View Full Version : southern peel and surounds report 24/09/2014

Jsmfun
25-09-2014, 11:02 AM
Just a quick report left wynnum around 5am headed south as have not been down that way for a while . stoped at the west peel arti for some soft plastics and floatling. fished for around one and a half hours for 5 undersize squire but oh well. so to south peel for some hardbodys on the rising tide 2 hours and zip not even a touch very disapointed:-[
gave up went over to the little island between peel and straddie [don't know what its called] and found this 105576 now over the next three hours of plastics ,bait and trolling landing a array of species from moses perch to squire to tailor,sweetlip ,and school mackerel 105577105578105579 i kept these 2 for dinner caught 6 in total.i got all the school mackerel trolling with 4-7m divers trolled at 3.2knots and got 4 tailor when i tried trolling at 2.2knots dont know why.thats it for me cheers thanks for reading :).

PS can someone tell me what sort of fish this is thanks :)105575

Crunchy
25-09-2014, 11:40 AM
Juv. Red bass perhaps?

Zippidy
25-09-2014, 12:28 PM
May I ask what lures you were trolling?

Nabba1
25-09-2014, 12:28 PM
My initial thought was a juv small mouth nannygai but not 100%. Those spotties are school mac's though. either way nice eating.

Nice catch, well done:D

Jsmfun
25-09-2014, 01:49 PM
Juv. Red bass perhaps?

yea close up it looked like a bream face crossed with mangrove jack colours? possible red bass are the tropical though ?

Jsmfun
25-09-2014, 02:02 PM
May I ask what lures you were trolling?
yea zippidy firstly
killalure 20foot deep 105580
halco scorpion 5m diver 105581
Zerek ripper 3 and 5m 105582great lure for the price IMO
lost the red head something big hit it and nearly spooled me before cutting through the leader either big spannish or a shark was only using 20pound leader and the sebile koolie minnow 118mm 6m diver caught almost all the tailor :)

Zippidy
25-09-2014, 02:13 PM
Awesome, cheers.

The Black Unicorn
25-09-2014, 04:01 PM
Yep no spotties there. Definitely schoolies.

Jsmfun
25-09-2014, 05:06 PM
i would have thought that if they have spots they would be spotties. mother nature is confusing?

25-09-2014, 06:12 PM
They are Schoolies. Both have spots but this should clear it up for you
http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/fisheries/species-identification/inshore-estuarine-species/mackerel-and-tuna/school-mackerel

Jsmfun
25-09-2014, 06:35 PM
Thanks horse that helps heaps might edit the post

The Black Unicorn
25-09-2014, 07:28 PM
Common mistake mate. Either way good to catch and good to eat. Well done!

bermo82
25-09-2014, 07:56 PM
Great effort mate. looking forward to summer and chasing some macks. You've given me the itch!!!

Bermo

26-09-2014, 08:01 AM
Well done on the catch and thanks for sharing

Scott Ashe
26-09-2014, 01:12 PM
Well done mate, it looks like it was a good morning.

rusco
26-09-2014, 03:14 PM
Small mouth nannies...Caught a few legal ones up the Rous way about 2 months ago...good chewing

rusco

Jsmfun
26-09-2014, 07:04 PM
What is the legal size if you don't mind me asking this one was 31cm and fat

rusco
27-09-2014, 11:59 AM
40cm is the legal size...rusco

Jsmfun
27-09-2014, 01:30 PM
thanks for the positive feedback guy's and girl's :)