View Full Version : Beach driving and car wash.
JEWIENEWIE
03-06-2015, 12:28 PM
Well boys and girls I have just purchased my new 4by being a 2012 Pajero Platinum 2 series and I am pretty stoked with it. Previously had an 02 Pajero as a tester and loved it so upgraded. My question is that like all the other 4by's I have had it will be doing some beach work, some freak out at me saying you r going to take a near new car on the beach, but i didn't buy it to go to Woolies in......I bought a 4wd to go 4wdriving......I am wanting to know what peoples thoughts are about taking it through a car wash once off the beach???? Will it do a good enough job of gettin the salt and sand off her, One automatic car wash near me also gives an under-body wash at the same time. Am i just trying to be lazy and get out of washing it at home or will it do a better job than me with a bucket and a hose..............I have completely abused my other trucks, they would get a quick wash and I would at times place a sprinkler under her moving it back every now and then after a beach run, but I NEED TO CHANGED MY WAYS, with this truck being pretty much brand new with 50k on the clock.......dont want to really discuss rust protection methods etc, just is this a good way to go after a day on the beach.....
Thoughts Please,
JN
Whoofa
03-06-2015, 03:55 PM
I do the underbody wash at Tewantin, then sprinkler at home with a full hose out of the chassis etc. The hose out at home always removes a heap more sand, including getting freshwater down chassis. The underside of my car is also coated in lanolin and fish oil and I also keep the turtle wax up to the paint work. Nil issues in three years.
Crunchy
03-06-2015, 04:58 PM
I clmib under with a gurney, amazing how much sand comes out of the nooks and cranny's, even after going through the wash at Tewantain.
macka17
10-08-2015, 07:31 PM
Hi.
DO yourself a favour.
Buy a cheap old Disco.Nissan Mitzi etc for your beach work.
No matter what you do to it. using a new 4by on beaches will rot it out real quick
Cost wise nowadays . cars are thin as they can get away with , with the most lightest, economical coatings they can apply.
Unlike the 20yr old solid steel and 1/8th inch paints they had.
You'll get a disco/Mitzi. Nissan etc for around $4 to $7 grand.
tow on trailer to playground and admire your current new vehicle in 15 yrs time.
Still as good as new.
I use a '91 GQ 3 ltr petrol with Turbo head and manifolds for that game.
Cheap as. goes like stink and costs nothing. One day it'll make a fishing mark.
anythingfishy1
10-08-2015, 08:06 PM
I have a 06 pajero that is on fraser 8 times a year.
With the pajero you have a plate underneath your larger back seat where you can change your fuel filter, you need to take off two plates to get to it and as my mechanic says full of sand every time. I did not even know about it. For the rest I use a hose without any nozzle and stick it in all the crevices you can find especially between the fuel tank and guard. You do get a lot of sand out even when you use the underbody wash.
Kelvin
scottar
10-08-2015, 08:17 PM
. Am i just trying to be lazy........, but I NEED TO CHANGED MY WAYS,
JN
Suspect you knew the answer before you typed the question. Under you go;D.
manchild
11-08-2015, 01:34 PM
My friend build the one in Tewantin and many others . There is no filter for salt . Takes off the sand but give it a good flush with the hose/gurney/saltaway when you get home .
scottar
11-08-2015, 02:44 PM
My friend build the one in Tewantin and many others . There is no filter for salt . Takes off the sand but give it a good flush with the hose/gurney/saltaway when you get home .
Often wondered this. Ironic, all the blokes that won't drive in the water stopping for a recycled saltwater underbody wash on the way home. If they don't change their water regularly you could end up with more salt than in seawater.
Bremic
11-08-2015, 02:48 PM
I got one of these to hook up to the hose, got it from the 4 x 4/camping/boating show, at the Ekka grounds. As mentioned above, doesn't get everything. Can also recommend the electronic rust prevention gear.
Hope the photo works.
11-08-2015, 03:14 PM
As mentioned above, doesn't get everything. Can also recommend the electronic rust prevention gear.
Been done to death here before. Electronic rust protection does not, and cannot work. There is only subjective opinion to suggest electronic rust prevention does work, however there is plenty of scientific evidence that shows they dont work. A proper industrial coating is the only way to prevent rust..
The Black Unicorn
11-08-2015, 03:40 PM
I must have been lucky with my Pajero. Was a 95 model and used to do a lot of beach work with a quick hose down if at all. Sold it in2013 with no rust! Pretty good them pajeros!
robvee
11-08-2015, 05:48 PM
I also have a Paj .... great 4by for beach work !!
After my beach holidays, I put it on ramps, spend about 90min underneath it with scuba mask on to avoid gunk in my eyes :-)
Hose goes in every nook, cranny, hole that I can find and half of the beach ends up on my lawn :-) I do not trust any automated wash for this job.
After 4 years of regular beach trips the only rust I can see is on the brackets that hold the running boards (next project is to chuck these and make rocksliders) ... and a few of the exposed supension/drive bits that I wirebrush and spray with Lanotec.
Looks to me like Mitzi did a fair job of rustproofing the Paj as long as you give it a good hose down.
I'm off to Fraser in 10 days ..... whoop whoop :-)
11-08-2015, 06:57 PM
My '97 Pajero has done Fraser 5 times, other beach work over the last 15 years or so. No rust yet! Sorry but I don't agree with Macka17, newer 4x4 manufacturers have learned where rust is most likely and rust proof panels in the factory by putting sealant at the joins between them. Other much smarter designs these days will find a lot more plastic in typically rust prone areas such as behind rear wheel arches. JN will have bought an upgrade for comfort and reliability, ESPECIALLY because 4WDs take you to secluded places where you need that reliability. Buying an older vehicle is going backward IMHO. I hit it with the karcher 1st, then i Crawl under the truck and take the nozzle and hose fittings off to give the hose a smaller profile so you can squeeze into the rails and any difficult places not normally accessible. Water volume is what you need, so even if you have not got all the sand out, chances are that you have dissolved all the salt. Then the last thing I do is head for a hot shower, I will be soaked to the bone afterward.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JEWIENEWIE
06-10-2015, 12:09 PM
Your right Scalem, got a young family now and want them and myslef to be comfy and not have to worry about car issues if well off the track. I have copped plenty of flack form diff people abut spending that much money of a 4by to then take it up the beach, even the car dealer was shocked. I said to him I don't buy my 4wd to go to woollies in. But apparently he does........!::) On another note, I have noticed that every time i have to start the again, I need to turn off the Stability control, must be a fail safe Mech. Pain in the arse as have to remember about that. Went up Iluka beach on the weekend, soft going and was wondering why the pajy was struggling. Need to remember to turn that off every time......:-?
JN
They all do unless you have a rotary terrain dial. My Ranger is the same as yours. On the rust thing, I have a scratch in the front panel from 18 months back that hasn't started to rust yet even after a few trips up the beach. They are prep coated very well these days - it looks like zinc under the [pretty shitty] acrylic topcoat. I'll take that every time.
JEWIENEWIE
06-10-2015, 04:40 PM
I was just reading some stuff on the traction/stability control. Some say turn it off, some say leave it on while in the soft stuff. I have only played with it once so far but seemed to go better with it off although havent got stuck yet to have a serious play.Thoughts anyone....
JN
gofishin
06-10-2015, 10:32 PM
I was just reading some stuff on the traction/stability control. Some say turn it off, some say leave it on while in the soft stuff. I have only played with it once so far but seemed to go better with it off although havent got stuck yet to have a serious play.Thoughts anyone....
JNPajero's are great on the beach JN, the SS2 4WD system is bloody terrific IMHO.
I had the NT DiD on the beach once for a few days, previously an NM and an NL many times (both petrols though). Much preferred the NT on the beach with both TC and SC off.
Just had my LC200 on the beach for a week at Fraser last week on both the Eastern and Western side beaches. Miles better with both TC and SC off too, I reckon. The annoying chatter of the ABS trying to straighten the truck up, when SC was not off too, gave me the screaming sh!ts. Just gotta remember to turn it off each time.
For good washing, grab a $20 gutter cleaning hose fitting from Bunnings. Head swivels ~120 deg on way and ~70 or so the other. Telescopic, trigger operation and fits into the typical chassis holes. Works great and keeps you a lot drier.
Brendon
Seahorse
14-10-2015, 09:04 PM
I put mie over a sprinkler for about an hour. Just kept mowing it.
Still_Dreamin
15-10-2015, 06:55 AM
All my 4wd have lived on the beach or at boat ramps. all I do is take them to Downey st lubritorium get them steamed cleaned and then have their protective coating applied. After that I simply grab some beers and a hose and get underneath and rinse off. 1993 hilux (2nd hand had it for 5 yrs) 2003 Triton (new kept it 10yrs)and now 2013 Triton. never had any rust on any of them.
If I get home late and don't have time to clean then I will go through a car wash but that is mainly to get sand/salt off paintwork. I will wash underneath when I have time. Still plenty of sand under there after carwash even with undertook wash.
I find driving home in the rain gives a good rinse
Been done to death here before. Electronic rust protection does not, and cannot work. There is only subjective opinion to suggest electronic rust prevention does work, however there is plenty of scientific evidence that shows they dont work. A proper industrial coating is the only way to prevent rust..
Don't tell the Sydney opera house that, the whole place only stands there thanks to sacrificial cathodes. Same for all water reticular ion systems (Tao water).
As for modern cars, last time I checked plastic and aluminium doesn't rust and everything else is painted.
Maybe you some do some research on the difference between boat motors, boats, bridges, wharves, the opera house - and cars. You'll find the former are all attached to water or wet earth to complete the electrical circuit so that the sacrificial anode can give the electrons back to the steel that's trying to rust. If you keep your car in a water bath, cathodic protection may work. For the rest of us - no.
The FCC in America actually has court injunctions against companies to prevent them from selling the crap.
You cannot compare the two.
beerhunter
23-10-2015, 12:27 PM
My old patrol has never spent any time on the beach but it will soon.
My plan is to get all the mud out of the chassis rails and paint and rust proof the whole thing.
Then slip a length of 10mm or so poly pipe up each chassis rail with the end blocked and little holes all along.
Have a hose fitting on each under the tray. Might even slip a few more bit up around underneath around the guards and trouble spots. Have all the hose fittings in one spot crack a beer and turn the tap on [emoji1]
sent from the beerhunter
21-11-2015, 07:17 AM
There is no substitute for getting your togs on and getting under the vehicle about a week Apart...ie hose it twice especially inside rails and areas that trap salt and sand. My 13 year old Disco2 has no rust despite plenty of beach work...and no its not the LR oil coating...
I swerved round that thing at Tewantin many times....didnt look like the best idea to me.
If you have rails you could do lot worse than to crank up the pressure on the compressor and blast Xtroll Rust Conqueror into every orifice in the chassis rails...atomised nicely by pressure to coat the ceiling of the rails.....gets everywhere because its specific gravity is said to be considerably less than water.
Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk