View Full Version : Still a few sandies around - Redcliffe

kingcray
31-05-2015, 04:35 PM
a mate and i headed out yesterday arvo chasing snapper and hoping for a few late season sandies.
End result was no snapper, but managed a good lot of sandies. Best pot had 7 keepers. Plenty of undersize and jennies amongst them too.
Big thanks to Greg (seahorse) for donating a heap of his winter whiting frames to me. Might have to drop in again one day soon mate :P
crabs were caught in the shallows close to margate beach / scotts point and also caught some in close to clontarf.
cheers :beer:

cuzzamundi
31-05-2015, 07:38 PM
Nice haul. There were quite a few two weeks ago up the other end of Reddie when I went for a dive. Some good sized models, and even some breeding couples.

Cuzza

Goodoo haven
01-06-2015, 02:55 AM
Nice feed of crabs Dean. Well done mate.

Funchy
01-06-2015, 06:07 AM
no snapper?

nice one deano

01-06-2015, 07:42 AM
Nice feed! I can't say the same for my usual spot x near Coochie though, I only managed 3 crab where normal is double digit. We had a ball catching snapper off peel, but none of them legal, just fun to catch on small 3" shads, two rods was just too busy. They came on the chew in the last hour of sunlight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Short Fuse
01-06-2015, 10:13 AM
Nice catch of sandies Dean.

There are lots of them in Deception Bay as well, but the average size is a lot smaller. I put 4 pots in on Saturday morning baited with spangled emperor heads. Retrieved them Saturday evening for 5 keepers, but each pot would have had 8 - 10 crabs in it, and lots of them were just undersized. Very few jenny sand crabs.

One pot had 2 huge and very angry jenny mudcrabs that had done a fair bit of damage to some of the sand crabs that were in the pot with them.

Jeff

kingcray
01-06-2015, 11:58 AM
Funchy no nothing but a few shovels. My spots only seem to fire through the mornings.

Scalem, Yeah that is a lot of fun for sure. In recent years ive found the sandies very scarce around here at this time, so was pretty pleased to get as many as we did.

Thanks Jeff, ive never really crabbed up D bay way. Clontarf and woody point are close to me and its never hard to get a feed of them around there. I dont crab woody point area at night as i find the wobbegongs are everywhere there and get into the pots through the night, hence why we set the pots at clontarf and margate. No wobbegongs or muddies this trip.
We kept around 25, but wouldve let go easy that many again that were within 2-3 mm undersize.

Just_chips
01-06-2015, 02:10 PM
My spots only seem to fire through the mornings.

Deano, with the weekends conditions being as good as they were, I'd hazard a guess that the area around Reddy saw plenty of boat traffic throughout the day making the snapper a bit skittish and possibly explaining why mornings may be a better option in those circumstances.

But you never know though eh? Bloody fish have never listened to my theories in the past and probably never will in the future. I'd say you were definitely a better chance of catching one than I was sitting down at the local footy club with a cold schooner.

Kev

kingcray
01-06-2015, 02:28 PM
hey Kev .. my night wasnt much different. Few beers listening to the broncos beat the raiders watching my mate boat shovelnose rays.
I couldnt exactly fish my mark as there was a kayaker parked right on it when i arrived. In the middle of bloody nowhere, nobody else in sight.
you are probably right about the traffic throughout the day scaring them off. Although some of the best sessions ive had out there have been mid to late morning.

Just_chips
02-06-2015, 06:42 AM
Yeah, those kayakers are a bloody nuisance

Seahorse
02-06-2015, 04:19 PM
Just go through the week. Less boat traffic

kingcray
02-06-2015, 04:48 PM
Greg, not all of us go into work once a week mate. ;)

Seahorse
02-06-2015, 06:03 PM
Yeah mate. Iam going out in morning to chase a snapper or 2 at Woody, if no good, then maybe a flattie or 2" and failing all that, over to catch some whiting. Lol

kingcray
02-06-2015, 06:06 PM
sounds like a tough day coming up. Dont think you can miss the flatties at the moment

Seahorse
02-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Just not looking forward to the cold morning mate. These old bones not getting any younger. Hate the cold. Lol

kingcray
02-06-2015, 07:45 PM
take some of your frames and a few pots mate.