View Full Version : A few whiting from the bay

Giveitacrack
31-08-2014, 08:47 PM
Got a few whiting today just out from the river mouth and away from the crowds. Tried the Marukyu isome worms for nil.All caught on squid.

catfish55
31-08-2014, 08:58 PM
What river mate?
nice catch

bondy99
31-08-2014, 10:54 PM
Giveitacrack,

You certainly did crack it, good one champ.

Bondy

Seahorse
31-08-2014, 10:57 PM
Seems to be plenty out wide of nudgee.

Giveitacrack
01-09-2014, 08:52 AM
Brissie Seahorse
What river mate?
nice catch

Scott Ashe
01-09-2014, 01:27 PM
Well done mate

drpete
01-09-2014, 03:28 PM
I think they're everywhere at the moment. We got heaps over on the banks near the Rouse, but everyone seemed to be catching them all over. They were SMASHINIG the yabbies. First time I've ever seen anything outfish worms for whiting.

robsue
02-09-2014, 07:13 AM
we ended up with 72 from the sandhills yesterday

Lapras
02-09-2014, 05:15 PM
Nice one Giveitacrack, good to get a feed particularly of whiting.

I tried off Nudgee around where the compass buoy was on Monday but couldn't find them. Ended up with 17 (good sized) for the morning between two of us. There were only 8 or so boats and nobody seemed to be getting many - although I could be wrong. We used squid, prawns and beach worms (caught and preserved myself). My wife stuck with the preserved beach worms and she comprehensively outfished me.

Have fun,

Seahorse
04-09-2014, 08:51 PM
Yh the compas bouy is hit and miss. Need to be couple km , nw of there.

mad matt
04-09-2014, 09:44 PM
We picked up a feed around wide compass buoy aswell

Giveitacrack
05-09-2014, 04:34 AM
Yep wide away from all the other boats solo. Picked them up quickly. Some good size for winteries.

Lapras
05-09-2014, 07:16 AM
Thanks guys, hopefully the weather will play nice next week and I'll get out again.

catfish55
06-09-2014, 09:02 PM
Never really fished for Whiting much, but my grand kids want to come with for a fish, so whiting it will be. Take it you guys are cutting the squid into worm size strips?
what do you look for when chasing whiting small gutters in the sand what depth. Green yes some help for the kids sake would be nice. I'm from Wynnum area but can go anywhere

Lapras
08-09-2014, 12:09 PM
Hi Catfish,

I'm not not really an authority, but small hooks (#6 long shanks), small baits (like you said) and a light whippy rod always worked well with my kids. I would fish fairly heavy line (so they can skull drag them in), short traces to prevent tangles, and running sinkers to ensure they get to the bottom. Plenty of people use hand lines as an alternative. Not too sure about areas around Wynnum, search the threads here for "winter whiting" or "tings" and you will get some good locations, probably depends on your boat size, but the sand hills are popular - too far for me. It's always worthwhile looking for the groups of boats and having a try. From what I've experienced you need to be sitting on top of sea grasses and the edge of weed beds in around 4m of water, sometimes deeper.

Good luck with it.

PS. When they were younger my kids would score the fish like AFL - 6 points for a keeper, 1 of a throwback and minus 5 for a toad fish. Kept them interested.

Pero
08-09-2014, 12:46 PM
Hi Catfish,

I'm not not really an authority, but small hooks (#6 long shanks), small baits (like you said) and a light whippy rod always worked well with my kids. I would fish fairly heavy line (so they can skull drag them in), short traces to prevent tangles, and running sinkers to ensure they get to the bottom. Plenty of people use hand lines as an alternative. Not too sure about areas around Wynnum, search the threads here for "winter whiting" or "tings" and you will get some good locations, probably depends on your boat size, but the sand hills are popular - too far for me. It's always worthwhile looking for the groups of boats and having a try. From what I've experienced you need to be sitting on top of sea grasses and the edge of weed beds in around 4m of water, sometimes deeper.

Good luck with it.

PS. When they were younger my kids would score the fish like AFL - 6 points for a keeper, 1 of a throwback and minus 5 for a toad fish. Kept them interested.

Taking Bondy tomorrow. Should Score 300 (50 times 6) to Sweet FA then. ;D

Lapras
08-09-2014, 02:10 PM
Taking Bondy tomorrow. Should Score 300 (50 times 6) to Sweet FA then. ;D

You never know, with a bit of luck he might end up negative ;D - sorry Bondy !

My kids are late teens and still laugh about getting -5 whenever they see a toad fish.

Good luck tomorrow.

bondy99
09-09-2014, 11:32 PM
Sorry to disappoint you Lapras, I bagged out and in the lead.

Had no problem locating them.

See pic,

Pero
10-09-2014, 05:33 AM
Yeah Bondy, You got 2 more than me, but Who got more toadfish?

drpete
10-09-2014, 06:51 AM
Nice work buddy! They look a decent size for winteries too.

bondy99
10-09-2014, 11:43 PM
Yeah Bondy, You got 2 more than me, but Who got more toadfish?

I had two toads, the other 4 toads where humongous, just about play football with them :)

bondy99
10-09-2014, 11:48 PM
drpete,

Thanks mate, they were ok size for winteries, gut and fillet was a bit time consuming but all good. Cooked a few in beer batter, nice they were.

Cheers, Bondy

catfish55
12-09-2014, 08:05 PM
hey thanks lapra. seriously apreciated

catfish55
12-09-2014, 08:35 PM
say guys when you fillet diver whiting do you debone the pin bones? as well? would be very time consuming . tips

Seahorse
12-09-2014, 08:54 PM
7 times out of 10 i get a clean nice fillet with no trimming. I cut from behind the head, slightly lift knife of the boney gut then straight down to tail. Sometimes need to trim around gut.

Lapras
13-09-2014, 07:28 AM
say guys when you fillet diver whiting do you debone the pin bones? as well? would be very time consuming . tips

I get rid of the pin bones by placing the fillet skin down and then feeling where the pin bones are with my fingers. Cut either side of the bones at an angle so a "V" of flesh comes out containing them. I try to leave the skin intact but it doesn't really matter, you just end up with a notch out of the fillet sometimes.