View Full Version : Tweed River/ Nerang River November 2015
powderfingers
16-11-2015, 02:15 PM
Quick update, both boats have been doing trips to the Tweed and Nerang River systems. The first pic was a tagged flattie caught trolling and released by client Chris in the Nerang River, the fish was originally caught and tagged 540 days ago on 17 May 2014 in the same location, and grew by 12cm during that time. It would have travelled during that time but it is interesting that it certainly returns to the exact same location to feed. The spot is known to hold good concentrations of jelly prawns especially after decent rain!
There is plenty of dirty water in the rivers after recent rain which gives the bait fish and prawns a place to hide which of course the predators know and use to their advantage. There is still a lot of fish well upstream even though it is quite muddy. Of course the Jacks have started and they will only increase in number from now on. Your best chance of a really big one is night time with livies.
This warmer weather sees a lot more jetski and water ski activity, although very annoying if you do see them stir up shallow water have a fish through the area, it stirs up the bottom and sends the fish crazy ;-)
Cheers and happy fishing everyone
Clint
Brad Smith Fishing Charters
16-11-2015, 08:15 PM
GDay Clint
I recognise the locations of those last 3 pics. Nice fish. Still haven't got a jack off the back of our place yet.
Crabs are starting to show up as well.
powderfingers
18-11-2015, 07:18 AM
G'day Brett, thanks, Im sure you'll get a Jack soon, the Nerang River water temp has jumped up to 28 lately, the Tweed a bit cooler but it will catch up soon. Good to hear the muddies are showing up!
18-11-2015, 07:19 AM
Haven't fished much - locally - heard of a few jacks around - on the bonus side - 4 muddies just last night off the pontoon.
21-11-2015, 08:13 PM
Clint,
I saw you had both boats out the river in front of the house today mate - what are you guys chasing in the main stretch of the Tweed?
I waved to Brad when I thought it was you - it was a distance :-) - tell him it was me that beeped driving down the road the other day towing the cat.
powderfingers
24-11-2015, 10:13 AM
Hi Brett
Wheres your house again mate? Sorry I forgot, was looking out for you but wasn't sure where to look haha. We've been getting big numbers of flatties up there, that day you saw us, we would have got at least 50 as well as big whiting and bream and some GT's, let the buys keep a couple each for a feed and released all the rest. Left them biting and moved on, as Brad says "We're farmers not fishermen" Not huge flatties but a lot in the 42cm to 59cm range.
24-11-2015, 08:06 PM
Come on mate, I was even waving to you but you had a big boat load on Sunday.
You were turning around in front of the house.
Red brick - low set - big double stage rock retaining wall, plastic pontoon with a tinny tied up to it and a little tinny sitting on top.
We were the ones drinking and waving from the pool - you can't see the pool from your height.
I was going to call you over as we had 20 crabs from the last 3 days all in the live tank. Pulled the couple of pots out of the water as it was getting out of control.
The river is pretty deep there - you must have been using some deep divers to be bouncing across the bottom there.
Sunday had heaps of ski boats and jetskis out so you did pretty well getting that total. I also noticed you were only trolling downstream with the outgoing tide obviously effective.
Pic is an older one from last year before the back area was finished.
powderfingers
26-11-2015, 10:33 AM
Come on mate, I was even waving to you but you had a big boat load on Sunday.
You were turning around in front of the house.
Red brick - low set - big double stage rock retaining wall, plastic pontoon with a tinny tied up to it and a little tinny sitting on top.
We were the ones drinking and waving from the pool - you can't see the pool from your height.
I was going to call you over as we had 20 crabs from the last 3 days all in the live tank. Pulled the couple of pots out of the water as it was getting out of control.
The river is pretty deep there - you must have been using some deep divers to be bouncing across the bottom there.
Sunday had heaps of ski boats and jetskis out so you did pretty well getting that total. I also noticed you were only trolling downstream with the outgoing tide obviously effective.
Pic is an older one from last year before the back area was finished.
Ah!! Nice place! Next time I'm there for a fun fish and not a charter I'll stop and have a chat. Nice amount of crabs sounds great. Yes we were trolling micro mullets, we get them down to 4m+ on super fine braid. The skiers are great for fishing, they stir up the water and get the fish very excited! A LOT of flathead this week, most of them released again. Talk soon!