View Full Version : Ive got Crabs (again).

Braddles
13-03-2015, 10:40 PM
After replacing my pots after our issue with thieves (see previous post this section).... we ventured out again to the same spot on evening of 10th March.

We dropped 8 pots on the low tide, and waited in the cover of darkness, 200m from our pots on the bank beside the boat... Caught a healthy 33cm bream while waiting but released him..

Not a single bit of boat traffic this night... other than the mozzies - some bigger than helicopters (Thank God for Bushmans 80% DEET mozzie repellent!!!).

Obviously the thieves were having a night off.

At midnight - we pulled pots..

Got to 6 of 8 pots and had 10 buck keepers. Lots of big girls, and just undersized bucks or just of size due to points on carapace - but these all went back.

There was two of us fishing, and the law isn't clear if its 10pp or 10 per boat, so we decided 5 each for our families was enough anyway for the week... and then exchanged the bigger bucks in the next two pots for a few of the smaller ones we already had.... bet they thought it was their lucky day!!

None were massive - all between 1.2 and 1.5kg, but all full.

It was kind of weird throwing back legal male muddies - but good feeling at same time - that they will be there for others to enjoy / for us next time lol.

This is the reference I was referring to - can someone clarify for certain for me please if its 10pp or 10 per boat?

https://www.daff.qld.gov.au/fisheries/species-identification/inshore-estuarine-species/mud-crab

Hope everyone else is doing well with the muddies - were sensational to eat!

Kind regards,

Brad :-)

Aussie123
13-03-2015, 10:57 PM
The limit is 10 per person in possession

Braddles
13-03-2015, 11:29 PM
Thanks Aussie.

PS - the last pic is the scraps from tonight lol.

Sheik
14-03-2015, 07:09 AM
Nice work Brad.

robsue
14-03-2015, 08:29 AM
I don't know of any limits that are per boat, all regulations are per person that I know of.

the rule I laugh at is in marine park book it states 4 pots per person in yellow conservation zone, not stated for other places, when law is 4 pots per person anywhere you can legally crab

even read in local paper this week catching excellent whiting on maroon banks, I pointed out by email it is a green zone

bondy99
14-03-2015, 08:39 AM
G'day Braddles,

As Aussie123 and robsue stated, mudcrabs its 10 per person.

Bondy

Braddles
14-03-2015, 03:25 PM
Thanks guys - much appreciated.

Now Im going to chase the prawns, just deciding on what cast net to get...

Mine has a bottom pocket only - I'm told I need a top pocket / dual pocket??

12ft??

3/4 or 1" mesh??

Decisions Decisions....

Andy H
14-03-2015, 07:14 PM
You need a 12ft top pocket net.

Braddles
15-03-2015, 10:39 PM
Thanks Andy!! Do I get 3/4" or 1" net? I like to catch mix of bait fish and prawns.

Andy H
16-03-2015, 12:39 PM
Mate I've got two nets. A good top pocket one for prawns and a cheaper smaller bottom pocket for bait. Generally where you cast for bait you'll find snags and you don't want to put holes in a good net. Like I did... Speak to Wazza and get a good 5 panel cast net for prawning.

Braddles
16-03-2015, 02:23 PM
Thanks Andy :-)