View Full Version : Weipa on the plastic.

Short Fuse
08-10-2014, 09:59 PM
Hi all.

Have just returned from one of our regular trips to Weipa chasing a few fish. This time, we stayed for 2 weeks and fished for 12 days of that time, mostly in the local creeks, but also down along the coast on a couple of occasions.

The road into Weipa this year was probably at its worst condition of all our trips in since 1998. There were places where the corrugation was so bad, we were down to second gear and crawling along at 10 - 15 km per hour. We did the stretch from the Archer River Crossing through to the Bamaga turnoff (approx 50km) and took 2.5 hours to do it. Despite the condition of the road, people continue to try to drive in at 100kmh and wonder why they smash their gear to pieces. Our attitude is we would rather drive in slowly, and arrive with the gear intact and then go fishing rather than spend the first couple of days in Weipa trying to get broken gear fixed.

To give an idea on the road, we departed Laura at mid day and arrived at the camp ground at Weipa just before mid night. After doing the trip over a dozen times now, we have a fairly good idea on how to set up the boat, motor and trailer to ensure they survive the trip and are useable once we get there. The following photos show the boat ready to do the return trip, so it looks nice and clean at this stage. The boat cover keeps most of the dust out of the boat. A bit does get through, but if easily washed out on the first day at the ramp. We have two heavy duty "straps" that run between the axle and the trailer frame immediately in front of the axle. The straps are a double layer of 5 ton webbing sown together by Ray Wessels and clamped to the axle and frame. Their purpose is to stop the axle from trying to depart the trailer, and wrecking every thing in the event of a broken spring. The motor sits in an A frame that was designed and built for me a number of years ago by Rob Payne. Once the motor leg is secured into the frame, and the frame is bolted onto the rear frame of the trailer, the whole motor is completely wrapped in pallet wrap, and the tilt motors and motor brackets are covered by industrial plastic and the whole lot stuck down by duct tape.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2973_zps36f3c16d.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2973_zps36f3c16d.jpg.html)

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2974_zps7f461409.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2974_zps7f461409.jpg.html)

With the boat secured to the trailer at the bow, and with the tie down strap, and the A frame holding the motor rigidly, everything moves together, and their is no chance of things getting bashed to pieces. We stop at every stretch of bitumen on the Peninsula Development Road to check the load and ensure that the gear is holding up to the trip. The shots above were taken just before departure to come home, so you dont get to see the end result when it is all covered in red dust.

Rather than go into a blow by blow description on the fishing, I'll let a few photos show our results. We almost exclusively fished soft plastics this year and had a ball fishing with them. Our best days fishing saw 73 fish caught and all but 1 released. We only keep a fish each day when we need one for dinner that night. A reasonable legal barra will feed us for a few days, and we dont bring any fillets home with us. This year the tagged fish seem to be following me around, and I caught this 43cm barra in the Mission River wearing a tag.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2676_zps717d64dc.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2676_zps717d64dc.jpg.html)

We caught heaps of barra ranging from tiddlers through to over 80cms, but the average fish in the local creeks would range from around 40cms through to the low 60cms size.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2739_zpsdf7a6dff.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2739_zpsdf7a6dff.jpg.html)

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2971_zps1b7d704c.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2971_zps1b7d704c.jpg.html)

Of course, fishing Weipa in not all about the barra fishing. We caught lots of other species including mangrove jack, fingermark, javelin fish, cod, queenfish and a number of other species.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2762_zps99e15f7b.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2762_zps99e15f7b.jpg.html)

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2656_zps339e3d30.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2656_zps339e3d30.jpg.html)

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2710_zps639aa523.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2710_zps639aa523.jpg.html)

This queenfish was busting up a pile of bait in one of the creeks one day, and I cast the plastic into the melee and hooked up immediately. Dont think he saw the lure, just bumped into it while madly smashing bait. Gave me heaps in the small creek, and it took a fair bit of fancy boat handling on the electric to keep it out of the snags until I could work it to the boat and into the landing net.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2952_zpsbcc807ce.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2952_zpsbcc807ce.jpg.html)

Of course, not all the locals we encountered were friendly. Run into this one right up the back of a small creek in the top of the Hey River one day. It was one of the fattest crocs I have seen in the area. We reckon he may have recently ambushed one of the local feral pigs and was kicking back soaking up a bit of sun when we came along. The creek was about a metre deep where he slid into the water, and it gave us a very eerie feeling standing on the casting deck wondering just where it had gotten to after it slid back into the water.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/Short_Fuse1/DSC_2879_zps168d4123.jpg (http://s148.photobucket.com/user/Short_Fuse1/media/DSC_2879_zps168d4123.jpg.html)

As with all good trips the end comes around far to quickly, and we did not look forward to the trip out. A couple of the worst spots had actually had a grader run over them during our stay, and we made it back over the dirt sections of the PBR in just over 10 hours. The trip home to Brisbane took 3 days and I have spent nearly 2 days cleaning the dust off the camping gear, boat and trailer getting it ready to use back down here. Going to take a while to get back to looking forward to throwing a plastic into a creek down here with only a bream or flathead the likely suspects to grab it.

Jeff

marto78
09-10-2014, 06:55 AM
Great read Jeff.

We're doing a similar trip next week and were thinking of wrapping the motor In that clear packing plastic like glad wrap, the duct tape is a good idea for extra strength.

Short Fuse
09-10-2014, 08:33 AM
Thanks Marto.

The other boat that went in with us used industrial glad wrap on their motor and put around 4 layers over the whole motor and it also kept the dust out of their motor. Be prepared to go in slow over the bad bits. There was a grader team working on the road just north of the Archer when we came back out, but the road from the Hahn River through to Coen is shocking, and Coen through to the Archer also has some very bad areas. Bamaga turnoff through to Weipa is great and a pleasure to drive on after the other areas.

If you are fishing plastics, grab some of the new 4" Zman Diesel Minnows and give them a try. The fish up there love them.

Jeff

sharkymark2
09-10-2014, 10:07 AM
Hi Short Fuse just want to say thank you for an excellent read. Its good to see all your planing come together to give you a fantastic result.

snapperbasher
09-10-2014, 10:47 AM
Hey mate,

I just got back myself from Weipa....well Pennefather river. Not wrong about the road!! everything survived our trip but the trailer is stained red and gravel blasted.

The stretch between Hann river and Musgrave I think was the worst and a bit north of Archer.

I helped a bloke change out his springs at Archer river after snapping one side and bending the other.

We got a heap of fish also Fishing exclusively lures and mainly soft plastics.

struggled to get any decent barra. Plenty in the 50's and 60's....got stitched up in the mangroves by one good fish and a shark got another. Plenty of jacks though and there was a never ending supply of Queenies and GT's

Cant wait to get back up there.

Tailorfisho78
09-10-2014, 09:34 PM
Jeff
great read. I'm heading up next June for 5 weeks. Only taking 3.75m with a 15hp. Staying at places like pennefather river, jacky jacky. Can't wait

Short Fuse
09-10-2014, 11:15 PM
Thanks all. Weipa is a great place to fish and will remain on my list of "must visit" places for many years to come.

Have not made it into the Pennefather as yet. We tried to drive in there in 1998, and ended up looking over the bonnet of the Landcruiser at a bloody big swamp. Obviously took a wrong turn somewhere. Managed to turn the outfit around and drove back to Weipa. Have fished all the rivers around Weipa, and have taken the boat down to the Archer from Weipa a couple of times. It is an 80km ride in a small boat. Pick the weather right and its great fun.

Our future plans include heading down to the Love, and even further down to the Kirk systems. Not trips to be undertaken lightly in small boats. Also on the plans is a drift down the Wenlock after the wet, launching at Moreton Telegraph Station, and retrieving 5 or 6 days later at the Cluffs Landing boat ramp. A couple of mates have done that trip and raved about it.

Jeff

Funchy
10-10-2014, 05:31 AM
Awesome trip and great right up. Lifetime memories there mate. Well done

Goodoo haven
11-10-2014, 09:16 AM
Some nice catches there, well done mate