motor that is friggen classy stuff!!
shakey55
18-12-2021, 05:42 AM
I just read an article about this. What I read stated that the entire kit was $22,000 US and currently on sale for $15,000 US
A fair chunk of cabbage
Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums
Islander77
18-12-2021, 05:46 AM
Thanks everyone for advice!
will do more deep research into Honda then.
Wowzers check out the new Yamaha Helm Master EX, Who needs a trolling motor that is friggen classy stuff!!
Yes I know, looks very impressive, but it’s very cost prohibitive, the full Yamaha Helm Master system is around 20 grand. And really shines with twin engine setup.
Islander77
18-12-2021, 05:51 AM
I just read an article about this. What I read stated that the entire kit was $22,000 US and currently on sale for $15,000 US
A fair chunk of cabbage
Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums
Yep, just can’t justify this for a small trailer boat with one motor. I wonder if other brands have plans to catch up, and if the price would go down to at least single digit $k’s eventually…
cpt snapper
18-12-2021, 08:10 AM
Thanks everyone for advice!
will do more deep research into Honda then.
Yes I know, looks very impressive, but it’s very cost prohibitive, the full Yamaha Helm Master system is around 20 grand. And really shines with twin engine setup.
As others have said, there's not much difference in 4 strokes these days. In different boats I've had a Merc, Suzuki and now Honda 150.
Really like the Stabi, I've a similar boat (Ocean Craft) great ride and stability.
The deciding factors on the outboard for me were the 7 year non-declining warranty with the Honda, plus when you need some extra push there is an impressive kick at around 4,500 rpm. Quiet and good on fuel.
gazza2006au
18-12-2021, 02:11 PM
Spending 160-200k and 20k extra is not on the list? One thing i noticed about that yamaha helm master EX the engine has to sit up wind a bit tricky to fish most boats so it might only be good for boats where u can walk around the whole deck, be a bit shitty if your in a cabin boat and all the lines go under the boat
Out-Station
18-12-2021, 08:46 PM
Islander, i've run yammy's on all my boats but i think the big block V6 yams are thirsty and this is the compromise for reliability (in my experience anyway). Came from a 4.2 225 yam on a 6.5 riptide platey. Averaged about 0.8km per L. Just went to twin 140 zukes on my new 6.8 riptide (both cab boats) and i'm getting around 1.1km per L combined on a bigger, heavier rig. I recon the new mercs are a great spec, twin 115 merc were my first preference over the zukes but i had other dash and gauge challenges (already fabbed) to overcome. This said 200 hours in and no complaints from me. I agree with others that all modern 4 bangers are pretty sound things, its also a matter of finding the best spec for your boat. Weight, torque curve, twin/single etc. My mates new style 2050 stabi handles weight aft way better than my old mans original shape podded 609 does. 2250 with twin 135 mercs, now we're talking!!! Nothing more fun than getting into a new rig, great boats the Stabi. My old mans is around 15 year old and still going strong, few bumps and scrapes but no cracks. good luck.
Islander77
18-12-2021, 09:07 PM
Islander, i've run yammy's on all my boats but i think the big block V6 yams are thirsty and this is the compromise for reliability (in my experience anyway). Came from a 4.2 225 yam on a 6.5 riptide platey. Averaged about 0.8km per L. Just went to twin 140 zukes on my new 6.8 riptide (both cab boats) and i'm getting around 1.1km per L combined on a bigger, heavier rig. I recon the new mercs are a great spec, twin 115 merc were my first preference over the zukes but i had other dash and gauge challenges (already fabbed) to overcome. This said 200 hours in and no complaints from me. I agree with others that all modern 4 bangers are pretty sound things, its also a matter of finding the best spec for your boat. Weight, torque curve, twin/single etc. My mates new style 2050 stabi handles weight aft way better than my old mans original shape podded 609 does. 2250 with twin 135 mercs, now we're talking!!! Nothing more fun than getting into a new rig, great boats the Stabi. My old mans is around 15 year old and still going strong, few bumps and scrapes but no cracks. good luck.
Thanks for sharing! I’ve been researching whole day today and from what I read I think I’m pretty much sold on Honda. In addition Honda dealership/service is much closer to me than Mercury.
I’d love to go twin engine setup (for extra peace of mind during offshore trips) but unfortunately 2250 can only accommodate a single engine.
gazza2006au
18-12-2021, 09:44 PM
Good choice, honda have good resale value for down the track
gazza2006au
19-12-2021, 11:29 PM
The chinese boats are slowly arriving heres one that keeps coming up in facebook advertisements
https://www.grays.com/lot/0001-50018198/power-boats/2021-seaking-boat-sk-600?spr=true
Says "brand new" that floor in pictures 15, 17 is filthy possibly stained floor, also says "no key" but u can see water below the engine possible mistake or risky buy?
10% added to price too
shakey55
20-12-2021, 05:56 AM
The chinese boats are slowly arriving heres one that keeps coming up in facebook advertisements
https://www.grays.com/lot/0001-50018198/power-boats/2021-seaking-boat-sk-600?spr=true
Says "brand new" that floor in pictures 15, 17 is filthy possibly stained floor, also says "no key" but u can see water below the engine possible mistake or risky buy?
10% added to price too
Gazza, you need to read advertisements clearly and don’t assume you read something.
Beginning of ad it says NEW (Not Brand New), probably uses this term as it’s only a few months old.
In description condition it says - Good (New) (Not Brand New)
As for you saying it says No Key, it says Key No - meaning key number which for security reasons they do not list.
Not picking on you Gazza, but you really need to know what you are talking about before you say anything. Read thing clearly
gunna
20-12-2021, 08:19 AM
And stop posting unrelated crap in other people’s Threads.
shakey55
22-12-2021, 09:18 AM
These don’t look a bad unit. Don’t know anything about them
Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)
Islander77
22-12-2021, 11:10 AM
These don’t look a bad unit. Don’t know anything about them
Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)
What really attracts me in Stabi (among other things) is an aluminium life ring around hull, making the boat pretty much “unsinkable”. Google and check the videos where they flood the boat on purpose. From my research, Stabi is the only mass produced boat that has “level floatation” in a 7m boat.
Plus, from my research, it has an amazing resale value, kind of like Toyota Hilux on water.
If not for the life ring, nice wide walk around, and unique design of 2250 with forward-raking cabin, I would just get an Extreme Game King 695 and be done with it, and would save probably $20-40k in a process.
The only OTHER boat that I love more (at least on computer screen, as I’ve never been in one) is Elite 8, that ChocolateMoose is building, but it’s probably much more than what I want to spend, plus too large to handle, plus I don’t have a towing vehicle for it anyway :)
gazza2006au
23-12-2021, 10:41 PM
The boat Moose is building is a wine sippers boat, a Stabi is a hold my beer boat.. :D
tug_tellum
24-12-2021, 08:33 AM
Have seen a boat which I thought at first glance was a Stabicraft. Its an Osprey,very similar and also manufactured in NZ.
I dont know a lot about either of these boats,but to my untrained eye they looked similar.
scottar
24-12-2021, 05:23 PM
There is also Profile boats and Senator Boats with a similar style of rig - also out of NZ.
gazza2006au
24-12-2021, 07:13 PM
Ultra cab is an ugly commercial looking thing, love the look of the centre cabin tho in the 2250
I need to look up the specs that ultra cab looks very heavy
Islander77
10-01-2022, 04:20 PM
Instead of starting new threads for every subject that worries me, I think I’ll just keep asking all questions (as they pop in in my head) in this thread, to keep it all in one place.
So finally paid the deposit for 2250, should be mine hopefully in May/June.
Now, during the test-run I realised that while it was quieter than any other small/mid size plate boat I’ve ever been to, it was still noticeably noisier than I’m used to :)
Hence the question - have anyone tried to successfully apply some sound deadening material in the cabin of aluminium boat?
Would thick marine carpet, or some marine wall liner help? What about dynamat extreme? Anyone tried that for marine application, or maybe something similar? Maybe a combination of materials…
The pontoons of 2250 that I ordered are already foam filled, so that helps with noise too, but ideally I would want to take it a bit further, if that’s possible.
Another question is the Toilet. Personally always was happy with just a bucket (or nothing), with a new boat I’m happy so spend some extra $$ to get a better solution, but just not sure what IS a good solution and if I really need it (I.e. don’t want to create more unnecessary maintenance hassle). I read a few threads on a subject, and still haven’t figured out what the consensus is. A bucket, or fully plumbed toilet, or porta potti, or nothing, or something else? What everyone has and how happy are you with that solution?
chocolatemoose
10-01-2022, 04:51 PM
The boat Moose is building is a wine sippers boat, a Stabi is a hold my beer boat.. :D
Thats pretty accurate :P!
chocolatemoose
10-01-2022, 04:54 PM
We use Megazorber in our Ally builds to aid in sound deadening. its heavy and somewhat expensive but EXTREMELY good.
The foam filling doesnt help really with the sound all that much. perhaps very mildly when bouncing. but most of the sound is under the hull.
if toilets are not used often but still want a solution. good casette toilets are available these days. easy. look and feel nicer than porta potties. but no plumbing to worry about
Instead of starting new threads for every subject that worries me, I think I’ll just keep asking all questions (as they pop in in my head) in this thread, to keep it all in one place.
So finally paid the deposit for 2250, should be mine hopefully in May/June.
Now, during the test-run I realised that while it was quieter than any other small/mid size plate boat I’ve ever been to, it was still noticeably noisier than I’m used to :)
Hence the question - have anyone tried to successfully apply some sound deadening material in the cabin of aluminium boat?
Would thick marine carpet, or some marine wall liner help? What about dynamat extreme? Anyone tried that for marine application, or maybe something similar? Maybe a combination of materials…
The pontoons of 2250 that I ordered are already foam filled, so that helps with noise too, but ideally I would want to take it a bit further, if that’s possible.
Another question is the Toilet. Personally always was happy with just a bucket (or nothing), with a new boat I’m happy so spend some extra $$ to get a better solution, but just not sure what IS a good solution and if I really need it (I.e. don’t want to create more unnecessary maintenance hassle). I read a few threads on a subject, and still haven’t figured out what the consensus is. A bucket, or fully plumbed toilet, or porta potti, or nothing, or something else? What everyone has and how happy are you with that solution?
blacklab
10-01-2022, 05:41 PM
ppppppppppppp
Islander77
10-01-2022, 07:24 PM
1694502 (tel:1694502)[/URL]]We use Megazorber in our Ally builds to aid in sound deadening. its heavy and somewhat expensive but EXTREMELY good.
Thanks moose, I’m definitely interested! where do you buy this stuff from - directly from the company or are there dealers/retailers? Looks like they have many different products https://megasorber.com/products/
can you please share which ones you apply / in what order?
1694504 (tel:1694504)[/URL]] I noticed the comparison when I went in a mates one, but that was comparing to my glass boat, it seriously never bothered me, the ride and performance out weighed the slapping....
….
What is your lead time for delivery ????
Col
The boat is already in the dealer’s yard, we are waiting for the engine to arrive in May.
Absolutely, the performance outweighed everything else for me. But still, if I can improve it in the noise department, I will :)
Found this cheap solution on youtube, the guy swears by it! I’m happy to pay more for a more elegant solution, but still - good to see there are things that work!
https://youtu.be/E1hnItPZS6I
Dignity
10-01-2022, 07:47 PM
Thanks moose, I’m definitely interested! where do you buy this stuff from - directly from the company or are there dealers/retailers? Looks like they have many different products https://megasorber.com/products/
can you please share which ones you apply / in what order?
The boat is already in the dealer’s yard, we are waiting for the engine to arrive in May.
Absolutely, the performance outweighed everything else for me. But still, if I can improve it in the noise department, I will :)
Found this cheap solution on youtube, the guy swears by it! I’m happy to pay more for a more elegant solution, but still - good to see there are things that work!
https://youtu.be/E1hnItPZS6I
Looks interesting, I was hoping for a boat test to hear the difference.
I recall my local rust preventative sprayer who works primarily on 4wd was spraying a deadening material into a boat one time I was there, possibly the LD5 megasorber as it wasn't as dark as his other sprays.
on-one
10-01-2022, 07:52 PM
I've had a fully plumbed toilet and holding tank on both my current and previous boat. They're awesome until something goes wrong, and then things get disgusting fairly quickly. If you have room a toilet's great for safety and convenience but unless you really need the capacity, as mentioned above, go with a cassette or porta potti
Islander77
10-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Looks interesting, I was hoping for a boat test to hear the difference.
Here you go, just for you :) You can’t really hear much in the video, but at least the guys share their impressions.
Anyway, I most probably will be using some professional product, but good to know cheap Bunnings stuff works.
https://youtu.be/FSgXDiBlD2Y
Islander77
10-01-2022, 08:29 PM
I've had a fully plumbed toilet and holding tank on both my current and previous boat. They're awesome until something goes wrong, and then things get disgusting fairly quickly. If you have room a toilet's great for safety and convenience but unless you really need the capacity, as mentioned above, go with a cassette or porta potti
looks like cassette is the go then!
Thanks, doing my research. Are there preferred brands, or they are all pretty much the same?
10-01-2022, 08:59 PM
Mate I also faced the toilet quandry and finally decided against a plumbed dunny for a few reasons..
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/208431-Toilet-for-a-trailerboat
A couple of extra holes in the bottom of the hull certainly has the potential for water ingress if something in the system fails....also they can block up (wouldnt that be lovely after a night on the curry..:-?)
We also do 2 and 3 day trips sleeping on the boat and shitting down in the cab where we sleep is not all that appealing as is cleaning the toilet after someone else has used it..
Now we just use one of those 20 litre buckets with a seat on it and a bit of paper in the bottom...I just take it up the front of the centre cab and have a loo with a veiw..:)..the missus is quite happy to do the same..if she wasnt I'd probably use some sort of porta pottie/cassette to take along when she was on the boat and remove it when she wasnt...but likewise someone has to clean it out so we wont get one...
Couple of other options we looked at and discarded the idea were underfloor water tank and hot water shower..in hindsight I'm glad we didnt get them..
Some of the best options we found are Electric motor , Fridge freezer and Travel buddy oven, also have a 12v jug and 300 watt semi flexible panel ...and 4 out of my 6 batteries are LiFeP04...
Suspension seat is also must...
https://www.theboatwarehouse.com.au/seats-pedestals/boat-seat-pedestals/shockwave-seat-suspension-s5-matte-black/
https://www.theboatwarehouse.com.au/seats-pedestals/boat-seat-pedestals/relaxn-f170-suspension-base-anodised-aluminium/
Hopefully some ideas there for you to mull over...:)
Dignity
10-01-2022, 09:37 PM
Here you go, just for you :) You can’t really hear much in the video, but at least the guys share their impressions.
Anyway, I most probably will be using some professional product, but good to know cheap Bunnings stuff works.
https://youtu.be/FSgXDiBlD2Y
I played both video's, on my tablet and the other on my wife's, I couldn't pick it, may e if the foam was actually stuck to the alum it might have worked better.
chocolatemoose
11-01-2022, 07:23 AM
I played both video's, on my tablet and the other on my wife's, I couldn't pick it, may e if the foam was actually stuck to the alum it might have worked better.
I mean yeah it would reduce it somewhat. but .... that video wasnt really convincing. but still. quick and cheap
We use for hull lining and inside storage areas, behind waldrobes, under squabs that sort of thing
Megasorber B6
6kg/m2 Thermal mouldable flexible noise barrier.
Sheet size: 1.2m x 2.3m
And for areas where we have more space. like under floors. around Engine rooms, plant rooms, bow thruster rooms, gyro plants. we use
Megasorber C25-B
25mm Soundproofing Composite (25mm foam + 6kg/m2 noise barrier) with Soundmesh G8 facing (Black)
Sheet size: 1.2m x 1.2m
As for where to get it. you may need to contact your local boat builder etc. we are happy to organise some to be shipped to you. PM if you would like me to work out what it would be worth.
Islander77
11-01-2022, 08:09 AM
1694527 (tel:1694527)[/URL]]I mean yeah it would reduce it somewhat. but .... that video wasnt really convincing. but still. quick and cheap
We use for hull lining and inside storage areas, behind waldrobes, under squabs that sort of thing
Megasorber B6
6kg/m2 Thermal mouldable flexible noise barrier.
Sheet size: 1.2m x 2.3m
And for areas where we have more space. like under floors. around Engine rooms, plant rooms, bow thruster rooms, gyro plants. we use
Megasorber C25-B
25mm Soundproofing Composite (25mm foam + 6kg/m2 noise barrier) with Soundmesh G8 facing (Black)
Sheet size: 1.2m x 1.2m
As for where to get it. you may need to contact your local boat builder etc. we are happy to organise some to be shipped to you. PM if you would like me to work out what it would be worth.
Thanks mate, just checked the data sheets and this stuff looks VERY impressive, especially Megasorber B6. For only 3mm thickness you get an amazing reduction in dB across the whole range of frequencies.
Is it DIY friendly and easy enough to apply?
Also, I can’t find any close-detailed photos, how does this product look / presents once installed? If I apply it to visible cabin interior areas, do I need to cover it with some liner or marine carpet to make it look pretty?
I definitely will be in touch when I have my boat! Doubt anyone in Tassie would have it.
11-01-2022, 08:43 AM
Thanks mate, just checked the data sheets and this stuff looks VERY impressive, especially Megasorber B6. For only 3mm thickness you get an amazing reduction in dB across the whole range of frequencies.
Is it DIY friendly and easy enough to apply?
Also, I can’t find any close-detailed photos, how does this product look / presents once installed? If I apply it to visible cabin interior areas, do I need to cover it with some liner or marine carpet to make it look pretty?
Be great if Moose could provide further info on this stuff...I'd love to reduce the hull slap coming from th cab..particulularly when sleeping..
Ducksnutz
11-01-2022, 10:50 AM
Be great if Moose could provide further info on this stuff...I'd love to reduce the hull slap coming from th cab..particulularly when sleeping..
Easy peasy mate, by a glass boat….:o:-X8-);D
Brettoh
14-01-2022, 04:52 PM
I saw a fully optioned new 2400 Kevlacat for that price this week somewhere. I know its not the same category but a hell of a lot more boat for sea conditions for the same money and far better resale value.
SAw a 2400 Kevlar cat go out the door before xmas with a $249k price tag on it. Sheesh... thats a lot of dosh
Islander77
14-01-2022, 09:26 PM
SAw a 2400 Kevlar cat go out the door before xmas with a $249k price tag on it. Sheesh... thats a lot of dosh
Basically, by my observations:
what used to cost $55-70k 3 years ago, is $85-100k today
what used to be $110-140k, now is $150-200k
and the boats that were $150-200k, today are $250-300…
something like that. And imo, it’s not the boats that become expensive, it’s the cash, that has lost its value. Unfortunately, prices will never go down.