View Full Version : Brisbane boat show
Seahorse
25-08-2017, 07:07 PM
Well another poor boat show gone.
No bargins, $46 parking fee, $15 to get in.
I was after a lowrance 7ti. Normally $1049 at northside and $999 on front page of boating and rv catalogue.
Well northsode had a boat show special of $999 and boating rv had it for $969.
What a bargin. 1 cheap tackle place with brands never heard of. No boating accessories.
Same old boats. Wont get me again.
Crunchy
25-08-2017, 07:24 PM
Shytehouse alright...I had zero expectations but even they weren't met.
Seahorse
25-08-2017, 07:26 PM
Glad i wasnt the only one who thought it was a rip off
Crunchy
25-08-2017, 08:11 PM
Glad i wasnt the only one who thought it was a rip off
My favourite stand was the bar
Haven't bothered for years!!
Cape Crusader
25-08-2017, 09:33 PM
I guess it's hard, times are a bit tight and shows would be time consuming and expensive I suppose. Wife and I went to brisbane show last year and was surprised that it was quite so small, not much bigger than our Adelaide boat show. but plenty of things to do that are worse than looking at boats, got to see some different boats and catch up with some friends up there. Sydney 2017 was pretty good, our first time there. Boat shows are mostly social events for us, that works with some friends, check out the stuff and have lunch ;D
Pretty boring on your own though unless your in the market, then good deals would be nice, but perhaps unlikely by the sounds of it
Rod
Short Fuse
25-08-2017, 10:26 PM
We went in this morning for a look around. Agree that the parking is a total rip off. It cost us $30 to park for a bit over 4 hours. I went not expecting to buy anything, and not being in the market for any boats, did not expect to see anything to get my interest up. It was a social day as we ran into plenty of friends so a fair bit of time spent talking.
One of the mates picked up a Berkely Drop Shot spin rod for 10 bucks at the cheapie tackle stand, and I shelled out $30 for a small pack of 5 prawn shaped micro jigs that are around the 60 - 80 gram size. I figure that I will use them as sacrificial jigs chasing trout in the shallows and if I catch something on them, all good and if they snag up and bust off, I wont cry too much. Grant (Moonlighter) grabbed a Gen 3 Lowrance HDS7 for a very good price, and one of the other mates grabbed an Elite9Ti for his boat. Both very happy with the prices they paid. I spent a bit of time drooling over the Furuno stand trying to decide which ones would look good on the dash of the cat.
Being a cat fan, there were a couple to look at. The Sailfish boats present very nicely, but the glass one on display is in my opinion a price of crap. It looks like it is about 20 years out of date. Batteries screwed directly to the floor under the transom skin in a perfect position to stub toes on. Big engine bays and it would just about be impossible to fish out the back over the top of the motors with the current crop of short length reef fishing rods. Open half cabin design with short bunks that a small person would struggle to sleep comfortably on. I could add several more shortcomings but I think that is enough. In the tinnies, I liked a couple of the Aluvans and Stesscos in the smaller sizes and the Seajays always present well. Got to say that most of the NZ boats on display are far superior to many of the leading Oz boats in my opinion. In glass boats the Cruise Crafts always look the goods as well.
Overall, its pretty much the same as previous years, and seemed to be less and less boat yards displaying there than in past years. I think the cost of a stand there would deter a fair number of smaller businesses from participating. One dealer that I know fairly well told me his stand cost $15 grand for the 3 days. He will need to sell a few rigs to cover that expense thats for sure. It is still worth going to though in my opinion. Don't expect to find a lot of bargains but for anyone in the market for a new rig, its still the best way to see most of the options available at one time, particularly if you want to compare various boat options at the same time.
Jeff
scottar
25-08-2017, 11:05 PM
One dealer that I know fairly well told me his stand cost $15 grand for the 3 days.
Yep. Probably about right. When I last attended a boat show as an exhibitor a 6x3 booth was costing about $10K for a five or six day show. The big boys stands were in the vicinity of $45K. The big players will hit up the various manufacturers to chip in a lot of the time but for small one man businesses, the costs don't really stack up. Not only does your floor space cost a bomb, depending on your market place the margins used to get slashed, there is the cost of set up and tear down in both man hours and for some quite hefty transport costs just to get their stand there. Add to that the difficulty in maintaining your regular business at the same time and it really is no wonder that more are turning away from exhibiting. For a long while we kept turning up basically writing the exercise off as flag waving but in the end with the shift towards on line shopping expanding it was decided the funds and man hours could be put to better use.
Seahorse
26-08-2017, 10:07 AM
Scottar, there margins were still there, because no special prices. I dont call 5% off $1000 as a discount.
Bris rv lost me. One bloke behing the counter was quiet abrupt.
We just dont get much of a choice these days with boating and tackle shops.
Ah well should had just gone fishing. Lol
Moejoes
26-08-2017, 10:07 AM
We went last night.
$5 to get in nice and quiet, easy to get round and chat.
Bought a deep drop reel.
Closed at 8pm but didn't get home til 2:30am.
Don't know what happened there :P
Micadogs
26-08-2017, 06:08 PM
I havent been for years and thought it was ok. Not having to pay for parking helped!
All the companies that I wanted to talk with were there Mercury (about props) Lowrance (setting up few things on my displays) Maxwell (have had breaker trip a lot) and Machine It (love the look and feel of seadek).
Bought one of those Fish Chiller Bags and some of the cheap stuff. Liked the app from Fisheries to use phone for legal size and bag limits.
There seemed to be a lot of trailer boat brands this year compared to 4 years when I was last there. I rated above average.
Cheers Adam
Back In Black
26-08-2017, 06:28 PM
We went last night.
Bought a deep drop reel.
You do get side tracked pretty easy mate...........
Moejoes
26-08-2017, 06:54 PM
Tell me about it......... I went out off Mooloolaba sea trialling a 3000 Noosacat with twin 200hp Yamis in 25 knots today.
I was very impressed ;D
You do get side tracked pretty easy mate...........
Back In Black
26-08-2017, 07:51 PM
Tell me about it......... I went out off Mooloolaba sea trialling a 3000 Noosacat with twin 200hp Yamis in 25 knots today.
I was very impressed ;D
Take enough fuel............
scottar
26-08-2017, 08:14 PM
We just dont get much of a choice these days with boating and tackle shops.
The price we pay for previous years of boat show buying behavior - all the smaller businesses no longer attend - because financially it wasn't worth it. Years ago It would not have been unusual to have anything up to 4 or 5 small independent electronics specialists at a show. Back then retailers like Bias would literally sell product at or below cost just to "get the deal" (great business model that turned out to be) and the punters lapped it up. Now there is no competition, yes they probably are making a margin but I will bet it's nowhere near what you thinking it is. Can't comment on the salesman's attitude apart from to say I've lost my shit with people at shows previously as well - usually for good reason though. I certainly don't miss working at them. Now I struggle to get motivated to even go for a look.
Seahorse
26-08-2017, 09:31 PM
All shows seem to be the same. The last tinnie and tackle was very poor as well. More 4 wd stuff there than fishing. The only fishing stuff seems to be the shit from down south retailers. Names of lines, lures reels etc that i have never heard off
Almako
26-08-2017, 09:38 PM
dropped in Friday arvo after work to kill some time. That 7m Haines is massive, would prefer the Cruise Craft 685. Signature still haven't changed and not much else there worth looking at. No Garmin marine stand just in a few locations with retailers which wasn't what I was expecting. Furuno for the size of that company must have the smallest stand possible in the event. Seadek nice product but $2500k kit only for my 625. Really.... Also wonder if and when this hardtop revolution will end as everyone's doing it now.
Stopped in at one of the jet ski stands where the dude was bagging out fishing boats saying how hard it is to own one and find crew bla bla bla what a tosser. Two nice birds at the Yamaha stand, stopped in for some directions lol. Otherwise pretty disappointed but mostly cause I was expecting to check out the Garmin stand that they had in Sydney and it's all over their Facebook but didn't bother bringing it here.
Dignity
26-08-2017, 09:38 PM
We went last night.
Bought a deep drop reel.
Which one.
Dignity
26-08-2017, 09:46 PM
I was very impressed ;D
Rob,do you have a doppelganger posting in your name, apparently impressed with
a. Noosacat
b. Yammies
Moejoes
26-08-2017, 10:04 PM
I recall someone that night saying Trade secret.....my lips are sealed :P
Which one.
Moejoes
26-08-2017, 10:06 PM
I think Soulfish has hacked my password........ :rifle:
Rob,do you have a doppelganger posting in your name, apparently impressed with
a. Noosacat
b. Yammies
Moejoes
26-08-2017, 10:13 PM
The hull of my next boat is gonna be one big fuel tank Tony ;D
Take enough fuel............
seashawgal
26-08-2017, 10:18 PM
I went this afternoon after 5 on Saturday. Found a couple of stands with helpful friendly salespeople kmowledgeable and willing to put in a bit of time and give quotes etc. However on many stands the sales people were all sitting down and socialising with each other and ignoring the public. I stood around for a while looking at products motors boats but no one helped me. Northside marine had all their Whittleys on display quality boats but very expensive new. I was quite impressed with the Baysport boats value for money Peter and Justin from Brisbane Yamaha Burpengary were the best, I've had good service from this company before as well when I bought a 15hp 2 stroke Yamaha from them. Nothing was too much trouble and the handover was excellent. I wanted to buy some basic fishing hooks and sinkers but couldn't find any! It's ridiculous having it at southbank too poncy and expensive fisher people don't want all that glamor and expense to park.
Skusto
27-08-2017, 12:20 AM
Was there today as well. One thing the new Haines underfloor esky is ridiculous! But a massive feature that eliminates the need for extra Eskies!!!
On that note I thought it wasn't too bad had a few boats too look at which was good as normal in your head you are calculating whether or not selling the toys would let you upgrade to a
Bigger boat, the sailfish boats keep popping out to me each yeah which may end up being a reality.
The boys at Brisbane marine werendoing a great deal on a pair of 115 mercs but just not quite ready was very close though!
All in all we still spent about 5 hours
There going through all the larger boats as we generally do each year. Just can't justify the 200k price tags of these boats yet....
Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums
Crunchy
27-08-2017, 07:50 AM
Was there today as well. One thing the new Haines underfloor esky is ridiculous! But a massive feature that eliminates the need for extra eskies
Did you ask if it was insulated? Can' t imagine HH would have the forsight...
seastrength
27-08-2017, 08:30 AM
I went early morning yesterday for 4-5 hours. Take the train and save parking costs. Not in the market for a new boat, but always interested to see any new ideas. Most of the vendors were helpful and willing to talk about their product until I mentioned I was not a buyer. I think the master fishing seminars were great value. Laurie Macanally's talk on mackeral fishing alone was worth the $15 entry fee. But then I am novice when it comes to fishing and always looking to improve my catch rate.;)
Vromme
27-08-2017, 09:21 AM
Well another poor boat show gone.
No bargins, $46 parking fee,
Parking fees these days are pure extortion!
Havent been to the boat show for a few years, feel somewhat sorry for the $ the smaller companies have to put in to go, Cant blame them for pulling the pin.
Andy56
27-08-2017, 11:01 AM
I am surprised that the boating industry just doesnt get together and hire a footy field. Minimise outlays for everyone, including entrance fees and parking. Make it a real social event.Cheap food and refreshments. Flea markets usually charge $100 a spot and everyone makes money. This convention center "scam" is well and truly done and dusted in 2017. For the convenience of an enclosed environment, we the consumers are slugged, the exhibitors are slugged and nobody is happy with the massive rip. Melbourne exhibitions are no better. $45 parking and $20 entrance fee means $65 per person attending. What do they think it is, a beatles reunion? lol. I would rather the $15-$45 grand ( doesnt include costs involved in getting to the exhibitions and stands etc etc ) be plowed back into lower boat prices than an exhibition center profit . Cause they have eaten the hand that feeds.. its the age where the facilitator is king, not the product,
some figures we can deduce but aren't actually available.
77 exhibitors at say minimum $15g =$1,550,000
12300 attendies average $15 entrance fee = $184,000
12300 attendies parking have a guess $20 = $24,000
12300 attendies food/drinks a guess $20 = $24,000
food stall holders fees, probably $15000x20 = $30,000 These are all base figures and I am sure that there is a lot more actually being paid.
The convention center is grossing around $2,000,000 for three days exhibition. Of coarse they have costs, I dont deny this. But they claim 40% increase in attendance, must be making better than 20% in my guesstimate. Melbourne's figures are even more frightening.
Thats assuming the retailers only attend one show !! Melbourne would be even more expensive with greater attendances too. It could cost the big boys $100-300,000 in boatshow costs. That could be a wacking $6,000 per boat we pay in marketing fees.
what this says to me is that the convention center "industry" is taking the cream. I know you can justify anything, but it just shows how we walk around oblivious to what is done to us, hahaha. Sometimes its better to just not think about it.
scottar
27-08-2017, 12:05 PM
I am surprised that the boating industry just doesnt get together and hire a footy field. Minimise outlays for everyone, including entrance fees and parking. Make it a real social event.Cheap food and refreshments. Flea markets usually charge $100 a spot and everyone makes money. This convention center "scam" is well and truly done and dusted in 2017. For the convenience of an enclosed environment, we the consumers are slugged, the exhibitors are slugged and nobody is happy with the massive rip. Melbourne exhibitions are no better. $45 parking and $20 entrance fee means $65 per person attending. What do they think it is, a beatles reunion? lol. I would rather the $15-$45 grand ( doesnt include costs involved in getting to the exhibitions and stands etc etc ) be plowed back into lower boat prices than an exhibition center profit . Cause they have eaten the hand that feeds.. its the age where the facilitator is king, not the product,
some figures we can deduce but aren't actually available.
77 exhibitors at say minimum $15g =$1,550,000
12300 attendies average $15 entrance fee = $184,000
12300 attendies parking have a guess $20 = $24,000
12300 attendies food/drinks a guess $20 = $24,000
food stall holders fees, probably $15000x20 = $30,000 These are all base figures and I am sure that there is a lot more actually being paid.
The convention center is grossing around $2,000,000 for three days exhibition. Of coarse they have costs, I dont deny this. But they claim 40% increase in attendance, must be making better than 20% in my guesstimate. Melbourne's figures are even more frightening.
Thats assuming the retailers only attend one show !! Melbourne would be even more expensive with greater attendances too. It could cost the big boys $100-300,000 in boatshow costs. That could be a wacking $6,000 per boat we pay in marketing fees.
what this says to me is that the convention center "industry" is taking the cream. I know you can justify anything, but it just shows how we walk around oblivious to what is done to us, hahaha. Sometimes its better to just not think about it.
Not all the money goes to the convention centre. The various BIA's around the country look upon boat shows as their annual fund raisers as well for what they are worth - they do sweet FA for their money in my book apart from self promotion and the provision of a nice little certificate for their members to make them feel warm and fuzzy.
Shark Poker
27-08-2017, 02:30 PM
Not all the money goes to the convention centre. The various BIA's around the country look upon boat shows as their annual fund raisers as well for what they are worth - they do sweet FA for their money in my book apart from self promotion and the provision of a nice little certificate for their members to make them feel warm and fuzzy.
Seems very true, Scottar.
One of the BIA staff explained that to me a few years back.
A bunch of us expected the convention centre boat show would have folded by now due to lack of exhibitors.
On a much more positive note, the show earlier this year at Gold Coast City Marina was a zillion times better. Parked the car 250m from front gate, no parking fees, way more exhibitors, much more variety and it was a show about boats & the industry rather than just a weekend sale.
Cheers, SP
Braddles
27-08-2017, 02:37 PM
SO glad I read this feedback..
I was just about to drive in... Wanted to look at upgrading my lowrance HDS7 and see what lowrance / garmin / others?? had to offer... I was also wanting a few outside bottom bashing outfits for visitors in the $250 - 350 mark - but again sounds like I would have been out of luck.
The parking is just greed. The place would otherwise be dead on the w'end... why not $5 or even $10 parking.... I would never pay $50 to pay for a few hours parking to attend a boat show - cheaper to Uber in and out!
I hope something else is done next year... A footy field is a great idea... Def more industry representation is needed - and that wont happen while they are being fleeced massive $$. Customers wont come for a bargain -- when they cant see all the options, and there are no deals to be had...
I am done with boat shows - in their current form... until something changes.
Crunchy
27-08-2017, 03:45 PM
I wonder if the various vendors are focusing their efforts on the sanctuary cove boat show which I thought was really good, lots of brisbaneites head down for that show and perhaps no need for the extra Brisbane show.
Dirtyfuzz
27-08-2017, 04:51 PM
Picked up a raymarine axiom with all the works for $2250, havn't seen a better price than that outside of online, so was pretty happy, I mainly went to get some ideas for refurbishing the old kc!
scottar
27-08-2017, 05:33 PM
I wonder if the various vendors are focusing their efforts on the sanctuary cove boat show which I thought was really good, lots of brisbaneites head down for that show and perhaps no need for the extra Brisbane show.
For companies like Garmin - a distinct possibility. Every town and it's doghouse want to have a boat show these days. Pretty expensive and labor intensive to get to all of them. Trailer boats not so much though - the one(or two I think now) down the Goldy would be the major competition there I would think. Then you have the "Tackle and Tinnie"s (there were two for one year at least, Redcliffe, think they tried at Cleveland and the list goes on and on.
Heliduck
27-08-2017, 11:51 PM
I've been looking at building a plate boat for a few years & I've spoken to nearly every reputable plate boat builder in the country during that process. The feedback they give me is that they're all flat out so I don't blame them for not blowing cash on a boat show when they are already having trouble keeping up with demand. Some are running nightshift!
chocolatemoose
28-08-2017, 09:24 AM
Australia does struggle with shows , Though sydneys show this year was rather positive and hopefully a leason for other states.
I have been exhibiting at shows for a decade here in Victoria. The melbourne boat show is the BIAV' money maker for the year, the Expo hall does have a fee of 1 million-ish so some serious coin is transacted. our stand was north of 40k before staffing and expenses.
But heres the thing. Its to expensive to be an expo for entertainment, but being a sales show wont bring in crowds to help keep cost down. in a way its a loose loose.
Now having outside shows etc are all great. And there are still plenty of small "field day" shows however you wont see big exciting stuff at those shows. but can be a cheap day out.
it will be interesting to see where shows go.
Moose
28-08-2017, 10:02 AM
I think in a way, all shows have gone the same way, whether it is a boat show, motor show or even things like the Easter Show, they all evolved from places for manufactures and retailers to "show" their wares, into mega dollar, make as much cash as you can in a very short time affair. Venues are not cheap, that's for sure, transporting equipment to and from venues is time consuming and expensive, don't really know an answer to it all. I consider myself pretty lucky to have worked at the Sydney boat show in the early '80s, and back then, it was more a big family event, most of the exhibitors knew each other, and had a great time after closing, lots of boats used to get sold at the show, and in a way, we were one of the first to take fishing gear for sale at the show, and it worked, we sold stuff cheap, because we got deals from suppliers for the show only. These days I go every second year, and even after 2 years, it's usually a disappointment, same old same old, outrages parking cost, expensive poor quality food, exhibitors who don't seem to care if you're there or not, unless you appear to be buying a big dollar item, lots of small stands flogging off rubbish, year after year.....
Shark Poker
28-08-2017, 03:42 PM
I was wondering what we on ausfish posted about boat shows in years gone past. So I did a quick search.
"I reckon that Boat shows are just the same old stuff 'rehashed" every year, there is very little really new or interesting stuff to look forward to, and then there is the Tackle sales stands full of crap that did not sell through the shops, at normal prices anyway, only go every second or third year now, but then I go to the Sydney show, just MAYBE brisbane is different (but I doubt it)"
That's from you Noelm, 28-8-2007 (Ten years ago).
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/115192-Brisbane-Boat-Show?highlight=2007+brisbane+boat+show
Mr__Bean
28-08-2017, 03:46 PM
We went last year, very good bargains were to be had in the last hour of the last day.
You need to be organised with what you want, then do the deals in the last hour.
We spent nearly $100K there last year.
28-08-2017, 03:50 PM
Well, it looks like nothing has changed then hey?
Crunchy
28-08-2017, 05:48 PM
We went last year, very good bargains were to be had in the last hour of the last day.
You need to be organised with what you want, then do the deals in the last hour.
We spent nearly $100K there last year.
Crikey I hope that included a boat!
breambandit
28-08-2017, 06:17 PM
Went to the show Friday with 3 things in mind to equip my new boat.
1. A quote for supply and install a Minn Kota trolling motor including on board battery charger system.
2. Purchase a Bait cutting board to be mounted on the Telwater ski pole adapter on the transom
3. A lean seat to fit to the pole adapter on the front deck
4. Ask the Lowrance rep a few questions and shortcuts about my new HDS7 gen 3 Sounder.
5. Sit down and listen to the various fishing presenters and gain a few pointers to improve my catch rate.
Well what a disappointment. Apart from getting great information and help from Marcel the Minn Kota rep about what I needed, there were very few Minn Kota trolling motors on display or dealers willing to spend the time giving you a quote to supply and fit one. I came away with the impression that unless you wanted a new boat they couldn't give a rats about accessories.
The bait board and lean seat we won't go into that, because there was very few enthusiastic salesmen willing to give you ideas, quotes or the stands had very little boating accessories to show.
The Lowrance rep was good and sorted out my inquiries on the HDS Gen3 settings outside the Northside boating stand. The same can't be said about the Northside boating salesmen, that gave no attention to what I was after.
The boat that I bought in Dec 2016 wasn't even displayed at the show. When I enquired to the Stacer dealers, the reply was "it's a boat that is not that popular here in Brisbane". "Its a great solid boat popular in the NT, NQLD, NSW and VIC."
The question I ask Stacer and other manufacturers, why not display one boat of every type at the show?
Not all the customers come from Brisbane or SEQLD. In fact I was talking with a few people that flew down from the NT to attend the show and were not impressed. Guys if you wanted a Quintrex renegade, or a stessco tinny there were heaps on show, but anything unusual it was non existent. I thought the show was a way for BIA to demonstrate what there is available in the boating industry in Australia, stir people's imagination with a view to turning that into sales.
The fishing shows and presenters as usual were ok.
Overall the 2017 Brisbane Boat Show was very poor. The displays were poor. the entrance fee was average, but 30 bucks for less than 5 hr use of the carpark ensured that I won't return in the future.
Adios Amigos
Andy56
28-08-2017, 07:45 PM
As i said, its about the facilitator ( the convention center) really being "the business" and retailers are the bunny men. We need to find a way around this expensive scam before too many people get burnt. Times are tough for everyone and marketing is a big expense thats grown out of proportion to revenues.
Seahorse
28-08-2017, 07:58 PM
I wrote email to organisers and got a reply.
they said my parking fees were to high compared to others. I parked right opposite.
They were not really concerned and just said sorry u wont be coming back
paulb1
28-08-2017, 08:45 PM
Agree fully on the kit, no chance of getting something useful out of the bargin bins...
I shop online, useful site out of Sydney has some great gear for the price range you want that I've voted for with my money.
paulb1
28-08-2017, 08:50 PM
I did the usual visit to the Boat show, caught the train as the Convention centre is another of those money making machines with huge parking fines.
The new Signature 788SF looks like it will be a weapon, not finished as they hadn't put the roof on it, but 700Hp, 500lt fuel capacity, 3480kg all up on the trailer (so Big 4WD truck RAM/F250/Silverado required to tow it) and a price of $290k will all the electronics and options installed is a serious bit of investment but 50~55 knots and everything that opens and shuts so if you want to play, you have to play...
Almako
28-08-2017, 09:07 PM
I struggle to believe the boating market is doing it tough. Last figures I heard were 1 in 10 families own a boat, plus our population growth over the last few years has been huge. I think it's time they got their head out of the sand and realised that they are doing fine, and it's their perception and greed holding themselves back.