View Full Version : Tackle recommendation
Hi All
I'm going through the process of upgrading / renewing my offshore tackle. I've pretty well been out of these scene for the last 20 years & when I have fished I've just adapted my barra gear which is ok for shallower water & fishing for snaps but really showed up it's inadequacies on fish like Cobia when I fished Evans Head back in May. Now I'll be tackling kings & snapper on the NSW South Coast
So what I'm looking for (& I am fussy) is a
*30-50lb spin outfit which can be used on larger snapper in deeper water (baits) & have the guts if need be to tackle kings , cobia & mackerel ..... but not after a broomstick I generally like longer spin rods so 7'-7'10"
*30-50lb Overhead which can be used for deep livebaiting or floating a livey out the back .... Tuna , Cobes etc . It would be good if this outfit could also be used for dropping down jigs ...... not really into trolling but it could be used to run a big minnow when sounding out an area . I'm certainly struggling on this one
Note : I'll be using braid
OK so that's the picture - now what is out there that would be worth looking at . Price point would be approx $750-$1K each outfit.
Appreciate any advice
Sheik
29-10-2017, 07:00 AM
Hey Chris. Spinning reels have come a long way in recent years and handle big fish pretty well. Fellas on our boats have Penn, Fin Nor and SHimano. I've no reason to think Daiwa and other big brands would not go well. I personally use a Shimano Baitrunner D 12000 on an ugly stick and it works pretty well. 50lb platypus braid and Schneider leader.
Crunchy
29-10-2017, 08:11 AM
Shame the ledgendary Cobiaman is no longer here as he would have all the answers.
IMO the modern baitrunners not a touch on the older models, I use a 20,000 Saragossa on a tcurve 10-15 which is slightly heavy but stops pretty much everything. Overhead i got a torsa which is fantastic but no longer available so talica perhaps or tyronos which is cheaper but again rather big and heavy.
Hey Chris. Spinning reels have come a long way in recent years and handle big fish pretty well. Fellas on our boats have Penn, Fin Nor and SHimano. I've no reason to think Daiwa and other big brands would not go well. I personally use a Shimano Baitrunner D 12000 on an ugly stick and it works pretty well. 50lb platypus braid and Schneider leader.
Thanks Sheik
Much respect for Daiwa & Shimano ........ I actually do own some "big gun" spin gear ...... but it's just that "BIG GUN" Stella 10000 , Saltiga 5500 Expedition with a couple of Saltiga popping & jig sticks - 50 & 80lb braid . Great if I'm chasing GT's , YFT or even big kings but I'm looking for what I would call med/heavy
I've have some idea's but really keen to hear what is being used these days ..... certainly a big baitrunner is food for thought - just what size - I rate the Shimano Thunnus (have a 4000) & for my mind there is nothing like the baitrunner feature when straylining for snapper
add that to my list
Ta again
Shame the ledgendary Cobiaman is no longer here as he would have all the answers.
IMO the modern baitrunners not a touch on the older models, I use a 20,000 Saragossa on a tcurve 10-15 which is slightly heavy but stops pretty much everything. Overhead i got a torsa which is fantastic but no longer available so talica perhaps or tyronos which is cheaper but again rather big and heavy.
Big outfit there Crunchy ...... hell I still feel that the Stella 10000 massive - are you running 50lb ?
Been looking at the Talica .... pretty well at the top of the list - but considering the smaller jig type reels like the Shimano Ocea jigger , Saltiga or some of the other options out of the US or Japan ...... these reels all seem to have pretty good drag systems , more compact than the traditional game style reels. What's you thoughts on these ?
bluefin59
29-10-2017, 10:01 AM
My go to for medium kings and general offshore is a 4500 saltiga wth 50 lb accudepth braid and a 10 kg egrell bear fishing rod but they aren’t available anymore ,but it’s my preferred option ... Matt
Billy C
29-10-2017, 10:27 AM
Good time to buy, all the big online stores have 15-20% off atm. Spin option you could go Saragossa / Terez combo for about $500. Or go what I have Catalina 4500 with Demon Blood 72mh for about $900. Awesome combo, light enough for snapper but man enough to stop big fish.
I havent used one but apparently there are big raps on the fin nor maraquesa overheads. Put one of these on a terez and it would be in your budget and you’d be sweet.
Good luck.
My go to for medium kings and general offshore is a 4500 saltiga wth 50 lb accudepth braid and a 10 kg egrell bear fishing rod but they aren’t available anymore ,but it’s my preferred option ... Matt
Thanks Matt
I wonder how many people would be using the Egrell s10 for just that ( It's pretty well ideal) shame they are not available (I have an S1 & S4)8-)
Saltiga would be a pretty good choice ..... but at over $1000 plus line - it's top shelf
I have been using a 3500 Certate with 40lb ATC braid .on a 6-20lb Lucky Craft .... but that's really my barra frog & placcy rod ...... very soft in the tip & it really didn't work on the couple of the big cobes at Evans.
Drag really needs to to be able to hit 10kg min - Daiwa Catalina 4500 will give 15kgs of drag ........ line capacity is less of a concern
Ducksnutz
29-10-2017, 10:40 AM
I have a couple of venom rods that I use for similar applications. 7ft spin pe 2-6 and a 6’6” pe 2-5 over head. Have stood up and recommend.
bluefin59
29-10-2017, 10:41 AM
Thanks Matt
I wonder how many people would be using the Egrell s10 for just that ( It's pretty well ideal) shame they are not available (I have an S1 & S4)8-)
Saltiga would be a pretty good choice ..... but at over $1000 plus line - it's top shelf
I have been using a 3500 Certate with 40lb ATC braid .on a 6-20lb Lucky Craft .... but that's really my barra frog & placcy rod ...... very soft in the tip & it really didn't work on the couple of the big cobes at Evans.
Drag really needs to to be able to hit 10kg min - Daiwa Catalina 4500 will give 15kgs of drag ........ line capacity is less of a concern
You should see that rod jiggle on the tip with a live yakka or slimy on it then it loads up beautifully, I love that rod mate . Matt
Good time to buy, all the big online stores have 15-20% off atm. Spin option you could go Saragossa / Terez combo for about $500. Or go what I have Catalina 4500 with Demon Blood 72mh for about $900. Awesome combo, light enough for snapper but man enough to stop big fish.
I havent used one but apparently there are big raps on the fin nor maraquesa overheads. Put one of these on a terez and it would be in your budget and you’d be sweet.
Good luck.
Haha ... I was just thinking Catalina - must have bumped into each other over the net
I had a look at the Terez 30-50lb yesterday - so yes put that on the list ....... Actually I should grab one from Coffs Harbour
Also heard some good things about the Fin- nor ...... back in the day I had a coupe of Fin-nor's (Tycoon & light) for my Tuna fishing
thanks for the heads up
I have a couple of venom rods that I use for similar applications. 7ft spin pe 2-6 and a 6’6” pe 2-5 over head. Have stood up and recommend.
I had my first look at Venoms when I went through Coffs last week ..... A bloke I know bought a couple of baitcasters for his PNG black bass trip recently.
Question / Observation .... with the exception of being really light are you getting value for money ? ...... Are they worth the $500 when you consider for not a whole lot of coin more , you could buy a Millerod . Off the rack rods such as the Samurai's , Saltigas and the like also come into play. ..... It would be a tough call .
Ducksnutz
29-10-2017, 12:32 PM
Probably a bit pricey now Nagg. I paid a tad over $400 for each from Pete at allround angler (Caboolture) a little while back.
I have a couple of older saltiga rods that I bought second hand and rate the venoms over them. I see the newer 2016 saltiga rods are $750!
Probably a bit pricey now Nagg. I paid a tad over $400 for each from Pete at allround angler (Caboolture) a little while back.
I have a couple of older saltiga rods that I bought second hand and rate the venoms over them. I see the newer 2016 saltiga rods are $750!
I've been looking a the Saltiga X range ..... & what I do like is the 2 piece configuration where it comes apart at the butt - very much like the original Samurai reactions & majorcraft crostage ....... that gives me the ability to stow them in my cross deck 2m rod locker . i will certainly finf a stockist in Sydney & have a look though .
perko
29-10-2017, 07:40 PM
Talica 12 on a venom 6ft6 pe2-5 RLFV16 is a great combo. Run 50lb quality braid on it and there is not much you won't land.
scottar
29-10-2017, 08:15 PM
Courtesy of a few hand/wrist injuries in recent years I have just started seriously looking at heavier duty spin set ups for offshore work. I have ended up with a Saragosa 25000 running 50 pound on a T-Curve 200 Jig stick as an all rounder. Initially had a Ryobi Carnelion 12000 I bought for $99 delivered which, while it performed flawlessly running 80 pound braid on a cod that was estimated at somewhere between 80 and 100 pound, I have relegated it to a second outfit . This was the first time (short of bust offs) I have seriously stretched this rods legs and to say I was impressed with just how effective these shorter jigging rods are as a fish fighting tool is an understatement. Much less hurt on me than my usual 6-7 foot bottom bashing overhead set up. I would be looking at this as a jigging set up as against your overhead - a second spool with 80lb may be a viable option if you find some bigger kingies. The 25000 is a seriously large reel but I wanted the line capacity - it swallowed 600 metres of 50 and backing.
I do find though that with much over a pound of lead the overhead is still the best tool. I run a Tyrnos 30 with a longer custom handle which allows for quite comfortably retrieving up to a 32 ounce sinker without the need for pump and wind. If after something a bit more of an all rounder a 20 size reel would probably be a better option. Mine is mated to a live fibre 15-24kg 7 footer. If you aren't doing any bottom bashing then a smaller size reel with higher gearing would make a better proposition. I have a a couple of Daiwa Saltist overheads on various rods for float lining but any quality reel of this sort of calibre with the drag of your choice would do the job.
Courtesy of a few hand/wrist injuries in recent years I have just started seriously looking at heavier duty spin set ups for offshore work. I have ended up with a Saragosa 25000 running 50 pound on a T-Curve 200 Jig stick as an all rounder. Initially had a Ryobi Carnelion 12000 I bought for $99 delivered which, while it performed flawlessly running 80 pound braid on a cod that was estimated at somewhere between 80 and 100 pound, I have relegated it to a second outfit . This was the first time (short of bust offs) I have seriously stretched this rods legs and to say I was impressed with just how effective these shorter jigging rods are as a fish fighting tool is an understatement. Much less hurt on me than my usual 6-7 foot bottom bashing overhead set up. I would be looking at this as a jigging set up as against your overhead - a second spool with 80lb may be a viable option if you find some bigger kingies. The 25000 is a seriously large reel but I wanted the line capacity - it swallowed 600 metres of 50 and backing.
I do find though that with much over a pound of lead the overhead is still the best tool. I run a Tyrnos 30 with a longer custom handle which allows for quite comfortably retrieving up to a 32 ounce sinker without the need for pump and wind. If after something a bit more of an all rounder a 20 size reel would probably be a better option. Mine is mated to a live fibre 15-24kg 7 footer. If you aren't doing any bottom bashing then a smaller size reel with higher gearing would make a better proposition. I have a a couple of Daiwa Saltist overheads on various rods for float lining but any quality reel of this sort of calibre with the drag of your choice would do the job.
Good Stuff
I've got that heavy tackle spin covered with the Saltiga Hiramasa & Stella 10000 / Saltiga Expedition 5500 ..... & you are correct that the shorter jig sticks can put a lot of hurt on big fish . It's the next tier that I'm trying to fill ....... an outfit where you could cast out a big bait / livey & not be too worried what might come along ....... so it needs to have good low down power but be still reasonably light in the tip. It would be the kind of outfit that you might take to NZ or South Australia to fish for their big snapper.
I don't do much deep water bottom bashing ..... but I agree with you on the heavy lead situation and overheads . This outfit would be used in setting deeper live baits ....... & that is where spin gear with the exception of baitrunners fall over - I also like the control of a lever drag in this situation ....... It's the way to go The hard part is deciding on what size considering most of the waters I'd be fishing will be less than 100m & closer to 50m ...... so 250-300m of 40 or 50lb Braid would be plenty - so 12s/16s possibly 20s sized overheads will do just as long as it can put down 15kg of drag. This will probably end up on a 6ft rod (whatever that may be)
PS - still find it fascinating about the use of these really big spin reels ..... but if you are fishing 80lb in 100m for big reds (Emperor) .... I guess you need it
EdBerg
30-10-2017, 07:18 AM
There are a lot of choices out there, for myself I prefer to used overheads but I do have many spinning setups, so if I was going get a medium to heavy spinning setup, I would look at a Penn Spinfisher V SSV8600LL and add a Shakespeare Tiger stick, below is a link to that rod. The Penn is a HD bait runner style reel with about 32lb drag available and holds a heap of braid line. The rod is a two piece 7ft with a range of 5kg to 25kg, so it would probably be tippy for sensitive bites and able to load up when hooked on a much bigger fish.
https://www.marine-deals.co.nz/ugly-stik-rods/ugly-stik-black-tiger-heavy-duty-spin-rod-7ft-5-25kg-2pc
I have only found it available in NZ where the locals like to use them to catch use them on Snapper and big Kingfish, delivered to Australia would be about AU$120 discounted and the Penn reel is available locally from between $170 -220 so well and truly within your budget, you could actually buy 2 outfits within your budget. ($750-1000), a spinning and an overhead outfit
It is also available in a 7ft overhead style rod (about $130 delivered) and you could match it to Penn Fathom FTH30LD2, FTH40LD2, FTH60LD2 for under $350, there is also a stack of other overheads that you could match with it such as the Okuma Metaloids (2 speed versions only available overseas) or Penn Torques, Tynos 20 or 30 as examples.
The Ugly sticks have been around for many decades and are known for being versatile and resilient, although I have a range of good quality modern graphite based rods, I still use the ugly sticks because of their versatility and robustness, and even use one that is over 35 years old, (but I did replace the guides with SiC).
I am still trying to justify to the missus (and myself) that I "need" one of those Black Tiger sticks.;D
marto78
30-10-2017, 08:44 AM
I bought a Torium 16 and matched it up with a Terez 40-80lb heavy fast action last year which is now my go to rod for anything offshore.
It has a super sensitive tip being such a long rod but it also has plenty of power down low for when you hook up on bigger fish and it is very well balanced unlike a few of the other overheads I have where the reel is a bit weighty and wants twist the set up in your hand while reeling in.
One of my mates tried it out awhile ago and has gone and bought himself the exact same set up.
Sheik
30-10-2017, 09:07 AM
Thanks Sheik
Much respect for Daiwa & Shimano ........ I actually do own some "big gun" spin gear ...... but it's just that "BIG GUN" Stella 10000 , Saltiga 5500 Expedition with a couple of Saltiga popping & jig sticks - 50 & 80lb braid . Great if I'm chasing GT's , YFT or even big kings but I'm looking for what I would call med/heavy
I've have some idea's but really keen to hear what is being used these days ..... certainly a big baitrunner is food for thought - just what size - I rate the Shimano Thunnus (have a 4000) & for my mind there is nothing like the baitrunner feature when straylining for snapper
add that to my list
Ta again
Great, I've been looking at the Thunnus, so that's agood idea. Are there any differences to the baitrunner apart from weight? The 12000D is just a little heavy and most of the fish I'm getting are grassies, snapper, maori cod, pearlies etc so I'm thinking the 8000 so it has enough line to fish on the Banks and Hards (90m+) but also doesnt weigh too much. Most of the graphite I find doesnt load up as well as the ugly stick type rods so although they're cheaper, they do the job for me. I've done really well with a sahara though, from 90cm bludgers, to jack, to 100 cm jew, etc with only a 4000D baitrunner. Just not enough line!
Honestly - I think there is a world of difference between the Thunnus & the Baitrunner Ds - bit more drag , little lighter , more bearings & made just that little bit better (IMHO) . When I got my Thunnus I put it alongside my original baitrunner (which I thought highly of) & it was chalk a cheese . Regardless I will add a 6000 Thunnus to my collection .
I reckon an 8000 would be a good choice for you if combined with a quality braid ....... $242 at Coffs Harbour atm makes it an even better buy :P
Sheik
30-10-2017, 04:24 PM
Thanks Chris that's a good buy. .. good bye.
Billy C
02-11-2017, 11:13 AM
Let us know what you end up getting Chris.
04-11-2017, 12:23 AM
I’m still waiting for a manufacturer to come up with a high end Baitrunner that holds a lot of line and a fast retrieve. If there was a Stella or Saltiga level reel with a Baitrunner option I would splash the cash immediately. Bait fishing now days I almost exclusively use spin reels as my left wrist doesn’t take the overheads when fighting decent fish (broke it as a child) unless I’m game fishing and am wearing a gamble belt but those rods are set up to accomodate that.
This was an interesting exercise & I certainly appreciate everyone's feedback . What I ended up doing was doubling up with two spin outfits :) I'll wait till next year to buy the overhead - still trying to narrow my choices down
1) ATC Vigour SW8000 matched to a Venom Live Fibre 15-40lb 30lb Daiwa J Braid
2) Shimano Thunnus 6000 baitrunner match to Daiwa Saltiga X762S Pe 2-4 30lb Daiwa J Braid
Those that don't know the ATC reels should check them out 116457 15kgs of drag (Carbon drag stack) , 9+1 bearings - I've been using a couple of the smaller ATC Valiant SWs for the past 3 years & can't fault them .
I gave the Venom / ATC a bit of a run the other day on some snaps ..... nice:) & managed to get stretched by a couple of decent fish (assuming kings) which I popped off ( 20lb leader on a shallow reef) ........ It's an understated rod but t certainly feels the goods. The reel is smooth as & the drag really comes on hard ..... lets see what happens over the coming months
Billy C
05-11-2017, 07:40 PM
I have the exact venom rod 15-40lb with a Stella 5000sw PE3 braid. Absolute weapon of a rod. You could pull the plug out of the ocean floor with those venom x rods.
I have to say , for such a light rod it's got a hell of a lot of grunt ...... and since I dislike broomsticks it went right up there at the top of the list
A 20% discount didn't hurt either & made it easier to take the plunge
Billy C
06-11-2017, 05:51 AM
I have been looking at the ATC Valiant reels on line for a while funnily enough yet can’t find any info on their weight or line retrieve. Are they similar to Shimano sizes?
they are neither Shimano nor Daiwa sizing
the Sw 3000 is around a 2000 daiwa size ...... this is what I use for bass / flathead
the Sw 5000 is something around a 3000 daiwa ...... I’ve used this for everything from snapper to Barra with 30lb braid.
I will I’ll put up some comparison photos tonight for you.
I have to say.... As someone who likes higher end gear & is a big daiwa fan , I was more than happy to buy a second one ..... and now I have my 3rd ATC spin reel. I’m more than happy to gear up for a trip and use these in place of the Certates . Even the 2000 Stella will take a back seat at times. That’s not bad for a sub $200 reel.
Here are some comparison photos 116464
Valiant SW3000 Vs Certate 1500 & Stella 2000S (Valiant takes 240m PE2)
116465Valiant SW5000 Vs Certate 3500 ...... The Valiant takes 230m of PE3 & the Certate 200m PE3
Both reels have 5.2:1 ratios
Billy C
06-11-2017, 05:22 PM
That’s great Chris thanks for doing that I really appreciate it. I haven’t seen these in my local stores and will need to buy on line so you have saved me buying the wrong reel. I was looking for a Daiwa 3000 size or Shimano 4000 size so it looks like the SW5000 might be the reel. Once again thanks for sending through the photos
Not a problem at all - Unless you've actually looked at them in the flesh it would be easy to get it wrong . I'm using the SW5000 as a 1 on 1 replacement for a 3500 Certate .
Not too many places sell them (sadly) but I was fortunate enough to find a place in Western Sydney that did ........ and had a good chance to check them out before committing.
I don't think you would be disappointed with them
reggy
15-11-2017, 07:12 AM
Hi Nagg
Daiwa BG5000 spin reel on a 24kg uglystik.
Shimano TLD Star 20/40 with carbontex drag on a 24 kg uglystik.
Both reels will pull 10kg of drag and love 50lb braid.
Hi Nagg
Daiwa BG5000 spin reel on a 24kg uglystik.
Shimano TLD Star 20/40 with carbontex drag on a 24 kg uglystik.
Both reels will pull 10kg of drag and love 50lb braid.
Thanks Reggy - that's pretty rock solid gear right there . I have to say though unless I wanted some real knockabout gear (off the rocks) I've moved on in my expectations on what a blank should feel like & the rod overall - I actually like a light / crisp rod as opposed to a stump puller ..... If you know what I mean ...... hence the Venom & Saltiga X
I had a bit of a look for the overhead .... it's a bit of coin but the Jigging master monster game reels look and feel fantastic - small reels with big drags .... They are at the top of the list (reel wise)
Ducksnutz
15-11-2017, 10:49 AM
Hey Nagg,
I have a alutecnos gorilla 12 on my venom 6’6” pe 2-5 over head rod. This reel would be my favourite and might be worth looking at to suit your needs.
reggy
15-11-2017, 11:27 AM
Yes, I bought a Jigging Master PE5n and a PE8 about eight years ago. The 5 is great for reef fishing with 50 lb braid and I sold the 8 recently after never using it.
The 5 and 8 had the same size gears, but bigger drags on the 8 of course.
I never needed the extra drag or line capacity of the 8.
Hey Nagg,
I have a alutecnos gorilla 12 on my venom 6’6” pe 2-5 over head rod. This reel would be my favourite and might be worth looking at to suit your needs.
on the list .....ta
Billy C
15-11-2017, 07:03 PM
I have been using an Okuma Metaloid 5S lately. Great little reel, weighs about 400g and holds about 400m of PE4. First Okuma I have ever owned. Feels tough as teak. You can get them for less than $300 from online stores. One in SA has them for $250. Worth a thought.
I will check them out .... Ta
EdBerg
15-11-2017, 09:26 PM
I also checked out the Metaloids 5's last year, nice reel but ended up with 2 Penn Fathoms 15's instead, got one in a single speed and the other a two speed as they were physically a little bit smaller than the Metaloids. I wanted a 2 speed Metaloid which Rapala don't bring into Oz so went for the Penns. The Metaloids do feel robust though, and the only way to get the 2 speed is to import from the states, 5IIR & 5IIB are the models being nice Red and Blue variants. The cheapest I have seen them is about AU$320 (E-Bay) delivered to here, the Penns at the time were about $215 and $275 on sale.
I was talking to a bloke who was using the Andros (2 speed) - & while he rated them ... for what he paid ($450ish) , wouldn't you throw a little bit more coin in and buy a Saltiga ?
So many options ...... & price points
EdBerg
16-11-2017, 08:52 AM
It depends on whether the bloke thought that the Saltiga's were that much better than the Andros's for the extra coin. For myself, there comes a point where you have to decide on whether or not you want to spend 2 to 3 times plus more cash for a reel to catch some fish. Sure some reels have a nicer "feel" to them in the hand but that doesn't translate to catching more fish. So long as the reel does what it is supposed to do, feels nice, and you can live with the price you paid then it is just a preference thing.
For example, I have caught largish fish on a low profile baitcaster that only had a couple of bearings and whilst that reel had several short comings and could have had some improvements it still caught the same amount of fish as my more expensive reels. So having a very engineered reel won't guarantee more fish, it may be nicer to use, hold and last longer and providing that it is also suitable for the type of fish you want catch, but in the class of the Metaloid's, Andros's, Fathom's, Saltiga's ect., they are all high quality nice reels, so I don't think that you can buy a "wrong" model out of those.
Just whatever appeals to you and is within your budget. I have bought some very cheapo E-Bay overheads (sub $100) in the past as an experiment and couldn't get rid of them quick enough, not that I actually fished with them but because they just didn't feel right and felt cheap and nasty, having done so, I won't do that again and will pay 2-3 times that amount for a better reel, but 5-8 times more I doubt it.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Ed.
Ducksnutz
16-11-2017, 10:46 AM
Hey Nagg,
which saltiga over over head were you thinking about? I only ask because I believe a few are now not made in Japan.
It depends on whether the bloke thought that the Saltiga's were that much better than the Andros's for the extra coin. For myself, there comes a point where you have to decide on whether or not you want to spend 2 to 3 times plus more cash for a reel to catch some fish. Sure some reels have a nicer "feel" to them in the hand but that doesn't translate to catching more fish. So long as the reel does what it is supposed to do, feels nice, and you can live with the price you paid then it is just a preference thing.
For example, I have caught largish fish on a low profile baitcaster that only had a couple of bearings and whilst that reel had several short comings and could have had some improvements it still caught the same amount of fish as my more expensive reels. So having a very engineered reel won't guarantee more fish, it may be nicer to use, hold and last longer and providing that it is also suitable for the type of fish you want catch, but in the class of the Metaloid's, Andros's, Fathom's, Saltiga's ect., they are all high quality nice reels, so I don't think that you can buy a "wrong" model out of those.
Just whatever appeals to you and is within your budget. I have bought some very cheapo E-Bay overheads (sub $100) in the past as an experiment and couldn't get rid of them quick enough, not that I actually fished with them but because they just didn't feel right and felt cheap and nasty, having done so, I won't do that again and will pay 2-3 times that amount for a better reel, but 5-8 times more I doubt it.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Ed.
Ed - it's a fair call & goes to the heart of the old debate on how much do you need to spend or should you spend on fishing tackle . Yes I've seen & caught some really nice fish on some very basic tackle ...... I'll never argue that point .
That said , I've pretty well tried to buy the best that I can afford at that particular time ( or was willing to save for) ... presently ,I'm lucky enough to be able to spend a bit more on gear .... & my mindset will always be value for money & bang for your buck ..... does it warrant spending more , sometimes much more
I questioned the Andros purchase because it wasn't cheap at $450ish ( another $100ish & you can grab a proven well regarded Saltiga) ..... now no disrespect to Okuma as they have come a long way in recent times but their reels are not designed as well or built as well as the likes of Daiwa , Shimano and many others ...... that's my take on the decision .......
Right now - since you mentioned baitcasters - I'm looking at Pflueger Patriach XT Handsome looking , High end , 10 bearings , Carbon handle ...... P.O.S:( The amount of upkeep required to keep it fishing was a pain - less than a year of service & I was over it ........ A example of a wannabe reel that just didn't cut it - & worst of all it was not too much cheaper than the Shimano / Daiwa 's that were along side it
Back to jig reels
This particular reel category ( compact overhead / jig reels) throws up some challenges (lots of choices) ..... and a big range of prices - from $250 - $1000+ But will a $250 reel be up to the task of fishing 15kgs of drag without going into meltdown or falling apart . ....... For me it will be buy well & buy once ...... I don't want to be in that situation where a reel seizes . I know I can spend the $500 - $750 & get not only a reel that will do the job , but do it well for a long time
Hey Nagg,
which saltiga over over head were you thinking about? I only ask because I believe a few are now not made in Japan.
I think the overheads are made in Taiwan or Thailand ....... but it's still in the own factories & not a contractor
EdBerg
16-11-2017, 08:54 PM
I have quite a lot of reels over the years namely name brands and even so had a few problem ones in those. The small Fathoms I got were replacements for the 2 Daiwa Saltists and whilst they weren't a bad reel they had really big corrosion problems for the amount of use they had. Wouldn't touch the TLD's again but do like the Tynos, and whilst the Tynos's aren't a high end reel, they are OK for what you pay.
At the end of the day it's what makes you happy, feels right and stands up to the job that you bought it for. There are so many reels out there to choose from it's hard to decide, been trying to decide if I want a Daiwa Lexa HD400 or an Abu Toro Beast 60 for a high speed large baitcaster.
As I said before I have a couple of Penn Fathoms two 15's and a 30 which will do my mid rage fishing requirements for a while, only time will tell if they will last though but I have to be realistic in that they cost less than half the cost of the ones you are looking at, currently getting my newly acquired boat ready for boating toward X'mas so hopefully will test them out. If they aren't up to scratch then I don't have two much cash tied up in them, but so far they are looking good.
Either way whatever you get, do a post on their performance, good or bad, as it helps everyone with a general knowledge of different reels.
Ed.
I have quite a lot of reels over the years namely name brands and even so had a few problem ones in those. The small Fathoms I got were replacements for the 2 Daiwa Saltists and whilst they weren't a bad reel they had really big corrosion problems for the amount of use they had. Wouldn't touch the TLD's again but do like the Tynos, and whilst the Tynos's aren't a high end reel, they are OK for what you pay.
At the end of the day it's what makes you happy, feels right and stands up to the job that you bought it for. There are so many reels out there to choose from it's hard to decide, been trying to decide if I want a Daiwa Lexa HD400 or an Abu Toro Beast 60 for a high speed large baitcaster.
As I said before I have a couple of Penn Fathoms two 15's and a 30 which will do my mid rage fishing requirements for a while, only time will tell if they will last though but I have to be realistic in that they cost less than half the cost of the ones you are looking at, currently getting my newly acquired boat ready for boating toward X'mas so hopefully will test them out. If they aren't up to scratch then I don't have two much cash tied up in them, but so far they are looking good.
Either way whatever you get, do a post on their performance, good or bad, as it helps everyone with a general knowledge of different reels.
Ed.
Always happy to share my experiences - good or bad
It's always a difficult choice - specially wen there are so many options . I don't mind going left field & away from the big two .... but I have to say , generally if you buy their mid & higher end reels you usually cant go wrong The technology of the higher end reels often filters down to the second tier reels in the next generation.
Your thoughts on the TLDs is exactly what I have thought ..... they ae not made anywhere near to the standards as when they first came out in the 90s - I would touch one.
In the end - this is purchase (jig type reel) is a challenge .......
Decided to bite the bullet today & go overhead hunting ..... there were a few reels in mind - Jigging Master Monster game (Pe4) , Okuma Metaloid , Shimano Ocea Jigger , Saltigas , Finnor Marqesa ..... .but had no idea on the rod
I have to say , you have to love playing with these tackle stores guys ..... specially which way they try to lead you - I gave them the brief 6-6ft 6" 30-50lb (no broom sticks) .. ..... I knew the rod was a hard pick
Ended up going with a Daiwa Saltiga X PE3-4 (6ft)...... after being shown everything from swimbait to micro jigging rods
The reel was then chosen to match the rod ...... The wider spool reels like the finnor , Metaloid & Saltiga LDs were ruled out . The Ocea Jigger wasn't a patch on the Jigging Master - but it was the Saltiga 35N-SJ that won the day and seems to be a match made in heaven with the Saltiga X - I've found that the Saltiga X can punch above their weight so I spooled her up with 50 pound J braid (300m) .
I've tested the drag & she pulls 25lb off the reel ..... which is near enough to what I wanted 116506
hopefully it wont be too long before I get the chance to stretch her legs . There are a couple of interesting features - like spool lock (click the button & the spool locks .... but you can wind . no ratchet but built in clicker when line is being taken . good spool control (so you could pitch baits) ..... it feels nice