View Full Version : great feed for sunday lunch

rosco1974
16-08-2015, 04:03 PM
all week my nephew hounded me to head out in the boat on the weekend,so Friday arvo I finally weakened and told him we would go for a run Saturday morning and drop the pots for a feed for sunday lunch,dad, Bryce and myself went out to where I went the other week and dropped the pots and hoped we would get another feed,the little bugger wouldn't help set the pots up so after the last pot was dropped in for the nite he was told the bad news...I said u didn't help set them up so you have to pull them up and collapse the pots in the morning.haha ;D.
now being the nice uncle and knowing with the early morning westerly I decided to make him suffer and picked him and dad up at 6...
we pulled the pots for 15 keeper sandies and a nice rock crab...not quiet as good as the last trip but a good feed for lunch...my new helper pulled the pots collapsed the pots and only whinged from the first pot onwards that his hands where cold .;D he now has the crabbing bug and is keen to come out again...just got to teach him how to pick up the crabs out of the pots
cheers rosco110508110509

robsue
16-08-2015, 05:30 PM
howdy stranger, crab king at it a bit early this year
just got back this morning from our b2b cruises, going out tomorrow to the rouse for some whiting
vila is certainly cheaper than on the ship for duty free, on jewel they wanted $39.99 litre contreau, paid $24 litre for 3 bottles at vila then next door it was $22 litre......

rosco1974
16-08-2015, 05:59 PM
Just playing around mate.took a couple new pots out to try.they work well so will buy another 12.

16-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Top report mate and those rock crabs are great eating too Rosco arent they mate, many thanks for the tip a while back and I highly rate them

rosco1974
16-08-2015, 08:26 PM
yeah mate I didn't give that one away.i always keep them when I get one..them and coral crabs are the 2 best crabs to eat in my opinion

sandbankmagnet
17-08-2015, 12:10 PM
Any regulations on a rock crab?

Scott Ashe
17-08-2015, 12:30 PM
Well done rosco, I got out again last week with an old mate and we picked up 17 whiting, so I have some frames in my freezer for crab bait.

robsue
17-08-2015, 04:52 PM
Scott, how many whiting frames do you put in a pot, 50 frames does 4 pots for me when leaving overnight, I know Rosco is a big believer in putting plenty of bait in pots

Well done rosco, I got out again last week with an old mate and we picked up 17 whiting, so I have some frames in my freezer for crab bait.

rosco1974
17-08-2015, 05:04 PM
I always use heaps of bait .on the weekend they where reef fish frames from trips out,when that runs out I will use a minimum of a whole mullet a pot and if the crabs are really on 2 mullet a pot...