View Full Version : Twin's Vs Single? Similar Horse Power

gazza2006au
23-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Hey guys any idea how two smaller hp engines would perform on my V19 Caribbean say 2x 60hp over a single 115hp?

My 90hp mercury has cost 2k so far and requires another $700 spent on it, i could flog the merc as is and sell my tinny for a few bob andpossibly get apair of engines like these Honda 60hp

The V19 can handle the transom weight of twin outboards but how would the fuel economy be effected?

Out-Station
23-06-2021, 10:07 PM
Gazza, i think its hard to draw a single rule around singles versus twins performance. For me the hull is the biggest factor, some hulls love the twins and shrug of the weight whilst a big single works for others. I went from a single 225 v6 yammy, 6 pots for a total of 4.2 litres to twin 140 zukes for a total of 4 litres. Yammy was spinning a 19 3 blade whilst zukes have got 18 3 blades. Boat 6.8 20 degree deadrise platey, heavy boat, big chine so dragging some hull in the water. Yammy was better for top speed but pretty much 1km per litre. Zukes are slower by 3 knots, better on hole shot and 1.1 to 1.2 km per litre. I recon the full width integrated pod (versus conventional pod) is must to handle the weight. Thats what i found on my boat anyway if it helps.

gazza2006au
23-06-2021, 11:03 PM
Thanks Scott how much fuel was the yam 225 using per km?

I have found a bigger older donk 120hp big block evinrude but they weigh 165kg my 90hp merc 4 stroke weighs 182kg

Those two little honda 60hp would probably weigh a good 250kg as a pair

Im open to all suggestions and advice, i have looked for a couple old evinrude 70hp 2 strokes

stevej
23-06-2021, 11:41 PM
Find a 90-115 2000 model Johnson and be done with it or a 115 Yamaha around the same age for 3k and just use the boat

this forum with close before the boats finished at this rate
and can’t it all just go into one post so the forum isn’t full of your late night new ideas

24-06-2021, 07:25 AM
In very simple terms, twins are more expensive to buy and maintain, twins are heavier, a single is faster, twins will pull the single backwards, fuel economy is very near the same, the boat won't plane on one motor, so if you break down, it's a slow trip home, twins look cool!

24-06-2021, 08:46 AM
If the boat isn't designed for twins ..... then don't do it

What is the advantage for you to go with twins ?

I know my dream trailer boat will have twins - but that is purely because I would be taking it to remote locations / long range trips & that redundantcy factor comes into play

gazza2006au
24-06-2021, 12:50 PM
Biggest worry is breaking down 28kms offshore than drifting untill water police arrive which would be 5-6 hours later so i have heard

Twin engines i would atlease be able to motor back at a slow pace

The good thing about this hull is its the original V19R so it can have a single or duel engines, if i can find 2 old 70hp johnsons in good nick that may be the go

24-06-2021, 01:41 PM
You will need to cut the transom to bits again to fit twins, the chances of floating around on your own 28k out is pretty remote, there will be a dozen boats that will/could/would help.

gazza2006au
24-06-2021, 02:00 PM
I was thinking of using a couple jack plates nothing extreme like 12" or 14" models maybe 2x 6" or 8" thetwin engines only have to tilt enough to clear my driveway they wont have to tilt all the way up

Ducksnutz
24-06-2021, 03:58 PM
The only way I’d consider twins in regards to running modern day outboards is if I had separate fuel tanks for each Gazza. Modern outboards are incredibly reliable in my opinion. Fuel issues on a single tank and electrical problems aren’t going to help a twin setup. From memory you have a single fuel tank that’s 60 litres so I’d be thinking about the viability of running twins regarding maintenance etc.

gazza2006au
24-06-2021, 04:22 PM
Hey Ducks if i sold the merc 90 i would have enough funds to pick up 2x 70hp johnson/evinrudes and get a custom 130L fuel tank made

gunna
24-06-2021, 04:52 PM
Your Merc 90 still needs another $700 spent on it. Yet you can sell it for enough to buy 2 motors and a custom made tank. Must be a seriously good Merc !!!

24-06-2021, 07:56 PM
talking crap here ......

Hey Gaz .... are you getting pay per post / reply ..... otherwise you're all over the place on this project - either you have the funds to do it properly or you don't ...... other than that you are just wasting our time with your posts

24-06-2021, 08:35 PM
talking crap here ......

3 days ago he said he was getting quotes on a brand new Horizon 525 as well...::);D

Gaz is truly King of the Bullshitters...;)

gazza2006au
24-06-2021, 08:55 PM
At the moment its a wild idea i would like to follow through with but im not sure if it's possible, the trailer has been my focus for right now,

I had a quick squiz at my transom this afternoon as i was pulling the tarp back over the ass end, i haven't gotten out the tape measure but it appears the twins may have to sit partly over my 20inch cut out which may look out of place

The 70's and 80's era johnson/evinrude 70hp engines only sell for about 1000 bucks each and they weigh 130kg each i'm just not sure about steering, linkages or even dual forward controls

stevej
24-06-2021, 09:08 PM
Your worried about safety and want to bolt 40-50 year outboards on
Also only have a 40l fuel tank and want to refuel at sea still

Do you read what you write ?

gazza2006au
24-06-2021, 11:12 PM
Steve do u read what i write where did you come up with a 40 litre tank?, 40, 50 year old engines are still running today, how many late model outboards are unreliable lasting 10 years?

If u rebuild two old vintage 70hp engines they'll last another 20 years

stevej
24-06-2021, 11:21 PM
Yes I read what you write it’s hard to keep up with the ramblings
what was it 40 60 or 70 litres ? it’s hard to keep up as I said

your so worried about sinking or engine trouble yet build a offshore boat and want to put home built or vintage engines on it

why rebuild old shit when you can buy a single engine with life still in it

and no they arnt reliable have towed enough people back with old crap to know that to be true
and once you start pulling them apart and snapping bolts and find parts hard to find we will have ten more threads on here full of ramblings

25-06-2021, 06:42 AM
Well I cant remember the last time seeing an old blue band Mercury on the water ..... or one of those orange Suzuki's (thankfully)

You can rebuild these things all you like ..... but time & salt water takes it's toll on boats - particularly outboards

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 07:46 AM
Steve if your going to make a point please be precise

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 07:52 AM
I honestly have no problem running two old 70hp evinrudes i have owned a few old evinrudes and have never blown one up, there are still rebuild kits to freshen two up, as for seized and snapped boltsi have already demonstrated my youtube video on how to remove the snapped bolts piece of cake

I just cant at the moment afford 2x modern 70hp engines, a 70hp 2000 era yamaha are still going for $5000 each, i would love 2x tohatsu 90hp late models 2 strokesbut again they are expensive

So i will have to settle on two old evinrudes dolled up with alick of paint and maybe a refresh powerhead for reliability

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 07:58 AM
Rebuild kits are pretty cheap btw

25-06-2021, 08:06 AM
I honestly have no problem running two old 70hp evinrudes i have owned a few old evinrudes and have never blown one up.

I had an old 70hp Evinrude nearly 20 years back...it went ok...till it blew up..;D

25-06-2021, 08:06 AM
At the moment its a wild idea i would like to follow through with but im not sure if it's possible, the trailer has been my focus for right now,

I had a quick squiz at my transom this afternoon as i was pulling the tarp back over the ass end, i haven't gotten out the tape measure but it appears the twins may have to sit partly over my 20inch cut out which may look out of place

The 70's and 80's era johnson/evinrude 70hp engines only sell for about 1000 bucks each and they weigh 130kg each i'm just not sure about steering, linkages or even dual forward controls
The controls on those older models simply mount together for twins, steering is the same, but there is a tie bar between both motors, I personally wouldn't rebuild them, look for running motors in the first place (in my opinion) if you decide to go twins, just fill the transom cutout back in, I wouldn't go the jack plate business either, you will be way better off using your Mercury or looking for a decent running 2 stroke, there is plenty around cheap if you look.

billfisher
25-06-2021, 08:59 AM
I honestly have no problem running two old 70hp evinrudes i have owned a few old evinrudes and have never blown one up, there are still rebuild kits to freshen two up, as for seized and snapped boltsi have already demonstrated my youtube video on how to remove the snapped bolts piece of cake

I just cant at the moment afford 2x modern 70hp engines, a 70hp 2000 era yamaha are still going for $5000 each, i would love 2x tohatsu 90hp late models 2 strokesbut again they are expensive

So i will have to settle on two old evinrudes dolled up with alick of paint and maybe a refresh powerhead for reliability

You were telling us before that carby two strokes would worth next to nothing in a couple of years. I pointed out the incongruity in that if the idea was doing things on the cheap then why not buy one that is running instead of rebuilding a high tech motor. So far you have 2 unfinished ones, the etec and your 4 stroke mercury.

Tracker
25-06-2021, 09:02 AM
Steve if your going to make a point please be precise

sorry but this post made me laugh. ;D

ericcs
25-06-2021, 09:17 AM
So, what exactly is the problem with the 90 4st, now that you are questioning it's reliability?

stevej
25-06-2021, 09:59 AM
sorry but this post made me laugh. ;D

im not even replying to it its like trying to have an intelligent conversation with my dog

the guy has spent enough to actually just buy a running boat.

25-06-2021, 10:32 AM
im not even replying to it its like trying to have an intelligent conversation with my dog

Have you given up playing chess with the pigeon then..?

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 11:31 AM

the guy has spent enough to actually just buy a running boat.

Intelligent.. Steve u cant even colour code you're socks mate, you're pulling tank sizes out of your head blaiming me for talking to much... never your fault is it..

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 11:36 AM
So, what exactly is the problem with the 90 4st, now that you are questioning it's reliability?

It's not the reliability but more so spending more money on the engine, it needs a intake box ordered from the USA or Canada, it needs a new starter motor from the USA there are obly two available atm new one is $400 plus shipping, it needs a alternator bracket but that is only $100 in Aus from Japan

The other problem is the ECU was smashed open when it blew the last powerhead so really i'm up for all the above plus another ECU but if i buy that i will get a 115hp ECU they are $500-$700USD and probably NLA

Realistically it's still a $5000 engine I'm in it about 2.2k without gauges and unknown hours

shortthenlong
25-06-2021, 11:44 AM
It's not the reliability but more so spending more money on the engine, it needs a intake box ordered from the USA or Canada, it needs a new starter motor from the USA there are obly two available atm new one is $400 plus shipping, it needs a alternator bracket but that is only $100 in Aus from Japan

The other problem is the ECU was smashed open when it blew the last powerhead so really i'm up for all the above plus another ECU but if i buy that i will get a 115hp ECU they are $500-$700USD and probably NLA

Realistically it's still a $5000 engine I'm in it about 2.2k without gauges and unknown hours

How will any of these type of issues not be the case with any random secondhand outboards you buy in your current price point?

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 11:51 AM
3 days ago he said he was getting quotes on a brand new Horizon 525 as well...::);D

Gaz is truly King of the Bullshitters...;)

Goes ok for a bloke suckling on the government titty hey , maybe we should all go on the bludge and get everything handed to us as well . Seems to be no point in working when you can bludge on everyday Australians, best to not answer or ask questions of this wombat . Matt

billfisher
25-06-2021, 12:04 PM
How will any of these type of issues not be the case with any random secondhand outboards you buy in your current price point?

Well as some of us have been trying to tell him if it is running well then it should be OK for the time being. Also if it's from a dealer it might have a warranty. Buying a broken down motor is likely to lead to this sort of pandoras box situation.

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 12:22 PM

Those parts are just to get the engine in running order, the reliabilty will be tested after that so if i go to the extent of all those repairs and the powerhead blows i'm literally screwed

The second hand 70's may have there own problems but parts are cheap as for them i can pick up a 3rd engine for spares for a few hundred bucks where as the 90 merc i will basically have to import everything a block is 800, cranks about the same, cylinder heads cost a fortune out of the USA, all the parts for this 90 merc are so expensive because its a verado 175/200 L4 block they are also common to leaking head gaskets which ends catastrophically

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 12:30 PM
Goes ok for a bloke suckling on the government titty hey , maybe we should all go on the bludge and get everything handed to us as well . Seems to be no point in working when you can bludge on everyday Australians, best to not answer or ask questions of this wombat . Matt

Yeah ok bluefin i had to pass a strict mental health check to get the dissability pension i tried working atlease 12 jobs i sat on the dole for years trying to hold down jobs i done work for the dole twice i done programs with job network i am not a bludger for me to pass the mental health test i had to see a psychitrist for 13 years and i only stopped as he retired

I have major depression, psychzophrenia, ocd, paranoia, anxiety, i have had the psychzophrenia since i was 13 years old if u think i'm rorting the system come live a day in my life btw i take 300mg effexor and 9mg invega every day and have for 12 years come take a walk in my shoes

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 12:43 PM
Yeah ok bluefin i had to pass a strict mental health check to get the dissability pension i tried working atlease 12 jobs i sat on the dole for years trying to hold down jobs i done work for the dole twice i done programs with job network i am not a bludger for me to pass the mental health test i had to see a psychitrist for 13 years and i only stopped as he retired

I have major depression, psychzophrenia, ocd, paranoia, anxiety, i have had the psychzophrenia since i was 13 years old if u think i'm rorting the system come live a day in my life btw i take 300mg effexor and 9mg invega every day and have for 12 years come take a walk in my shoes

Keep me blocked I’m not interested in your garbage thanks . Matt

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 12:47 PM
Yeah gutless one way mind set you can hear the truth but you chose not to you're not being blind sided your just being arrogant because u don't believe anyone is wose off than you're self in life

ericcs
25-06-2021, 01:24 PM

you will still need to get all those bits to make it saleable anyway. you won't get anything for it the way it is!

ericcs
25-06-2021, 01:28 PM
Those parts are just to get the engine in running order, the reliabilty will be tested after that so if i go to the extent of all those repairs and the powerhead blows i'm literally screwed

The second hand 70's may have there own problems but parts are cheap as for them i can pick up a 3rd engine for spares for a few hundred bucks where as the 90 merc i will basically have to import everything a block is 800, cranks about the same, cylinder heads cost a fortune out of the USA, all the parts for this 90 merc are so expensive because its a verado 175/200 L4 block they are also common to leaking head gaskets which ends catastrophically

so why didn't you apply this logic before you bought in the first place?

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 01:35 PM
Yeah gutless one way mind set you can hear the truth but you chose not to you're not being blind sided your just being arrogant because u don't believe anyone is wose off than you're self in life

No ###### your wrong it’s about doing the right thing , and not just taking advantage and being a big fat liar [emoji1781], you carry on with all your unbelievable bulldust and expect people to believe your garbage just climb back under your rock . Love Matt

shortthenlong
25-06-2021, 01:44 PM
[/COLOR]so why didn't you apply this logic before you bought in the first place?

blacklab
25-06-2021, 02:01 PM
pppppppppppppppppp

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 02:19 PM
Not the only bloke on here Sucking the titty out of the Government..

Hell, you worked in the construction industry, don't tell me you weren't a bottom feeding union shit kicker.... It's a very small industry matt, don't throw stones Pal...
Ask ya buddy up north how the government cheques are treating him .... Welfare's a bitch, but at least Gazza admits it..

The old saying " Every ones shite stinks" in some way...

All union work for 35 years ass hole and don’t go around making some vague threat thanks black dog , you are as weak as that other moron you just don’t cut it thanks lap dog [emoji190]

blacklab
25-06-2021, 02:33 PM
ppppppppppppppppp

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 03:29 PM
All union work for 35 years yeah Matt ???
So that means you only put in about 10 years of actual work then ;D
I first joined the union in 77, been in it ever since, believe me, it's no medal I would be crowing about from what I've seen over my journey...
Your a legend in your own mind old man...
Keep the sun cream on Ya neck Bud, We so worship legend blokes like you, your every Aussies true blue hero...

Lap dog Woof Woof.... is that as good as you give :P

edit
Matt, I'm in FNQ from Sunday, We should catch up and have a beer mate...
No point throwing Barbs on a forum, life's about wetting a line and enjoying life, not throwing crap at those less fortunate..
And that's a serious offer....

Gee thanks for your knowledgeable input on how high rise buildings are built obviously you know it all and that they happen to be built with magic , and if I’ve only worked 10 out of 35 years who’s the dummy . Thanks for your wonderful intelligent rant it’s been enlightening . Matt

blacklab
25-06-2021, 04:04 PM
pppppppppppppppp.

wahoofishingcrew
25-06-2021, 04:32 PM
I'm sure your a good bloke... Well, hopefully your not the ###### you come across as...

I guess thats all in the eye of the reader... You come across as a top bloke to me matt, not like this other muppet and his pet. If you're passing through CQ on your way back from up north theres a legit offer of a beer for you at my place any day mate!

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

wahoofishingcrew
25-06-2021, 04:37 PM
Gazza, twice the maintenance, more fuel, dramas of mounting, buying 2 more unknowns. I think you're better off finishing what you have. More $ but sometimes better the devil you know

gunna
25-06-2021, 05:01 PM

Just to clarify Gazz. You won’t sell it without doing all the above. In its current condition you won’t get enough for it to buy 2 other motors and a custom built fuel tank. So the plan is to get it working perfectly, then sell it in order to buy two motors that don’t work? Wouldn’t that be a bit of a backwards step?

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 05:19 PM
I'm in the merc 800 for the engine, 1000 for the replacement powerhead, 150 in gasket and oil filter, 200 shipping the powerhead from north aus to here

What i need to spend now is air filter box 335, starter 260, alternator bracket 120, than i have to try find a used ecm out of the USA they likely aell for around 500-600 plus shipping

Total 3360-3460 for a mercury 90hp conv to 115hp 2009 4 stroke

I need to ask my self should i pour another 1200-1300 into it

I could pick up 2 johnson/evinrudes 70hp for 1k each as running engines, 1k for a new custom fuel tank, flog my merc for that cost of these or try swap for a couple engines

25-06-2021, 05:39 PM
I guess thats all in the eye of the reader... You come across as a top bloke to me matt, not like this other muppet and his pet. If you're passing through CQ on your way back from up north theres a legit offer of a beer for you at my place any day mate!

Matt knows he has the same offer here...I'm not sure why anyone is so down on someone thats worked their whole life in construction and is now enjoying their retirement by combining some work with fishing and travelling......must be a woke Melbourne thing I guess or possibly just envy..?...

and Gaz surely you know if the outboard needs a starter motor, brackets and EMM, that its basically worth what you would get from a wrecker..?

and then you are going to buy even way older 2 stokes in non working condition to put on a boat with a 60l fuel tank to travel offshore to troll for Marlin...

Do you even know what you are saying here..?..This is really quite bizarre..:o

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 05:41 PM
This just popped up very old 1970's era engine lick of paint some 2000 era stickers times 2 of these, this one is only 450 bux

bluefin59
25-06-2021, 05:48 PM
My point Exactly !!.... ;D

Common mate, lets have a beer over the next week or so... Life's to short to be a hater....
I'm sure your a good bloke... Well, hopefully your not the ###### you come across as...

I'm just practicing my praying at the minute, Praying to all your type, those that built and saved Aussie, the Icons( in there own mind ) ...that we should all worship and revere..
Your an angry crusty old fart Matt... Your best days left you many years ago....
Lets end this, your blood pressure must be sky rocketing !!!

I'll just have to re think my ethics,, which is worse, someone on welfare for medical reasons... or a union shit kicking bludger, Hmmm ... hard call there.......

Come to think of it Matt, Didn't you throw the toys out of the cot and have a giant sook session and then had a bitch and a moan to Ausfish that people were being mean to you ??

Go have a fish and enjoy the day mate..... Block Gazza so you can't see his ramblings Simples....

Good work tosser you seem to have a inferiority complex a bit like your boy friend ,you people should just be gone and save us all from reading your ramblings and not really showing who you are . Unlike you plenty of people know who and what I’m about ,sharing what I consider useful information or enjoying the yarns of blokes that have a clue . All I’ve learn from you pair of tossers is how bitter and twisted you people are enjoy your trip and keep sticking up for little dog who has no idea and will end up selling his hunk of garbage to some poor unsuspecting fisherman , that’s what I’m concerned about . Love Matt

25-06-2021, 06:33 PM
Stay away from those old green motors, way too old to even think about fooling around with, at a minimum, you should be looking at mid '80s or later, or you're just buying scrap metal.

blacklab
25-06-2021, 06:45 PM
pppppppppppppppppppppp

blacklab
25-06-2021, 06:55 PM
pppppppppppppppp

blacklab
25-06-2021, 07:17 PM
[
ppppppppppppppppppp

gazza2006au
25-06-2021, 07:34 PM
Cheers guys, the VRO 70's still hold a bit of value $1800+ per engine i'll ask the gods for a loan to buy all the parts for the merc lol hopefully the 3-6 week wait for everything to come from the US will be when i finish the hull, tried going on THT but seems i can't post a wanted add

blacklab
25-06-2021, 07:43 PM
ppppppppppppppppppppppp

catshark
25-06-2021, 09:54 PM
just a option , up the gold coast way KNP marine have a variety of older 2 strokes , $ 200-250 freighted to sydney , lots of 150hp -200 hp 2 smokers around the 5-9 k mark

ericcs
25-06-2021, 10:12 PM
This just popped up very old 1970's era engine lick of paint some 2000 era stickers times 2 of these, this one is only 450 bux

would you really want to put a 1975 model engine on a boat which also has no tilt/trim, seriously!

gazza2006au
26-06-2021, 02:29 PM
I don't have that kind of money Cat unless i sell the merc 90 and tinny but being winter i doubt either will move

I loved the idea of twin's the 2 70's were only roughly 80kgs more on the transom those 70's are pretty basic compared to this merc 90 that has sensors all over it and it only takes 1 to fail dor the engine to conk out out wide

I guess i will fix the merc 90 and test run it and see how it goes than decide if i want to upgrade the ecm to 115hp or sell the engine and buy a 150hp honda

Those two 60hp hondas would have looked really cool on my boat just a bit out of reach financially atm

I possibly have 4k on the merc once shes repaired and i have around 4.5k on the tinny with that 50hp yamaha so i may have a bit of coin this summer if i decide to sell