View Full Version : "Hub in a tub"
blacklab
26-11-2021, 08:01 PM
ppppppppppppppppppp
26-11-2021, 08:35 PM
Mount your spare on a complete stub.....saves having to carry the tub about.
blacklab
26-11-2021, 08:44 PM
ppppppppppppp
scottar
26-11-2021, 08:45 PM
Nah. I just carry enough spares to rebuild - only takes 20 minutes unless you've been slack enough to let the bearings weld themselves on.
blacklab
26-11-2021, 08:52 PM
ppppppppppppppppppp
scottar
26-11-2021, 09:42 PM
Scott, I was in getting new bearings a while back, to get it all prepared and for $70 odd bucks for a complete hub, bearings installed and greased up, I thought it was not a bad thing to carry.
I do my bearings regularly, keep them maintained, well, at least every 12 months, and I always carry spares all ready to swap out should the need arise in an emergency.
But for added insurance, and there relative cheap cost, I thought you can't go wrong with the wee bucket..... Purely for road side emergency happenings...
Yeah all good. One of those things. In 30 years of towing boats the closest I've ever come to a bearing failure was a seized brake caliper - including dragging one rig from Perth to Brisbane across the Nullabor for shits and giggles. I did a roadside rebuild on the hub with the seized brake just to make sure there was enough grease to get me home but probably didn't need to - bearing was fine. Not sure whether I've just been lucky or not or whether bearings really need to be buggered before they become a major issue. Main thing I do is regular temp checks - every time we stop and a service before any big trip. Probably put the mockers on myself now LOL. Speaking of roadside emergency happenings........if you are relying on your car jack in the event of a puncture, make sure it will fit under the axle or lift high enough to get the wheel off the ground if you jack off the frame. Just something I picked up on...........on the side of the Gateway motorway ;)
gazza2006au
26-11-2021, 09:51 PM
My last trip to port kembla i thought was an ordinary day, pulled up got the boat ready and dipped the trailer lityle did i know the seals were cactus, i dipped warm bearings in to cold water it must have made the bearings spit
We went for a fish and came back in packed up and took off, we made it back out on tbe main entry road just as i took off at the lights seen ghe wheel wobbling just about to fall off quickly pulled into a bus lane
Inspected the wheel and what had happen, googled a super cheap drove there and bought a new set of bearings went back to the boat and had bought the wrong bearings back to super cheap.. returned to the boat and we were gone within 15mins, got home and the other side was cactus just as i got in the driveway,
Much easier being prepared, spare wheel, spare greased bearings, spare axle nut and split pin, jack, correct wheel brace
A f... up will set u back 2-3 hours in the city rushing around to find shops that have what u need, go prepared with everything you'll be on the side of road for 15mins
A break down after 8-9 hours on the water is a nightmare and its happen to me 2 times in the last few years
My last trip to port kembla i thought was an ordinary day, pulled up got the boat ready and dipped the trailer lityle did i know the seals were cactus, i dipped warm bearings in to cold water it must have made the bearings spit
We went for a fish and came back in packed up and took off, we made it back out on tbe main entry road just as i took off at the lights seen ghe wheel wobbling just about to fall off quickly pulled into a bus lane
Inspected the wheel and what had happen, googled a super cheap drove there and bought a new set of bearings went back to the boat and had bought the wrong bearings back to super cheap.. returned to the boat and we were gone within 15mins, got home and the other side was cactus just as i got in the driveway,
Much easier being prepared, spare wheel, spare greased bearings, spare axle nut and split pin, jack, correct wheel brace
A f... up will set u back 2-3 hours in the city rushing around to find shops that have what u need, go prepared with everything you'll be on the side of road for 15mins
A break down after 8-9 hours on the water is a nightmare and its happen to me 2 times in the last few years
Why doesn't this surprise me ?
blacklab
27-11-2021, 07:05 AM
27-11-2021, 07:17 AM
Aahhh, the memories, parked on the side of the highway, blazing hot summers day, kids screaming in the back, mum screaming in the front, me gazing at a melted bearing in the boat trailer, inadequate tools, the spares packed away under a mountain of luggage in the back, it's Sunday, 30Ks from the nearest town......how much fun is summer family holidays down the coast?
gazza2006au
27-11-2021, 02:43 PM
Why doesn't this surprise me ?
Ok. How many times do u pull up at a boat ramp after a 1 hour drive than roll under the trailer to inspect your seals? Once its dipped in the w ater and the boat is off its too late
scottar
27-11-2021, 02:55 PM
Aahhh, the memories, parked on the side of the highway, blazing hot summers day, kids screaming in the back, mum screaming in the front, me gazing at a melted bearing in the boat trailer, inadequate tools, the spares packed away under a mountain of luggage in the back, it's Sunday, 30Ks from the nearest town......how much fun is summer family holidays down the coast?
It's still available as a holiday option with a modern day grandkid. Saw it in a brochure. Sounds like a hoot 😜
Dignity
27-11-2021, 03:07 PM
Ok. How many times do u pull up at a boat ramp after a 1 hour drive than roll under the trailer to inspect your seals? Once its dipped in the w ater and the boat is off its too late
Every pit stop including at the ramp the hubs get touched for signs of heat and a quick peek under the trailer, if the seals were cactus the amount of grease on the inside of the hub should tell you something.
We are talking of 60 secs max.
blacklab
27-11-2021, 04:25 PM
stevej
27-11-2021, 04:52 PM
if you do your maintenance gazza you dont get the issues you have, but hey at least that second wheel didnt come off and kill someone so thats a bonus
a bearing should not get hot enough to prevent you holding your hand on it even after 1000km non stop.
so with maintained seals cups bearings and correct tension by the time you have taken the strap off and got the boat ready you can back it straight in.
i do new bearings every year when regos due, i dont pay the rego till ive done the bearings
i have a complete hub and bearing setup greased in a vacuumed sealed bag which ive never had to use
tyres replaced every 3-4 years
and on a trip i pull over after 10 mins or before i get on the freeway to check by holding hand on bearing face and rocking both tyres
Never had a failure with those precautions
poor maintenace caused your issues not bearing heat mythology
Ducksnutz
27-11-2021, 06:03 PM
if you do your maintenance gazza you dont get the issues you have, but hey at least that second wheel didnt come off and kill someone so thats a bonus
a bearing should not get hot enough to prevent you holding your hand on it even after 1000km non stop.
so with maintained seals cups bearings and correct tension by the time you have taken the strap off and got the boat ready you can back it straight in.
i do new bearings every year when regos due, i dont pay the rego till ive done the bearings
i have a complete hub and bearing setup greased in a vacuumed sealed bag which ive never had to use
tyres replaced every 3-4 years
and on a trip i pull over after 10 mins or before i get on the freeway to check by holding hand on bearing face and rocking both tyres
Never had a failure with those precautions
poor maintenace caused your issues not bearing heat mythology
Gazza,
This is the best advice given. Not a dig at all but highly recommended that you give this some thought.
27-11-2021, 06:08 PM
I must own up to being caught out a couple of times with shagged trailer bearings, I'm not the biggest on maintenance, but I do try to keep things in good shape, but, now and then the "she'll be right" kicks in, mind you, a long trip for me is about 10 minutes, unless I am heading off on holidays down the coast, last time I got caught was a real drama, going crabbing early one morning, one bearing was a bit noisey, but.....she'll be right, got to the ramp, launched OK, but coming home the noise started to get a bit loud, a peek in the mirror revealed the wheel at an odd angle, so I stopped in a safe spot and investigated, there was nothing left of the bearing. Now what to do, unhook the boat and leave it to get tools and parts? try to limp home? Decided to unhook the boat, drive to Supercheap, which was about a minute up the road, buy a new complete hub and replace it. The only tools I had was the silly kit in the back door of the Prado, finally got the wheel off, used the useless slip joint pliers to get the split pin out, and the nut off, unfortunately part of the bearing was stuck on the axle, I used the double ended screwdriver gizmo and rock as a hammer, smacked my thumb nail with the rock, danced around like a lunatic on the side of the road, just as a council truck pulled up, they had near on a full workshop of tools, had it all back together in minutes, so I gave them a few crabs for their trouble.
blacklab
27-11-2021, 07:00 PM
Dignity
27-11-2021, 07:49 PM
Col, sounds like a brake pad has been rubbing constantly.
Mopheus
27-11-2021, 10:36 PM
I also have a bearing failure story - camper trailer after 100km of corrugated dirt roads into Karijini National Park. Couldn't feel the corrugations at 100kph through the 31's on the car but apparently the 26's on the trailer didn't feel the same way. Chewed out the inside of one hub.
Had to ditch the trailer in the Eco Park and hotfoot it back into Tom Price where the auto store was closed undergoing transition to new management, and I had to beg a mine maintenance crowd to sell me a hub set at 4.50pm on a Friday arvo. Fortunately they stocked them and a carton of beer did the negotiating.
Now I won't leave home without a full spare hub setup plus a full set of bearings, grease, jack and tools. Plus the 30m temp check and every stop thereafter.
Live and learn.
27-11-2021, 11:11 PM
Ok embarrassing story no.78.....
Replaced the bearings one day and then took the boat and trailer for a quick test spin..
Heard a bit of noise about a kilometer up the road ..jumped out and could feel tyre rim and hub was hot...
Turned around and jacked her up at home ..as i was pulling the tyre and hub back off I remembered that I had thought the nut had gone on too far past the split pin hole but that it had to, to tighten up and eliminate the wobble...
Yep the new inner bearing was still sitting on a rag on my workbench...
It worked much better once I actually put it in..:-[
Dignity
27-11-2021, 11:19 PM
I also have a bearing failure story - camper trailer after 100km of corrugated dirt roads into Karijini National Park. Couldn't feel the corrugations at 100kph through the 31's on the car but apparently the 26's on the trailer didn't feel the same way. Chewed out the inside of one hub.
Had to ditch the trailer in the Eco Park and hotfoot it back into Tom Price where the auto store was closed undergoing transition to new management, and I had to beg a mine maintenance crowd to sell me a hub set at 4.50pm on a Friday arvo. Fortunately they stocked them and a carton of beer did the negotiating.
Now I won't leave home without a full spare hub setup plus a full set of bearings, grease, jack and tools. Plus the 30m temp check and every stop thereafter.
Live and learn.
We all have stories, did a trip up to the Daly River and the instructions for the prep included, replace your bearings and carry spares. Well on the way back we got to about 90 kms north of Winton and we could see one of the car and trailers in front of us they were about 500 m in front of us and I swear I could spot the wobble in the trailer wheel.
My mate didn't think so but I made him hit the metal to the pedal to catch them and make them pull over. There was no phone coverage there.
When he stopped the wheel just lay on it's side, the bearing race had basically welded onto the axle. It took us a while to sort it out and when we asked for his spare sets of bearings he said he didn't bother as they were new when we left. Fortunately ours were the same size so we used them. Got going with the hope we'd get into Winton and buy some more. We got there just as the garage was shutting shop and luckily he had 1 set only left. We didn't need it but always good to have spares. Guess who had to shout all the beers that night.
28-11-2021, 02:21 AM
I’ve been lucky. On a previous boat I changed the bearings which were rusty when they came out. So I put a full set of new ones in with seals and bearing buddies. 20 minute drive to the ramp nice and cold. Went fishing (bearings got dunked). Came home and jacked the trailer up to check for wobble. It had a little bit (nut needed 1/3 turn). Took the bearing buddy off and milky inside. Rear seal looked fine. Decided to change them all out. Next trip. Same thing again.
ended up going to Dura-hubs on the advice of Smithy through Ausfish. Never been happier.
blacklab
28-11-2021, 06:53 AM
[
28-11-2021, 07:24 AM
For routine maintenance I have a spare complete hub, and I just put a new bearing in it (or check and repack the old ones) replace one hub, clean and repack/replace those bearings, then do another wheel, I have 6 sets between the big boat and the tinny, I just find it easier to just replace a complete hub and rebuild it at my leisure, sometimes I might do a couple at a time, or maybe just do one and another later on, that way, the trailer is only on the jack for a few minutes and time spent is minimal.
stevej
28-11-2021, 07:39 AM
The only hassle I’ve had is twice on two different trailers I used those ark complete hub bearing assemblies and they had faulty bearings straight out of the box
one the inner cup seat was machine incorrectly and second one the bearing was just junk
I was short on time and didn’t have the time to knock the bearings out and put timkens in.
ended up costing half a day pulling them out and doing it again.
28-11-2021, 07:59 AM
The cheap bearing sets seem to be hit and miss, I have had one bad one, (it wasn't really bad, just had the wrong size) and some good ones, and know of a couple of duds from other boaters.
Dignity
28-11-2021, 08:07 AM
I’ve been lucky. On a previous boat I changed the bearings which were rusty when they came out. So I put a full set of new ones in with seals and bearing buddies. 20 minute drive to the ramp nice and cold. Went fishing (bearings got dunked). Came home and jacked the trailer up to check for wobble. It had a little bit (nut needed 1/3 turn). Took the bearing buddy off and milky inside. Rear seal looked fine. Decided to change them all out. Next trip. Same thing again.
ended up going to Dura-hubs on the advice of Smithy through Ausfish. Never been happier.
Probably cheap bearing buddies, have had that happen where I've bought the ones on special as every now and then one would go missing and the cheapies would always do that and also rust quickly. The genuine ones dont.
It would be very rare that I roll into a boat ramp & launch straight away . I always let the bearings cool .... It doesn't take long
The other thing is that there is a big difference to warm brearings to hot bearings .
Bearings don't just collapse because you've backed the trailer in with warm bearings - seals dont just split either .
Now I've thrown bearings with the best of them ...... probably 80% of them have been on the back of having lost the bearing buddy on one of my long trips / corrugated roads ..... heck I've had brake calipers come off ....... but none of these were on the back of the lack of service / quality of bearings etc .
I've now got into the habit of every 6 months or so - I will remove the bearing buddy & look at the colour of the grease - If it's red & uncontaminated ..... that's a good sign .
& yes every time I launch the boat - I have a quick look over the trailer at the back seals & brakes in particular .
Chris.
I do exactly the same Sam....
Ditto (every fuel or piss stop) - back of the hand (fingers) on each hub , rim & tyre
I've come to learn that if everything is OK - the hub will be no hotter than the tyre
The cheap bearing sets seem to be hit and miss, I have had one bad one, (it wasn't really bad, just had the wrong size) and some good ones, and know of a couple of duds from other boaters.
Agree - 1 million & 1 percent
Fark the ARK ..... just dont do it .... hit & miss that they would even fit .
Buy the actual bearing buddies & use a little loctite .
I've thrown more than I'd like to admit .... when I go cheap
If you do any real towing - they are the worst thing going ...... oil drains out quite easily & you have nothing (lubrication) .
sure if you have little drives to the local boat ramp ..... fine
ranmar850
28-11-2021, 01:49 PM
Aah, gazza, nobody has pointed out the bleedin' obvious, here, but...if the bearing failed that catastrophically, to where the wheel was wobbling, it was past end of life before you even left home. Water ingress and the subsequent deterioration of the bearing to outright failure doesn't just happen in the few hours you were out on the water that time. You had water in there for months before it actually failed.
gazza2006au
28-11-2021, 02:05 PM
Possibly Ran, the tinny i recently had towed 350kms than on its 3rd trip had a total bearing failure to the point the wheel was just hanging on
I much prefer to run Timken USA SKF bearings but im actually having a good run so far on the aluminium trailer using Chinese bearings i will be swapping them over tho
stevej
28-11-2021, 03:14 PM
And there would have been signs easily found if you inspected the trailer
even when reloading on previous trips with no boat on the trailer which is easily done at the ramp takes 30 seconds
grease over the axle from the rear seal
knock the cap off it would have been milky
jack it up and rock the wheel or if it was that bad rocking it loaded would have showed noise and being able to feel it
all preventable
did 13,000 km in three years on the last trailer and the bearings looked like new when replaced each year.
28-11-2021, 03:26 PM
I found that wind down the window when towing the boat out of the ramp, the bearings will "rumble" without load, a sure sign they are on the way out, but more often than not....she'll be right kicks in and it's put off 'till next time, then, next time again...until!
gazza2006au
28-11-2021, 04:43 PM
Yeah i have a good ear for mechanical noise i have towed some trailers with dry bearings where u can hear the bearings making a grind/loud humm noise easily noticed in quiet cars like my old excel and xtrail u can even start rolling than put the car in neutral and roll and listen to the bearings
29-11-2021, 06:09 AM
If you do any real towing - they are the worst thing going ...... oil drains out quite easily & you have nothing (lubrication) .
That’s why you run a mixture of grease and oil in durahubs (pack the bearings with grease as you would normally) . I use them exclusively now for nearly 10 years and they are without doubt a better solution than bearing buddies which are a point less addition. Trick with durahubs is to use the right speedy sleeve on the axle’s oil seal running area. No leaks, no fuss and when I inspect the bearings every six months they are looking new
29-11-2021, 06:38 AM
I once bought a bearing kit (from a proper bearing place) and it contained a double lip seal for the hub, instead of that useless rubber gizmo that comes with normal boat trailer kits, the bearings in that hub lasted for years, next time I do mine I might see if I can buy a proper seal and give it a go.
Possibly Ran, the tinny i recently had towed 350kms than on its 3rd trip had a total bearing failure to the point the wheel was just hanging on
I much prefer to run Timken USA SKF bearings but im actually having a good run so far on the aluminium trailer using Chinese bearings i will be swapping them over tho
Stick with what you prefer - that's a good start right there.
A good run .... till it ends
350km is not a lot of towing - If bearings are well sealed & have enough grease they can last years . Eventually the rubber seals will perish or wear .
I think it took 4 years (on my very first boat - when I knew nothing about bearing maintenance ) before I dumped a bearing ........ that boat had been towed thousands of kilometres during that time (Syd - SWR , Syd-Narooma , Sydney- Bermagui ... several times) ...... then I dumped a bearing on a local trip. It's at that point that I realised that the bearings needed maintenance ::)
That’s why you run a mixture of grease and oil in durahubs (pack the bearings with grease as you would normally) . I use them exclusively now for nearly 10 years and they are without doubt a better solution than bearing buddies which are a point less addition. Trick with durahubs is to use the right speedy sleeve on the axle’s oil seal running area. No leaks, no fuss and when I inspect the bearings every six months they are looking new
Yes I've heard this approach Greg ..... but all you have done is created a bearing buddy with a slushy mix .
I've been running the same set of bearings now for 3 1/2 years with actual "Bearing Buddies" - my boat has been towed for about 15,000kms in that time ( Inc Syd-Lucinda & Syd-Airlie ) :)
- They key being - loctite on the BBs & only giving the wheels a couple of squirts of grease every now & then .
Next weekend I'll do the bearings in preparation for the upcoming Whitsundays trip as I dont want to push my luck ...... but at this stage these is no sign of the need to do anything.
My biggest concern with BBs is losing them on crap roads or having them stolen
stevej
29-11-2021, 07:55 AM
Had one bait with bearing buddies and removed them as seals were stuffed
only ever used marine seals and steel caps
nothing to fail or fall off, just maintenance and replacing axles when the seal surface is damaged and won’t seal
its amazing the difference moving to where I am now and mainly freshwater fishing over saltwater fishing
everything just stays looking new longer
29-11-2021, 08:07 AM
Genuine bearing buddies are fine, the cheap ones are rubbish and will fall off. When fitting them, clean the surface they fit into, I use cotton buds and thinners, make sure there is no grease on the surface, when "tapping" them in, make sure they stay straight, once they tip a bit, it bends them ever so slightly, loctite can be used, but I don't use it as long as you take care fitting them. Also, just a pump of grease now and then is all that's required, just keep a grease gun with bearing grease in it for your bearings only (not steering components) and you will be fine.
stevej
29-11-2021, 08:35 AM
Won’t convert me to them as pointless additional source of failure.
But each to their own.
but back to the main question a fully assembled hub ready to slide on may just get you home and is a good idea
Won’t convert me to them as pointless additional source of failure.
But each to their own.
but back to the main question a fully assembled hub ready to slide on may just get you home and is a good idea
Bearing buddy vs a cap - is hardly additional ..... I've been on trips where a bearing cap has come off & the bearing has gone poo poo. .... same result .
Each to their own - having used both , the preference for lots of towing is a bearing buddy.
Did that too (carry an assembled hub) - specially when running a single axle trailer .
For the past 20 years - I always carry what I need to do a full bearing replacement though with at least 2 sets of pre greased bearings .
stevej
29-11-2021, 10:29 AM
As I said each their own
it’s a significant addition over a plain steel cap, these also have to be replaced if put on and off a few times
especially if not centered properly or combined with poorly machined cheap hubs
some use Loxctite or peen the hub a bit to make the buddy grip a bit better
now I know you live a argument over anything but that cap you lost would be a one in a million event
anyway batteries are in charge and hopefully fishing tomorrow, watch the karma gods give me trailer grief after this post
As I said each their own
it’s a significant addition over a plain steel cap, these also have to be replaced if put on and off a few times
especially if not centered properly or combined with poorly machined cheap hubs
some use Loxctite or peen the hub a bit to make the buddy grip a bit better
now I know you live a argument over anything but that cap you lost would be a one in a million event
anyway batteries are in charge and hopefully fishing tomorrow, watch the karma gods give me trailer grief after this post
Actually
It's not about an argument - it's about my own experiences of 30 years of boat ownership & having probably nudged close to 100,000Ks of towing my boats as far north as Cairns from Sydney (many trips to NQ) over those shitty inland highways ..... I kinda think that I've learnt a thing or two along the way ie what works & what doesn't . Trust me if the cap was the best solution - I would be using them . I carry them & I've used them - I've also experienced having them not fit snugly because of the difference in expansion & shrinkage to a cast steel hub .
Mopheus
29-11-2021, 02:21 PM
Fit 60mm hubs with screw-on caps and you won't have to worry about Bearing Buddies or knock-on dust caps ;D
Dignity
29-11-2021, 03:00 PM
Yes I've heard this approach Greg ..... but all you have done is created a bearing buddy with a slushy mix .
I've been running the same set of bearings now for 3 1/2 years with actual "Bearing Buddies" - my boat has been towed for about 15,000kms in that time ( Inc Syd-Lucinda & Syd-Airlie ) :)
- They key being - loctite on the BBs & only giving the wheels a couple of squirts of grease every now & then .
Next weekend I'll do the bearings in preparation for the upcoming Whitsundays trip as I dont want to push my luck ...... but at this stage these is no sign of the need to do anything.
My biggest concern with BBs is losing them on crap roads or having them stolen
I now run self amalgamating tape around them so they don't pop off, have to cut it off but small price to pay and won't get stolen either. Bonus is even more waterproof.
Yep did the same thing in recent years - before that used cloth Gaffa tape .
The silicon amalgamating tape is great as it takes the higher temperatures ... that you get when towing through central NSW & Qld in the height of summer. Just dont use the clear one .... gets real sticky
29-11-2021, 05:31 PM
Old Diesel Fitter's trick - Just use 515 after you get a centre punch and run a few indents on the outside of the bearing buddy. They wont come out then.
29-11-2021, 07:42 PM
The only time I've had oil leak out was when I had the trailer sitting for about 6 months without use. The inner seal was dry at the top and cracked.Travelling from the Sun Coast to Fraser (about 10 trips) and one trip to Baffle Creek I've had no issues. There's still an option to use a comination of half grease and half oil that I use on the off road trailer.It ends up being a more viscous grease and I keep topping the hubs up with oil until the buddy is a little over half way.
29-11-2021, 07:49 PM
My off-road trailer has the larger cruiser bearings. I went durahub from new. After 5 years they were still in perfect condition and have them as a spare set. It must be time for the third set now we are approaching the 10 year mark.
Dignity
29-11-2021, 08:04 PM
With all this talk of Durahubs I thought I'd look them up. Their website appears to be fir selling their product only, they sell extreme packs which one would think covers all the bases but wait, you then need to purchase quality seals. Trying to read their site is actually painful for lack of real information, or am I missing something.
29-11-2021, 11:02 PM
With all this talk of Durahubs I thought I'd look them up. Their website appears to be fir selling their product only, they sell extreme packs which one would think covers all the bases but wait, you then need to purchase quality seals. Trying to read their site is actually painful for lack of real information, or am I missing something.
I just bought their kits from them and then bought the rear seals separately at the local bearing place. I wanted the extra peace of mind of the speedy sleeves so got them at the same time. I've had both the metal backed seals which do the same job but get a little rusty without some cold gal on them (I just taped up the plastic inner part and sprayed them). Now I try always to get the rubber coated ones because my hubs always get drowned in water. Like these ones.
https://www.durahub.com.au/product/dichtomatik-12194tc/